2017 Jeep Renegade Reviews and Ratings

Latitude 4x4

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jeep Renegade.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (9)
Overall Rating
  4.1 / 5
Reliability
  4.1 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Joe 10/6/2017 1:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.2 / 5
I have a 2017 Jeep Renegade. I love the look of the car, sporty and not too big for a SUV. It has the capability of adding larger tires if I wanted to in the future. Living in a snowy state, I need 4WD and this car is like a little tank. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles in the inside, but it does have a heated steering wheel which is the best thing ever!
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Clarissa 8/20/2017 8:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
If you're looking for comfort, this is not the vehicle for you. It would be the perfect vehicle for me if I was single. But as a family, there is noooooo space for streching.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sara 8/20/2017 2:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My favorite car I have had by far. There have been small problems, but it hasn't really bothered me because i love the look and make of the vehicle. Would recommend to others. Smooth ride and cool easy features.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Audrey R 8/19/2017 9:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It looks and drives great! A very comfortable experience. Best Features - The seats and sunroof. great on gas. Worst Features - the hatchback is kind of hard to open you have to have your finger just so on the button.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By RAMON A. 8/10/2017 6:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
MI PRIMARIO LENGUAJE ES ESPANOL.POR TANTO NO PUEDO OPINAR EN ESE LENGUAJE , ME GUSTARIA YA QUE HA SIDO MUY INTEREZANTE LA ENCUESTA.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Diane 8/10/2017 9:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my 2017 Jeep Renegade Trailhawk! Because I wanted a different style this time I turned in my Cherokee lease for a Renegade. Although the body appears smaller the interior is roomy and is very comfortable for my 6' tall husband. The Renegade is fun in its interior and performance has good gas mileage and is roomy for groceries golf clubs and luggage. The exterior styling is what attracted me to the Renegade and after one test drive I knew it was the vehicle for me.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Roxie 7/31/2017 9:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I absolutely loveeeee my renegade! It's tall enough for my tall boyfriend when the bigger models were not. Even though it's a fairly compact SUV it feels very spacious given the height of it. The only down side for us is that with a baby and a dog the back seat gets a little tight because the seats don't fold down with a car seat in the center. If we have more children we will definitely need something bigger. Overall a wonderful family vehicle though!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jose 7/31/2017 8:37:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Great Vehicle knew what I wanted when I went to the Dealership. My first Jeep only thing don't love about the Jeep is takes so long for air conditioner to cool vehicle.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Russell M 7/28/2017 5:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.2 / 5
Stay away unless you like driving junk. Pros: nothing cheap built Cons: Transmission
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jeep Renegade
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Jeep Renegade is the smallest crossover available and it offers genuine offroad capability with a two-speed transfer case, like a Jeep.

Renegade is large enough for people who don’t need a vehicle the size of the Patriot, Compass or Cherokee, and don’t want to burn the fuel it takes to run those bigger cars. The Renegade is hugely successful in countries where gas can’t afford to be guzzled. The Jeep Wrangler is shorter and even more capable, but it’s a highly focused vehicle and it isn’t a crossover. The Range Rover Evoque is slightly longer and more capable, but it’s much more expensive.

The Renegade comes with two powertrains, with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. The base engine is a turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder making 160 horsepower and 184 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed manual transmission.

The more powerful option is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 9-speed automatic. It comes standard on the Trailhawk and Desert Hawk models.

Changes for 2017 are minor, with keyless ignition and HID headlamps added to the top model. Two limited-edition models are offered: the Renegade Altitude and Renegade Desert Hawk.

The 1.4-liter turbo gets an EPA-rated 27 miles per gallon Combined, while the 2.4-liter rates 25 mpg Combined city and highway.

The federal NHTSA gives the Renegade four stars for crash worthiness, while the insurance industry’s IIHS gives it top scores in all but the small-overlap front crash test on which few vehicles can earn a Good rating. Optional active-safety features include forward-collision warnings and automatic braking, lane-departure warning, and blind-spot monitors.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Renegade comes in Sport ($17,995), Latitude ($21,495), Altitude ($22,190), Trailhawk ($26,645), Desert Hawk ($28,140) models.

Walkaround

The Renegade is tall for its length, with flat, upright sides. It’s spunky and distinctive. Details are oversized to make it clear that its roots go back to the vehicles you see on re-runs of the TV show “Mash.” Big round headlamps flank the trademark seven-bar grille. The trapezoidal fender flares are black and rubbery, oversized to make this little SUV look tough. The taillamps have an X shape in them, intended to suggest jerry cans strapped to the rear, as a reminder of Jeep’s WWII heritage.

Interior

Imagine a subcompact car that’s spent a couple months training to be a cage fighter, and you might have the Renegade interior. Big round knobs and center vents in a pod on the dash.

Front seats are well bolstered and comfortable, with good shoulder room. But you can’t get away from the reality that the Renegade is a subcompact vehicle, so there isn’t much legroom in rear; for passengers in the back to have enough legroom, the front seats have to be slid forward.

The good news is there’s a lot of cargo room, as not only do the rear seats fold flat, but the front passenger seat does as well.

Driving Impressions

The Renegade is refined enough on paved roads. We prefer the 1.4-liter turbo engine with front-wheel drive in the city, even with its manual gearbox. It’s lighter and more direct than the 2.4-liter.

The Trailhawk feels ponderous around town where handling is tight, because of its additional weight.

Off road, the Renegade is no Wrangler, but with its modes for Mud, Sand, and Snow, it’s quite remarkable. We drove it up steep and rutty hills, nearly 45 degrees, and back down again using the hill descent control to control the speed, and grip at each wheel. The little Jeep will cross streams and climb boulders almost as tall as its wheels. No worries about getting it muddy, or getting to the other side of the bog.

The Trailhawk has one inch more ground clearance and bumpers that allow steeper approach and descent angles. There’s also a Rock mode, which enables the Trailhawk to crawl along at less-than-walking speed, a great feature.

Summary

The Jeep Renegade is a solid small utility vehicle, with a suspension and two-speed transfer case that add capability over rugged terrain. Excellent powertrains, especially the fuel-efficient 1.4-liter turbo, make the Renegade compelling. The manual transmission keeps the Jeep real. Comfortable front seats. Big cargo room for the tiny size, thanks to rear and front passenger seats that fold flat.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Jeep Renegade Latitude 4x4 local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.