Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
28 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Gary L
September 22, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The top end Kia Sorento is competive in most areas with more Luxury SUVs. Very nice interior with good safety features, a peppy 6 cylinder engine that gives good pick-up and good gas milage. I have 31000 trouble free miles on the vehicle. Its pleasant to drive and very comfortable inside. The only issue I have is that it is noisier than I would like. It's much less expensive than luxury models but competitive in most aspects with luxury SUVs except for the noise level which is similar Toyota or Honda for noise level.
TDR
August 21, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2nd New SXL AWD trading in for a new 2019 SXL AWD. I can honestly say No problems with this veh with the miles. Traded a 2016 with 68000 miles for this 2017 and now trading in for a 2019 which Im sure will also give me the Quality which Kia has proven for the price . This will be my 13 Kia in my family.
Lb
July 17, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not sure on the rating
Mama Nan
January 30, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have 2017 white LX Sport with DVD, cargo cover, luggage rack, and heated seats. Handles great! Great mileage! (4 cyl) Overall roomy vehicle. Middle seats recline a little. Brakes sometimes grab when first driving, especially in rain. (Kia says theyre fine) Front seats are a little tight. Front passenger seat is like sitting in a hole and cannot adjust height..I hate that! Steering doesnt adjust low enough for me. Does not have a great speaker system. I do not regret the purchase although I wish I had waited on a used EX or SX 2016 with leather seats and power gate.
Pat
January 05, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Too confining for me; little space behind a passenger in front seat is seat is slightly reclined; too few areas in which to place belongings: maps, flashlight, etc.; little or no trunk if third seat is used
Computer & CarPlay have issues!
July 31, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
At 42k miles we incurred a problem with the cruise control feature where it shut off on its own after driving approx. 4 hours and the parking break light illuminated (thankfully the brake was not actually engaged while we were driving). There was a previous incident where the cruise control shut off on its own as well. Kia''s service center could not diagnose anything. We have also experienced intermittent problems with the USB/Bluetooth features with the CarPlay and our iPhones. My husband has a 7s and I have a 5s (both acceptable for the current CarPlay compatibility according to Kia)
Mynamejeff
February 23, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Get a freaking chevy or gmc. Not impressed
Anonymous
January 10, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
love everything about my 2017 Sorento EX-V6 except the 23 mpg fuel.
Gary A
October 19, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought the top of the line Sorento based on reviews and test information. I have not been disappointed. The electronics are amazing and the size of the car makes it easy to get around in traffic with a smooth ride on the freeways. My wife loves to drive it.
Jennifer
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 06, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car looks nice and initially drives nice; however, the car quickly looses it nice qualities and my car seem like it's starting to have engine issues. If I would have had knowledge about the faulty engine in past model vehicles, I would not have purchased this car.
Lisa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I got my car for the number of people I could get into it and its reliability. The car is responsive, has good highway mileage and is comfortable. I love its red color, as well.
Sue
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
10,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new Kia Sorento. I love that it has onboard sensors that tell me what is going on with my car. I am not a car person and need to be alerted and reminded. It gets great gas mileage. I love that it has a gauge that tells me when I am using more gas. That has improved my driving tremendously. I love that it has safety feature like back up camera and sensors and lane assist. This has improved my driving. It is roomy and handles myself and my kids. It is easy to maintain inside and out
Tracy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 19, 2017
4,200 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really enjoy my 2017 Kia Sorento. I love the spaciousness and the seats are very comfortable. My favorite things about the care are all of the safety features. I am leasing the car and feel like I got a great deal. My last car was also a Kia and the dealership has been wonderful to work with. The only thing that I dont like is that the AC seems loud if I have the setting above low. Very minor complaint for a car that I LOVE!
Chuck
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 10, 2017
8,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My KIA Sorento is reliabile, snappy and gets about 32mpg. It is a very nice looking vehicle that caught my eye as soon as I saw it at the dealership. I am extremely impressed with the 100,000 mile warranty and would recommend this vehicle to anyone.
Crusty
September 10, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great Car... I would buy again.
Jay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We had a Kia Sorrento we had only made 4 payments on when someone ran a stop sign and I T-boned them going over 50 mph. The air bags deployed and the car was totaled. When people saw the vehicle they were amazed that my injuries weren't more severe. We called our dealership the following day to make arrangements to purchase a new Kia. Any car that is as reliable and keeps my family safe will be what we continue to purchase. This makes our 4th Sorrento and even talked my parents into buying one.
Steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
2,100 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
KIA is setting the standard for reliable, safe and stylish vehicles. Very pleased with performance and appearance. Lives up to it's ratings and reputation!
Todd
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
1,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent features for the price, so far, a great car with a comfortable ride. Found it to be much roomier than my previous car (2001- Hyundai Santa Fe).
Tom
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very pleased with my 2017 Kia Sorento, it is a pleasure to take trips with, nice safety features,comfortable seats,easy handling,good. gas mileage.
Joe
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The KIA Sorento offers customers a very well appointed car at a very reasonable price with an outstanding warranty. The 'sport' mode is excellent and this SUV handles extremely well. The V6 AWD tows well and is rated to 5000lbs. The styling is a cut above other makes. The interior feels like other expensive German cars. I cant say enough about how satisfied we are at this point.
Darren
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,300 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I choose my KIA for the warranty and for being very reliable and for being a smaller SUV it has alt of room in the inside.
Michael P
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
8,100 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I really like the room, handling and ride. The gas mileage is very good. The grandchildren love the third seat. Only 2 ""negatives"" are I wish the front passenger seat sat a little higher and I sometimes hit the ""voice"" button on the steering wheel when driving."
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
2,400 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really like my 2017 Kia EX V6 AWD Sorento! ! It gives me the power and cargo capacity that I desire. Over the years I've owned many American and foreign brands; however, my Korean-brand vehicle is built as good or better than some other Asian and German brands. As a result, I think Kia is building a reputation and will soon realize a premium in the used-vehicle market like some other Asian brands.
Erik
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Kia Sorento v6 AWD, is a great car plenty of power and great ride quality. The interior has a quality fit and finish and outstanding cargo capacity in the 5 seater configuration or a third row can be used.
Boyd
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,957 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
WE wanted a car with a flat front floor. You do not have any idea how hard it is to find such a vehicle. My wife has had a knee replacement and has trouble lifting her feet to get out of the car. NEED THAT FLAT FLOOR
Maribel R
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very comfortable ride, spacious, love all the safety features, especially lane assistant. The panoramic sunroof, heated and cool seats, heated steering wheel, huge back up camera, beautiful interior.
Craig
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
600 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought a 2017 Kia Sorento SX and love the car. It's rated very highly and has the latest safety features which provided many discounts for auto insurance. It's All Wheel Drive and gets good mileage. The features are easy to operate. It drives and looks like an SUV twice the price. ... in the service department is nicest most honest and friendly Service Consultant that I have ever met. He is one of the main reasons this is my 3rd Sorento from Kia ... .... The warranty on this car is one of the best in the industry.
Jessica
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
5,400 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very reliable suv. I was between a Kia Forte or a Kia Optima and decided on this.
2017 Kia 1200 Sorento 29279 383779
Write a Review for the 2017 Kia Sorento
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Kia Sorento is a mid-size crossover with an available third-row seat to provide seating for seven, which puts it in a category of just a few vehicles. It was redesigned for the 2016 model year, increasing its wheelbase and length by about three inches to increase cabin space, making it a bit larger than the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4.

The redesign was total, including a new chassis with stiffer body structure, complete sheetmetal makeover, and new available turbo four-cylinder engine with direct injection. The ride got smoother and interior more sophisticated. The Sorento came out feeling more confident and solid, without gaining weight.

Base engine is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making 185 horsepower. Other engines include a 3.3-liter V6 making 290 horsepower, and the turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder making 240 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. A 6-speed automatic transmission is standard, and each powertrain comes with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive with a locking differential that splits the drive 50/50 front/rear.

With 7.3 inches of ground clearance, the Sorento is good in deep snow or sand. Each of the powertrains is capable of towing, but the V6 is best, rated at 5000 pounds.

The Sorento earns top crash test results in all five categories from the IIHS, as well a five stars from the NHTSA. Standard safety equipment includes side airbags and active headrests in front, side as well as curtain airbags with rollover sensor. Extensive active safety features are available.

The base 2.4-liter engines gets an EPA-estimated 21 miles per gallon City, 29 Highway, and 24 Combined. The V6 drops to 17/23/19 mpg, and the new turbo four 20/27/23 mpg. All those specs are with front-wheel drive; all-wheel drive brings the mileage down by one mile per gallon.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Kia Sorento is available with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. Sorento L ($25,400) and Sorento LX ($26,700) come with cloth upholstery and the 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine.

Sorento EX ($31,500) trim upgrades with leather seat trim and features the 2.0-liter turbocharged engine.

Sorento LX V6 ($28,990), Sorento EX V6 ($33,100), and Sorento SX V6 ($38,600) feature the 3.3-liter V6 engine. Sorento SX Limited V6 ($43,900) upgrades with premium Nappa leather seat trim.

Walkaround

Korean carmakers are known for their ability to copy competitors, to steal the best ideas and designs, and the Sorento styling reflects that skill. It looks neat and elegant, in its family crossover tapestry. Its change is evolutionary, with familiar soft proportions.

Good aerodynamics belie the overall slight bluntness. The front and rear show maturity in the details, with character coming from the detailed grille, LED running lights, and narrow headlamps with prominent air intakes punctuated by foglamps.

Interior

The Sorento cabin has the feel of a luxury car, thanks to its refinement. The body structure, new for 2016, doubled the amount of high-strength steel, and you can hear it in the solid thunk of the closing of the doors, as well as the quiet ride.

The front seats are especially good. Kia cabin engineers have proudly stated they copied the seats of a Volvo. The seats leave your prosaic Toyota and Honda SUVs behind, and venture into the comfort zone of Jeep Grand Cherokee, BMW X5 and VW Touareg. In Sorento SX models, there’s extendable thigh support for tall drivers, and available height and tilt adjustment for the passenger.

The second-row seats are, we shall say, less than optimum. They’re low, short, firm, and not contoured: a basic bench. The Nissan Murano and Toyota Highlander back seats are far better. However there’s storage under the rear seats, and at least the bench allows the seatback neatly flip forward for access to the third row. Which is surprisingly good, considering that it’s a few inches shorter than the Highlander’s, and even more inches shorter than in the Ford Explorer or Dodge Durango. The Sorento’s third row works for short rides if you’re under six feet.

On the Sorento SX Limited the third row is power folding, by a button inside the liftgate. There’s also an available remote liftgate release that works with the key in your pocket or purse. But the storage space behind the third row is relatively small, maybe enough for three grocery bags.

The Sorento dashboard is attractive and functional, and wraps around between the front doors. It’s fairly low, making the gauges and instruments seem high, which means they’re easy to read and easy to reach. There is ample soft-touch trim, although it could be a bit more daring, and the quality of the interior materials is good. The climate, audio, and navigation controls have their own tidy control pods.

The panoramic moonroof that comes on SX models (optional on EX) is nice but brings down the headroom over the second row too much. If you have tall teens, you may not want it.

Driving Impressions

On the dyno the V6 is the most powerful engine, with 290 horsepower, but the new 240-horsepower turbocharged four feels perkier, probably because it has more torque, with 260 pound-feet versus the V6’s 252 pound-feet. The V6 does feel quicker in jackrabbit starts, and there’s some turbo lag with the 2.0T engine.

The 6-speed automatic transmission used by all three engines operates more abruptly with the V6, while the four-cylinders shifted more smoothly, if not all that precisely.

There’s a Sport mode, but it’s not particularly sporty. Sport, Comfort, and Eco modes adjust the Sorento’s transmission shift points and steering boost, but don’t affect the throttle response, which is quite sensitive.

The steering is good, with decent tracking on center. The feel of the brakes is also good, while the suspension provides a composed ride.

Sensors in the available all-wheel-drive system monitor the steering degree, yaw, and other forces not having to do with wheel slippage. It’s a sophisticated system that electronically determines in milliseconds which wheel or wheels get the power. There’s also available torque-vectoring that talks to the all-wheel drive when the road is slippery.

Summary

The Kia Sorento is a fine and versatile family crossover, with stylish looks and a refined cabin. It was all new for 2016. The price goes up with the good stuff, like seven-passenger seating, all-wheel drive, and the turbocharged four-cylinder engine, but it’s still a major contender in its class.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with driving impressions by The Car Connection staff.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Kia Sorento
612
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel