2017 Jaguar F-PACE Reviews and Ratings

First Edition AWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Jaguar F-PACE.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (26)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Dwayne T 8/30/2017 3:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I love my car, and I would totally buy again. the style and color is amazing and it drives great on the road.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Phil 8/28/2017 3:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
This vehicle has been flawless. I have two, 1800 mile road trips on it and it has performed at or above expectations in all categories - Mountains; rains; high speed handling; fuel mileage; comfort. This Jaguar F Pace is also a stunning look and gets a lot of attention. I am sure there is not a better SUV in this class and price range.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/26/2017 11:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Good performance, good gas mileage handles well rides a little bumpy depending on road conditions. Seats are a little hard after riding for a couple hours. Navigation system very good, over all I'm pleased with my purchase.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Alicia 8/25/2017 10:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Loving my diesel F-Pace. Gas mileage on this thing is outstanding. Great fit and finishes. Very happy with my purchase.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Richard P 8/25/2017 8:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
The F - Pace is a beautiful car and exciting to drive, but that's where the fun ends. Basic creature comforts found in $20k cars are either missing or out dated in this high-end luxury car. Constant wind noise when driving at top speed.
Reliability
   1.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Mike 8/24/2017 4:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
Although this car is sporty, quick and handles well, it broke down after only 4,000 miles and has squeaks and rattles that should never occur in a premium car of this price range. Further the dealership has not provided acceptable first time repairs.
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Vijay 8/22/2017 5:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Exterior look, Riding comfort and handling are exceptional. Getting better mileage than mentioned. The moment i saw it almost made my decision. After test ride I didn't think of any other vehicle. I did try Mini, Audi, Infiniti and Acura before i opted for F pace. I got a very good deal and really happy to have chosen F pace. I am tall and had a lot of problems while driving. Recently I drove for 7 hours with a stop of 10 mins in between. Was perfectly fine after drive and really enjoyed the drive. It is giving more mileage than published. I am very happy with my choice and will refer it strongly to any one who looking for a vehicle. Please do try it once and make a decision. I bet you won't be disappointed
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jovan 8/22/2017 9:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
This is a great car in my opinion! I love the look. Very masculine. The only thing is that if your looking for a SUV that rides smooth, this isn't it.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Mark 8/22/2017 6:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
My new 2017 F-Pace is everything I was expecting, great curb appeal, sporty, with performance. Being an innovator I knew there might be a few bugs. The Incontrol Touch Pro has had a few bugs and it has been addressed by Jaguar with updates.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jonell 8/21/2017 7:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE my Jaguar F-Pace! The handling on the road is amazing! You get a beautiful luxury SUV that drives like a race car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Frank 8/20/2017 7:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Needs a bigger gas tank. It's too small and the range is limited. We need to fill the gas tank quite often.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jody 8/19/2017 2:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I am thrilled with my Jaguar F-Pace! I had been searching for my next vehicle for two years before I came across this delightful beauty. Truely, it has it all and then some- power, style, comfort, safety and a great price. Prior to this crossover vehicle I had driven my Mazda CX7 for 10 years and would have, more than likely, bought another Mazda. Except, Mazda decided to take the zoom-zoom out of their cars. I commute 50 miles to work round trip 5 days a week- the Jag makes it very enjoyable!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/19/2017 2:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
my vehicle very nice and good I like it very much and low mileage
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mark D. A 8/19/2017 9:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The drive is excellent, the interior is very nice thew gas mileage is fine and the radio is nice and it's fun to drive!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jane 8/15/2017 5:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My F-Pace drives and handles like a dream. It is sleek, powerful, comfortable, technology screen is perfect size, and cargo space is ideal. I would highly recommend this vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Richard 8/14/2017 10:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I love it's looks and it's power. The ride is smooth and there is plenty of room in front and back seat. Also love the technology features.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mo 8/8/2017 3:46:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
If you enjoy driving excitement this is the vehicle for you. The other cars with the same specifications and class are $7k to $15k more. I love it!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Atle S. 8/8/2017 7:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Just an exceptional vehicle. The car handles like no other and looks amazing. Enough power to put most others to rest.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kimberly 8/4/2017 9:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Jaguar f-pace is amazing. It is light and compact. It fits easily in parking lots and very easy to drive. Besides being compact for my family size is perfect and spacious. I love it!!! It is elegant and classy.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/29/2017 12:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
love the f-pace. great options easy on the eye and easy to use (technology features are easy to understand)
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ryle 7/29/2017 11:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Fuel mileage on the 20d is awesome for a 4wd SUV! I would definitely buy this again! Has plenty of room for our new little family.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By CDC 7/29/2017 1:12:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The F-Pace is a great buy. Fit and finish as well as comfort is fabulous! Get one today then go back the following week and pick up a second!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Dani C 7/28/2017 9:25:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
GREAT CAR ALL AROUND IF I HAD A COMPLAINT IT WOULD BE THE LIMITED BACK SEAT ROOM OTHER THAN THAT THE CAR IS FANTASTIC
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Julie 7/27/2017 7:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is a fantastic car for the money. Pros: Performance. Cons: Phone becomes unpaired occasionally
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna 7/27/2017 6:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is an outstanding vehicle. I love the styling but the performance has WOW'ed me. By far the best car I have ever driven and the fastest. My other car is a Challenger/w Hemi 375 hp. It's very fast but I prefer the performance of the F-Pace Jag. I feel like I have died and gone to heaven.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 7/26/2017 10:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I purchase the Jaguar F-Pace as the replacement for my Shelby GT-500. Time has demonstrated that a new SUV was a good choice. Not wanting to ride in any SUV I chose the Jaguar. One that is new in design. Not well known yet. Very comfortable and great looking. And one that is capable of achieving a 60 MPH in 5 seconds and a top speed on 155 MPH. I might be better suited for the SUV but the Shelby has left its' mark. Jaguar has accomplished a feat that few would have acknowledged. I moved into a four wheel drive family vehicle that is fabulously designed comfortable great on the gas mileage for all the performance it offers. I can expect 27 MPG regularly driving in the Dynamic mode and 24.9 MPG in the standard mode. I would recommend the Jaguar F-Pace to anyone who: 1- wants the excitement of driving. 2- is not yet ready to give up performance. 3- respects safety designs. 4- wants to take the family along on any ride to any place knowing they will be safe comfortable and excited to ride in a Jaguar.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Jaguar F-PACE
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

What’s this? A Jaguar truck? The ghost of Jaguar founder Sir William Lyons might moan in dismay, but a carmaker lacking a truck (words like sport-utility and crossover weren’t part of the automotive lexicon in Sir William’s day) is giving away sales in today’s market. And Jaguar is about a decade late to the game.

Arriving so late means that to have any chance of success the newcomer has to be exceptional. Does this new Jaguar measure up to that metric? Let’s come back to that.

First, the fundamentals. The Jaguar F-Pace is based on the same solid rear-wheel-drive structure that’s the foundation for the new Jaguar XE sedan, though the architecture has been expanded for the SUV; the new crossover sport-utility slots between the BMW X3 and X5 in terms of size. And it should weigh in at the low end of the compact crossover SUV scale, thanks to a body shell that’s 80 percent aluminum.

While its dimensions and tightly wrapped skin suggest athleticism, a suggestion vindicated by its dynamics, the Jaguar F-Pace also has a high usefulness index, thanks to a roominess advantage versus its prime competition, most of which hails from Germany.

Other strong points: infotainment and telematics that are several cuts above previous Jaguar systems; an excellent premium audio option; quiet operation; all-wheel drive is standard on all models; and respectable off-road performance augmented by a new system that allows the operator to select a specific speed for crawling up or down steep slopes.

At launch, F-Pace buyers have the choice of a supercharged 3.0-liter V6 in two levels of output: 340 horsepower or 380 hp, both rated for 332 pound-feet of torque. A turbodiesel is expected to join the powertrain inventory fall 2016. All engines transmit thrust through an 8-speed automatic transmission, primarily to the rear wheels, sending power to the front wheels when needed.

And, finally, there’s the value factor: price-wise, the F-Pace is at the low end of its competitive set.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Jagaur F-Pace comes in nearly a dozen trim levels, starting with the diesel-powered F-Pace 20d ($40,990). The F-Pace 35t ($42,840) is powered by a 340-hp V6. Other models include the F-Pace Premium ($45,700); F-Pace Prestige ($50,100); F-Pace Sport and F-Pace R Sport ($57,290); and the limited-production F-Pace First Edition. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge of $995.)

Walkaround

At some level, it’s reasonable to say all sport-utility vehicles look pretty much alike, basically a two-box shape with varying degrees of detailing in the sheetmetal. Reduced to basics, the F-Pace is typical of contemporary styling trends, particularly compared to a segment pacesetter like the Porsche Macan. Still, this newcomer does manifest current Jaguar styling cues, particularly up front, and with the exception of a strong character line stretching between the wheel wells its skin fits like Spandex.

Viewed in profile the rear-sloping roofline and beltline rising from front to rear are reminiscent of the Range Rover Evoque, not too surprising considering the Jaguar Land Rover family ties. But in any case the taut surfaces, rearward converging lines, and muscular haunches conspire to give the F-Pace an action-ready look that does stand out from the crowd.

The F-Pace is a little bigger than key competitors such as the Audi Q5, Mercedes GLC, and Porsche Macan. But it’s only slightly bigger, and its proportions disguise its size.

Interior

Michael Dale was fond of saying, ΓÇ£Jaguars are about elegance; a Jaguar should make you feel elegant.ΓÇ¥ As a former RAF fighter pilot and Sports Car Club of America national champion, a man with a need for speed, this seemed a slightly odd trait for Mr. Dale to espouse. But as the then president of Jaguar North America, Mr. Dale’s observations commanded respect.

His elegance assertion was made in another century, but it’s a solid bet that he’d find plenty of elegance in the cabin of a new F-Pace, even in the basic trim level. It may not be the kind of walnut-lined elegance that distinguished Jaguars of yesteryear. But the contemporary blend of first rate materials, handsome design, painstaking craftsmanship, and up-to-date infotainment.

This last, telematics, infotainment, connectivity, call it what you will, hasn’t been a strong point in Jaguars, but it is now. The screens are big (standard) and bigger (bigger in higher trims), with bright icons and a nav system that’s cooperative and accurate.

Almost as important, the F-Pace is roomy compared to its German rivals, ample leg and head room behind the front seats, lots of stowage behind the rear seats. One caveat: like all two-row SUVs, great and small, the F-Pace is rated for five passengers, but occupying that middle spot in the rear means straddling the driveshaft tunnel. So, the center seat is best suited to kids in car seats.

Driving Impressions

As noted, the F-Pace looks like an athlete (by SUV standards), and its responses vindicate its appearance, i.e., they’re athletic. Body motions are well controlled; steering is surgically precise, and particularly tactile on center; and tire grip, augmented by all-wheel drive and torque vectoring, sending power to the wheel with traction, inspires a high level of confidence.

Speaking of high: our half-day with the F-Pace took place in high country around Aspen, Colorado, at altitudes ranging from 8000 to over 12,000 feet. Altitude saps horsepower, but even so Jaguar’s supercharged V6 engines delivered impressive punch in tight passing situations.

Punch up the optional Dynamic Mode, and the Jaguar’s computer enhances throttle response, raises transmission shift points, reduces shift time, adds weight to the steering effort, and adds red to the instrument lighting, so you know you’re ready to rock.

Jaguar predicts 0-to-60 mph in 5.1 seconds with the 380-horsepower V6, 5.5 seconds with the 340 hp version, at sea level. Altitude erodes horsepower, but based on our Rocky Mountain high experiences, we have no reason to doubt the claims.

In addition to brisk acceleration and agile dynamics, the F-Pace is also quiet at most speeds on most pavement, and delivers surprisingly supple ride quality.

Another surprise: the F-Pace has moderate off-road capability, with a nifty new feature that allows the driver to negotiate steep uphills and precipitous downhills by setting a specific (low) speed, 3 mph, 5 mph, whatever seems appropriate. Jaguar calls it All Surface Progress Control. Think of it as a low speed cruise control.

One performance element that wasn’t on display in Colorado was the 2.0-liter turbodiesel, 180 horsepower, 318 pound-feet of torque, that will become available this fall. However, the same engine is available in the new XE sedan, which was also part of the Colorado program, and while the F-Pace is substantially heavier, we anticipate respectable performance based on our experience in the diesel-powered XE.

Summary

In performance, style, assembly, appointments, and, though it’s a minor point for this kind of luxury crossover, off-road capability, Jaguar’s first SUV is at least the equal of anything in its class and arguably better than most. Though he was basically a sports car purist, it seems safe to say Sir William would approve.

New Car Test Drive founding editor Tony Swan filed his report after test drives of Jaguar F-Pace models in Colorado.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Jaguar F-PACE First Edition AWD local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.