Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
August 16, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
franco
March 11, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great SUV for a great Price. Only con: no remote keyless entry on this model. Shame on Jaguar for selling an upscale SUV without current technology
First Jag
November 18, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A great combination of practical and performance. The supercharged V6 is a joy to feel and hear. This is not a plush car but it is always fun to drive. If you dislike turbo lag this is your car.
Dwayne T
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
9,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my car, and I would totally buy again. the style and color is amazing and it drives great on the road.
Phil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,300 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle has been flawless. I have two, 1800 mile road trips on it and it has performed at or above expectations in all categories - Mountains; rains; high speed handling; fuel mileage; comfort. This Jaguar F Pace is also a stunning look and gets a lot of attention. I am sure there is not a better SUV in this class and price range.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good performance, good gas mileage handles well rides a little bumpy depending on road conditions. Seats are a little hard after riding for a couple hours. Navigation system very good, over all I'm pleased with my purchase.
Alicia
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Loving my diesel F-Pace. Gas mileage on this thing is outstanding. Great fit and finishes. Very happy with my purchase.
Richard P
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
2,400 miles
|
Owned 3 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The F - Pace is a beautiful car and exciting to drive, but that's where the fun ends. Basic creature comforts found in $20k cars are either missing or out dated in this high-end luxury car. Constant wind noise when driving at top speed.
Mike
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Although this car is sporty, quick and handles well, it broke down after only 4,000 miles and has squeaks and rattles that should never occur in a premium car of this price range. Further the dealership has not provided acceptable first time repairs.
Vijay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Exterior look, Riding comfort and handling are exceptional. Getting better mileage than mentioned. The moment i saw it almost made my decision. After test ride I didn't think of any other vehicle. I did try Mini, Audi, Infiniti and Acura before i opted for F pace. I got a very good deal and really happy to have chosen F pace. I am tall and had a lot of problems while driving. Recently I drove for 7 hours with a stop of 10 mins in between. Was perfectly fine after drive and really enjoyed the drive. It is giving more mileage than published. I am very happy with my choice and will refer it strongly to any one who looking for a vehicle. Please do try it once and make a decision. I bet you won't be disappointed
Jovan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is a great car in my opinion! I love the look. Very masculine. The only thing is that if your looking for a SUV that rides smooth, this isn't it.
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5,400 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My new 2017 F-Pace is everything I was expecting, great curb appeal, sporty, with performance. Being an innovator I knew there might be a few bugs. The Incontrol Touch Pro has had a few bugs and it has been addressed by Jaguar with updates.
Jonell
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely LOVE my Jaguar F-Pace! The handling on the road is amazing! You get a beautiful luxury SUV that drives like a race car!
Frank
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Needs a bigger gas tank. It's too small and the range is limited. We need to fill the gas tank quite often.
Jody
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,631 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am thrilled with my Jaguar F-Pace! I had been searching for my next vehicle for two years before I came across this delightful beauty. Truely, it has it all and then some- power, style, comfort, safety and a great price. Prior to this crossover vehicle I had driven my Mazda CX7 for 10 years and would have, more than likely, bought another Mazda. Except, Mazda decided to take the zoom-zoom out of their cars. I commute 50 miles to work round trip 5 days a week- the Jag makes it very enjoyable!
Mark D. A
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
1,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The drive is excellent, the interior is very nice thew gas mileage is fine and the radio is nice and it's fun to drive!
Jane
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 16, 2017
5,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My F-Pace drives and handles like a dream. It is sleek, powerful, comfortable, technology screen is perfect size, and cargo space is ideal. I would highly recommend this vehicle.
Richard
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
3,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love it's looks and it's power. The ride is smooth and there is plenty of room in front and back seat. Also love the technology features.
2017 Jaguar 1091 F-PACE 28974 381496
Write a Review for the 2017 Jaguar F-PACE
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

What’s this? A Jaguar truck? The ghost of Jaguar founder Sir William Lyons might moan in dismay, but a carmaker lacking a truck (words like sport-utility and crossover weren’t part of the automotive lexicon in Sir William’s day) is giving away sales in today’s market. And Jaguar is about a decade late to the game.

Arriving so late means that to have any chance of success the newcomer has to be exceptional. Does this new Jaguar measure up to that metric? Let’s come back to that.

First, the fundamentals. The Jaguar F-Pace is based on the same solid rear-wheel-drive structure that’s the foundation for the new Jaguar XE sedan, though the architecture has been expanded for the SUV; the new crossover sport-utility slots between the BMW X3 and X5 in terms of size. And it should weigh in at the low end of the compact crossover SUV scale, thanks to a body shell that’s 80 percent aluminum.

While its dimensions and tightly wrapped skin suggest athleticism, a suggestion vindicated by its dynamics, the Jaguar F-Pace also has a high usefulness index, thanks to a roominess advantage versus its prime competition, most of which hails from Germany.

Other strong points: infotainment and telematics that are several cuts above previous Jaguar systems; an excellent premium audio option; quiet operation; all-wheel drive is standard on all models; and respectable off-road performance augmented by a new system that allows the operator to select a specific speed for crawling up or down steep slopes.

At launch, F-Pace buyers have the choice of a supercharged 3.0-liter V6 in two levels of output: 340 horsepower or 380 hp, both rated for 332 pound-feet of torque. A turbodiesel is expected to join the powertrain inventory fall 2016. All engines transmit thrust through an 8-speed automatic transmission, primarily to the rear wheels, sending power to the front wheels when needed.

And, finally, there’s the value factor: price-wise, the F-Pace is at the low end of its competitive set.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jagaur F-Pace comes in nearly a dozen trim levels, starting with the diesel-powered F-Pace 20d ($40,990). The F-Pace 35t ($42,840) is powered by a 340-hp V6. Other models include the F-Pace Premium ($45,700); F-Pace Prestige ($50,100); F-Pace Sport and F-Pace R Sport ($57,290); and the limited-production F-Pace First Edition. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge of $995.)

Walkaround

At some level, it’s reasonable to say all sport-utility vehicles look pretty much alike, basically a two-box shape with varying degrees of detailing in the sheetmetal. Reduced to basics, the F-Pace is typical of contemporary styling trends, particularly compared to a segment pacesetter like the Porsche Macan. Still, this newcomer does manifest current Jaguar styling cues, particularly up front, and with the exception of a strong character line stretching between the wheel wells its skin fits like Spandex.

Viewed in profile the rear-sloping roofline and beltline rising from front to rear are reminiscent of the Range Rover Evoque, not too surprising considering the Jaguar Land Rover family ties. But in any case the taut surfaces, rearward converging lines, and muscular haunches conspire to give the F-Pace an action-ready look that does stand out from the crowd.

The F-Pace is a little bigger than key competitors such as the Audi Q5, Mercedes GLC, and Porsche Macan. But it’s only slightly bigger, and its proportions disguise its size.

Interior

Michael Dale was fond of saying, ΓÇ£Jaguars are about elegance; a Jaguar should make you feel elegant.ΓÇ¥ As a former RAF fighter pilot and Sports Car Club of America national champion, a man with a need for speed, this seemed a slightly odd trait for Mr. Dale to espouse. But as the then president of Jaguar North America, Mr. Dale’s observations commanded respect.

His elegance assertion was made in another century, but it’s a solid bet that he’d find plenty of elegance in the cabin of a new F-Pace, even in the basic trim level. It may not be the kind of walnut-lined elegance that distinguished Jaguars of yesteryear. But the contemporary blend of first rate materials, handsome design, painstaking craftsmanship, and up-to-date infotainment.

This last, telematics, infotainment, connectivity, call it what you will, hasn’t been a strong point in Jaguars, but it is now. The screens are big (standard) and bigger (bigger in higher trims), with bright icons and a nav system that’s cooperative and accurate.

Almost as important, the F-Pace is roomy compared to its German rivals, ample leg and head room behind the front seats, lots of stowage behind the rear seats. One caveat: like all two-row SUVs, great and small, the F-Pace is rated for five passengers, but occupying that middle spot in the rear means straddling the driveshaft tunnel. So, the center seat is best suited to kids in car seats.

Driving Impressions

As noted, the F-Pace looks like an athlete (by SUV standards), and its responses vindicate its appearance, i.e., they’re athletic. Body motions are well controlled; steering is surgically precise, and particularly tactile on center; and tire grip, augmented by all-wheel drive and torque vectoring, sending power to the wheel with traction, inspires a high level of confidence.

Speaking of high: our half-day with the F-Pace took place in high country around Aspen, Colorado, at altitudes ranging from 8000 to over 12,000 feet. Altitude saps horsepower, but even so Jaguar’s supercharged V6 engines delivered impressive punch in tight passing situations.

Punch up the optional Dynamic Mode, and the Jaguar’s computer enhances throttle response, raises transmission shift points, reduces shift time, adds weight to the steering effort, and adds red to the instrument lighting, so you know you’re ready to rock.

Jaguar predicts 0-to-60 mph in 5.1 seconds with the 380-horsepower V6, 5.5 seconds with the 340 hp version, at sea level. Altitude erodes horsepower, but based on our Rocky Mountain high experiences, we have no reason to doubt the claims.

In addition to brisk acceleration and agile dynamics, the F-Pace is also quiet at most speeds on most pavement, and delivers surprisingly supple ride quality.

Another surprise: the F-Pace has moderate off-road capability, with a nifty new feature that allows the driver to negotiate steep uphills and precipitous downhills by setting a specific (low) speed, 3 mph, 5 mph, whatever seems appropriate. Jaguar calls it All Surface Progress Control. Think of it as a low speed cruise control.

One performance element that wasn’t on display in Colorado was the 2.0-liter turbodiesel, 180 horsepower, 318 pound-feet of torque, that will become available this fall. However, the same engine is available in the new XE sedan, which was also part of the Colorado program, and while the F-Pace is substantially heavier, we anticipate respectable performance based on our experience in the diesel-powered XE.

Summary

In performance, style, assembly, appointments, and, though it’s a minor point for this kind of luxury crossover, off-road capability, Jaguar’s first SUV is at least the equal of anything in its class and arguably better than most. Though he was basically a sports car purist, it seems safe to say Sir William would approve.

New Car Test Drive founding editor Tony Swan filed his report after test drives of Jaguar F-Pace models in Colorado.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Jaguar listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Jaguar listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Jaguar F-PACE
1050
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel