Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
10 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Robert
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun convertible that drops the top quick and easy. Peppy motor with great performance and handling. Got it at a good price.
KATHLEEN
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 23, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I wanted a convertible and chose a Mazda Miata due to their bullet proof reputation. I did not expect to fall so in love with this 2017 soft top grand touring version. It has every bell and whistle that many higher priced car do not offer. To my amazement, it is just as fun to drive in the rain with the top up as it is to drive on sunny days with the top down. The cameras around the car allow me to see what is going on without compromising my sporty stylish look. I'd buy this car all over again every week if I had to.
Glenn
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 21, 2019
1,400 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Our 2017 Miata MX5 is one of the most fun vehicles I have ever driven. My wife was wondering why I wanted to trade the 2013 Camaro but as soon as she saw the Miata MX5 she absolutely fell in love with it. I also own a motorcycle and the Miata MX5 is just as much fun to drive maybe even more. It is a TOTAL BLAST.
bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
2,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2017 Miata replaced a 1991 Miata I drove for the past 26 years. I am impressed with the latest version of the Miata more than any other since the first generation. Fit and finish are excellent. Handling is top notch. Electronic features are very easy to understand and intuitive. It lacks power compared to a top end sports car but the pep and nimble handling more than make up for "muscle car" power. Not an every day driver car and I would recommend parking it in the winter season but it is fun to drive on sunny days with the top down or for moderate length trips. Much better on the back roads than on the interstate but it holds it's own when interstate travel is the best option. Overall a fun car to drive and mechanically sound.
Larry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's a fun car, this is a car would rather drive outside of the city, somewhere in the mountain or cruising alone the beach.
Jay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
9,700 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's a lot of fun to drive, very comfortable, very gratifying, great handling, and reasonable power at a reasonable price. I also expect, given my prior experience putting 100,000 miles on a used NA, that it will be very durable under less than gentle driving conditions. Even driving pretty hard on the freeways it's getting about 30 mpg. I think it could be just a tad more powerful and I reckon the newer 2.5 liter is just right. The 2.0 liter gets it done, though, and down shifting in the car works really smoothly. The stick shift and clutch are very smooth and easy. It's a reasonable car even in dense traffic. The car handles very well and, if you leave the safety stuff on, will make you feel like a genius right after you've made a mistake (even without the limited slip differential). The body does roll but it's just enough to let you know how far you're pushing it. You don't break loose without warning and it corrects itself very quickly. I also just verified that it does perfectly well in very heavy rain in both light and heavy traffic. By perfectly well I mean still be one of the fastest cars on the road. Ergonomically, the car is very well done. Provided you fit (I'm of average male build), you'll soon learn to get a lot done without looking, even the radio. Everything is in easy reach. I do find that, in bright sunlight, the instrument cluster and the screen are hard to see. I also wish they had done more to minimize reflections in the interior. There's very little glossy surface, but there could have been none, really. It could be just me. I also think that the command knob cluster should have been a few mm lower but the solution to that is really to keep both hands on the wheel. Some people say you wear the car. It is very light and responsive and the interior with the top up is cozy. Some have noted the the rear window restricts visibility but proper alignment of the side mirrors makes it a complete non-issue. You can safely change lanes without turning your head around with the top up. I drive the car daily in mixed traffic and am quite happy with it. It feels great to be in it and it's not going to land you in jail or the hospital and you can throw it into turns and pick your way through traffic, working that stick and the pedals. It's fun.
Bruce
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
2,800 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I only had to look at the MX5 RF to know that I had to have it. After thorough study and review, I bought a red one, Grand Touring. It has exceptional handling and truly gives you the feel of the road. It is what driving is all about. Great workmanship as well.
Monte
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"The MX 5 RF (Retractable Fastback) Mazda, has the makings of an instant classic. Handling, performance, & even economy are second to none. My 2017 Launch Edition Automatic replaced a 2015 MX 5 GT retractable with the standard transmission. Reviewers say "" Go with the stick "", but most people live in traffic conditions where the automatic really helps. This trans. is the best I've ever seen. It ratchet shifts FAST, it rev matches on downshifts like the Corvette AND it delivers slightly better gas mileage than the stick. The retract top feature is great in this car, the paint & interior attract attention wherever you go. The BMW idrive clone info. system is nice. More important than anything else, the car is just plain FUN ! One small negative, the Navi software is not Garmin based, it takes a little getting used to P.S. It doesn't break either."
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"My previous daily driver was a 2005 Acura TL 4 door sedan. I was looking to replace it with something small and fun to drive. I finally settled on a 2017 Mazda MX-5 GT. This is a 2 seat, soft top convertible. I analyzed whether I could make this work as a daily driver and found it possible. After 5,000 miles and about 5 months, I find it an exceptionally fun car to daily drive. The GT lacked the limited slip differential so I added the OEM model installed by the dealer prior to delivery. My car is a 6 speed manual transmission. The fit an finish is very good and my Porsche/BMW instructor friend was suitibley impressed with the $28,500 I paid for the car. The car handles very well, but exhibits quite a bit of body roll. As a daily driver, I am getting around 33mpg overall in mixed driving even in a car begging you to throttle through corners. The car is small, but not feel small while driving. I am actually more comfortable for extended periods in the MX-5 than the Acura TL, at 5'10"" and 180lbs."
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I get almost 40 mpg.
2017 Mazda 1203 MX-5 Miata 29691 387096
Write a Review for the 2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata.
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata
554
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel