Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
14 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Pat McAuley
January 06, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
October 09, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very disappointed with the vehicle overall. Ride quality is poor, interior noise levels our poor, tech user interface is HORRIBLE. The pros-seats are comfortable! Good MPG. I am comparing this unit to other high-lines.
Patrick
January 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have never driven a more responsive and stylish automobile. Quiet, powerful, dependable, and possessing the prestige that only a Mercedes Benz can exhibit. Excellent car. Our 5th Benz, and not our last.
Ingrid
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 02, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I miss having a CD Player.I wish they would put a C D Player. I'm thinking of a car witha spear tire & CD player
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with my purchase of the new E-Class. The technology is truly superb and after a minor adjustment to the user interface, it is very intuitive and user friendly. Really like the touchpads on the steering wheel and the volume control in the center console. Safety features are top notch and truly make me feel I am safer as I drive. Lastly, build quality is exactly what I've come to expect from Mercedes Benz. .
Johnnie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Everything about my car is exceptional. The technology is easy to use and affords exceptional safety features. If I have trouble, Mercedes is there quickly with just a touch of a button. The car is beautiful but more importantly a pleasure to drive and makes me feel secure. We started driving Mercedes 40 years ago and have strayed for 3 times, only to sell those mistakes quickly and come running back to the MB.
Bernie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle is the 5th MB that I have purchased new and the decision came down to Safety. Being retired and over 65 I was looking for something similar to my other Benz vehicles yet providing me with a host of new safety features. I was also looking for a vehicle that retained that comfortable ride of my other cars. In the end it was Safety that sold me on this car.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Outstanding engineering. However I find the styling a bit on the ""common"" side. The options are expensive and many are not necessary for my needs."
Steven H.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
If you like all the bells and whistles Tech wise, this is the vehicle for you. There is a learning curve to the tech part and the dealer needs to be pushed to help at Mercedes.
John
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm not sure what other car I would drive other than a Mercedes-Benz. My previous one had a V-8 engine and thought I would be losing power going to a 4-cylinder turbo; I was wrong. This car has performance. My only gripe is that the Apple Car Play seems to be hit or miss with performance. Intermittent problems with my screen going out totally while music plays. However, this car has the perfect blend of comfort and performance.
Jenkins
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Before buying the Mercedes E 300 I also looked at BMW, Maserati, Tesla and Jaguar. In my opinion the Mercedes has better handling, better interior and more advanced technology.
Scott
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my sixth Mercedes. I was leery of purchasing a 4 cylinder engine, but the twin turbo's give it more power than it needs and the gas mileage compared to my previous 5 Mercedes is off the chart. Mercedes tend to be heavier and have solid handling. This car is just as massive but the handling can only be described as spritely. It is as responsive as any car I have driven and my other ride is a BMW. This car is such a pleasure to be in that we use it to run errands. We have had it out on three extended road trips and have arrived at destinations and back home with zero road fatigue. I'd rather be in this car than in my favorite chair at home.
Delta
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 12, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this car!!! We insisted on the option3 package which is a must. The seats are not only comfortable they actually give you a massage. The automatic braking is excellent as is the feature that keeps you in your lane. I strongly recommend the extended driving screen, you can configure which features display and the amount of detail for each feature. I also enjoy the heads up display which allows me to know my speed at all times. The auto park is cool but it takes waaaay too long to actually use in a parking lot. We also find that the adaptive cruise control receives bad speed limit data and will slam on the breaks because it thinks the speed limit on the Interstate slowed from 70mph to 15 mph. I'm afraid I'm going to get rear ended, I only use about 1/3 of the technology. I also find the Mercedes interface is not nearly as intuitive as the pervious 4 Lexus's we have owned. Overall the car is sharp looking, comfortable, gets great gas mileage and the valets all fight to drive it.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 11, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very pleased with the E300 purchase. Exactly what I wanted from a luxury vehicle inside and out. Styling and performance are both outstanding. I knew MB's were safe, but the latest safety features have really impressed my wife and me.
2017 Mercedes-Benz 1115 E-Class 29602 386486
Write a Review for the 2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Sam Moses
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz E300 sedan is all new. It’s bigger, better looking, more efficient and more substantial than before. It’s more technologically advanced than the flagship S-Class, with more infotainment and safety equipment. The E300 can practically drive itself.

Competitors like the Audi A6, BMW 5 Series, Lexus GS, Jaguar XF, and Cadillac CTS can’t do that, although the American Tesla Model S can.

The 2017 E300 sedan is the first of the all-new E-Class. It will be followed by an all-new 2017 E-Class Wagon. The E-Class coupe and convertible continue in the form of the previous generation. We have seat time in the new E300 in heavy traffic outside Lisbon, Portugal, and freeway traffic outside San Francisco.

The new Mercedes-Benz E-Class sedan grows by 1.7 inches to 193.8 inches long, with a wheelbase that’s 2.6 inches longer, at 115.7 inches. It weighs about two tons, and would weigh more if it weren’t for the body’s aluminum panels and higher-strength steel.

For now, the new E-Class sedan has just one engine and transmission, the E300 with a 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder making 241 horsepower and 273 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 9-speed automatic. Rear-wheel drive is standard, 4MATIC all-wheel drive available.

The 2017 E300 is fairly quick, able to accelerate from zero to sixty in 6.2 seconds (on the way to 130 mph), but it’s also gruff. The outgoing silky V6 engine the four-cylinder turbo replaces will be missed.

Two suspensions are available for the E300, and the handling varies with them. There is a firm multi-link suspension with adaptive dampers in either base or sport (firmer) tune, or an air suspension with adaptive dampers. In addition to that, the wheel sizes range from 17 to 20 inches, mounted with different tires. It’s not your father’s E300.

Driving systems with modes are also available: economy, comfort, sport and sport plus, that alter the suspension, steering, transmission, and throttle.

The 2017 E300 hasn’t been crash-tested by the government or insurance industry yet. However, crash ratings nowadays take into consideration not just crashworthiness, but crash-prevention features. Which is subjective. For example, the new E-Class will change lanes on its own, after the turn signal is on for two seconds. This is a good thing? Why? Can anyone besides us see the problems with that? Starting with maybe you want to give the person behind you more than two seconds’ notice. The government and insurance industry might say it’s safer than the driver making the decision to change lanes when he or she sees that it’s safe.

Other safety equipment includes the car telling you when it thinks it’s time for you to take a coffee break; a shriek when it thinks you’re going to crash, followed by automatic braking; maintaining an exact distance to the car in front of you at 130 mph like a NASCAR driver, meaning the guy in front of you has his feet on your pedals. When he floors it at 10 mph, your car does; when he slams on the brakes, your car does.

Another issue is inconsistency; the auto-driving turns itself off after about 20 seconds, maybe in the middle of your thinking it’s driving for you. And the cameras that see the white lines at the edge of the road can’t see a white line that’s faded. So you might think it will keep you from running off the road, but it only keeps you from running over visible white lines. It only knows a road is a road by the paint.

Meanwhile, there are potential virtues. A new system hits the brakes if you don’t see oncoming cross-traffic, preventing you from being T-boned or T-boning another.

It will park or unpark itself using a smartphone app. And there’s a trigger that will inflate a seat bolster that shoves the passenger three inches farther away from impact.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz E300 ($52,150) comes in Luxury and Sport models, with rear-wheel drive or E300 4MATIC ($54,650) with four-wheel drive.

Walkaround

Like the latest S-Class and C-Class, the new E-Class is balanced and handsome, with a long hood and short trunk. It looks more relaxed than the more compact C-Class. A deep line at the shoulders tapers under a carefully draped roofline, to the LED taillamps with a charming pattern Mercedes-Benz calls Stardust.

The Luxury model gets a tri-star badge mounted on the hood, while the Sport model gets it in the less flashy grille.

Interior

The E-Class cabin speaks in a rhythm of textures, wood and metallic weaves led by stitched and vividly colored leather rising and falling from the door panels to the center console. It glows under 64 shades of ambient lighting from ivory to purple, studded by circular air vents.

The dash can be dominated by twin high-rez 12.3-inch display screens that replace the gauges and controls, although most E300s will come with one screen and a handsome set of dials and climate switches underneath. In place of a shift lever, there’s a touch-sensitive control puck for the COMAND infotainment interface.

The couple inches of added wheelbase brings a bit more interior space. Front seats have lots of lumbar support, and available massage. Rear seat is also a bit bigger, with a middle armrest, cupholders, and available laptop holder.

There’s a choice of Burmester sound systems that use structural parts of the body as passive speakers. One has 23 speakers and 3D sound.

Driving Impressions

For now, the four-cylinder E300 is the only E-Class sedan. It’s no hot rod, but it is responsive, with its 273 pound-feet of torque coming on down low at 1300 rpm, giving good early acceleration. Its paddle-shifting 9-speed transmission helps keep it in the perfect spot of the powerband.

The 4MATIC all-wheel-drive system splits power front to rear at 45:55.

The standard suspension uses multi-links and adaptive dampers, and comes in base (firm) and sport (firmer) versions. A sport-tune steel suspension has a mildly firm setup, but the air suspension and driving modes give the E-Class breathtaking versatility. It can cruise with lots of suspension travel, slow and smooth shifts and light-touch steering in Comfort mode, or approach AMG levels of heft and stiffness when set in Sport+ mode.

The top suspension is called Air Body Control, and, coupled with the driving modes, gives the E300 vast versatility, so we recommend those options, along with 4MATIC all-wheel drive. They improve the car so much, we think they warrant the cost.

The air suspension system uses springs with two chambers per front strut and two chambers per rear strut; the chambers inflate and deflate at lightning speed based on sensor readings from the road. It lowers the ride height on the freeway for better aerodynamics and fuel mileage, and can raise it when more ground clearance is needed.

The modes are Comfort, Economy, Sport and Sport +. Comfort offers languid steering and shifting, and lengthy suspension travel. We often preferred Sport mode, which brings the best compromise of a good ride and quickness from the throttle, steering and transmission.

Summary

If you know you’ll be happy with a 2.0-liter four-cylinder, and won’t long for more power and smoothness later, then the E300 stays in the game. But look carefully at the electronic takeover of your steering wheel and pedals, before you think it’s a good idea to give them up to engineers who will never be in the car with you.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Mercedes-Benz listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Mercedes-Benz listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
1313
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel