2017 Jaguar XE Reviews and Ratings

20d Prestige AWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jaguar XE.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (10)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Paulette 9/6/2017 5:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Until u have driven a 2017 Jag u haven't experience life. The car has such class it makes u feel like the only car on the road should be a jag. My jag grabs your attention the minute u see it. I have never been so please with a car as i am with my jag. Everywhere i go i have people asking me can they look in the inside of it.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Linda 9/4/2017 12:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I love the Jaquar XE because its small size fits me and I love the sporty ride. Plus, it has adequate trunk space for our two large and 2 small bags when we head to airport. Our somewhat local (40 miles) salesperson, dealer is very service oriented and makes purchasing and owning this vehicle easy. i I am thankful that Jaguar leases include all routine maintenance again. Proud and happy to drive my Jaquar XE!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By linda 9/3/2017 8:22:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is fun! Fast and really holds the road well. Lots of looks from 5 series BMW fans- Handles like a dream- Sporty yet classic! Love the safe features like mirrors blink when a car is in my no see zone and the back up camera shows everything including where my tires are .
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By CFC 8/25/2017 3:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Turbo diesel and responsiveness are great. Comfortable interior should make long drives a snap. Window controls and seat memory locations should be reversed. The only negative items are the GPS data base (at least two or more years out of date) and the location of the windshield pillar and sideview mirror which blocks the view of pedestrians and cross traffic at a stop light or stop sign.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 6:29:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very stylish vehicle with lots of technology and safety features. Excellent warranty and low maintenance
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By CLOUDY 8/20/2017 9:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
IT DRIVES GREAT. Best Features - THE SPEED. Worst Features - THE LEATHER ON THE INTERIOR
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Chris 8/18/2017 4:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Only drawback is the lack of safety features as standard equipment. Have to buy a much more expensive model to get these.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jason 8/5/2017 7:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The handling is truly exceptional. Coupled with the supercharged v6 this make a stunning drivers car. It's comfortable and when dialed in is grin inducing to drive. My car has only a few technology add ons just enough to compensate for my lack of skill but it has what I need. The value for money is exceptional with best in class warranty and the build quality is superb. The car looks gorgeous and people notice. People are very surprised at the price of the car when I get asked.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Maria 7/30/2017 3:29:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my first four door vehicle but it handles like a two door. It has various driving options from bad weather to run hard and have a blast. The styling both inside and out is beautiful and I continue to get unsolicited positive comments. The technology is extensive and I can't think of anything else I could possibly want.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sharon E 7/29/2017 2:20:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Great buying Experience! Beautiful exterior and drives well! Cons: USB/charger location
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jaguar XE
Tony Swan

Introduction

The Jaguar XE is the brand’s new compact four-door, conceived and designed to be a serious challenger in a sport sedan market segment that’s been defined and ruled for decades by the BMW 3 Series. This is the first time Jaguar has been a player in this arena since the X-Type (2001-2009).

Inspired by and developed from the superb F-Type sports car, the Jaguar XE’s foundations are aluminum intensive and exemplary in terms of structural rigidity. Basically a rear-drive platform with the option of four-wheel drive, the architecture is shared with the new Jaguar F-Pace crossover sport-utility and will also be adapted for another sedan in the not-too-distant future.

Like the F-Type sports car, the Jaguar XE delivers that rare connection between the machine and the individual behind the wheel: the vehicle as an extension of the driver’s will. Handling is excellent. This new Jaguar sedan is as quick on its feet as many sports cars.

At launch there are two engine options: a supercharged 3.0-liter V6 (340 horsepower, 332 pound-feet of torque) and a 2.0-liter turbodiesel four-cylinder (180 hp, 318 lb-ft), both sending power to the rear differential via an 8-speed automatic transmission. Jaguar plans to add a 2.0-liter turbocharged gasoline four-cylinder (240 hp, 251 lb-ft) later in the 2017 model year. All three engines will feature stop-start technology. Performance from the V6 is very quick, with 0-60 mph possible in about 4.5 seconds.

Like all new cars, the Jaguar XE offers a lengthy menu of infotainment features, operable in this instance by touch-screen controls augmented by voice command. There’s also a comprehensive list of driver assist and safety features that’s comparable to other cars in this entry luxury sports sedan category.

The new styling is clean but conservative, with distinctly sporty proportions, not much car extending beyond the front axle, a wide stance, and wheels that fill up the wheel wells. Jaguar’s new signature grille distinguishes the front end, and the wide horizontal LED taillights emphasize the car’s width and muscular haunches.

Fuel economy is an EPA-estimated 21/30 mpg City/Highway for the rear-wheel-drive supercharged 3.0-liter, 20/29 mpg with all-wheel drive. (We have yet to see formal EPA ratings for the turbodiesel, but Jaguar anticipates a highway rating of 40 mpg-plus.)

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jaguar XE ($34,900) comes in Premium, Prestige, and R-Sport models. (Price is MSRP and does not include destination charge ($995).

Walkaround

Jaguar’s approach to the XE design is consistent with that of its German competition and in fact with most contemporary sedan styling: a readily recognizable front fascia (long established at Audi, BMW, and Mercedes) and subdued sculpting elsewhere. The Jaguar XE may not turn many heads when it cruises by, but on closer inspection it becomes more seductive.

We’ve already noted the sporty proportions, and the brim-full wheel wells. More subtle is the way the tight fit of the sheetmetal, which emphasizes the muscular elements of the design like a spandex outfit on a high octane athlete.

Ian Callum says the shape is “about paring it down to the bare essentials. Good designers have always said less is more.”

Less also applies to curb weight, thanks to extensive use of aluminum in the XE’s body panels and structural elements.

The clean contours are also about aerodynamic efficiency, contributing to a quiet interior and, together with the relatively low curb weights (substantially lighter than a corresponding BMW 3 Series, for example) respectable EPA fuel economy ratings.

Interior

Jaguar sedan interiors were once distinguished by handsome swaths of walnut or bird’s eye maple, and glove leather upholstery. That was a long ago era, of course, and interior materials have changed. But the cabin of the new Jaguar XE is just as posh as its elegant ancestors, with a far greater array of infotainment and driver-assistance features.

Simplicity is the critical element in successful design, and the broad sweep of the XE’s upper dashboard looks one continuous shape, rather than the busy ups, downs and cut lines of some contemporary layouts. The instrument binnacle shelters electronic interpretations of the classic analog tachometer and speedometer, made modern by the info display tucked between them. The grippy three-spoke, leather-wrapped steering wheel includes a variety of auxiliary controls, as expected in a modern entry luxury automobile.

And of course access to a good many infotainment and connectivity features is achieved via a center dash touch-screen, another increasingly common feature in contemporary cars. There are drawbacks to this dependence on touch-screen: being precise with the touching can be tricky when the car is in motion.

On the other hand, the climate controls, located just below the center screen, consist of familiar switches, well marked and easy to adjust. This also goes for seat heater switches.

Other demerits: the nav system is slow and a little labyrinthine. And the circular gear selector, a feature pioneered by Jaguar, can be irritating. Not for its function; drivers have long since come to accept dial-a-gear. But the selector’s chrome top gets painfully hot in direct sunlight, even when it’s not deployed.

Also, roominess is not an XE long suit. Making adult-size rear-seat passengers happy requires a bit of cooperation from those up front, and the center rear seat is not a perch we’d assign to anyone we liked, though that’s true of pretty much any so-called five-passenger sedan in this class.

Back on the plus side of the score sheet, the seats are long-haul comfortable, and the perforated leather makes those hides of yesteryear seem antiquated.

As you’d expect, there is a comprehensive complement of contemporary safety features.

Driving Impressions

Jaguar staged the XE’s U.S. press introduction in and around Aspen, Colorado. Altitudes of the challenging mountain drive routes ranged from 8000 to 10,000 feet, high country indeed. Altitudes of that magnitude sap the power of internal combustion engines, particularly naturally aspirated engines. But the XE’s boosted engines, we logged seat time in both the supercharged V6 and turbocharged diesel, were vigorous in the Colorado highlands.

This was particularly true of the turbodiesel, with its formidable torque. And we were also impressed with its quiet operation: hardly a hint of compression ignition clatter.

The V6 will be the acceleration champ, of course. At sea level, we anticipate 0-to-60 sprints in the mid 4-second range, which is very quick by the standards of this class. It might be even quicker if the automatic transmission was a little more responsive.

In manual mode, using the shift paddles, up- and downshifts are prompt, though not as brisk as some of the dual clutch manumatics out there. But setting the gear selector dial in drive and operating in full automatic, kickdowns for passing punch are on the slow side.

Still, the XE’s power story is generally positive. But the area of operating traits that will win hearts and minds is dynamics; this baby can dance. The structure is exemplary in terms of rigidity, and with the adaptive dampers that go with the S model.

The tires deliver abundant adhesion, there’s hardly a hint of body roll, and the steering, both quick and almost telepathic, completes the circuit between car and driver. It’s a connection that’s powerful and gratifying, at a minimum on the same dynamic level as its German rivals, as well as the Cadillac ATS-V.

Summary

The Jaguar XE is an eager, responsive machine that provides a powerful sense of connection between car and driver. It embodies all the traits that separate sport sedans from more everyday four-doors. The practical attributes are there: comfort, competitive pricing, athletic good looks, handsome interior appointments, contemporary infotainment and safety features. But the element that makes this car stand out amid its rivals is what happens when it rolls into a set of turns. The XE may not have a German pedigree, but it has everything else to satisfy the discerning driver.

Tony Swan filed this report after his test drive of the new Jaguar XE near Aspen, Colorado.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Jaguar XE 20d Prestige AWD local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.