2017 Mazda Mazda6 Reviews and Ratings

Sport Manual

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mazda Mazda6.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (16)
Overall Rating
  4.9 / 5
Reliability
  4.9 / 5
Interior
  4.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.9 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Carrie 10/6/2017 8:32:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I love the this car! What's great about it? Exterior styling, handling, gas mileage, Bose stereo, interior appointments, acceleration, intuitive control setup and price. Great value!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Hans 9/6/2017 11:35:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Buying a Mazda 6 was probably one of the best decisions I've made. I was so bogged down paying for expensive maintence on my older car and commuting nearly 130~160 miles a day total was just wearing me down and exhausting. The Mazda seats are comfy and the Bluetooth is great since people are constantly calling me from work and I pass about 30 cops on the interstate everyday. The cars steering is also really nice and it has a lot of responsiveness. I have been used to driving Mercedes my whole life and I can say other than the weight of the car being a lot less the responsiveness is very similar. I love it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ruby 9/6/2017 8:28:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
When it came time to turn in my 2014 leased Mazda 6, I liked it so much I did not even consider shopping for another make. I simply called the dealership I leased it from and told them that I wanted another red Mazda 6 with all the new technology. It is beautiful to look at inside and out, a really classy car. It is very comfortable, lots of fun to drive and I get great gas mileage. The blind spot detection and backup camera are wonderful.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By José 9/3/2017 7:12:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Stylish, both in and out. Great overall design. The technology is great, better than what you can get on other vehicles for the same price.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Bill 9/2/2017 12:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Mazda 6Grand Touring has great looks, performance, features, and value. I really enjoy driving it. The styling really stands out from the crowd.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tejas 8/23/2017 5:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great looking car with great features and quality interiors.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jon 8/22/2017 1:16:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The new 2017 Mazda 6 is a gorgeous car that is very fun to drive. I have the Touring model, which looks and feels like 3 times what it costs. I'm very impressed with the vehicle all around. I really can't think of any complaints.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chanelle 8/20/2017 7:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The amount of features in this car is remarkable ! I would definitely recommend this car to anyone ! I get a lot of compliments daily on my car !
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JORGE 8/20/2017 4:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
ALL OK THIS IS SIX MAZDA I HAVE, IS THE SEVEN CAR I TAKE IN … MAZDA MIAMI. I LIVE IN BRADENTON AND DRIVE TO MIAMI TO TAKE MY NEW CAR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Steve 8/20/2017 1:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love the car. Fantastic handling. Comfortable, quiet and a blast to drive. Love all the tech on it. Best Features - Tech. Worst Features - Could be a tad quieter and the car doesn't need the low profile tires that come with it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By D 8/19/2017 7:26:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my white Mazda 6!! It's a great car with a sexy exterior that's fun to drive!! I love the way it handles! The BOSE sound system is great, roomy interior, sunroof, navigation, Sirius radio, voice activation, and if you have any aches and pains, it has heated seats, I love my car, it's the 3rd Mazda I've owned.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Doug 8/19/2017 9:19:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This is my first Mazda and I really like it. I like the sporty style, power, safety features and ease of driving. So far it is a great car and the experience I had at Sid Dillon in purchasing the car was great. They were friendly, helpful and I felt I received a very fair price.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rich 8/17/2017 11:23:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
So far we have had great experience with mazda 6 and it is fun to drive zoom zoom , We had taken it to cleveland last month very comfortable seats and cargo room . we averaged 38 mpg on road and at 1 time was getting 39.4 tried to hit 40 but never did lol ! As of yet no problems or complaints .
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Roy F. 8/3/2017 6:55:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The Mazda6 is an attractive car that handles well is fun to drive. It meets the needs of my wife and I. My wife required keyless entry I wanted a sporty full size four door sedan. We got both. If I have a critique of the vehicle it is the the audio system with its controls in the center console is a bit complex and unwieldy.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By AJ 7/28/2017 7:18:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I'm very particular when it comes to cars and this was my first one. Still I did tons of research online before deciding to buy it. Now that I Have it I love it. It has a very premium feel and most importantly it comes with a manual transmission. Handles bumps like nothing.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By John 7/28/2017 12:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love almost everything about my Mazda 6. Handling comfort quality etc. I'm hoping to get a software update to fix some of the slowness/crashing issues in the head unit software but that's my only complaint.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Mazda Mazda6
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The front-wheel-drive Mazda6 might be the world’s most under-appreciated midsize sedan, a class dominated by Honda, Toyota and Ford with the Accord, Camry and Fusion. Sleek and evocative, the Mazda6 is the most eye-catching among them, with roadside manners as good as any of them. Mazda6 was redesigned for 2013, refreshed for 2016.

The 2017 Mazda6 gets some minor updates, including the Mazda Connect infotainment system now standard.

Mazda6 comes with one engine, a 2.5-liter inline four-cylinder with So-called SkyActiv technology such as direct injection, variable valve control, and a very high 14:1 compression ratio (in pursuit of fuel mileage), making 184 horsepower and 185 pound-feet of torque. A 6-speed manual gearbox is standard, a 6-speed automatic available.

Its light weight of 3200 pounds gives the Mazda6 some zip. The ride is firm and sporty, the steering direct and communicative. There are clear bloodlines to the brilliant Mazda Miata.

For 2017 Mazda6 gets the G-Vectoring Control system of computer-controlled braking of individual wheels in corners, bringing increased stability and composure to the handling.

With the automatic transmission, the Mazda6 gets 26/38 mpg City/Highway, or an EPA-estimated 31 miles per gallon Combined. With the optional stop/start and a regenerative-energy system called i-eLoop, it can get up to 40 mpg Highway. With the available automatic emergency braking, the Mazda6 is rated a Top Safety Pick+ by the IIHS. In the rollover test, NHTSA gives it a 4.

Model Lineup

Three models are available: Mazda6 Sport, Mazda6 Touring, and Mazda6 Grand Touring. Sport comes with cloth upholstery and includes all the usual airbags and stability control, and a rearview camera. The Touring adds blind-spot monitors, rear cross-traffic alerts, and forward-collision warnings with automatic emergency braking. Grand Touring adds LED headlamps with automatic high beams, adaptive cruise control, and automatic emergency braking that functions at a higher speed.

Walkaround

The Mazda6 is lean from every angle, with sinewy lines that are almost Italian. It has muscular front fenders and an arched coupe-like roofline. In its class, only the Ford Fusion gets as much attention. The grille boasts the same winged design as Mazda crossovers, while the tail is finely detailed.

Interior

The trim quality is high and the sculpting tasteful. The sweeping dash is crowned by the bright new seven-inch infotainment display screen. For 2017 a color TFT screen replaces the previous monochromatic gauges.

There’s impressive interior space, with good leg room and knee room even in the rear, although the roofline does cut into rear passenger headroom. The split rear seats fold forward for more room, and the trunk has an average 14.8 cubic feet but a wide load opening.

The seats remain excellent, whether upholstered in cloth, leatherette, standard leather, or the Nappa leather that’s on the Grand Touring, with heated rear seating available in a Premium package that upgrades the Nappa leather.

It’s not as quiet inside as a luxury car. Visibility was improved in the last redesign with use of high-strength steel in the roof pillars, allowing them to be narrower. The standard Mazda Connect infotainment is quick enough, but its control device is balky and the mapping isn’t as good as that on some of its rivals.

Driving Impressions

The 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine’s 185 horsepower and 185 pound-feet of torque is hardly impressive, but it’s smooth and surprisingly frisky, thanks to the car’s lack of weight. It’s a small joy with the 6-speed manual transmission, which comes with the Sport and is available on the Touring. The engine is happiest when it’s being revved. It’s more than competitive against the four-cylinders in its class.

Mazdas have long been known for good balance and handling, and the Mazda6 maintains that standard, maybe even ups the game. It comes alive on a curvy road, with steering that’s especially alive and communicative and a ride that’s firm on the standard 17-inch alloy wheels, and firmer with the 19s on the Touring and Grand Touring models. If a plush ride is a priority in your midsize sedan, the 6 is probably not for you.

The new G-Vectoring Control is standard. It applies braking to separate front wheels in corners, to shift weight forward and increase grip so the turn-in is more secure; when that’s done, the system releases and weight shifts to the rear for balance. Mazda says the deceleration force is just 0.01 g or less, so it’s undetectable; all the driver feels is security.

Summary

The Mazda6 looks and feels as good as the best in its class, both inside and out. There is no engine option, so you’ll have to live with a smooth and frisky four-cylinder. It handles exceptionally well, the ride is firm, and response from the steering and automatic transmission is good.

Sam Moses wrote this review, with staff reports by The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Mazda Mazda6 Sport Manual local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.