Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
15 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
sixpack
August 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
best car I have ever owned.
Jeff
May 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car. Complete 5 star quality
EP
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
2,343 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its very stylish, comfortable and ride is very smooth. Best Features - Exterior and interior
MISTER O
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"BEFORE YOU SPEND MONEY ON A NEW CAR, YOU HAVE TO TEST DRIVE THE 2017 KIA CADENZA LIMITED ,ONCE YOU DRIVE IT YOU""LL LOVE IT !!! YOU DESERVE THE BEST AT THE RIGHT PRICE !!! I OWN IT I LOVE IT, I GIVE IT 5 STARS"
Judy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 01, 2017
2,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I never thought I'd buy a KIA, but then I saw the Cadenza and fell in love with its exterior & interior. I loved my test drive, and all of the easy to use safety features, GPS, radio, automatic features (lights, wipers) and I love the Cruise option's smart breaking feature, lane change warning & back up camera. I love the warning sound if someone or something is close & you're backing out & didn't see them/it.
Tom
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best car I've driven with the best options for the money! It has everything you could possible want: GPS, side warnings, rear camera, the list just goes on.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Cadenza is beautiful and sophisticated. She purrs on the road and her seats are like butter. She is smart and tech savy. She is roomy and comfy. I am extremely happy with my decision.
Rich
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
1,890 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy to have purchased my 2017 Cadenza most people ask who makes it, when I tell them kia the say they didn't know kia made such a large vehicle overall the car is outstanding in ride and handling, quality of materials is very good fit and finish is excellent at this point I can see myself purchasing another when the times comes
Art
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great value. Best Features - Safety
William W
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
756 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great driving car and is QUIET. Best Features - auto stopping, blind spot indicator
Larry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
1,700 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Like the styling and interior. Best Features - Comfy seats, memory too. Worst Features - Door locks
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,750 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Kia Cadenza Limited has all the safety features I was looking for. It is a smooth ride and I like how it performs.
Alan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The technology features are well above average, and significant thought has been put into the controls. Controls are, for the most part, very intuitive and well located. There are features, like linking individual keys to individual seat and mirror settings, that would be nice to have, but overall, the technology is very advanced. The Adaptive Cruise Control is a nice feature, but still needs some refinement for spacing between you and the car in front of you, and for crowded driving conditions. The power to weight ratio is a lower than I would expect, and, despite its 6-cylinder engine, could benefit from turbo-charging. Turning radius is a little large. All-in-all, though, it is a vehicle I heartily recommend.
Rose
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 13, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"For a ""Premium"" car the 2017 Kia Cadenza doesn't even come close. We owned a 2014 Premium and thought they'd be improvements to the 2017 model. What happened was Kia created a ""technology"" package that used to be the premium. Now their premium has less features than several other cars base model packages. If you absolutely have to have a Kia, get the Optima instead, but honestly I'm choosing to stay away from the brand. I'm blaming myself here, not Kia. They're trying to sell cars even though they're not very good cars, it's my fault for trusting them after our 2014 Cadenza starting falling apart at 30,000 miles. I hope someone learns from our bad experience."
Jonathan javier
May 15, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is awesome never thought a kia would be this good thank you my SXL 2017 cadenza is fire !!!!!!!!!
2017 Kia 1200 Cadenza 30104 390221
Write a Review for the 2017 Kia Cadenza
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Redesigned for 2017, Kia Cadenza is more refined than the first-generation model and presents a more polished appearance. Though the larger K900 has taken over as Kia’s flagship sedan, the 2017 Cadenza looks like it has moved into a higher class than before and it feels more like a luxury car than previously.

Each gets the same powertrain. Largely a carryover, Kia’s 3.3-liter V6 engine develops 290 horsepower and 253 pound-feet of torque, driving the front wheels through a new 8-speed automatic transmission. (First-generation Cadenzas had a 6-speed.) Moving to an 8-speed helps with both drivability and fuel usage.

Developers of the current Cadenza specified substantial use of high-strength steel, as well as adhesive materials. As a result, the 2017 body is lighter as well as stiffer. These modifications also paved the way for suspension improvements, adding to the new level of refinement.

On the outside, the 2017 Cadenza looks considerably more elegant than the original. In addition to abundant leg space in the back seat of the luxury-level cabin, occupants can expect a blissfully quiet journey.

Neither the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration nor the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has crash-tested the latest Cadenza. Safety starts with nine airbags, including knee airbag for the driver. A rearview camera is standard on all three versions.

Technology and SXL trim levels come with several standard active-safety features: lane departure warning, automatic emergency braking, and adaptive cruise control. None of those items can be installed on the Premium version, but an available option group includes lane-change assist and blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert.

Also standard on the two upper trim levels are automatic high-beam headlights and a surround-view camera system. The SXL edition adds a head-up display, which has an unfortunate tendency to disappear if the driver is wearing polarized sunglasses. All Cadenzas contain a version of Kia’s UVO infotainment system, including Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. A panoramic sunroof is standard on Technology and SXL models, and optional for Premium trim. Upper trim levels have no options at all.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Kia Cadenza is available in Premium, Technology, SXL trim levels. Cadenza Premium comes with leather seat trim, heated front seats, heated power mirrors, foglamps, power front seats, dual-zone automatic climate control, a 7-inch touchscreen, 8-speaker audio, satellite radio, Bluetooth, rearview camera, and 18-inch alloy wheels.

Cadenza Technology adds a batch of safety technology, led by automatic high-beam LED headlights, automatic emergency braking, blind-spot detection with cross-traffic alert, lane-departure and forward collision warnings, and adaptive cruise control. Also standard are ventilated front seats, a sunroof, paddle shifters, 19-inch wheels, LED foglamps, power tilt/telescopic steering column, navigation, heated steering wheel, and Harman Kardon 12-speaker 630-watt audio.

Cadenza SXL adds a head-up display, hands-free trunk opener, power rear sunshade, rear side window shades, Nappa quilted leather, Dark Satin 19-inch wheels, and heated outboard rear seats.

Walkaround

Dimensionally, the 2017 Cadenza is virtually identical to its predecessor, though a longer roofline boosts rear headroom for taller riders. Wheelbase has grown a bit, increasing leg space.

Even though this second-generation design is evolutionary, the 2017 Cadenza does display a slightly more organic appearance than before. Influence of European sedan styling is clearly evident. Fewer sheetmetal creases are visible, and brightwork has increased. In contrast to the original Cadenza’s simple grille, its replacement looks more ornate.

All models have Z-shaped LED running lights. Full LED headlights and foglamps are included with Technology and SLX trim levels, which also get a mildly different front fascia.

Interior

At a glance, the cabin looks like a modest evolution of the first-generation, but plenty of differences may be discerned. Especially noticeable is the greater emphasis on upgraded materials and seemingly hand-crafted details.

Though still conservative overall, the car has moved subtly upscale, achieving a softer and warmer tone. Door panels and the dashboard display actual stitching. Soft leather is found in more places. Even Premium-trim occupants get leather seats. SXL models get softer-yet Nappa leather with quilted bolsters and diamond-theme stitching.

Dashboard buttons are logically positioned. A touchscreen sits high, between climate-control vents. One feature deserves special applause: a traditional-type gearshift lever, rather than one of the gadgety controllers that have become common.

Passenger accommodations also have moved well ahead. A lower driver’s seat, for instance, yields greater head clearance. A new cushion can be extended to please taller drivers. Immense back-seat space, coupled with a hushed cabin, have turned the Cadenza into a veritable benchmark for full-size sedans. Cadenzas promise excellent space for five occupants, and real stretch-out room for four.

Trunk volume is substantial at 16 cubic feet.

Driving Impressions

Visually, the 2017 Cadenza might suggest a European sports sedan, but sportiness isn’t its forte. A Cadenza isn’t as composed on the road as some of its rivals, lacking the crisp responses that several other large sedans can provide.

Instead, Kia has focused strongly on comfort and, especially, refinement. Occupants can expect a gentle ride in a nearly-silent motoring environment, attributes that are helped by the sedan’s stiffer structure and a softening of its suspension. The Cadenza can anticipate a relaxed session behind the wheel.

Performance isn’t quite a strong suit, largely because the 3.3-liter V6 fails to provide a bounty of torque at lower engine speeds. To elicit satisfying response, the gas pedal needs to be pushed a bit harder than usual. On the plus side, the new 8-speed automatic transmission shifts smoothly and downshifts promptly when needed.

Four drive modes are selectable: Comfort, Eco, Sport, and Smart. Each provides slightly different road behavior, but Comfort typically seems to yield the best result. Steering is on the heavy side normally; but if you choose Sport mode, it becomes heavier yet, inappropriate for a large sedan. Suspension’s settings are unaffected by mode choice, but definitely oriented toward comfort. Still, body control bests that of some rival sedans, and brakes are strong.

At highway speeds, wind noise is practically absent and road rumble minimal. Though helped by the 8-speed automatic, fuel economy trails most prominent rivals, EPA-rated at 20/28 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined.

Summary

The new 2017 Kia Cadenza scores highly for front- and rear-seat roominess, overall fit and finish, and the capacity to seat five occupants in exemplary comfort. Shoppers who aren’t tied to a specific brand can get a serious luxury-sedan feel, as well as abundant features, in a Cadenza.

Driving impressions by Andrew Ganz, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Kia Cadenza
714
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel