2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata Reviews and Ratings

Grand Touring Auto

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (10)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.2 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Bruce 9/30/2017 7:16:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.8 / 5
I only had to look at the MX5 RF to know that I had to have it. After thorough study and review, I bought a red one, Grand Touring. It has exceptional handling and truly gives you the feel of the road. It is what driving is all about. Great workmanship as well.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/1/2017 2:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
Very well engineered and designed mechanically, stylishly. Above average type of technologies included at moderate pricing- affordability. Very special drivability.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Monte 8/22/2017 4:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The MX 5 RF (Retractable Fastback) Mazda, has the makings of an instant classic. Handling, performance, & even economy are second to none.<br /> My 2017 Launch Edition Automatic replaced a 2015 MX 5 GT retractable with the standard transmission. Reviewers say " Go with the stick ", but most people live in traffic conditions where the automatic really helps. This trans. is the best I've ever seen. It ratchet shifts FAST, it rev matches on downshifts like the Corvette AND it delivers slightly better gas mileage than the stick.<br /> The retract top feature is great in this car, the paint & interior attract attention wherever you go. The BMW idrive clone info. system is nice. More important than anything else, the car is just plain<br /> FUN !<br /> One small negative, the Navi software is not Garmin based, it takes a little getting used to<br /> P.S.<br /> It doesn't break either.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David 8/20/2017 1:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
My previous daily driver was a 2005 Acura TL 4 door sedan. I was looking to replace it with something small and fun to drive. I finally settled on a 2017 Mazda MX-5 GT. This is a 2 seat, soft top convertible. I analyzed whether I could make this work as a daily driver and found it possible. After 5,000 miles and about 5 months, I find it an exceptionally fun car to daily drive. The GT lacked the limited slip differential so I added the OEM model installed by the dealer prior to delivery. My car is a 6 speed manual transmission. The fit an finish is very good and my Porsche/BMW instructor friend was suitibley impressed with the $28,500 I paid for the car. The car handles very well, but exhibits quite a bit of body roll. As a daily driver, I am getting around 33mpg overall in mixed driving even in a car begging you to throttle through corners. The car is small, but not feel small while driving. I am actually more comfortable for extended periods in the MX-5 than the Acura TL, at 5'10"" and 180lbs.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/18/2017 4:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
I get almost 40 mpg.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Glenna 8/8/2017 12:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I absolutely love this car! It is fun to drive handles beautifully and I love the looks it gets. The power convertible top is great and it's fun to watch people react when I use it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Adrien 8/2/2017 9:30:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best vehicle I've yet to own. This is my sixth Mazda mx5 miata performance and reliability are a trademark with this car. I have the anniversary addition and it is the best car I've ever owned..
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jerry 7/31/2017 11:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
Love my miata mx5rf. The hard top convertible works great. Fun to drive with top up or down. The car drives as good as it looks!
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Mike 7/28/2017 12:35:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
If you are looking for an extremely fun beautiful versatile 2-seater roadster then purchase the 2017 Mazda MX-5 RF. Small in dimensions but loaded with technology and ability. I love how the car handles and the car is as quick as I need it. The new styling is very different but eye ctaching the color combo is outstanding and the rectractable hardtop is just awesome. Just a really fun and reliable little car for town or the highway.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By 7/27/2017 3:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Great car fun to drive looks great. Pros: Powered roof and road handling. Cons: Still noisy with roof up
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring Auto local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.