Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Linda Wold
November 15, 2019
16,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
reliable, bluetooth,great ride,great gas milage
johnboy
March 20, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Brakes are loud and there is lil to no road noise dampening. The passenger side seat is uncomfortable. Tends to remind me of a sporty type suspension,,,, kinda loud. The power of this v6 is more than enough. all in all id say so far it has been a good vehicle. Its definatley not a luxury sedan,,,,,I guess its a jeep thang!!!
FabSissi
March 14, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Overall I would Not recommend this vehicle. The quality is poor, cheap assembly , engine is loud , transmission does what it wants , small interior lack of room , no comfortabity , manufacturers at Jeep have sold out , no longer making reputable safe reliable vehicles but rather mass producing frame & tires
Ricky
November 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
4cyl engine is really underpowered. Transmission has to shift constantly to maintain speed. I love the overall style of the vehicle. Interior is comfortable and would be quiet except for 4cyl engine noise.
George
August 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice car. I have the V6 is fuel economy is 20/24. I cant get drivers seat as comfortably as I would like. I dont have electric seats. I have 25000 mile no problems. I would buy again.
wham3333
July 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
overall great vechile
ham
May 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
bought new 3-11-17 now has over 12000 miles with no trouble. make 32 mph on highway and 23 city. comfortable to drive. has 8.4 u-connect with nav which is great. only thing I would do different is get the 3.2 v6 instead of the 2.4 4 cylinder.
ham
May 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
bought new 3-11-17 now has over 12000 miles with no trouble. make 32 mph on highway and 23 city. comfortable to drive. has 8.4 u-connect with nav which is great. only thing I would do different is get the 3.2 v6 instead of the 2.4 4 cylinder.
Sobo
May 15, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am satisfied with the vehicle. The shifting gets a little weird in criuse. It sometimes doesn''t want to shift unless I accelerate or let off the gas. Little funky transmission and I think they know it. Otherwise, I like the Jeep no problems. I was a little dumb and didn''t realize it did not have a backup camera. My fault.
Ken
May 09, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought 2017 jeep cherokee trailhawk. After having it over a year and 20000 plus miles om it im really happy with my purchase. It rides well and handles harsh roads with ease. The interior is upscale with leather seats and mine has red border stitching. Seats are comfortable and you will able to easily go anywhere across the usa. Gas milage is better than most suv. I have 3.2 liter v6 i average 20 in the city and 27 on the highway. I put a k and n cold air intake on it that boosted my gas milage up from 24 to 27 highway. I was pleased. Panoramic sunroof is awesome. Nav is easy to operate.
ATO
March 16, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
NICE RIDE GOOD ACCELERATION GREAT HANDLING AND DEPENDABLE
Anonymous
March 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bachey
January 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nicholas
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 01, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My jeep Cherokee is fun to drive and I feel safe driving my family in it. I like the look of it and it has enough room to carry my 100 lbs dog in it.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 01, 2017
6,200 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
All of the safety features are great, lane departure, forward collision, park sense front and rear.
Melinda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
20,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new Jeep. I bought it because I have a long commute to work as well as I wanted to avoid any car troubles on long distance trips. I like the profile, it handles well on the highway and in heavy rain and on city roads. It is roomy inside for my grandkids and I feel very safe. Only downside are that the blindspot on either side is pretty significant, so it is important to be extra careful changing lanes. The other downside is that I planned to carry my mountain bike in the rear compartment, however the height of the rear is too short to load the bike upright even with the front wheel removed which means I've had to get a hitch for the car. Overall, love my jeep!
Jacqueline T.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 14, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my jeep. It is spacious... I love the way it drives so smooth. I love the radio... The enterior is black, so it looks extra clean. Best car ive ever bought
JB
September 11, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
K.G.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 10, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lacks fast acceleration. Muffler sounds cheap. Comfortable, good gas mileage. Fun, spacious. Plenty of leg room, carry space.
Tammy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 04, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the Jeep Cherokee. Handles well and looks sleek and more expensive than it really is. Best Features - Handles well. Drives smooth. Worst Features - Have had a bit of issues with the motor racing while going down hills when the cruise is set. Others with the same vehicle had the same issue. Will get this checked out at my first service call.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is totally worth it to get pay more and get the V6 3.2L engine. So much better then the V4! Best Features - The technolgy package, interior design, Uconect for Jeep integrated speakerphone, and the rear assist camera was an unexpected perk! Worst Features - I wish I would have held out for a model that had all white base trim
Kim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2017 Jeep Cherokee Latitude. It has a smooth quite ride and handles exceptionally well in rain, snow and sand.
RICHARD
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 2 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"GREAT GAS MILEAGE- TECHNOLOGY IS AWESOME. CLEAN LINES. PLENTY OF ROOM, I'M 6'6"" AND HAVE PLENTY OF ROOM."
2017 Jeep 1199 Cherokee 29609 386384
Write a Review for the 2017 Jeep Cherokee
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Jeep Cherokee blazes its own trail. When the Cherokee was redesigned as a 2014 model, it was both praised and criticized as different, daring, even. It signaled a break from tradition. Especially when viewed from the front, the Cherokee was unlike any other member of the Jeep family.

Not much has changed for the 2017 Jeep Cherokee, apart from newly standard high-intensity discharge headlights on all but the Sport model. Two new option groups (Heavy Duty Protection and Trailer Tow Prep) are available for the top-end Overland edition, which was launched during the 2016 model year.

Jeep calls the Cherokee a midsize, but we see it as more of a compact crossover SUV, along the lines of a Ford Escape or Honda CR-V.

The Cherokee nameplate is an old one, last used in 2001. The current models are fully modern, emphasizing capabilities in a variety of conditions. If equipped with four-wheel drive, the current version boasts a startling level of off-road expertise, especially the trail-rated Trailhawk model, continuing Jeep’s reputation for conquering wilderness trails.

Five trim levels are offered: Sport, Latitude, Limited, Overland, and Trailhawk. Offered only with four-wheel drive, the latter is the Trail Rated version of the Cherokee. Trio special editions also are available: Altitude, High Altitude, and 75th Anniversary.

Two engines are available. The standard four-cylinder, making 184 horsepower, is smooth and quiet. Strong, too, provided that it’s not overloaded with people and cargo. Generating 271 horsepower and 239 pound-feet of torque, the optional 3.2-liter V6 has plenty of torque and performs without fuss.

All V6 models get Stop/Start. With a towing package, a V6 model can tow up to 4,500 pounds. A 9-speed automatic transmission blends with both engines.

In addition to abundant ground clearance, the Cherokee offers a choice of three optional traction assistants, providing either all-wheel or four-wheel drive. Active Drive I is the basic setup, for four-cylinder models. Active Drive II adds a dual-range transfer case. Active Drive Lock, with a locking rear differential, is standard on the Trailhawk. Additional skid plates and red tow hooks go on the Trailhawk, which has unique front/rear fascias and is raised by an inch.

All 4WD Cherokees include Selec-Terrain, with distinct modes for Sport, Snow, Sand/Mud, and Rock. Low-range four-cylinder models boast a startling crawl ratio, of 56:1.

Crash-test scores disappoint. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave Cherokee four stars overall and for individual tests, except for side-impact, where it earned five stars.

A rearview camera is standard, except for the Sport model. Active-safety features are available on upper trim levels, including lane-departure and frontal-collision warnings, blind-sport monitoring, adaptive cruise control, and parking sensors.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jeep Cherokee Sport ($23,595) contains the standard four-cylinder engine, along with cloth seat upholstery, cruise control; keyless entry; Uconnect 5.0 with six-speaker audio, and 17-inch steel wheels. (All prices are MSRP. Prices shown are for front-drive; four-wheel drive adds $2,000, but is standard on Trailhawk.)

Cherokee Altitude ($23,595) is derived from the Sport, adding 18-inch wheels, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, and Gloss Black exterior treatment. Cherokee Latitude ($25,545) gets an upgraded infotainment system with an 8.4-inch touchscreen and smartphone app connectivity. Air conditioning and a rearview camera are included. Cherokee 75th Anniversary ($25,545) has 18-inch painted aluminum wheels and exterior elements.

Cherokee Trailhawk 4×4 ($31,195) has Active Drive Lock four-wheel drive, a Trail Rated badge, a tougher suspension with greater ground clearance, specific bumpers, transmission and oil coolers, skid plates, and 17-inch wheels. Also standard are heated/ventilated front seats, cloth/Nappa leather, a power liftgate, heated steering wheel, and power driver’s seat.

Cherokee Limited ($29,495) gets leather seat upholstery with Nappa inserts, heated power front seats, pushbutton start, dual-zone automatic climate control, Uconnect 8.4 radio, and 18-inch wheels. Cherokee High Altitude ($29,495) comes with Gloss Black exterior treatment and 18-inch black aluminum wheels. Cherokee Overland ($34,895) has a leather-wrapped instrument panel, power front seats with power lumbar, wood trim, Nappa leather, Alpine premium audio, and navigation. Cherokee Overland with available V6 engine comes packaged with four-wheel drive ($37,695).

Walkaround

Not many designs have been as polarizing as that of the Cherokee, which veers substantially away from Jeep tradition. Though the grille has seven bars, like the traditional form, the Cherokee’s version comes across as odd, at least to some eyes. Separating the headlights from LED running lights gives the front a tiered appearance, devoid of Jeeplike cues.

Even now, four years after its debut, the Cherokee still conveys an unexpected, if not unbalanced, appearance, in contrast to upright, down-to-earth Jeep tradition. In contrast, the rear end is quite ordinary, while bodysides suggest a conventional crossover SUV.

Interior

Nicely finished and well-organized, the handsome cabin is effectively composed and quite refined. On the sporty side, blending colorful elements with subtlety, it’s not trucklike at all. Controls, on the other hand, aren’t so easy to find.

Comparatively roomy for four adults, the Cherokee can fit a fifth passenger without argument, at least for a short trip. Front seats are comfortable, though occupant space is a bit unconventional. Larger drivers might rub against the door panels or console, and taller pilots could have trouble finding a suitable position. Headrests sit somewhat forward, forcing some drivers into a slouched, laid-back stance.

Passenger space is narrower than expected. Rear occupants might feel cramped, though the seat does slide a few inches forward/aft.

Interior noise is nicely subdued. Passengers get plenty of small-item storage space. Cargo space reaches 58.9 cubic feet when the front passenger seat is folded. With all seats up, it’s 24.6 cubic feet. The cargo floor is somewhat high.

Driving Impressions

Cherokees behave well enough on the pavement, though road manners are no better than average. For everyday commutes, several other crossover SUVs score higher, despite the Cherokee’s highly refined four-cylinder engine.

Where a Cherokee stands well above the pack is in off-road abilities. With an appropriate four-wheel-drive setup, the Cherokee’s backwoods prowess is practically shocking. Few would ever imagine that the running gear emanated from the humble Dodge Dart. Steering is accurate, and the ride is nicely damped.

With its taller ride height and off-road tires, at low speeds, the Trailhawk absorbs surface imperfections most readily. Off the pavement, Selec-Speed lets a Trailhawk conquer upgrades tenaciously, with hill-descent control doing likewise on the far side.

Unless the vehicle is fully loaded, the four-cylinder engine feels sufficiently powerful. Still, the optional V6 invariably feels quick and confident, as well as refined.

Although the 9-speed automatic has a broad range of ratios to enhance performance, some shifts grow balky. At times, the transmission remains indecisive for quite a long while, and upshifts may be subject to odd delays. As a rule, Sport mode (if included) provides the most prompt, decisive gearchanges.

Fuel economy matches Cherokee’s class rivals. With the four-cylinder engine and front-wheel drive, the Cherokee is EPA-rated at 21/30 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive drops the estimate to 21/28 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined. The V6 is EPA-rated at 21/29 mpg City/Highway for front-drive models, and 20/27 mpg for four-wheel drive. Trailhawk models with the four-cylinder are EPA-rated at 19/25 mpg City/Highway, versus 18/24 mpg with the V6.

Summary

Crash-test scores are troubling, and styling continues to be controversial. Anyone who isn’t insistent on a traditional Jeep look, though, can hardly do better than a four-wheel-drive Cherokee for exceptional off-road competence. Plenty of choices and options are available, too.

Driving impressions by Marty Padgett, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Jeep Cherokee
578
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel