2017 MINI Hardtop 2 Door Reviews and Ratings

Cooper FWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 MINI Hardtop 2 Door.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (11)
Overall Rating
  4.2 / 5
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4.1 / 5
Exterior
  4.2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By RJ 9/6/2017 11:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
This car is fun to drive. I have a 4dr, providing far more flexibility than the 2dr (I owned a used 2 dr and loved it, but wanted more space). There is enough trunk space for me - maybe not enough for some folks. It is a manual S, averaging about 31 mpg city/hwy. The 'Green' and 'Sport' modes do actually do something; I get a few more miles/tank in Green; and Sport provides a kick in the pants for excitement. For a mix of personality and practicality, - for me, at least - this is it. I have the sport seats (comfortable) and the panoramic sunroof (awesome), and *highly recommend the upgraded headlights*. I owned a different car and drive in areas with minimal road lighting; the headlights are not something you can typically easily test drive but don't forget about them. I also appreciate that new minis have a 4yr warranty versus the usual 3yr. However, be advised that the 'scheduled maintenance included' period does NOT include everything it used to include (my dealer made sure this was clear to me).
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Juliet 9/5/2017 3:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I find the car to be stylish, safe and reliable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna 8/27/2017 6:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have wanted a Mini Cooper for many years, and I am so happy I finally got one! I absolutely love it. It is so quiet inside. I love the interior design and the ease of reaching all the controls. It handles well and is a blast to drive! Plus it's adorable with it's white top and bonnet stripes.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jennifer 8/24/2017 6:58:59 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
It needs more power with the turbo..sometime the car will stutter when you step on the gas. The toggle switch to turn the car on and radio off needs adjusted.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Denise 8/24/2017 3:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Hardtop Mini Cooper S!!! This car drives really well and is really fun to drive in the Colorado Mountains. I have no regrets on purchasing my dream car! Highly recommend this car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary Ann 8/23/2017 12:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've wanted to own a MINI for years. I adore the design and have been delighted with everything else that comes with it. The car is the perfect package. I get stylish interior and exterior design with great gas mileage and exceptional performance. The car is fast, fun and fashionable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By cameron and mi 8/22/2017 10:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
The cars have issues with flooding. Best Features - the car is zippy, and drives fast, good on gas. Worst Features - the car is not properly sealed and water gets into the car from the back hack
Reliability
Not Available
Interior
Not Available
Exterior
Not Available
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Gabor 8/22/2017 9:45:28 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Mini is really surprisingly fun to drive, much more spacious than expected and, most of all, easy to park in my tiny urban garage. It's comfortable, has great acceperation and hugs the road like it was on rails. My only wish is to have power seats with memory option, since my entire housold likes to drive the Mini and it's a pain to manually readjust the seats.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeff 8/19/2017 2:32:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
Great fun to drive. Very quiet at speed and handles great. Unfortunately poor reliability so far with radio unit (replaced already) and boot latch sensor (replaced). Dealer has been good about taking care of things but question long term reliability, as I drive a lot of miles per year.
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/18/2017 3:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The mini is a fun looking car and is also fun to drive. It is surprisingly roomy on the inside and has a BMW look and feel interior. I switched from a BMW to the mini and everything was familiar. the 3 cylinder engine is surprisingly peppy and it has all the tech I need.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Eva 8/16/2017 3:23:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Mini Coopers are the best car for your money and the most fun to drive. ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY MINI :) Best features - there tight driving, the way they take the turns,miles per gallon great,speed amazing.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 MINI Hardtop 2 Door
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Mini Cooper name represents a range of a front-wheel-drive compacts that deliver individual styling along with great handling that makes them fun to drive

The 2017 Mini Cooper lineup includes the classic Hardtop 2 Door, the Hardtop 4 Door, the soft-top Convertible, and the four-door Clubman with all-wheel drive and barn doors at the rear. They vary in length. The three-door hardtop, or hatch, is 150.4 inches long. The four-door is 156.8 inches, and the Clubman is 168.3 inches long.

Base engine is a turbocharged 1.5-liter three-cylinder making 124 horsepower. The Cooper S engine is a turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder making 189 horsepower. There’s also a John Cooper Works version of that engine making 228 horsepower. Each uses either a 6-speed manual or automatic transmission, we prefer the former.

The standard Mini Cooper with manual transmission gets an EPA-estimated 28/38 miles per gallon City/Highway, or and 32 mpg Combined city and highway. Cooper S is rated 23/32/26 mpg with the manual. The powerful John Cooper Works gets 23/31/26 mpg. The Convertible S gets the same, but with automatic is rated higher. All Mini Coopers require Premium gasoline.

Our preference is for the Hardtop 2 Door, as it is the classic Mini Cooper and a delight to drive.

During our test drives, we got about 25 miles per gallon in both the Mini Cooper and Cooper S, including a lot of spirited driving through canyon twisties. Out on the interstate, we got up to 40 mpg.

Mini Coopers are smaller and less practical than many hatchbacks that cost far less (the Clubman is the exception to this). The latest model, redesigned for 2014 (when it gained several hundred pounds), is built on the same platform as the BMW X1, and will eventually underpin up to 10 Mini models as well as a BMW sedan.

The Mini Cooper got the best safety rating from the insurance industry (IIHS) in 2016, with a Top Safety Pick+. However the federal government’s NHTSA doesn’t agree, giving the Mini only four stars overall.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mini Cooper Hardtop 2 Door ($20,950) comes with the 124-hp 1.5-liter engine; the Mini Cooper S Hardtop 2 Door ($24,400) gets the 189-hp 2.0-liter engine. The Mini Hardtop 4 Door ($21,950) is similarly equipped. Also available: the Mini Convertible ( $25,950) and the Mini Clubman ($24,100).

Standard equipment includes a 6.5-inch center screen, Bluetooth, 15-inch wheels (16-inch on Cooper S), faux leather, and eight airbags. Options are ganged into packages. The sport package ($1750) features adjustable dampers that sharpen the ride.

Much customization is available and adds to the fun. You could get a Union Jack convertible top. Eight choices in upholstery, and trims with Mini Yours finishes, like Fiber Alloy or the Off-White that’s like porcelain.

Walkaround

When the Mini Cooper was redesigned for 2014 it got bigger and longer, forward of the windshield, to meet new European crash-test standards for crush space. But it was barely noticeable. It grew 4.5 inches longer and 1.7 inches wider, while being a mere 0.3 inches taller. The result is charming and exceptional.

Traditional Mini design endures. Oval lights in the top corners of the front fenders, oblong grille in a chrome frame, upright windshield, almost-square taillghts, black pillars under a long roof, available in white. Mini says it’s the most popular option.

The Convertible is handsome, with its rear flip-down tailgate it looks like a roadster.

Interior

Changes in the interior of the 2017 Mini Cooper are largely for the better. It’s still a bit quirky but not as quirky as it used to be; the good quirks remain and most of the bad ones are gone. At least the instruments are where you expect them to be. A big tach with smaller speedo are mounted behind the steering wheel. The design of the interior is relatively useful and meaningful.

The big round center of the dash is exclusively a display screen, its size depending on trim. There are two rectangular air vents and two large round eyeball vents at the outer edges of the dash. There’s still a horizontal row of switches in the central lower dash, under three dials for climate control.

Switchgear gremlins live in the Convertible; if it heats up in the direct sun, the roof won’t raise for shade. Presumably until it cools down.

The interior is relatively good for front passengers, but not so much for rear passengers or cargo. Passengers sit deep, surrounded by quite a lot of black trim and upholstery.

The four-door Mini can shuttle four adults in a pinch, but only the Clubman model, about the same size of four-door Volkswagen Golf, is much of a people mover.

The Convertible is realistically a two-seater.

From the driver’s seat, the Mini is close to perfect. There’s head room for persons as much as 6 feet, 3 inches tall.

There’s a nice amount of engine noise in the cabin. The Cooper S pipes it in. The three-cylinder has an uneven idle we found endearing, strangely. It sounds like a Freightliner at cold start. Character.

With the rear seat up there’s 8.7 cubic feet of cargo space in the back, expanding to 38 cubic feet with the seat down. The Clubman raises it to 17.5 and 47.9 cubic feet.

Visibility isn’t great. The roof pillars are thick, and the roof is 18 or 20 inches forward, in order to reach the upright windshield pillars. With the top down and folded in the Convertible, rear visibility is nearly non-existent.

Driving Impressions

The standard engine in the Mini Cooper and Clubman is the turbocharged 1.5-liter three-cylinder engine that produces 124 horsepower and 162 pound-feet of torque (169 lb-ft for a few seconds during overboost). It can accelerate from zero to sixty in 7.4 seconds, and hit 130 mph. A three-cylinder that will go 130 miles per hour sounds like fun.

The handling and braking is superlative. The base Mini Cooper is our favorite, because it has all of the good handling while the three-cylinder engine is so squirty, and it’s much cheaper than the Cooper S. The little engine’s maximum torque comes at just 1250 rpm, and it peaks out at 4000 so it’s not a high-revver. We think the 6-speed manual works best with the three-cylinder, but at least the automatic is programmed to use the torque (though in Eco mode it’s downright dead).

The Cooper S is wildly fun but expensive. Its 2.0-liter turbocharged engine scoots it from zero to sixty in 6.4 seconds, one second quicker than the Cooper. It makes 189 horsepower and 206 pound-feet of torque (221 lb-ft during overboost).

You can get either a 6-speed manual or automatic transmission. We think the manual is a must in the Mini Cooper, although the linkage doesn’t inspire confidence and the rev-matching is aggressive. In the Cooper S, the optional paddle shifters are a must, to make the automatic more usable and enjoyable.

The JCW edition balloons the horsepower to 228 hp and torque to 236 lb-ft of torque, which makes it challenging to handle.

Driving modes are Sport, Mid, or Green, with red, blue, or green rings around the center display screen reminding you what mode you’re in. Sport mode holds the transmission gears longer, and stiffens the steering if you have the package with the firmer adaptive dampers that help keep the ride smooth. The base suspension is pretty firm as it is, while not crashing over the worst bumps.

There are a lot of wheel size and tire combinations available. As a good compromise, we like the 17-inch wheels with all-season tires on either the Cooper or Cooper S. The steering is quick, with a 14.0:1 ratio, making it twitchy on a bumpy straight freeway, but you’ll love it in the twisties.

Despite being heavier by more than 250 pounds, the Convertible keeps up the eager responsiveness. In Sport mode with the top down, its engine song is intoxicating.

Despite being longer than the base Mini Cooper by nearly 18 inches, the Clubman doesn’t feel stretched. It’s relatively easy to place all four wheels where you want them. The automatic does its best to keep the engine in its sweet spot, which is fairly low in the rev range.

Summary

You can beat the cargo space but you can’t beat the fun, with safety. The Mini Cooper is responsive in all the right places. The good news is the lowest-cost base model with 1.5-liter three-cylinder is the best value, the bad news is upgrades get costly fast. The good news is it’ll get up to 40 mpg on the freeway, the bad news is that premium fuel is required.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with driving impressions by The Car Connection staff.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 MINI Hardtop 2 Door Cooper FWD local listings
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 MINI listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 MINI listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars