2017 Mazda Mazda3 5-Door Reviews and Ratings

Touring 2.5 Manual

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mazda Mazda3 5-Door.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (18)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.1 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By Dawn 9/19/2017 10:53:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I purchased a 2017 Mazda3 5door hatch and love it! This is my second one as my first was totaled when I was sandwitched between two cars and walked away. My favs about this are- gas mileage, auto/manual option, hands free radio/phone, cargo room, body styling. The acceleration is good as it has a sport mode to use when passing and you can switch back. Wouldn't recommend using this all of the time as it eats gas (I learned the HARD way on this folks!). The interior is great, the back seat leg room is great, the cargo area is good and comes with a "lid" to hide items in here. As long as Mazda keeps up the good work like this, it's safe to say that I will purchase another one...maybe the sportster next time !!! ;-)
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/6/2017 12:17:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Very well thought out and engineered. Easy to maintain and cost efficient. Comfortable, excellent features.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/5/2017 12:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
I'm very happey with the car that have purchased. The sales person was very helpful fulfilling my needs
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Dawn 8/26/2017 8:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I chose the 2017 Mazda3 5 door because of the looks, handling, available tech, and price. I haven't been disappointed with it since. This is actually my second one. I was in an auto crash two weeks after purchasing this model, my insurance considered it a total loss, and I replaced it with the same model as I walked away without a scratch!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Emily 8/25/2017 7:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I'm in love with this car. It has all the features of a higher end vehicle without a hefty price tag. It looks amazing from the outside, with a beautiful design that is sporty and compact but still spacious on the interior. The interior is where it shines; there's so much detail in everything, from the comfortable, sporty seats to the polished and easy-to-use console area and everything in between. Everything works so well in unison. The bluetooth connects automatically to my phone so my playlists start right up, the rain-sensing wipers auto detect rainfall so I don't have to worry about constantly changing wiper speed, and I can easily control the volume and playback from the steering wheel. I love my car, and I never thought I'd care about a car outside of it getting me from point A to point B.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 8/25/2017 6:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
This is all the car my family needs! Drives like a champ when you mash down, but I should have bought the bigger engine. Interior is pretty beautiful and easy to use but piano plastic is hard to clean. Why is there no Android auto? Also the Smart city brake support literally works less than half the time, leaving a yellow light on the dash. For a feature this intermittent, I'd almost prefer a green light when it does work, or if everyone looked at the road and not their phones we could omit the feature, but we don't live in a perfect world... This car is super versatile and really fun to drive!!
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jim 8/24/2017 8:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Fun to drive, good mileage. The preferred package offers some great feature upgrades to the entry level. Very comfortable. The primary negative I read about it is the small back seats.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jenny 8/22/2017 7:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I was looking for an affordable, new car when I found my Mazda 3. The Mazda 3 wasn't on my radar but once I saw it and then test drove it nothing else compared. The car is beautiful and the handling is amazing. I love driving my car every day.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jens 8/22/2017 6:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I'm a videographer, so I need space for my gear and a vehicle that gets great mileage. The Mazda gets me that. It's a sharp little car, plenty of oomf from the 4-cyl. and the interior is simple and clean. I like the simplicity of the entertainment system in the Mazdas, very minimal buttons compared to other brands, which I wasn't looking for, but it's a huge plus. The new models look pretty mean, much sportier than a standard hatch. I've had her for 5 months and already have put on 10k miles, so I'm driving a lot, and it's a comfy ride. Sound is great from the stock speakers too. No negatives as of yet, very nice little car for the price, overall pretty stoked.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Corina 8/21/2017 11:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car drivers like a dream. Its a smooth easy ride. It also runs like a champ with no electric or mechanical issued as of yet. Traction is sketchy on wet roads sometimes as all cars are but otherwise this car is hands down amazing and the gas mileage is unbelivable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ralph 8/21/2017 1:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
Be a wise a consumer and shop around. Explore prices and features of the vehicle. Don't accept or settle for the first price quote.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Marcus 8/21/2017 12:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
This is my 3rd Mazda 3. I haven't had any maintenance issues on any of them. They are extremely reliable and get great gas mileage. I typically get 40 mpg. The new back-up camera is a nice addition to the base model. They handle great and are fun to drive. ZOOM ZOOM!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Shawn 8/21/2017 6:25:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
I have had Mazda's in the past and they have never let me down. I was truly happy that I could get the Mazda 3 5 Door in manual since it is not offered in a lot of cars now.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Johnathon 8/19/2017 5:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
it is a really fun car to drive, and cheap to maintain. only 2 complaints road noise is terrible, and wish it had more power, but i love everything else about it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill 8/18/2017 5:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great driving experience! Fairly quick for engine size and compared to comparable vehicles. Great interior. Beautiful exterior. Super comfortable seats. Mazda did a great job with the details. The infotainment system is good and intuitive. Even the factory sound system is very good. I do not think a better vehicle can be had for this price. Thank you Mazda for keeping manual transmissions alive!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cathy 8/14/2017 6:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I am very happy with my new vehicle! It's red and very sleek. The car is safe and comfortable to ride in and gets great gas mileage.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/5/2017 9:18:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
Over all a pretty good car. Good gas milage makes it cheap to operate and it has been reliable so far. The electronics have not impressed me. The Bose Stereo does not have a lot of power. There is no CD player available. The user interface is very slow when you first start to drive. The Climate control always seems to be too hot or too cold.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Rachel 7/30/2017 9:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
4 stars may be slightly unfair as the other vehicle that I have the occasion to drive is a Ford Focus RS. As such I can't help but feel that 1st gear in the Mazda is underpowered (the Mazda is also a standard transmission). It could use more torque. Otherwise I love the Mazda. The features are amazing and there is a large amount of technology in the car for the price. The ride is smooth and quiet and I love driving it. I just have to make peace with the fact that it will come nowhere close to the RS leaving the line.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 2 )

2017 Mazda Mazda3 5-Door
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Mazda3, sedan and hatchback, has become a bestseller for good reasons. Good looks and superb driving dynamics make it a compelling front-wheel-drive compact.

The 2017 Mazda3 gets a handful of improvements that should make it even more competitive against rivals like the Volkswagen Golf, Honda Civic and Ford Focus.

The styling is freshened for 2017 with a new nose and hatchback tail, and the interior gets a slight once-over, including more sound insulation. Mechanically, there’s a new engine management system called G-Vectoring Control that modulates torque to the front wheels based on steering input, to reduce body roll and improve directional stability.

Base engine is a 2.0-liter four cylinder making 155 horsepower and 150 pound-feet of torque. Higher models get a 2.5-liter making 184 horsepower and 185 pound-feet. The engines are mated to either a 6-speed automatic or 6-speed manual transmission that makes the most of the power.

The Mazda3 was named Top Safety Pick+ by the IIHS.

Fuel mileage for both engines is outstanding, rated by the EPA at 28/37 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 32 mpg Combined for the 2.0-liter engine with automatic, about the same for the 2.5-liter. Both engines have high compression ratios, but don’t require premium fuel like many other small cars with high-compression engines, Subaru to name one.

All-wheel drive is not available for Mazda3, however.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mazda3 comes in a choice of sedan and hatchback body styles in Sport ($17,845), Touring ($20,045), and Grand Touring ($22,545) models. A 155-hp 2.0-liter engine is standard, a 184-hp 2.5-liter is optional, with a choice of 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic, all front-wheel drive.

Mazda3 Sport is equipped with air conditioning, cloth upholstery, rearview camera, Bluetooth, keyless ignition, steering-wheel audio controls, internet radio, 7.0-inch touchscreen, 16-inch wheels.

Optional safety equipment includes active lane control and automatic headlights.

Walkaround

The Mazda3 is distinctive on the road, for its cab-back design, its long hood making it look like an expensive car, along with the raked windshield, sweeping roofline and high tail, all maintaining the sleek, athletic shape of the hatchback. The shoulder line rises and meets pointy taillamps on a rounded hatch. The sedan looks more like a rear-wheel-drive car, than front-wheel drive.

The fascia is lower for 2017, and the pushed-up grille draws the eyes. The foglamps and signal lamps are smaller. At the rear, a new bumper gets rid of cladding around the tailpipe.

Interior

The material in the flimsy headliner and plastic door inserts looks like it came from the bargain bin, but the rest of the cabin materials shine.

The front seats are supportive and comfortable, among the best in the class, with lower cushions for longer legs. Cloth, upgraded cloth, leatherette (vinyl), and leather are available. The perforated leather in the Grand Touring is luxury level. Mazda recently redesigned the seatbacks for a more natural sitting position and more lateral support. We think it’s comparable in comfort to its competitors.

There’s 35.8 inches of rear legroom, not much. Rear-seat passengers might be cramped.

The cockpit is focused on the driver, as the controls on the instrument panel are arranged symmetrically around the driver. An available head-up display completes the efficiency for the driver. We like the electronic emergency brake.

There’s a lot of content for the price, especially the touchscreen, so maybe it’s asking too much for that content to be really good, in particular the infotainment. Mazda needs to run down to the Apple store and catch up on stuff.

The sedan offers 12.4 cubic feet of cargo space in its trunk, which gets laughed at by the hatchback’s 20.2 cubic feet behind the rear seat. It folds down to create 47.1 cubic feet of cargo space, about the same as the Chevy Cruze hatchback. It’s small SUV territory.

Driving Impressions

The standard 2.0-liter engine is reasonably perky, with a consistent and linear throttle pedal, but it has a high torque curve (max torque 150 lb-ft), so the power doesn’t come on strong until 4000 rpm.

The power in the 2.5-liter is more available at lower rpm, while the torque max is 185 lb-ft. The 2.5 liter never gets caught flat-footed. Literally, as throttle pedal is hinged at the bottom like the pedals of an organ (or a Mercedes-Benz).

A 6-speed manual gearbox comes standard with either engine. It snicks neatly and precisely between gears, and the clutch take-up is easy and clean. We also like the 2.5-liter engine with 6-speed automatic transmission because it shifts with paddles, and with the decisiveness of a dual-clutch transmission.

The ride is a bit busier than most compact cars, and a bit harsh. We’ve found it’s smoother with the standard 16-inch wheels and tires.

The electric power steering, like other steer-by-wire systems, does not enhance dynamic driving due to its lack of feedback to driver, and the electro-hydraulic system in the previous generation was better in that regard. The new system offers a strong sense of center at lower speeds and out of corners, but it doesn’t do well on oddly crowned roads, and it doesn’t track all that well at highway speeds, calling for frequent small adjustments to keep the car straight. (Some of that could be due to tires.)

Summary

We might argue that you can get more car for your money with a Mazda3 than just about anything. Functionality and reliability top the list that importantly includes style, comfort, economy and safety. Translated, that’s a quick 2.5-liter four-cylinder hatchback that brings home 30 mpg, attached to a 6-speed automatic transmission as sharp as a dual clutch, and wrapped in a super-stylish shape, especially in white.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

2017 Mazda Mazda3 5-Door
NADAguides Test Drive Review

The fast lines and athletic stance of the Mazda3 convey this compact is a driver’s car. After spending significant time helming the Mazda3 Grand Touring model, it can be said it drives just as sporty as it looks.

In addition to the features found on the lessor equipped Touring trim, the Grand Touring model features auto on/off bi-xenon adaptive headlights, LED combination taillights, LED daytime running lights, rain-sensing windshield wipers, auto-dimming rearview mirror with Homelink®, and perforated leather-trimmed seats.

The “sporty appearance backed by performance” theme continues inside the vehicle. A beefy leather-wrapped steering wheel has a substantial hand, while the front seats feature aggressive side bolstering nearing those found in more expensive European cars.

Probably the coolest “wow” feature that comes standard on all Mazda3 trim levels is the Active Driving Display. According to Mazda, “This clear pop-up panel is vertically mounted behind the meter hood to deliver vehicle speed, navigational directions and other related driving information safely within the driver’s line of sight.” If you’ve seen heads-up display in pricier brands, then you understand how cool this feature is from a safety perspective.

Equipment like blind spot monitoring and crash avoidance are just some of the Technology package features you can get on the Grand Touring trim level.

The MAZDA CONNECT infotainment system is simple and a pleasure to use. An intuitive, 7-inch touch screen sits atop the center stack, with a jog wheel located on the center console capable of controlling the system. Bluetooth streaming is further enhanced by a full suite of apps, not limited to favorites such as Aha, Pandora and Stitcher.

J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Mazda Mazda3 5-Door Touring 2.5 Manual local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.