Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
15 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Chandrad
February 27, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bash57
December 29, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lots of room for this size car, good pickup and handling. Lots of added features for a basic model.
Anonymous
May 24, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Buyer's remorse
January 31, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kia optima does not come with options of luxury. This model doesn''t hold its value. One would be much better towards buying a Hyundai .
Gport54
December 31, 2017
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 08, 2017
2,400 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I searched for affordable sedans with good climate control & found it on the Kia Optima EX. Due to Florida heat, having a car that offered backseat a/c was a must for me! Plus it's very comfortable with adjustable seats/steering wheel, low-maintenance, spacious, has cool features such apple carplay & keyless ignition, & a beautiful color & design. I am very happy with the deal I got for such a nice car that more than met my needs. PS: My only complaint is that the car won't let me leave it on AND locked from the outside. Sometimes I need to make a quick stop under extreme heat with my pet inside the car so I'd like leave the A/C on AND be able to lock the car, but it doesn't let me if it detects my key is outside the car. I even tried leaving one of the keys inside but it still won't let me. I can't leave my pet without a/c or without a lock. That's the only thing that bothers me.
Dawn
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
5,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love the Kia brand of vehicles! This is my 3rd new Kia and I love it so very much! I only graduated from a Forte to get into a Optima lease deal so I can get a wonderful new Kia every 3 years! My sister still has my 2003 Kia Optima. 165,000 miles and still going strong except for the rust. Very nicely made vehicles. I only buy the Kia brand since 2003. No more shopping around for me!
Magda A.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love driving my new Kia! I made a great choice and I would recommend anyone to buy it because it is reliable and fun to drive!
Felicia
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great features smooth ride great style and great colors to choose from would buy from again in the future.
Philip
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is very reliable and user friendly. I've been told that the rear seating is very comfortable and spacious. Fun to drive! :)
Ken
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 KIA Optima has a similar look as several other cars in its bracket but its warranty is outstanding and it has every bit of the features the others do yet at a reasonable price.
Ivan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great value. Best Features - Ease of navigation.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
1,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Had a Kia Optima previously, really liked it. Took recommendations from friends who had Kia vehicles, which led me to get my first Kia. I'm really glad that I took their advice.
Louise
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 17, 2017
2,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
In my opinion, Kia is one of the safest cars on the road. Value is outstanding and my Kia's have always required very little maintenance.
KC
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 11, 2017
4,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I truly love my Kia Optima. It's interior/exterior is comfortable and stylish. Gas mileage is awesome!
2017 Kia 1200 Optima 30111 390287
Write a Review for the 2017 Kia Optima
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

European-style design, topped by a coupe-like roofline, gives Kia’s midsize sedan a more distinctive appearance than most family sedans. Diverse powertrain possibilities boost its appeal.

Redesigned for the 2016 model year, the Optima shows little change for 2017, other than newly standard 18-inch wheels for SX and SXL trim levels. Option-package contents have been modified a bit.

Similar to the Hyundai Sonata (from Kia’s parent company), the Optima is a capable family hauler that promises good value. Five trim levels are offered: LX, LX 1.6T, EX, SX, and SXL. Optimas may be powered by any of three four-cylinder engine choices: a turbocharged 1.6-liter, turbo 2.0-liter, or naturally aspirated 2.4-liter.

Available in base LX or step-up EX trim, the direct-injected 2.4-liter develops 185 horsepower and 178 pound-feet of torque. A 6-speed automatic is the sole transmission.

Optional for the LX, Kia’s 1.6-liter turbo produces 178 horsepower and 195 pound-feet, the latter at a mere 1,500 rpm. The 1.6-liter mates with a 7-speed dual-clutch transmission that operates like a regular automatic.

SX and SXL versions get the stronger 2.0-liter turbo, generating 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet. The 6-speed automatic transmission includes paddle shifters. In each Optima, Drive Mode Select offers Sport, Normal, and Eco modes.

Kia also offers an Optima Hybrid and the company’s first Plug-in Hybrid. Both hybrids use a 154-horsepower gasoline engine, coupled to an electric motor and lithium-polymer battery pack. Each mates with a 6-speed automatic transmission.

Optimas have scored well in crash-testing. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave Optima five stars for each test, including frontal and side impacts. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety gave it a Good rating in each category, including the small-overlap test, naming Optima a Top Safety Pick. With active-safety features installed, the Optima nabbed a Superior rating for crash mitigation and avoidance.

An impressive collection of active-safety features is standard in top SXL trim, but those items cost quite a lot when purchased in option groups for lesser trim levels. All Optimas have a rearview camera. SX and SXL editions can get a surround-view camera. No spare tire is provided in LX models, but a tire mobility kit includes sealant and an inflator.

Model Lineup

LX 2.4 ($22,200) includes the 6-speed automatic, a rearview camera, cloth upholstery, air conditioning, keyless entry, cruise control, Bluetooth, and 16-inch alloy wheels. (Prices are MSRP do not include $895 destination charge.)

LX 1.6T ($24,140) gets the 1.6-liter turbocharged engine, 7-speed dual-clutch transmission, heated power-folding mirrors with turn-signal indicators, pushbutton start, and a leather-wrapped steering wheel.

EX 2.4 ($25,440) has the 6-speed automatic transmission, 2.4-liter engine, leather upholstery, power driver’s seat, heated front seats, 17-inch alloy wheels, LED daytime running lamps and taillights, dual-zone automatic climate control, heated steering wheel, woodgrain trim, and UVO eServices.

SX 2.0T ($29,940) gets the 2.0-liter engine, 6-speed automatic, paddle shifters, LED headlights, navigation with 8-inch touchscreen, 18-inch wheels, and metal pedals.

SXL 2.0T ($36,090) comes with Nappa leather upholstery, a sunroof, ventilated power front seats, heated rear seats, and 10-speaker Harman Kardon audio,

Active-safety/driver-assistance features standard with SXL include blind-spot monitoring, forward collision warning, autonomous emergency braking, rear cross-traffic alert, lane-departure warning, adaptive cruise control, a surround-view camera, and rear parking assist. Most items are available as options on other trim levels.

Hybrid Premium ($25,995) uses a gasoline/electric powertrain with 6-speed automatic. Standard are a 7-inch touchscreen, dual-zone climate control, UVO eServices, 16-inch wheels, and cloth upholstery.

Hybrid EX ($30,990) adds navigation, Harman Kardon audio, leather upholstery, heated front seats and steering wheel, and 17-inch wheels.

Plug-in Hybrid EX ($35,210) has the gasoline/electric powertrain, but can be plugged into an electrical outlet for recharging.

Walkaround

Fans of the previous Optima should be pleased to know that Kia designers didn’t tamper much with the basic design. While touching up details, they retained its taut body lines and close-to-coupe roof profile. Though still striking, an Optima doesn’t stand quite as far apart from the midsize pack as it used to. Design has evolved judiciously, leaving the most compelling qualities intact.

Overall proportions of this mature Optima almost suggest a rear-drive sport sedan rather than a front-drive family transporter. The swoopy roofline extends further rearward than some, ensuring adequate rear-seat headroom.

Interior

Clean-looking and carefully organized, the cabin makes better use of available space than previous Optimas. More horizontally-oriented than in the past, the low dashboard reaches out to each side, rather than leaning toward the driver.

Even base LX models promise a degree of poshness suggestive of near-luxury motoring. Doors, for instance, close with a solid, precise thud. Quietness within the cabin is immediately evident. Slim roof pillars help provide outstanding visibility.

Front-seat comfort is helped by relatively long cushions and helpful side support. Back support ranks above average for affordable sedans.

Six-footers may consider back-seat headroom a tad tight. Long rear doors permit easy entry and exit. All Optimas have a 60/40-split rear seat. Trunk space totals a near-average 15.9 cubic feet.

A simple interface uses rotary knobs for audio and climate control. Touchscreen operation is reasonably intuitive. Android Auto and Apple CarPlay provide smartphone interaction via UVO eServices (standard in upper trim levels).

Driving Impressions

Even though Optimas lack a sporty nature, falling slightly short on spirit, their ride/handling balance ranks among the best in the midsize class. Ride comfort reaches well beyond prior Optimas. Pleasantly compliant when encountering minor bumps and holes, the Optima suffers little bounciness when pavement flaws grow harsher.

Especially in SX or SXL trim, Optimas also stand well above the crowd in handling prowess. Body lean in curves or corners is predictable, Optimas feels adeptly composed, and the brake pedal feels confident.

Kia uses two electric power-steering configurations. SX/SXL models have a rack-mounted setup that provides precise feel when slightly off-center. In lesser trim levels, a column-mounted system yields a good sense of steering-wheel centering.

The Drive Mode Select system alters shift points and gas-pedal sensitivity. Eco mode may induce indecisive shifting, especially with the 1.6T engine, though it delivers gentle takeoffs from a stop.

Most popular engine is the smooth, responsive 2.4-liter. Because peak torque comes at higher engine speed, the transmission will downshift more often. The 2.0-liter turbo is more responsive at lower speed, and its transmission shifts smoothly.

The 1.6-liter turbo generally feels stronger than the 2.4-liter, but the hesitant dual-clutch transmission disappoints. Shifts are smooth when passing, but downshifts are delayed on hilly or curvy terrain. Low-speed parking maneuvers also frustrate.

Fuel economy is good, but not great. In LX trim, the 2.4-liter is EPA-rated at 25/36 mpg City/Highway, or 29 mpg Combined. In EX guise, it’s estimated at 24/34/28 mpg.

The 2.0-liter turbo is EPA-rated at 22/31 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. Most frugal is the 1.6-liter, rated at 28/37 mpg City/Highway, or 31 mpg Combined.

For the most miserly driving, the Optima Hybrid is rated at 42 mpg Combined. An Optima Plug-In Hybrid can travel nearly 30 miles on electricity alone.

Summary

Kia continues to offer an appealing choice in a competitive category, promising excellent value. Expect high-level refinement and an enticing interior, regardless of model. Each Optima is well-equipped, but the SXL - though expensive - includes a truly impressive group of safety/driver-assistance features.

Driving impressions by Andrew Ganz, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Kia Optima
552
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel