2017 Jeep Compass Reviews and Ratings

High Altitude 4x4 *Ltd Avail*

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jeep Compass.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (18)
Overall Rating
  3.7 / 5
Reliability
  3.8 / 5
Interior
  3.6 / 5
Exterior
  3.9 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.6 / 5

By Elisha 10/6/2017 5:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.2 / 5
I love my Jeep Compass. I get great gas mileage and it is fun to drive! I drive a lot for work and I am truly impressed with this vehicle.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By G 10/1/2017 11:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1 / 5
Buyer beware. The 2017 Jeep Compass is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. Loud rough ride. Horrible acceleration, it has NO get up and go. Uncomfortable interior. I can't wait for my lease to be over so I can turn this piece of junk in. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this vehicle. I wish I could have given it zero stars.
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   0.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/30/2017 2:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.6 / 5
It's not an attractive vehicle. The rear door handles are very ugly. It does not have a compass; all vehicle should have a compass, standard.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   0.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Stephanie 9/29/2017 4:51:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.8 / 5
For a 2017 vehicle, it lacks major features that most new vehicles come with. No GPS, to7ch screen, back up camera, the bluetooth connections are terrible and voice recognition is almost non-existent. The way the seats are positioned make it difficult to see clearly out of the rear window and the fromt windshield is at an awkward angle almkst creating a blind spot on the drivers side. The front passengers seat has no flexibility for comfort and the rear seats have no room, a cup holder that blocks a middle passenger from sitting comfortably and no AC or heat options in the rear. The rear doors are awkward to open and occasionally get stuck. The rear hatch needs to be almost slammed in order for it to catch. While driving, if you happen to brake and hit a bump, the brakes will skip and potentially cause an accident. While driving, if you hit a bump, the entire vehicle shifts. The shift between gears is not always smooth. The vehicle tends to stall while reversing. The stock tires wear easily. No room in the trunk. The AC doesnt always kick in right away, can take minutes. The car runs harsh when AC or heat is running. The autostart doesnt always work. I have never had so much regret buying a vehicle. Thats not to mention all the issues with the dealership themselves that i have encountered. Horrible experience all in all.
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Chris 9/27/2017 11:39:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The Jeep Compass has the look of a traditional jeep wrangler with great gas mileage and interior comforts. The seats are spacious and comfortable with a lot of interior storage. LOVE IT!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Bruce 8/29/2017 5:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
I like its drive-ability, style, gas mileage. Only complaint is that the license plate holder in back is only attached with two screws and every time I drive on the freeway I can hear it banging against car.This is my fifth jeep in a row and I recommend it to every one who asks me about it because it is my favorite of the last five.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By John Paul 8/28/2017 2:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
vehicle is brand new. it's a mini grand Cherokee. so far so good. Best Features - interior, entertainment center u-connect. Worst Features - wish it had a little more power
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/24/2017 5:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
It drive good in snow . And not bad in rain. compact handle great. Look good nice ride on small trip
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Michael 8/23/2017 3:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
i love that its fwd until you put in in 4wd it gets great fuel mileage have had no problems at all with the jeep compass
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Maylin 8/22/2017 2:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Husband bought my car for my birthday. He has always had impeccable taste with gifts, and my new automobile was perfect. He called me to get me to look at it before we bought it, and I fell in love with it right away. There were features he got because he said I had mentioned them before. So, I got a brand new car that was red, had leather seats, a lot of new things my old car did not have. I loved the size of the car, the power windows, the back up screen - one of my favorites- the satellite radio, the room in the trunk, the comfortable seats, and the shift of the gears so close to me. Everything was so handy and it is so much safer than my other vehicle. I feel safer in it and that means everything to me since I am a senior citizen. We got a GPS system from Best Buy and that has helped us to be more confident in getting to new places. My husband is very diligent in getting our cars cleaned often. I love that about him. We enjoy that shiny red color when it gets its bath. We tend to keep our cars a long time, because we take very good care of them. I can't imagine ever trading this one in. I love it that much. I think the design is one of the prettiest of the Jeep models. I love getting out and about.This car makes me excited about going anywhere. It is an excellent car. Thank you, husband, for giving me such a wonderful gift!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jim 8/21/2017 2:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
The interior is a little small, but this model, (Compass) has all the technology you could ask for. The infotainment system offers GPS navigation, and the radio even records your favorite tunes (that you choose) and display any that may be playing while your driving!!
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Martyna 8/21/2017 12:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The Jeep Compass is a great car to get me to and from work. It is good on gas as I drive 55 miles one way. It is spacious enough to fit me and my 2 large dogs when we go hiking. I chose the compass over other Jeep models because of its small compact size. I love jeeps but never really needed a large vehicle so the compass is perfect!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 6:34:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
Vehicle rides nice. Headrests are not very adjustable. I live in the country on rough gravel roads. After just a couple hundred miles a rattle already developed in the driver side door. Have a problem with cruise shutting off for no reason and dealer can't find anything wrong with it. Very frustrating. Don't like the vehicle shutting off at stops to save gas, but you can disable that feature by pushing a button every time you start up the vehicle. Didn't realize vehicles now don't normally come with a spare tire, just a kit to air one up if you have a flat. This wouldn't work if you have a slashed tire in the middle of nowhere so we did spend $300 to purchase a spare tire. It fits in the rear storage area. Not exactly pleased with this vehicle, but Jeep does have a good reputation for reliable vehicles so we will see.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Jerry 8/18/2017 2:59:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
Turn signals do not really go neutral after making the turn, you have to make sure turn signal is not blinking after you turned.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1.5 / 5

By Tina 8/18/2017 9:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great little suv. Best features - Comfort
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/17/2017 3:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love my Jeep Compass!! Everywhere I go people complement it. I couldn't be happier with its performance and gas mileage.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Megan 7/27/2017 3:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
This vehicle has No backup camera and this vehicle also has no automated seats. It's sucks on gas but is reliable
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Dayna 7/27/2017 11:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
I love the smooth ride my Jeep Compass offers the exterior is Beautiful! But the interior is real Basic too Basic. The interior features is the reason for the 3 stars.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jeep Compass
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Jeep Compass crossover was introduced a decade ago. An all-new Compass is being introduced as a 2017, while the old Compass continues to be sold down as a 2017 model. Confusing? Yes. This review covers the old Compass.

This is a dated product, essentially the same as the 2016 model, and it lags behind the Subaru Crosstrek, Mazda CX-5, and Toyota RAV4.

The base engine, a 2.0-liter four-cylinder, makes the same 158 horsepower that it did 10 years ago, although it’s smoother than it was back then. The upgrade engine is a 2.4 liter that makes 172 horsepower. A 5-speed manual transmission is standard, and a 6-speed automatic optional (more commonly equipped in showrooms), with either front-wheel or all-wheel drive. A CVT is available, but we suggest you avoid it, as it’s among the worst of the continuously variable transmissions that make the drivetrain feel like it’s powered through a rubber band.

As for offroad, what Jeep is known for, there is a package called Freedom Drive II with skid plates, tow hooks, and all-terrain tires, but it only comes with the CVT. The CVT is programmed to simulate the low range of a two-speed transfer case. But if offroad is your thing, stick to a Wrangler, or possibly the Compass’s supposedly less pretty sister, the Patriot. Or another idea, get the Compass with the 5-speed manual transmission and all-wheel drive. It will get you anywhere the Freedom Drive II will (hill start assist is standard). If wanted, you can always add the tires, skid plates, and even a modest lift kit.

Another thing that goes against the Compass is its three-star crash rating from the NHTSA. The IIHS hasn’t rated it. No collision avoidance technology is available. A rearview camera isn’t even available. Yet it’s intended for women?

Fuel mileage with the 5-speed and front-wheel drive is 23/30 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined, according to EPA estimates. The more common 2.4-liter with 6-speed automatic is rated 21/27/23 mpg City/Highway/Combined (22 mpg Combined with all-wheel drive). The Freedom Drive II gets 21 mpg Combined, bringing it down to lame numbers for a four-cylinder engine.

Model Lineup

Jeep Compass Sport ($19,795) includes fabric upholstery, air conditioning, Bluetooth with audio streaming, satellite radio, manually operated windows and door locks. All-wheel drive is available ($21,795).

Compass Sport SE ($22,185) adds heated front seats, leather-wrapped steering wheel, and 18-inch alloy wheels. The Compass 75th Anniversary Edition ($25,665) adds a power sunroof and appearance bits.

Compass Latitude ($24,340) adds power windows and door locks, automatic climate control, navigation, and a Boston Acoustics Radio. Compass High Altitude ($25,645) adds leather seats and more appearance bits.

All-wheels drive is available for all models. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

Although the styling is influenced by Cherokee, it’s still a bit trapezoidal with rounded edges, a design that looks confused.

Interior

The dashboard isn’t as blocky as it used to be, and there are some soft-touch materials on the door panels, but the cabin doesn’t feel of very high quality even with leather upholstery. It’s not up to the speed of rivals like the Subaru Crosstrek, Mazda CX-5, Toyota RAV4, or Volkswagen Tiguan. The interior doesn’t match that of the smaller Jeep Renegade, a newer design.

Some of what makes the Compass feel dated is the low seating position; other SUVs seat the driver higher, for a better view of the road. However, a height-adjustable driver seat is available. The front seats are comfortable enough, but the rear bench is hard and flat, and the middle passenger’s knees will be battling with those of the luckier rear window passengers. There’s also a cupholder in the way of that middle passenger.

The laminated windshield glass helps subdue the noisy engine, but we can’t say much more for refinement.

Driving Impressions

The 5-speed manual transmission is fine, and brings the best fuel mileage. But the 6-speed automatic delivers surprising refinement, so it’s the way to go. Forget the CVT, as it forces the unrefined engine to run at high rpm in too many driving situations.

Summary

The outgoing Jeep Compass is primarily a price proposition. Neither its powertrain nor cabin are as good as its rivals. The all-new model may improve on that score.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.