Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
9 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Red
May 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very happy with this purchase!
Tyler
February 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have had this car for about 6 months now. I got the sport model with the preferred equipment package. The sport comes with the smaller, 2.0L engine with 146hp. This engine leaves a bit to be desired in the automatic but I own the standard transmission. If you are considering getting it, I would recommend the touring with the bigger engine. The features and upgrades from the base make the value much better for the price.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Very well thought out and engineered. Easy to maintain and cost efficient. Comfortable, excellent features."
Emily
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm in love with this car. It has all the features of a higher end vehicle without a hefty price tag. It looks amazing from the outside, with a beautiful design that is sporty and compact but still spacious on the interior. The interior is where it shines; there's so much detail in everything, from the comfortable, sporty seats to the polished and easy-to-use console area and everything in between. Everything works so well in unison. The bluetooth connects automatically to my phone so my playlists start right up, the rain-sensing wipers auto detect rainfall so I don't have to worry about constantly changing wiper speed, and I can easily control the volume and playback from the steering wheel. I love my car, and I never thought I'd care about a car outside of it getting me from point A to point B.
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
7,300 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun to drive, good mileage. The preferred package offers some great feature upgrades to the entry level. Very comfortable. The primary negative I read about it is the small back seats.
Jens
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm a videographer, so I need space for my gear and a vehicle that gets great mileage. The Mazda gets me that. It's a sharp little car, plenty of oomf from the 4-cyl. and the interior is simple and clean. I like the simplicity of the entertainment system in the Mazdas, very minimal buttons compared to other brands, which I wasn't looking for, but it's a huge plus. The new models look pretty mean, much sportier than a standard hatch. I've had her for 5 months and already have put on 10k miles, so I'm driving a lot, and it's a comfy ride. Sound is great from the stock speakers too. No negatives as of yet, very nice little car for the price, overall pretty stoked.
Ralph
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Be a wise a consumer and shop around. Explore prices and features of the vehicle. Don't accept or settle for the first price quote.
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great driving experience! Fairly quick for engine size and compared to comparable vehicles. Great interior. Beautiful exterior. Super comfortable seats. Mazda did a great job with the details. The infotainment system is good and intuitive. Even the factory sound system is very good. I do not think a better vehicle can be had for this price. Thank you Mazda for keeping manual transmissions alive!
Cathy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with my new vehicle! It's red and very sleek. The car is safe and comfortable to ride in and gets great gas mileage.
2017 Mazda 1203 Mazda3 4-Door 29738 387262
Write a Review for the 2017 Mazda Mazda3 4-Door
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Mazda3, sedan and hatchback, has become a bestseller for good reasons. Good looks and superb driving dynamics make it a compelling front-wheel-drive compact.

The 2017 Mazda3 gets a handful of improvements that should make it even more competitive against rivals like the Volkswagen Golf, Honda Civic and Ford Focus.

The styling is freshened for 2017 with a new nose and hatchback tail, and the interior gets a slight once-over, including more sound insulation. Mechanically, there’s a new engine management system called G-Vectoring Control that modulates torque to the front wheels based on steering input, to reduce body roll and improve directional stability.

Base engine is a 2.0-liter four cylinder making 155 horsepower and 150 pound-feet of torque. Higher models get a 2.5-liter making 184 horsepower and 185 pound-feet. The engines are mated to either a 6-speed automatic or 6-speed manual transmission that makes the most of the power.

The Mazda3 was named Top Safety Pick+ by the IIHS.

Fuel mileage for both engines is outstanding, rated by the EPA at 28/37 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 32 mpg Combined for the 2.0-liter engine with automatic, about the same for the 2.5-liter. Both engines have high compression ratios, but don’t require premium fuel like many other small cars with high-compression engines, Subaru to name one.

All-wheel drive is not available for Mazda3, however.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mazda3 comes in a choice of sedan and hatchback body styles in Sport ($17,845), Touring ($20,045), and Grand Touring ($22,545) models. A 155-hp 2.0-liter engine is standard, a 184-hp 2.5-liter is optional, with a choice of 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic, all front-wheel drive.

Mazda3 Sport is equipped with air conditioning, cloth upholstery, rearview camera, Bluetooth, keyless ignition, steering-wheel audio controls, internet radio, 7.0-inch touchscreen, 16-inch wheels.

Optional safety equipment includes active lane control and automatic headlights.

Walkaround

The Mazda3 is distinctive on the road, for its cab-back design, its long hood making it look like an expensive car, along with the raked windshield, sweeping roofline and high tail, all maintaining the sleek, athletic shape of the hatchback. The shoulder line rises and meets pointy taillamps on a rounded hatch. The sedan looks more like a rear-wheel-drive car, than front-wheel drive.

The fascia is lower for 2017, and the pushed-up grille draws the eyes. The foglamps and signal lamps are smaller. At the rear, a new bumper gets rid of cladding around the tailpipe.

Interior

The material in the flimsy headliner and plastic door inserts looks like it came from the bargain bin, but the rest of the cabin materials shine.

The front seats are supportive and comfortable, among the best in the class, with lower cushions for longer legs. Cloth, upgraded cloth, leatherette (vinyl), and leather are available. The perforated leather in the Grand Touring is luxury level. Mazda recently redesigned the seatbacks for a more natural sitting position and more lateral support. We think it’s comparable in comfort to its competitors.

There’s 35.8 inches of rear legroom, not much. Rear-seat passengers might be cramped.

The cockpit is focused on the driver, as the controls on the instrument panel are arranged symmetrically around the driver. An available head-up display completes the efficiency for the driver. We like the electronic emergency brake.

There’s a lot of content for the price, especially the touchscreen, so maybe it’s asking too much for that content to be really good, in particular the infotainment. Mazda needs to run down to the Apple store and catch up on stuff.

The sedan offers 12.4 cubic feet of cargo space in its trunk, which gets laughed at by the hatchback’s 20.2 cubic feet behind the rear seat. It folds down to create 47.1 cubic feet of cargo space, about the same as the Chevy Cruze hatchback. It’s small SUV territory.

Driving Impressions

The standard 2.0-liter engine is reasonably perky, with a consistent and linear throttle pedal, but it has a high torque curve (max torque 150 lb-ft), so the power doesn’t come on strong until 4000 rpm.

The power in the 2.5-liter is more available at lower rpm, while the torque max is 185 lb-ft. The 2.5 liter never gets caught flat-footed. Literally, as throttle pedal is hinged at the bottom like the pedals of an organ (or a Mercedes-Benz).

A 6-speed manual gearbox comes standard with either engine. It snicks neatly and precisely between gears, and the clutch take-up is easy and clean. We also like the 2.5-liter engine with 6-speed automatic transmission because it shifts with paddles, and with the decisiveness of a dual-clutch transmission.

The ride is a bit busier than most compact cars, and a bit harsh. We’ve found it’s smoother with the standard 16-inch wheels and tires.

The electric power steering, like other steer-by-wire systems, does not enhance dynamic driving due to its lack of feedback to driver, and the electro-hydraulic system in the previous generation was better in that regard. The new system offers a strong sense of center at lower speeds and out of corners, but it doesn’t do well on oddly crowned roads, and it doesn’t track all that well at highway speeds, calling for frequent small adjustments to keep the car straight. (Some of that could be due to tires.)

Summary

We might argue that you can get more car for your money with a Mazda3 than just about anything. Functionality and reliability top the list that importantly includes style, comfort, economy and safety. Translated, that’s a quick 2.5-liter four-cylinder hatchback that brings home 30 mpg, attached to a 6-speed automatic transmission as sharp as a dual clutch, and wrapped in a super-stylish shape, especially in white.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Mazda Mazda3 4-Door
381
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel