2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Reviews and Ratings

Rubicon 4x4

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (11)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Brandon 10/1/2017 7:10:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.1 / 5
The jeep wrangler is a great vehicle, but doesn't handle liie any other vehicle. Need to get used to how it handles. Don't expect the best mpg it is a tank after all.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.5 / 5

By Marcia 9/30/2017 3:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017Jeep Wrangler Sehara Unlimited is by far the best vehicle I have ever purchased. It is fun to drive and has a very roomy interior. Lots of head room! I get lots of compliments every where I go.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Beth 8/28/2017 3:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Jeep Wrangler is a very fun, functional and reliable vehicle to own! Best Features - Overal Image, interior space and fun with the top off. Worst Features - comfort of seating in front and back
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brandi 8/25/2017 3:17:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Hi, I absolutely love my jeep wrangler sahara unlimited. I have always wanted one and finally got one 5mths ago. Love being able to take tops and doors off and going just about anywhere i want to in it and also need the 4wheel drive where we live. Very happy with my jeep wrangler!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sheri 8/23/2017 8:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my jeep! Best Features - Comfort, handling, precision, features, and look!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kim 8/23/2017 6:57:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I traded my 2015 Jeep Renegade for my 2017 Jeep unlimited Rubicon Hard Rock. This is my 3rd wrangler! I decided that getting the last model of the JK would be the best vs waiting until the 2018 model came out. I've been wanting a Rubicon, so glad I finally took the plunge and got the Hard Rock. Love the look. I still drive it stock for now and it gets many complements. Gas mileage is OK, but I don't take it on the highway much, just city area. I haven't been off roading yet but I plan to. I don't use the soft top much because it is too hot in Florida. I recommend getting a hoist for the top in the garage! I also recommend the navigation/touch screen radio upgrade. I do wish there was a back up camera option.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 11:20:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Jeep's appearance and the freedom it gives me to drive anywhere I want to -- to the local store or to the beach.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Patrick 8/22/2017 5:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Know what you are buying...Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (Sahara) is unique. Super fun, but not refined or quiet.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 6:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I purchased a 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, equipped with the Rubicon Recon package. A Wrangler was what I wanted, but the package offered a great deal of the amenities I preferred, without having to add after purchase. The look is personal, and the open top is a big reason I bought what I did. Love it!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Tammi A. 8/21/2017 2:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I love my Jeep. Its has everything I need. Tops off and windows down on good days. buttoned up on bad weather days. its exactly what I wanted
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Brandon 8/14/2017 12:59:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.6 / 5
The car we test drove and the car we ended up purchasing from an order were so different in comfort that our new purchase was sold. Family members complained of back problems within days of the purchase and they even opted to ride in other vehicles than to ride in the jeep. Jeep wranglers are fun to drive but I would never consider one as a daily driver.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Jeep Wrangler remains popular because it’s so rugged and pure. It comes as a two-door or four-door, removable hard top or soft. All Wranglers seat five people, although the four-door Wrangler Unlimited is 20.6 inches longer, providing more room in the rear.

The 2017 Wrangler may be the last of this generation. An all-new Wrangler is expected soon.

Changes for 2017 are light: a new Sport S model, and available LED headlamps and foglamps.

All Wranglers use Chrysler’s strong 3.6-liter V6, making 285 horsepower and 260-pound-feet of torque, which is more than enough. It’s mated to a 6-speed manual transmission or 5-speed Mercedes-Benz automatic that remains part of the powertrain from the time when Mercedes owned Chrysler/Jeep. The Wrangler accelerates smoothly to sixty miles per hour in 7.7 seconds, with good zip at low rpm.

The Wrangler does off-roading better than just about any vehicle made, but its on-road driving dynamics are raw, archaic and sloppy. The old-school recirculating-ball steering is sturdy but dull, the ride is bouncy, and the vehicle leans a lot.

But it might be worth it, if you love the trails enough. The rugged body-on-frame structure, solid axles, big ground clearance with skid plates, and impressive ability to climb over boulders are what make the Wrangler special. And there is modern technology, for example sway bars that electronically disconnect to allow extreme wheel articulation and grip in spots that would bring almost any other vehicle to a crashing stop.

Hill start assist is standard for Wranglers with a manual transmission, and trailer sway control comes on all models.

Safety has some weak spots. The NHTSA gave the top-heavy Wrangler only three stars out of five for rollover resistance, while the IIHS gave the two-door Wrangler a Poor in side impact. Other IIHS scores were better, as both the two-door and four-door earned the top “Good” rating for moderate frontal impact, and Marginal in the difficult small overlap frontal test, while the four-door Wrangler Unlimited got a better Marginal rating in side impact.

The only standard airbags are the mandated dual front bags, while side-impact front bags are optional; we can’t think of another vehicle that doesn’t have standard side-impact airbags in front. Moreover, there are no available advanced safety features, not even a rearview camera.

The two-door Wrangler gets an EPA-estimated 17 City, 21 Highway and 18 Combined miles per gallon, with either transmission. The bigger Wrangler Unlimited is rated at the same 18 mpg Combined.

Model Lineup

The Wrangler comes in Sport, Sport S, Sahara, and the off-road Rubicon; there are also models with specific equipment called the 75th Anniversary, Rubicon Hard Rock, and Willys Wheeler.

Wrangler Sport ($23,995) has manual windows and no air conditioning, but as you move up you’ll find things like heated seats, satellite radio, leather seats, and alloy wheels. Options include Bluetooth, navigation, and towing and trim packages.

A well-equipped Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon can exceed $45,000, by which time you might not want to expose it to a bashing in the boonies.

Walkaround

No question the Wrangler looks unique. Millions of them have looked unique since WWII. One thing that makes it unique as a vehicle today is its aerodynamics, which resemble the factory in Toledo where it’s built. Same factory where they built those WW2 Jeeps. True.

Speaking of true, the Wrangler is true to its roots, with a seven-slat grille, trapezoidal fender flares, and door hinges that are still exposed after all these years. And you can still take off the top and drop the windshield flat. The sheetmetal is also flat (sculpted would be sacrilege); it’s easier to fix that way, after you rub a tree or boulder.

The designers had some fun with the details. Look closely and you might find little Jeeps here and there. A Willys silhouette in the edge of the windshield., little Jeeps in lighting elements, and there’s that Willys silhouette again in the wheel pockets.

Interior

The 2017 Wrangler is still a bit crude inside, made so you can still spray it with a hose after a day in the mud with the windshield dropped. But it’s businesslike and livable, and compared to the past it’s downright luxurious. The modern instrument panel is contoured while remaining upright, with bezels that have a machined look, along with a lot of plastic. There are soft-touch materials around the dash and door panels, with ambient lighting under the panel and around the cupholders. Elbow rests are padded.

It’s a good thing you can remove the top, because the roof squeezes down on the upright windshield and cuts some forward visibility, especially if you’re tall. No vehicle offers so many roof options, with the Freedom T-top, Sunrider flip-back top, and soft tops that are a pain in the butt. It’s kind of difficult to explain how each works here, and what might be inconvenient to buyers with different desires, so we suggest that you spend 30 minutes with your dealer trying the four options out, and thinking about your own situation and wants.

Whatever top you end up with, it’s going to be noisy inside. Jeep has put effort into reducing noise and vibration in recent years, so it’s better than it used to be, with surprisingly little wind noise given the boxy shape. But maybe that’s because you can’t hear the wind for all the mechanical noise, especially with the manual transmission.

Cargo space is generous in the four-door Unlimited and stingy in the two-door, with only 12.8 cubic feet behind the rear seat. It folds, but not flat, and that’s simply unacceptable in this vehicle. Jeep will tell you that if you want to load something big back there, take the back seat out, because you can. So the best way to use a two-door Wrangler is take off the roof, take out the rear seat, and keep it garaged and only drive it on nice days.

That’s why they invented the Unlimited, a few years ago. It has 31.5 cubic feet of cargo space behind the rear seat, and 71.6 cubic feet total inside. The tailgate swings out, or the rear plastic window zips with a soft top, or there’s a glass panel with a hinge on top with the Sunrider.

Driving Impressions

First, the good things. Off road the Wrangler will wow you, thanks to the tough chassis, solid axles, high ground clearance with skid plates, and technology like the electric sway-bar disconnect. It’s very easy to position on tight trails, with its very tight turning radius. Off-roaders will appreciate these stats for the Rubicon: 44.3 degrees approach angle, 25.4 degrees breakover angle, and 40.4 degrees departure angle. You won’t find numbers like that in any other vehicle.

For serious offroad situations, you can start the Wrangler in gear, with your left foot off the clutch pedal, when in 4WD using low range in the transfer case. The starter motor alone gets it moving. This works on a steep uphill with the engine stalled, otherwise you’d find yourself cursing your body for not having three feet for the three pedals.

The modern and powerful 3.6-liter V6 engine totally works in the Wrangler, with its high torque useful for low-speed off-roading, and smooth, quick acceleration for passing on the highway.

The 5-speed automatic transmission is an old but good hand-me-down from Mercedes-Benz; its shifts are smooth during easy to medium acceleration, and get firmer when you push. But we prefer the six-speed manual, not only because it provides more of the real Jeep experience, but also more control over the engine. Sure, the throws are long, the clutch pedal travel is long, and there’s more vibration, but that’s the Jeep experience we’re talking about. The sixth gear is an overdrive, tall to keep the revs and noise down, and gas mileage up, at freeway speed.

The automatic also has high ratios, with a 3.21 final drive; in the zero-to-sixty sprint, you’re still in second gear at the finish. If you plan to go off-roading, a 4.10 ratio is available in the Rubicon.

As for the road manners, if you’re young or have never owned or driven a Jeep, you might be shocked. It’s noisy, rides hard, jiggles, flops, bounces, and leans. And those are just the first moves; there are finer snatches and jerks that impress every imperfection of the road upon your body. Like a heavy-duty pickup truck, the Wrangler has a live front axle, so big bumps in the middle of a corner might deliver a full-frontal shudder. And the two-door Wrangler is worse than the Unlimited, because of its shorter wheelbase.

The Wrangler’s old-school recirculating-ball steering isn’t exactly the sharpest tool in the shed. The turn-in is crisp enough, thanks to that tight turning radius that’s good on trails, but then comes a numb zone where road feel is lost. And the tall tires don’t help with responsiveness, not least on curvy roads.

Summary

The world is a better place with the Jeep Wrangler in it. And it’s popular for a few good reasons. Most people who own Jeeps love them. It may be uncomfortable, and it’s not the safest vehicle on the road, but it sure is fun. Importantly, you can’t go wrong with today’s powertrain.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 4x4 local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.