Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
13 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
ROYO
April 12, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love it, does everything I expect.
Yes
June 22, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Deeman
June 13, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Im the owner of a 2015 Jeep Patriot with approximately 89,000 mil with good condition and only the second owner of this vehicle.
Harolds
May 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have the Patriot Altitude with the 2.0L & CVT II. Love this car. It rides like a Jeep--you hear and feel some road noise. The 2L engine won''t win any drag races. The CVT II is peppy, but you can''t pass quickly on a 2-lane road at 55mph. However, it runs great. It looks great. The interior is fab, especially the leather seats and 6" display. It''s for city driving and short trips and for the price, it''s the best car I''ve purchased. My first car was a ''60 VW Beetle, and I rode it to death. I never complained about the small engine, rough ride, or lack of power . . . We''re spoiled
Jack
March 17, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
American Joe
February 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best bang for the buck. Have 3. 2010, 2014, and a 2017. The 2010 has 370,000 miles without a major repair. You can say what you want as an owner of the competition but you can''t beat the durability and service for the price.
Anonymous
January 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
KMA
October 18, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rebecca
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
6,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Good value for your money. Positives: I LOVE the front seat storage options. The car seems to stay pretty clean without much upkeep. Negatives: Pick-up is poor. Bluetooth never seems to work."
Melinda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
12,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Jeep Patriot because it is fun to drive, sporty and has all the room I need. The 4x4 option gives me piece of mind. This is my second Jeep vehicle. My first Jeep was a Wrangler Saharah that I owned for 15 years. Many exciting memories where made.
Wayne
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like my Jeep Patriot for it's size and maneuverability. The ride is comfortable but not exceptional. MPH is OK. It is fun to drive and the 4 cylinder engine provides adequate acceleration.
Angela
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I was glad I choose my jeep Patriot because it's good in the snow and my kids love it...I love this jeep because it's not to big and not to small. I could find parking so easy . This jeep drives smooth as well..
marlene r
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 15, 2017
1,856 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Really economical, perfect space, and very good maneuverability, the dealer staff very attentive to listen to my needs
2017 Jeep 1199 Patriot 29547 385712
Write a Review for the 2017 Jeep Patriot
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2017 Jeep Patriot might be dated, but it still offers good value. It’s a far better vehicle than the original Patriot. It might not be equipped as well as some of its rivals, but it’s a sensible package with real Jeep character and enough civility to be a good family vehicle.

The Patriot compares with mainstream crossovers like the Honda CR-V, Subaru Forester, or Toyota RAV4, and smaller models like the Subaru Crosstrek, Nissan Juke, or Mazda CX-5.

It doesn’t look much like the Jeep Compass, which Jeep markets as a more premium model, but beneath its sheetmetal the Patriot is basically the same, with a lower price and available stripped-down.

The Patriot will be redesigned for 2018, so for 2017 it’s unchanged. Base engine is a 2.0-liter four cylinder making 158 horsepower and using a standard 5-speed manual transmission or a continuously variable transmission (CVT). This engine only comes with front-wheel drive, which sort of defeats the purpose of a Jeep. If that’s all you want, there are better crossovers.

The other engine is a 2.4-liter four cylinder making 172 hp with that 5-speed gearbox or a 6-speed automatic. It comes with all-wheel drive.

The Patriot performs well in some crash tests, but scores a Poor rating from the IIHS in the small-overlap frontal crash test.

The 2.0-liter engine with 5-speed gearbox and front-wheel drive delivers an EPA rating of 23/30 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 26 mpg Combined. With the 2.4 liter, 6-speed automatic and all-wheel drive, mileage drops to 20/26/22 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Patriot Sport ($17,895) comes with cloth upholstery, air conditioning, manually operated windows and door locks. All-wheel drive is available ($19,895).

Patriot Latitude ($22,395) and Latitude 4WD ($25,695) upgrade with power locks and windows and upgraded seating and tires. The High Altitude Edition ($1045) is a package for the Latitude with leather-trimmed seats, special interior and exterior trim and other features.

Walkaround

The Patriot is boxy, trim and bold.

Interior

Even in the range-topping High Altitude with all the interior features including leather upholstery, the Patriot cabin feels like it’s about durability, not luxury.

The interior is useful, with rear seatbacks that easily flip forward to yield good cargo space. There’s decent room in front, but not much rear space for passengers to stretch out. Climbing in and out is very easy thanks to the high roof that also gives ample headroom front and rear. But there’s a boxed-in feeling, because the seating position is low, the dash high, and roof pillars thick.

Driving Impressions

There’s a Freedom Drive II package for buyers who take their Patriot offroad. It includes higher ground clearance, hill descent control, skid plates, tow hooks, and unfortunately the CVT, whose uncouth demeanor makes the Patriot less drivable on the road. It feels like a big rubber band, the fat Achilles heel of many CVTs.

The good news is that the available 6-speed automatic transmission works exceptionally well on the highway.

Summary

It’s all about the price with the Patriot. We can’t say it does much of anything better than its more modern competitors, but if you can get one for thousands of dollars less, it might work just fine for you. However if you go with the 2.4-liter engine and 6-speed automatic transmission, as you should, it might wipe out the price advantage.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Jeep Patriot
421
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel