Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
16 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Emmy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
25,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I travel for work and I live in an area that experiences all kinds of weather, and I needed something reliable, dependable, with good gas mileage, and with 4WD. So far, my jeep has lived up to all of these expectations!
Bob
December 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great little SUV. Got the 6spd manual. 20K miles and no probs yet. Super practical & getting 27.5 mpg mixed on 89 octane gas. Highly recommend.
Curt
September 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Real world customer reviews steered me towards a Renegade with manual transmission. Those reviews were spot-on. Love my Colorado Red Renegade Sport. It''s spunky, fuel efficient, roomy, stylish and fun. Also, got some great rebates and discounts from the dealer for a total of $7K off the $23K sticker price. Even with just FWD it gets me through big snows without a fuss.
vlygrl
May 10, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The actual mileage I am getting in the city is 19.5 per gallon, I have a 2.4 ltr engine. 2989 miles on vehicle.
Anonymous
May 06, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Unacceptable
April 08, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
First & Last FCA Purchase.
Bought a new 2017 Jeep Renegade Trailhawk, and had to have the rear drive unit replaced at 1,800 miles. Again at 2,500 miles, noise was back and FCA dosn''t have a fix. I was told I have to live with the noise (and any possible damage that was being caused) until a fix is released from FCA. After further research, this is a known issue since 2015 (FCA released a fix in Oct 2017, and was used for the 1,800 mile service). I wasn''t going to wait another two years for a possible FCA fix. I traded the same day I was told I don''t have any options. (April 2018)
Oakton
March 31, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
They may call the 2.4 engine an upgrade since you have to pay more to get it, but my own experience & most of the published reviews will tell you the 1.4T w/manual trans is the way to go. If you want ground clearance & superior off-road traction, get the 4wd. If you want a lower center of gravity & lighter weight for enjoyment on the street & hlghway, get the fwd & shed 400+ lbs vs the 2.4 4wd auto version. This car is quite lively & fun to drive w/a turbocharged engine & FWD. Especially this engine, which is plucked from the Fiat 500 Abarth Edition. I call it the "Little Engine that Could".
Anonymous
March 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Wonderful Vehicle for the price.
DR P.
January 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my FWD Sport 1.4T w/6spd! Handling''s far better than expected-good weight & precision w/ok feel @ the steering wheel & very balanced road manners. Minimal body roll (FWDs sit 1" lower) w/nice control & dampening over bumps. Sweet combo of litheness in city & stability on hwy. 1.4T mill is a gem- smooth, powerful & balanced. I still catch myself doing 4500rpm in 4th on hwy cuz I don''t feel/hear a need to upshift. Interior is simple but nice, as I prefer. Fits my 6''1" frame easily w/plenty of rear legroom. Best of all, it''s surprisingly quick & looks dynamite in black. 5K miles w/no pro
GypsyLy
December 12, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Can''t beat the Renegade''s value for price. It''s fun, sporty, comfortable and I love the unique touches that make Jeep one of a kind.
Douglas
October 25, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Joe
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 06, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have a 2017 Jeep Renegade. I love the look of the car, sporty and not too big for a SUV. It has the capability of adding larger tires if I wanted to in the future. Living in a snowy state, I need 4WD and this car is like a little tank. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles in the inside, but it does have a heated steering wheel which is the best thing ever!
Clarissa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
If you're looking for comfort, this is not the vehicle for you. It would be the perfect vehicle for me if I was single. But as a family, there is noooooo space for streching.
Sara
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My favorite car I have had by far. There have been small problems, but it hasn't really bothered me because i love the look and make of the vehicle. Would recommend to others. Smooth ride and cool easy features.
Audrey R
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
875 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It looks and drives great! A very comfortable experience. Best Features - The seats and sunroof. great on gas. Worst Features - the hatchback is kind of hard to open you have to have your finger just so on the button.
RAMON A.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 11, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
MI PRIMARIO LENGUAJE ES ESPANOL.POR TANTO NO PUEDO OPINAR EN ESE LENGUAJE , ME GUSTARIA YA QUE HA SIDO MUY INTEREZANTE LA ENCUESTA.
2017 Jeep 1199 Renegade 29653 386666
Write a Review for the 2017 Jeep Renegade
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2017 Jeep Renegade is the smallest crossover available and it offers genuine offroad capability with a two-speed transfer case, like a Jeep.

Renegade is large enough for people who don’t need a vehicle the size of the Patriot, Compass or Cherokee, and don’t want to burn the fuel it takes to run those bigger cars. The Renegade is hugely successful in countries where gas can’t afford to be guzzled. The Jeep Wrangler is shorter and even more capable, but it’s a highly focused vehicle and it isn’t a crossover. The Range Rover Evoque is slightly longer and more capable, but it’s much more expensive.

The Renegade comes with two powertrains, with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. The base engine is a turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder making 160 horsepower and 184 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed manual transmission.

The more powerful option is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 9-speed automatic. It comes standard on the Trailhawk and Desert Hawk models.

Changes for 2017 are minor, with keyless ignition and HID headlamps added to the top model. Two limited-edition models are offered: the Renegade Altitude and Renegade Desert Hawk.

The 1.4-liter turbo gets an EPA-rated 27 miles per gallon Combined, while the 2.4-liter rates 25 mpg Combined city and highway.

The federal NHTSA gives the Renegade four stars for crash worthiness, while the insurance industry’s IIHS gives it top scores in all but the small-overlap front crash test on which few vehicles can earn a Good rating. Optional active-safety features include forward-collision warnings and automatic braking, lane-departure warning, and blind-spot monitors.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Renegade comes in Sport ($17,995), Latitude ($21,495), Altitude ($22,190), Trailhawk ($26,645), Desert Hawk ($28,140) models.

Walkaround

The Renegade is tall for its length, with flat, upright sides. It’s spunky and distinctive. Details are oversized to make it clear that its roots go back to the vehicles you see on re-runs of the TV show “Mash.” Big round headlamps flank the trademark seven-bar grille. The trapezoidal fender flares are black and rubbery, oversized to make this little SUV look tough. The taillamps have an X shape in them, intended to suggest jerry cans strapped to the rear, as a reminder of Jeep’s WWII heritage.

Interior

Imagine a subcompact car that’s spent a couple months training to be a cage fighter, and you might have the Renegade interior. Big round knobs and center vents in a pod on the dash.

Front seats are well bolstered and comfortable, with good shoulder room. But you can’t get away from the reality that the Renegade is a subcompact vehicle, so there isn’t much legroom in rear; for passengers in the back to have enough legroom, the front seats have to be slid forward.

The good news is there’s a lot of cargo room, as not only do the rear seats fold flat, but the front passenger seat does as well.

Driving Impressions

The Renegade is refined enough on paved roads. We prefer the 1.4-liter turbo engine with front-wheel drive in the city, even with its manual gearbox. It’s lighter and more direct than the 2.4-liter.

The Trailhawk feels ponderous around town where handling is tight, because of its additional weight.

Off road, the Renegade is no Wrangler, but with its modes for Mud, Sand, and Snow, it’s quite remarkable. We drove it up steep and rutty hills, nearly 45 degrees, and back down again using the hill descent control to control the speed, and grip at each wheel. The little Jeep will cross streams and climb boulders almost as tall as its wheels. No worries about getting it muddy, or getting to the other side of the bog.

The Trailhawk has one inch more ground clearance and bumpers that allow steeper approach and descent angles. There’s also a Rock mode, which enables the Trailhawk to crawl along at less-than-walking speed, a great feature.

Summary

The Jeep Renegade is a solid small utility vehicle, with a suspension and two-speed transfer case that add capability over rugged terrain. Excellent powertrains, especially the fuel-efficient 1.4-liter turbo, make the Renegade compelling. The manual transmission keeps the Jeep real. Comfortable front seats. Big cargo room for the tiny size, thanks to rear and front passenger seats that fold flat.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Jeep Renegade
440
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel