NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Kia Sportage.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (16)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Anonymous 10/4/2017 6:10:25 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency, low maintenance, and reliability, brand name, fuel economy, exterior color, security system.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Debbie 10/2/2017 11:41:19 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love everything about my Kia Sportage....the way it drives, the back-up camera, the comfortable seats, the exterior color and storage.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By MICHAEL 9/22/2017 1:47:59 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
WE PURCHASED THE KIA SPORTAGE FOR THE SPORTY LOOK AND FEEL. SAFETY WAS IMPORTANT AS WE HAVE A 2 YEAR OLD SON. WE NEEDED CARGO ROOM, 4 DOORS, AND DECENT FUEL MILEAGE. MY WIFE AND I TEST DROVE SEVERAL OTHER VEHICLES AND EACH TIME WHILE WE LIKED THEM WE ALWAYS WENT HOME TO TALK ABOUT IT. AFTER DRIVING OUR SPORTAGE WE DECIDED ON THE SPOT TO TAKE IT HOME.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David 9/7/2017 10:45:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Excellent styling. Comfortable interior. Feeling of luxury car. Excellent handling. Turbo engine gives incredible power boost. Great family car. Excellent for city driving as well as long highway trips.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Calvin 9/3/2017 8:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The styling is definitely different from the rest of the field, but that's what makes me like it. The turbo model provides lots of acceleration when needed to merge or pass. The ride has been smooth and quiet. Friends/family have been impressed with the panoramic moonroof. I love the cooled seats on a hot day. Visibility is better than most competitors because of the size and shape of the small window behind the rear door. The Harmon/Kardon audio system sounds fantastic and the multi-media system is intuitive and easy to use, especially given the size of the touch screen. I also like the layout of the buttons and shifter, it's all easy and comfortable to operate. Gas mileage is not as good as competitors, but not bad enough to be a difference maker. I average about 24 MPG. I have not owned a Kia before but have been very happy with my purchase of the Sportage so far. Lots of quality features without the luxury car price. I would definitely recommend this car to someone considering a small SUV.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Patty 8/31/2017 10:17:14 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
"Kia Sportage is very comfortable and easy to Drive. Great gas mileage . Smooth travel. Great trunk space. Right size vehicle for vacation, Short trips, Would likely purchase another Kia in Future."
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Danno 8/25/2017 7:09:05 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
I love this car. I have the KIA Sportage, 4 cylinder Turbo. It can produce 240 HP. It is an SUV and drives like a sport car with the ride of a quiet luxury sedan. I have never driven a car that feels so secure and solid on the road. I was driving at 70 mph, and run into a deep water puddle on the right side, and the steering did not even pull. It steered straight and the tires gripped the road. That impressed me. Its suspension feels very solid, and yet the ride is smooth and quiet. The Glass Moon roof is wonderful, it opens the entire way even to the back seats, and you can't hear the wind. I got all the bells and whistles on this SUV and they are all great. I highly recommend the KIA Sportage. The machine is small in outward size, but has loads of room inside with a lot of back seat leg room and cargo space. I don't care who you may be, you would love this machine. I have yet to find a flaw on the vehicle. I am very critical of cars also. The accessories are state of the art. The headlights turn when you turn the wheel ! I like the sensors telling me when I am to close to something when I am parking. I have to give this car a 5 star rating. It is a pleasure to own. Danno
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 8/24/2017 3:03:03 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I like my Kia sportage very easy to get in and out of it. Good gas mileage. plenty of room inside and lot of power. A 10 year warranty . and very safe car.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rach 8/24/2017 12:49:59 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Kia Sportage new body style looks amazing. The interior is pretty and is functional for a busy wife/mom. I drive 70 plus miles a day and don`t mind the time in my car at all.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary 8/22/2017 6:57:55 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Gas mileage is great on long trips. It is a very comfortable and quiet smooth ride. It nice body lines and seats 5 adults well.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Elizabet 8/20/2017 7:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Nice , roomy vehicle. Its very fuel efficient. Like the style of the vehicle. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Mary A 8/20/2017 6:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Kia Sportage. It is a good solid car and handles really well. This is probably the best new car I have ever owned and a great value for the money. Beautiful inside and out.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joy 8/19/2017 10:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the color, roominess, interior color, smoothness of driving, ability to park it with use of back up camera view.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Susanne 8/19/2017 6:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
The KIA Sportage is exactly right for our family. We have been Sportage owners/drivers for 20 years - love them!
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Sion 8/19/2017 12:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my Kia Sportage SX. It has enough room to be comfortable but not so big it is hard to park. It is really fun to drive and the power it has is amazing. The safety features and reliability of this vehicle are the best.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tyler 8/18/2017 3:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1 / 5
Caution! So ended up buying this car for the features and the size. Cooled seats in Texas is a must with leather. But now I'm stuck with a car that has had issue after issue and has been in the shop 3 times for a total of 76 days and counting! First the sunroof broke and was rattling and back up camera was messing up. Got the sunroof fixed back up camera nope. Took the car back to the dealership cause they damaged the car while fixing it, backup camera wasn't fixed, and then car almost didn't start. They said everything was fixed after that but backup camera wasn't and nothing was wrong with the starter. Then the rattling started again in the sunroof and then also the driver visor area. Basically summary is this car feels cheap and like it will fall apart unlike the larger Sorento they are night and day difference. Do NOT consider this car cause if you do you will be taking a gamble with its reliability!
Reliability
Not Available
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 2 )

2017 Kia Sportage
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The all-new 2017 Kia Sportage enters its fourth generation with a major redesign that puts a little less emphasis on sport and a lot more emphasis on quality and comfort. Not to mention an intriguing new face.

When the Sportage made its debut, the compact crossover SUV field was thinly populated. That’s not the case today. The segment is chock-a-block, with over a dozen entries, all with virtues. Getting a new vehicle to stand out from the crowd is a challenge.

What’s the right recipe? Uninhibited styling? Athletic dynamics? Leader-of-the-pack performance? The previous generation projected a sporty image, fortifying it with a lively turbo engine option and suspension tuning that some judged to be a little too stiff.

The 2017 Sportage takes a different approach, emphasizing elements that almost always pay off in the showroom: quality interior furnishings, plenty of room, creamy ride, quiet operation, safety features in step with the times, and a good value story.

In addition to moving suspension tuning toward the comfort side of the ledger, Kia has dialed back on power. Displacement of the two engine choices is unchanged: a naturally aspirated 2.4-liter and a turbocharged 2.0-liter. Both engines are direct-injection four-cylinders, and both have received engineering attention to enhance efficiency.

At 181 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque, output of the 2.4-liter four-cylinder is about the same as that of the 2016 version. However, the turbo’s ratings drop from 260 hp and 269 lb-ft to 240 and 260, respectively. Both engines are paired with a 6-speed automatic transmission.

All-wheel drive is optional, front-wheel drive is standard. The all-wheel drive uses a new Magna system that anticipates road irregularities.

Kia cites an impressive 39 percent improvement in structural rigidity. But the Sportage has gained substantially at the scales, with curb weights running up to the two-ton frontier for the line-topping SX Turbo with all-wheel drive.

EPA fuel economy ratings range from 23/30 mpg City/Highway for the basic front-drive Sportage LX to 20/23 mpg for Sportage SX AWD turbo.

Safety features include forward collision warning and autonomous emergency braking; lane departure warning (which emits a particularly irritating beep but lacks lane-keeping); blind spot detection; and rear cross traffic alert.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Kia Sportage comes in three trim levels.

Sportage LX ($22,900) and Sportage EX ($25,500) are powered by the 2.4-liter engine. Sportage SX Turbo ($32,500) uses the turbocharged 2.0-liter turbo and is available with all-wheel drive ($34,000). Prices are MSRP and do not include destination and delivery charge ($895).

Walkaround

Compact is a word that keeps embracing bigger vehicles in the world of crossover SUVs, and the latest Sportage is in step with the trend. The wheelbase has been extended 1.2 inches, to 105.1; overall length stretches from 174.8 to 176.4; width expands by almost a half-inch, to 73.4.

Predictably, this adds up to a little more room inside, particularly welcome for passengers in the outboard rear seats, who can ride comfortably with only minimal cooperation from those up front. (Like all compact CUVs, the rear center seat is suitable only for child seats, very small adults, or passengers who would be more welcome somewhere else.)

The cargo hold behind the rear seats is also bigger, to 31 cubic feet, five more than the previous generation. However, the Sportage still trails key rivals, Ford Escape, Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5, Toyota RAV4, in this stat.

However, the cargo volume can be increased slightly with a new provision that allows users to drop and move the rear load floor down about three inches. Also, the rear seats have been redesigned to fold flatter, making it a little easier to stow big stuff. A new auto-opening power rear hatch helps, too; it responds to the keyfob after a short interval when the owner stands nearby.

Styling: The going away view might be better without the red reflective strip that spans the rear hatch, connecting the taillights. But the head-turning details are on the new front end, with its array of seemingly random styling elements, particularly the running lights set low in the fenders.

Kia calls them ice cubes, and they’re certainly distinctive. We should note that the ice cube LED lights are limited to the SX Turbo.

The overall design treatment, developed in Germany, hasn’t won the hearts of many critics, but of course they’re not the market. Kia product planners note that it’s increasingly difficult to stand out in the crowded compact CUV field, which essentially liberated the designers from a me-too approach.

Whatever else one may say about the face of the new Sportage, me-too does not apply.

Interior

Naturally, interior appointments contribute to the comfort quotient, and the Sportage gets very good marks on this portion of the scorecard. Materials wouldn’t be out of place in a vehicle costing half again as much, there’s hardly a hard surface anywhere, and sporty perforated leather seats, with heating and cooling, make the going more pleasant (although these are limited to the SX Turbo).

The leather-wrapped heated steering wheel (also limited to the SX Turbo) and shifter add lux to the interior. Asterisk: the wheel’s flat bottom, suggesting sportiness, is a little over the top. Flat-bottom wheels are necessary in sports and racing cars, allowing driver thigh clearance. That’s not an issue here, and the wheel’s D shape is strictly cosmetic.

Control functions are easy to identify, and for those who find total touch screen secondary controls irritating the display is augmented by a collection of switches, buttons, and knobs. No mysteries. The 8-inch screen, for its part, is home for a nav system that’s more cooperative than many, and is angled slightly toward the driver.

A low dash and thinner A-pillars (between windshield and side windows) improve forward sightlines. The C-pillars (between rear windscreen and rear side windows) have also been slimmed slightly, reducing rear quarter blind spots, but the available blind spot monitor is still a better bet for keeping track of surrounding traffic.

For sun worshippers, a vast new sunroof is available, opening most of the top to fresh air and solar rays, and it’s a tribute to the design staff that the body shell has actually been stiffened with so much structure missing up top.

The new Sportage features updated telematics, infotainment, and connectivity. Tops on that list is the availability of Apple Car Play and/or Android Auto. Kia also offers the third generation of its UVO system, and a Harman/Kardon 320-watt 8-speaker audio system with 8 gigs of storage.

Driving Impressions

The combination of more mass and fewer ponies is an unlikely formula for improving 0-to-60 mph performance. Kia addressed this issue in the Sportage SX by installing a new turbocharger that reaches maximum boost faster, summoning maximum torque more quickly.

The solution seems to get the new Sportage SX across the intersection smartly when the light turns green, a key element in everyday driving. But as speed builds, the effect diminishes: the engine begins to feel that it’s running out of breath, and passing on two-lane highways is something to be approached with care, in anticipation of lengthy exposure times.

Agility-wise, the character of the new Sportage seems to differ from its immediate ancestor. As noted, the generation three SX Turbo drew some criticism for a rather unforgiving ride on patchy pavement. The gen four Sportage features a more compliant setup.

The Sportage SX Turbo models with front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive that we have driven felt exceptionally solid, a tribute to that stiffened structure. Both were smooth operators on the rare stretches of rough going we encountered on mountain roads east of San Diego, and both absorbed freeway expansion joints and truck ruts commendably.

However, neither version exhibited much enthusiasm for decreasing radius turns, switchbacks, or quick transients. Body roll isn’t extravagant, but transient response is unhurried, particularly with all-wheel drive, which is substantially, and noticeably, heavier.

The electric power steering has been revised, and is reasonably quick (2.8 turns) and nicely weighted at highway speed, though still lacking a bit in terms of tactile feedback, something it shares with many systems.

Transmission performance is adequate in full automatic mode, although there’s a little more up-and-down hunting in hilly going. Responses to commands from the shift paddles are about average, but the transmission seems to want to upshift automatically when demand for power diminishes, regardless of operating mode (Normal, Sport, or Eco).

SX Turbos are equipped with 19-inch wheels (lesser trims have 17- and 18-inchers). The bigger diameter should add up to improved grip. Larger wheels often have a negative impact on ride quality, but we found the Sportage with 19-inch wheels to be supple on all surfaces.

Overall The dynamic bottom line seems to be a Sportage that’s not quite as quick on its feet. But it’s comfortable, quiet, and composed, a trio of traits that are hard to dislike.

Summary

The new 2017 Kia Sportage raises the ante in terms of quality and comfort. It’s not as quick and agile as some. If your priority is sporty handling, you might prefer the Ford Escape, Mazda CX-5, or VW Tiguan. But the Sportage is a satisfying ride in other scoring areas, civilized and quiet, structurally solid, with a strong value proposition. Styling of the SX Turbo, with its ice cube fog lights, may be a little too uninhibited for some. On the other hand, uninhibited styling hasn’t been a problem for the Kia Soul.

Driving impressions by Tony Swan, New Car Test Drive.

2017 Kia Sportage
NADAguides Test Drive Review

Utility

  • Have a rear-facing baby seat? This isn’t the vehicle for your family. The average height front passenger will feel crunched.
  • Rear cargo space is decent, but lacks some of the underfloor storage seen in other vehicles who utilize a run-flat.

Performance

  • Rev-happy 2.0-liter 4-cylinder is extremely peppy, at all speeds.
  • Great acceleration from 70-90 mph, as well as off the line.
  • A great engine.

Technology

  • UVO (Kia's branded infotainment system) is awesome.
  • Apple's CarPlay capability is amazing.
  • We loved the Stitcher app and the use of Apple Maps (just say the name of the restaurant you want to head to and Maps pulls it up. Tap “GO” and you are already on your way. It's way better than any built-in navigation system from any manufacturer. Seriously.)

Economy

  • With all of this power and peppiness, there is going to be a trade-off. The trade comes in fuel economy.
  • We saw 20.6mpg after 500 miles of mixed use driving.
  • The EPA estimate is 20 city/ 23 highway, with a combined 21 mpg.

Ride & Handling

  • Smooth ride, not a ton of body lean.
  • Stays mostly flat in the corners.
  • The AWD setup helps alleviate some of the understeer, but in the wet it still plows through corners more like a front-wheel-drive vehicle.
  • Crossover characteristics mean the Sportage is a little lower to the ground with a stronger sense of balance and lower center of gravity than a traditional SUV.
  • At highway speeds, there is a little more road noise than we’d like.
  • Hit 65 mph and road noise emanates from the floorboards, making for a noisier cabin.

Value

What can we say, this thing is loaded: Blind Spot Detection (BSD), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), heated/ventilated seats/steering wheel…the only thing that was missing was radar cruise control and perhaps a Head Up Display (HUD), but we’re being picky.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Kia Sportage LX FWD local listings
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel