2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews and Ratings

Summit 4x2

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4 / 5
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  3.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Meg 10/10/2017 7:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.5 / 5
Stylish, fun and reliable vehicle! This Grand Cherokee has enough room that this 32 year old professional mom to a 1 year old doesn’t have to trade in for a mini van quite yet!
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Steve 10/1/2017 7:56:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Grand Cherokee has a very solid feel on the road unlike other SUV type vehicles I have driven and owned throughout the years, Acceleration is very brisk and responsive and the seating fits me so well that even on long rides my body does not get tired.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike 8/26/2017 9:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.2 / 5
Low end model with cheap interior. The base model wheel looks awful so I had to pay extra to get a better looking rim. This included a touch screen that doesn't work. Gas mileage is great.
Reliability
   1.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Anonymous 8/26/2017 8:18:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Jeep Grand Cherokee are very reliable vehicles. The technology in these vehicles are really up to date.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tracy 8/22/2017 10:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.9 / 5
It's a decent vehicle that will get you where you want to go. However, My 6' tall husband and 6'2" tall son cannot comfortably sit in the passenger seat because it sets too high in the vehicle and is to adjustable. The spoiler on the back holds water so I can almost never have a clean back window because water is constantly dripping from it down the window. The auto on/off feature is a pain in the rear, when I forget to deactivate it (because you have to do this every time you start the vehicle) I've almost been hit pulling out into busy traffic because the stupid thing had to start first. I previously had a truck that was much larger and it had a better turning radius and better overall handling than this vehicle. When driving on grooved payment (which is apparently something they like to do here often) the vehicle is difficult to control and pulls itself around on the road wobbling and such, likely due to the type of tires it has. Overall I would not recommend this vehicle and look forward to the earliest time in which I can trade it for something else.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1.5 / 5

By Dana 8/22/2017 4:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my new Grand Cherokee! Great handling, nice interior features, plenty of room and gas milage is totally reasonable. Its a safe vehicle and survived its first New England winter fearlessly.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Gary 8/21/2017 3:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
Overall, I'm satisfied with my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Love the 25 Gal tank that gives me a range of 550 miles. I also like knowing that I can drive through 6 - 8 inches of snow if necessary or over a curb without scraping anything. The voice activation for the Nav system works well. I just wish the zoom function was not (only) a touch screen option. My last car had a dial so I could go from 75 feet to 25 miles with one smooth twist. Not 15 touches on the screen that keeps taking my eyes of the road. The other nuisance, if we put a weeks worth of luggage in, I have to take out the cover. Not enough room.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Greg 8/21/2017 8:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I recently purchased a Jeep Grand Cherokee. The ride of this car is fantastic. I live in Ohio so I am looking forward to how it handles in the snow and ice this winter. The new style interior and exterior give the Grand Cherokee a great new look. The towing package is excellent for towing my boat. I would highly recommend this brand to anyone looking for an SUV.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By MIKE S 8/21/2017 7:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
MY JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE TRAIL HAWK HAS PERFORMED EXTREMELY WELL. IT HANDLES VERY WELL AND HAS MORE THAN ENOUGH POWER. I LOOK FORWARD TO MY FIRST WINTER, WHERE IT BE DRIVEN IN HEAVY SNOW AND MUD CONDITIONS. MY WIFE OWNS A NEW JEEP RENEGADE AND SHE LOVES IT. WE ARE A JEEP FAMILY.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By T J 8/20/2017 7:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great vehicle for a great price. Very roomy and comfortable to drive. Very pleased with this purchase.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kevin 8/11/2017 11:22:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
A fantastic vehicle, the styling inside and out is hard to beat. My wife loves the heated and vented seats.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rick 7/31/2017 8:25:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
I would have to give my Jeep five stars so far. It has been so reliable and predictable it is almost boring. If all the 2017 Grand Cherokees are as reliable I would recommend one to anybody. No mechanical issues so far and most importantly no electronic demons. All the high tech features work flawlessly. The only thing I dislike is the auto start stop feature.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Roger 7/29/2017 5:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee is the BEST Grand Cherokee made since I started purchasing Jeep in 1998. The ride is superb and low road noise is the best of any vehicle prior. The safety factors are big items and the 5 star crash rating is the best and comforting. This vehicle is highly recommended to anyone who wants real quality and safety plus a real joy to drive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Jeep Grand Cherokee remains a benchmark, if a somewhat dated one, combining luxury with off-road capability. Last redesigned for 2011, the Grand Cherokee is in its fourth generation.

New to the lineup is the 2017 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk, fitted with front/rear tow hooks, skid plates, 18-inch off-road tires, and a unique air suspension. 2017 Grand Cherokee Summit and 2017 Grand Cherokee SRT editions get exterior revisions and upgraded leather.

Handsome and capable, the Grand Cherokee comes in six distinct flavors, to serve as a premium family wagon, a wilderness trekker, a hauler of trailers. Each version is capable of tough workhorse duties, and the hot-performing SRT savors racetrack duty.

Four engines are available, starting with a 3.6-liter V6. Developing 295 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, the V6 is equipped with a fuel-saving engine stop/start system.

The optional 5.7-liter V8 produces 360 horsepower and 390 pound-feet, capable of towing a class-leading 7,400 pounds.

For efficiency and bountiful torque, the optional turbodiesel 3.0-liter V6 generates 240 horsepower and 420 pound-feet. EPA-rated at 30 mpg in highway driving, the diesel promises a range greater than 730 miles.

Each engine drives a responsive 8-speed automatic transmission. An optional air suspension can boost Grand Cherokee highway mileage even further, by lowering at highway speeds.

Ultimate on-road performance is the province of the Grand Cherokee SRT, packing a 6.4-liter V8 that whips up 475 horsepower and 470 pound-feet of torque. Acceleration to 60 mph takes just 4.8 seconds. Equipped with launch control, the SRT is one of the top-handling SUVs available.

Rear-drive is standard on most versions, but three four-wheel-drive systems are available and the transmission incorporates a low crawl ratio. Selec-Terrain automatically alters powertrain settings to suit the terrain: Sand, Mud, Snow, Rock, or Automatic.

Grand Cherokees with rear-wheel drive have declined in crash-test scores. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave it a 4-star rating overall, with 3-star for rollover resistance. Four-wheel drive raised the scoring to 5-star overall and 4-star rollover. Testing by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety produced Good scores, except for Marginal in the tougher small-overlap frontal collision. Grand Cherokees trail some rivals in standard safety equipment. A rearview camera and trailer-sway control are standard. Blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, and frontal-crash warning are optional.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo ($30,295) comes with rear-wheel drive, 17-inch wheels, air conditioning, cloth upholstery, keyless entry, a CD player, satellite radio, rearview camera, and parking sensors. Four-wheel drive ($2,300) is available. An off-road option package includes skid plates and Selec-Terrain.

Grand Cherokee Limited ($37,895) gets 18-inch wheels, leather seating with a power front passenger seat, heated front seats, a power tailgate, and remote start. Options include adaptive cruise control, blind-spot monitoring, navigation, and off-road assistance systems. Four-wheel drive adds $2,000.

Ecodiesel V6 and Hemi V8 engines are optional for Limited models and above.

Grand Cherokee Trailhawk ($42,995) has Quadra-Drive II four-wheel drive, 18-inch off-road tires, red tow hooks, an electronic limited-slip differential, air suspension, Selec-Speed Control, skid plates, and a black leather interior.

Grand Cherokee Overland ($44,695) upgrades with Nappa leather seating with ventilated front seats, a panoramic sunroof, and a leather-trimmed dashboard, 20-inch wheels, navigation. Rear-wheel drive is standard; four-wheel drive ($3,000) includes an air suspension.

Grand Cherokee Summit ($50,395) features distinctive wheel and wood choices; a suede headliner; and 19-speaker, 825-watt Harman Kardon surround-sound audio. Summit models gain parking assist and a trailer-hitch camera view for 2017. Four-wheel drive adds $3,000.

Grand Cherokee SRT ($66,795) has four-wheel drive, leather/suede seats, carbon-fiber interior trim, metallic pedal pads, active noise cancellation, and a leather-trimmed/heated steering wheel. Performance Pages display timers and performance data. Options include a dual-pane sunroof, Luxury package, and SRT Night package. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

With its classic SUV shape, the Grand Cherokee carefully blends traditional with contemporary design. The old workaday look is gone, overtaken by a more pedigreed appearance. Overall, it’s quite handsome, though not everyone praises today’s understated, minimally-chromed grille.

LED taillights and strong detail work help give the rear end a distinctively assertive look. Measured against luxury-brand competitors, it’s quite sophisticated.

Interior

Slickly upscale and richly equipped, the cabin on upper-level models features materials and textures that match luxury-brand competitors. Genuine wood trim accents upper-trim dashboards and doors. Even the entry-level Laredo demonstrates excellent layout and design.

Satisfying seats hold five grown-ups, in a roomy interior. Wise use of available space results in adult-size legroom all-around. Big doors open 78 degrees to ease entry/exit.

Except for the Laredo’s short, flat seat bottoms, front occupants get wide, adequately-bolstered cushions. Six-footers can expect ample head clearance.

Three riders fit in back, in reasonable comfort. Reclining seatbacks tilt 12 degrees each way, and back seats flip down using one lever. Cargo volume with seats up totals 36.3 cubic feet.

A console bin holds illuminated audio ports. Uconnect infotainment systems with simple interfaces rank among the best.

Driving Impressions

Not only does the Grand Cherokee excel in ride comfort, handling ability, and sterling off-road prowess, it’s simply the best-performing Jeep ever. Smooth road manners suggest a crossover, with quick steering responses and a well-controlled ride.

With four powertrains and a choice of four-wheel-drive systems, you can pick the Grand Cherokee that will serve you best. The V6 engine responds strongly, with sufficient low-rpm torque to deal with touchy, demanding off-road conditions. The V6 is rated to tow up to 6,200 pounds.

The 5.7-liter Hemi V8 almost feels like that of a muscular Dodge Charger sedan, including a rousing engine note. For daily driving, though, that appealing V8 doesn’t deliver enough additional energy to justify its gas-mileage penalty.

Although the diesel V6 lacks the punch of the gasoline V8, it delivers the kind of strong low- and mid-range torque needed for towing and off-road assurance. As for the SRT, its 475-horsepower V8 is in a league comparable to European SUVs like the Porsche Cayenne.

Three all-wheel/four-wheel drive systems are available. Basic Quadra-Trac I has a locking differential and 50/50 front/rear power split, but no low range. Quadra-Trac II can split torque variably. Quadra-Drive II adds an electronic limited-slip rear differential.

Some versions earn the Trail Rated designation. An optional air suspension for Limited, Overland and Summit models can raise the Grand Cherokee from 6.4 inches to 11.3 inches above the ground, or lower it to ease entry/exit.

Forward vision is excellent, past a hood that’s shaped to give a helpful sense of front corner positions. Grand Cherokees are generally quiet, but big square mirrors produce some wind noise. The turbodiesel engine is a little loud while idling and at low speed.

Except for the turbodiesel, gas mileage isn’t great. The V6 is EPA-rated at 19/26 mpg City/Highway, or 21 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive lowers the estimate to 18/25 mpg City/Highway. Equipped with cylinder deactivation, the V8 is EPA-rated at 14/22 mpg City/Highway, or 17 mpg Combined. SRT is the guzzler, at 13/19 mpg City/Highway, or 15 mpg Combined. The turbodiesel has been EPA-rated at 22/30 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined for rear-drive.

Summary

The Jeep Grand Cherokee delivers utility, abundant space for five passengers, and available luxury features.

Driving impressions by Marty Padgett, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit 4x2 local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.