Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
14 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymoos
July 16, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is literally the worst car I have ever owned. The seats make you ache if you sit in them for hours. It has NO get up and go. trust me, you floor it, the hamsters don''t run any faster. You are likely to get mowed down on an on-ramp of the interstate by a simple Chevy Cruze. Its loud, not just wind rushing, but engine, breathing, everything. Its like that scary guy two cubicles over who fancies himself Darth Vader. Lets not forget the sales guy who insisted the "sticker on the window with gas mileage was just a manufacturer suggestion". He was wrong. It barely gets 27mph. so much more bad.
SOUL
February 26, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
April 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Steve
December 26, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I owned a 2012 Soul and really liked and enjoyed it. 2012 was very quiet and tight. Stepping up to the 2017 Soul Plus I couldn''t believe the difference in the Cars everything inproved so much on the 2017 so quiet and the 2.0 engine runs very well. Really like the Soul
Vanessa B
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
yes the KIA car is great I would purchase another KIA for sure. The customer service was wonderful and the sales person answered all my questions.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 02, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my second Kia Soul, had a 2012 for 5 years. I had no major problems with the previous car. All I had to do was bring it back to the dealer for each routine scheduled maintenance and that's it! It has plenty of room, I moved twice while owning it, and each time filled it with more stuff than I care to admit, and it handled it beautifully. The warranty is long, gets great gas mileage and is fun to drive. I highly recommend the Kia Soul and will definitely be going back for a third when the time comes.
Van
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Soul is a good economy car at an economy price. The 2017 base started at 13k when I was shopping. The soul is a little underpowered but still makes great power for everyday driving (it isn't meant to be a racecar!). The catch is that with the 1.6 litre engine you are averaging 30+ mpg in a wagon with some decent options. If you want more there are 2 more trims (base,+,!) with the ! Trim having a turbo and oem subwoofers.
Brandy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I love my car. When I get in it, I love it. When I get out of it, I love it. My friends say I drive a mouse car... Well, this mouse car and I are all over the metroplex (it's great on gas)! It suites my personality and is actually really easy to handle as I wanted an suv but not some monster car to drive everyday. For me, the Soul is a happy marriage of suv-feel with car-type handling. My 6'4"" baby brother even commented about the headspace and how surprised he was that he fit in my car with ease (I joke with him that great things happen in my SOUL!). Yes, the car is practical and efficient but also fun and kinda sporty. The dealership also made it easy, worked around my schedule, and always paused to make sure I understood what was happening and asked if I had any questions. I felt valued as a person and not just another ""new car"" sale."
Eric N.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Kia Soul was the best buy, for the money, for us. In fact, we just bought a second one. Build quality, standard options, all you get at base price—made buying the Soul a no-brainer for us.
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very happy with vehicle. I have traveled from one state to the next and not only felt safe but was very comfortable. The gas mileage is great. My wife and I were surprised how much we could fit in the back. Our seat folds Down and there was plenty of room for an ice chest suitcases and other items. There was plenty of leg room for the both of us. Now our daughter wants to buy a car just like ours!!!
dana m
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,682 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
it is off good quality and runs great. take it out for a test drive and make your own mind up. Find a dealership near you.
Lisa C-T
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my car! This is my fourth Kia, my third Kia Soul. It's a fun, family car with lots of comfort and get up and go!
Eric
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the third key is so I have purchased. The first two were leases. I decided to purchase this one due to my familiar Arity with the car and the reliability that Kia has had with myself and family members have used their cars. I feel that these are the best cars available in the USA at this point.
Shirley
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Pretty good mileage in economy mode but not great pick up and go with it on. Seats are comfortable but need a lower back pump! the ride is smooth and. Comfortable but wish it had a cup holder near dash. also there is no spare, just a can to fill flat up.
2017 Kia 1200 Soul 30093 390122
Write a Review for the 2017 Kia Soul
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Mitch McCullough
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Last redesigned for 2014, the 2017 Kia Soul gets a new engine added to the lineup, a turbo four that brings more power. The compact hatchback has great packaging inside its boxy body and handles surprisingly well on winding roads.

For 2017, there are three different engines in the three models. The base model gets a 1.6-liter four-cylinder making 130 horsepower, mated to a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic. It’s slow.

The Plus model, which Kia calls + but we’ll use the word for, takes a 2.0-liter four that makes 161 horsepower, mated to a six-speed automatic. It’s quicker, but the transmission searches around for the gear it wants, too much, with both this engine and the base models.

The Exclaim (!), gets the new engine, a 1.6-liter turbocharged four making 201 horsepower, that’s also used by the Hyundai Elantra Sport. It’s mated to a smooth seven-speed dual-clutch automatic manual transmission. This engine delivers spirited performance when driving quickly, but the turbo lags at low engine speeds making the car feel lethargic when loafing around town.

Four-wheel disc brakes are standard, with brake assist and hill-start assist, even on the base model. They work well, easy to modulate for smooth, controlled braking.

Fuel mileage is good but doesn’t match the best competitors, probably because Soul’s boxy shape is less aerodynamic. The base model with the 1.6-liter engine with the automatic rates 25 miles per gallon City, 30 Highway, and 27 Combined by the Environmental Protection Agency. The Plus with the 2.0-liter rates 25/30/27 mpg. The new Exclaim with the 1.6-liter turbo and seven-seed dual-clutch gets 26/31/28 mpg. There’s also a Soul EV.

For a compact, Soul scores well in crash testing, with five stars overall from the NHTSA, and the top good scores from the IIHS. Six airbags are standard, and a rearview camera is standard on the Exclaim and Plus. There’s an available safety suite including blind-spot monitors with rear cross-traffic alert, lane departure warning, and forward collision warning.

Model Lineup

Kia Soul ($16,100) comes with cloth seats, air conditioning, Bluetooth, satellite radio, and a 60/40-split folding rear seat. Manual transmission is standard, automatic is available ($17,700).

Soul+ ($19,800) gets upgraded cloth upholstery, a 5.0-inch touchscreen, rearview camera, 17-inch wheels, and body-colored bumpers and trim.

Soul! ($22,800) comes with the new turbo engine, 18-inch wheels and sporty exterior bits. Inside, there are leather seats and piano black trim, a 4.3-inch LED instrument cluster, and keyless ignition.

All Souls get a great warranty: 5 years or 60,000 miles, and the powertrain for 10 years or 100,000 miles. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

The Kia Soul’s shape is still perky, but not so fresh any more. The proportions are right, as the sharp angles on the chunky sheetmetal work with the roofline. The windshield pillars are abrupt while leaning back a bit, keeping the profile from being overly square.

The Soul needs the body-colored trim in the Plus and Exclaim models, to smooth out and enhance the shape.

Interior

There is a sea of black plastic in the dash panel, with some chrome and glossy trim to add contrast. There are some unexpected upscale touches, such as the steering wheel, gauges, and some soft materials. The instrument panel is low so the driver looks downward at it. The center stack with its controls is canted toward the driver. Speakers sit on top of vents at the edges of the dash.

The seats are firm and supportive, but a tall driver might find himself too high, and there might not be enough support for long thighs. The Plus and Exclaim have a folding center armrest in the rear. But the best part is, there’s an amazing 39 inches of rear seat legroom, more than many SUVs.

Soul offers a good level of standard equipment for a base compact, but there’s no cruise control or center front armrest. The rearview camera is available in a package costing $2000, a high price for a basic safety feature.

There’s good cargo room inside, with 24.2 cubic feet behind the rear seats, and with them folded there’s a vast 61.3 cubic feet; the Soul is like a tiny cargo van.

The Soul gets back to being an inexpensive compact car when it comes to interior noise. The Exclaim’s turbo motor drones into the cabin, and begins to howl when the engine tops 4000 rpm. The other two slower engines are louder.

Driving Impressions

The base 1.6-liter engine is slow. One hundred thirty horsepower and 118 pound-feet of torque is minimal. But if you don’t commute on the freeway, it keeps up. For an entry-level new car, considering the cargo capacity and cool factor, the base model with the six-speed manual is a good car for the money.

The 2.0-liter only comes with the six-speed automatic transmission whose downshifts are responsive and quick, although at freeway speeds, it shifts between fifth and sixth gears too much. It can be locked in manual so it only upshifts at redline, but that probably won’t keep it from downshifting from sixth to fifth.

The new turbo engine, built by Hyundai, makes 201 horsepower and 195 pound-feet of torque, enough so there’s torque steer if you stand on it. With this engine, the Soul is a quick car on a winding backroad.

However, when driven slowly, running errands around the neighborhood, it can feel lethargic and unwilling, and with non-linear acceleration. Throttle response is sluggish when transitioning from coasting to slow or moderate acceleration. Push on the accelerator harder and it then it surges with more gusto than wanted. In short, the car feels sluggish.

Underway, Soul is neither as tippy as the boxy profile suggests nor is the ride as busy as the short wheelbase suggests. Twin-path dampers deliver good control, confidence in corners, and isolation from small bumps. The Soul offers reasonably responsive handling, braking and acceleration when driven quickly on a winding road, where it can feel sporty and fun, and there’s a Sport mode that firms up the steering, but the Soul is no VW Golf or Mini Cooper.

The transmission can be so slow to transition from Drive to Reverse and back to Drive that it reminds us of an old movie where the sea captain moves the power lever from Half to Full, an engineer below deck sees the lever has moved and then shouts “Full steam ahead!” to another seaman who moves a lever to increase engine speed. This can seem tedious when in a hurry.

Summary

The Kia Soul does indeed have some soul, along with some compelling traits. The base model, even with its speed-challenged 1.6-liter engine and six-speed gearbox, offers a good value. The new 201-horsepower turbo with the seven-speed dual clutch transmission makes the Soul an enjoyable driving companion when the revs are kept up.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with New Car Test Drive editor Mitch McCullough reporting from New Jersey.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Kia Soul
424
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel