2017 Jeep Patriot Reviews and Ratings

75th Anniversary Edition FWD *Ltd Avail*

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jeep Patriot.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (8)
Overall Rating
  3.9 / 5
Reliability
  3.9 / 5
Interior
  3.9 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.6 / 5

By Rebecca 10/2/2017 10:59:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  2.8 / 5
Good value for your money. Positives: I LOVE the front seat storage options. The car seems to stay pretty clean without much upkeep. Negatives: Pick-up is poor. Bluetooth never seems to work.
Reliability
  2.5 / 5
Interior
  3.5 / 5
Exterior
  3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  1.5 / 5

By Melinda 8/28/2017 6:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I love my Jeep Patriot because it is fun to drive, sporty and has all the room I need. The 4x4 option gives me piece of mind. This is my second Jeep vehicle. My first Jeep was a Wrangler Saharah that I owned for 15 years. Many exciting memories where made.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Wayne 8/23/2017 12:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I like my Jeep Patriot for it's size and maneuverability. The ride is comfortable but not exceptional. MPH is OK. It is fun to drive and the 4 cylinder engine provides adequate acceleration.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Angela 8/21/2017 3:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I was glad I choose my jeep Patriot because it's good in the snow and my kids love it...I love this jeep because it's not to big and not to small. I could find parking so easy . This jeep drives smooth as well..
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By marlene r 8/14/2017 6:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Really economical, perfect space, and very good maneuverability, the dealer staff very attentive to listen to my needs
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nelorian 8/2/2017 6:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
Its not completely up to fate in technology and it would be doing alot better seeing that i know how far we are in vehicle technology. I rent cars fo a living so im pretty aware if what different vehicles offer.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Anonymous 7/30/2017 10:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
reliable not a gas guzzler family friendly grocery getter. Pros: I love my Jeep. Cons: More power
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Stephanie 7/27/2017 6:42:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
It is the perfect size & handles great! The safety features are undeniable. My brother and myself were both in separate serious accidents where we were hit by full size trucks and our Jeeps kept us safe and we were able to walk away from the accident!
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jeep Patriot
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Jeep Patriot might be dated, but it still offers good value. It’s a far better vehicle than the original Patriot. It might not be equipped as well as some of its rivals, but it’s a sensible package with real Jeep character and enough civility to be a good family vehicle.

The Patriot compares with mainstream crossovers like the Honda CR-V, Subaru Forester, or Toyota RAV4, and smaller models like the Subaru Crosstrek, Nissan Juke, or Mazda CX-5.

It doesn’t look much like the Jeep Compass, which Jeep markets as a more premium model, but beneath its sheetmetal the Patriot is basically the same, with a lower price and available stripped-down.

The Patriot will be redesigned for 2018, so for 2017 it’s unchanged. Base engine is a 2.0-liter four cylinder making 158 horsepower and using a standard 5-speed manual transmission or a continuously variable transmission (CVT). This engine only comes with front-wheel drive, which sort of defeats the purpose of a Jeep. If that’s all you want, there are better crossovers.

The other engine is a 2.4-liter four cylinder making 172 hp with that 5-speed gearbox or a 6-speed automatic. It comes with all-wheel drive.

The Patriot performs well in some crash tests, but scores a Poor rating from the IIHS in the small-overlap frontal crash test.

The 2.0-liter engine with 5-speed gearbox and front-wheel drive delivers an EPA rating of 23/30 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 26 mpg Combined. With the 2.4 liter, 6-speed automatic and all-wheel drive, mileage drops to 20/26/22 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Patriot Sport ($17,895) comes with cloth upholstery, air conditioning, manually operated windows and door locks. All-wheel drive is available ($19,895).

Patriot Latitude ($22,395) and Latitude 4WD ($25,695) upgrade with power locks and windows and upgraded seating and tires. The High Altitude Edition ($1045) is a package for the Latitude with leather-trimmed seats, special interior and exterior trim and other features.

Walkaround

The Patriot is boxy, trim and bold.

Interior

Even in the range-topping High Altitude with all the interior features including leather upholstery, the Patriot cabin feels like it’s about durability, not luxury.

The interior is useful, with rear seatbacks that easily flip forward to yield good cargo space. There’s decent room in front, but not much rear space for passengers to stretch out. Climbing in and out is very easy thanks to the high roof that also gives ample headroom front and rear. But there’s a boxed-in feeling, because the seating position is low, the dash high, and roof pillars thick.

Driving Impressions

There’s a Freedom Drive II package for buyers who take their Patriot offroad. It includes higher ground clearance, hill descent control, skid plates, tow hooks, and unfortunately the CVT, whose uncouth demeanor makes the Patriot less drivable on the road. It feels like a big rubber band, the fat Achilles heel of many CVTs.

The good news is that the available 6-speed automatic transmission works exceptionally well on the highway.

Summary

It’s all about the price with the Patriot. We can’t say it does much of anything better than its more modern competitors, but if you can get one for thousands of dollars less, it might work just fine for you. However if you go with the 2.4-liter engine and 6-speed automatic transmission, as you should, it might wipe out the price advantage.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.