Consumer Reviews
4.7
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
10 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Caryn
March 13, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the vehicle but hate the coffee cup holder in the console because it only holds two small cups or one large cup.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Drives great and fun to drive good size for suv. Best Features - Interior. Worst Feature - Road noise
Angelin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
4,100 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Built well and has a great ride but wish gas mileage was better. Best Features - Ride and Engine Power. Worst Features - Gas Mileage and old technology
Pam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the option of a mid size SUV but was disappointed that some of the features I assumed were standard (which were on my previous FX) were not on this SUV. Such as auto gate lift, opening gate from inside car, tire pressure, etc.
Brenda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My vehicle is not only attractive, it offers great mileage and has many safety features. This is very important to me because I have 4 grandchildren. It has a look of elegance and quiet power. I am often complimented on its appearance. It accelerates appropriately and I feel comfortable and safe when I am driving. I love my QX50!
Adam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have an EX35 from 2008 and we love it. I tried an M37 but it just didn't suit me like the EX did. Now the QX50 has replaced the EX35 and I loved it instantly. I traded in the M37 and bought a new QX50. I have never looked back. It is like my EX35 with some extra leg room in the back for guests. So far I am right at home!
Trish
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
2,401 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Infiniti qx50 is great to drive, reliable and safe. Best Features - Interior leather seats and smooth ride. Worst Features - Audio package
Donna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
1,585 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The QX50 is a superb performing vehicle. Its sexy and classic exterior turns heads! The 3 month Sirius stereo is free and a must have thereafter.
Gil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the fourth Infinity that I have owned. It is reliable, very comfortable and has the quick acceleration that I enjoy. It has a lot of outstanding features such as lane departure and it will slow down to prevent front end collision. The sound system is outstanding. The radio allows you to set 12 stations on XM, and FM. I do wish it had an automatic tailgate closure because I'm short.
Martha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
1,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new Infinity QX50. I first chose it because of the exterior styling and size. I had a wonderful experience with the salespeople at my local dealership, and have enjoyed driving my new car every day. It is fun to drive, responsive, comfortable, and the gas mileage is good, as well. I highly recommend this car!
2017 INFINITI 1197 QX50 29441 384995
Write a Review for the 2017 INFINITI QX50
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Infiniti QX50 is a rear-wheel-drive luxury crossover utility built on the chassis of the Q50 sports sedan. Unlike some competitors, it’s not designed to pamper. Instead the QX50 offers an abundance of driving dynamics led by responsive road manners. Its ride, comfort and handling almost match the Q50 sports sedan that defines it.

The QX50 is more of a tall wagon than a sport-utility. With available all-wheel drive it will survive well in snow or sand, but don’t go trying to run the Baja 500 with it (never mind that Lexus has an SUV Baja racer).

The wheelbase of the QX50 grew by more than three inches for 2016, so four adults fit comfortably, through doors that were lengthened as well, over a ride-height raised by almost an inch. A facelift included a new grille and LED foglamps and running lights. It all improved the car’s looks.

With those significant changes for 2016, the 2017 QX50 only gains a 19-inch wheel-and-tire package, and that’s about it.

Under the hood, a 325-horsepower V6 teams with an excellent 7-speed automatic transmission to bring quick responses. When hammered, the engine sounds loud and unrefined for a luxury vehicle.

Fuel mileage is not the car’s forte. The QX50 is EPA-rated at 17/24 mpg City/Highway, and 20 mpg Combined. For that you could get a full-size three-row SUV. But you don’t want a full-size three-row SUV. You want a sports sedan with cargo versatility.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Infiniti QX50 comes with rear-wheel drive ($34,450) or all-wheel drive ($36,250).

Standard equipment includes a rearview camera; leather upholstery; power driver’s seat; cruise control; dual-zone automatic climate control; six-speaker audio with CD/MP3 capability, satellite radio, and Bluetooth hands-free phone; moonroof, pushbutton start, and universal garage door opener; and 18-inch aluminum wheels.

Premium package adds Bose 11-speaker audio, maple wood trim, and driver’s memory. An expensive Technology Package adds safety features including lane-departure and forward-collision warnings, and intelligent cruise control. For another couple thousand, a Premium Plus package adds navigation, parking sensors, and surround-view cameras (useful because visibility is limited by dramatic rear-end styling).

Walkaround

Visually, the QX50 doesn’t exude SUV, now passe. It’s clean, with none of that SUV-for-the-sake-of-being-SUV trim or sculpting. Big wheel wells and widely flared fenders support rakishly arching roofline that gives it a coupe-like profile. There is some subtle sculpting in the organic sheetmetal, making the roofline look low instead of tall. If you look at it like a tall wagon, it looks great.

Interior

The cabin is sophisticated, simple and tasteful. It’s more streamlined than competitors, for example the Acura RDX. Bless its classy heart, Infiniti avoids non-functional shiny bits. Instead you get rich tones, contoured wood trim, soft lighting, and elegant instruments.

There are plenty of functional bits, as the driver faces an abundance of buttons and controls.

The wide center stack gives the front seats a cockpit-like feel. A seven-inch color screen displays infotainment and vehicle information. Optional hard drive-based navigation brings a touchscreen, 3D graphics and lane guidance, as well as real-time traffic/weather information, and voice recognition. Too bad the screen has a lower resolution.

The front seats are shaped well; they’re snug, with just just the right amount of bolstering, and high cushions.

That 3.2-inch increase in wheelbase for 2016 afforded 3.9 inches more kneeroom in the rear, according to Infiniti. Some of that came from reshaped seatbacks of the front seats.

There are 18.3 cubic feet of cargo space behind the second row, which folds with a touch of a button to increase the volume to 50 cubic feet.

Driving Impressions

The ride benefited from the wheelbase increase, too; it’s firm and compliant. Meanwhile the handling didn’t suffer; it’s still impressive for a crossover. The steering is responsive, with authentic feedback that gets heavier as you turn.

With all-wheel drive, some of the nimbleness and precision go away, but that’s not unusual in a rear-wheel car, and the tradeoff is a gain in all-weather tractability.

Developing 325 horsepower and 267 pound-feet of torque, the 3.7-liter V6 never feels short of power, and it’s comfortable being pushed hard. It works eagerly with the 7-speed automatic transmission that’s programmed to bring a throttle-blip for rev-matching downshifts. It has a sport mode that yields slightly quicker shifts, but paddle shifters are not offered.

Four-wheel disc brakes stop the QX50 decisively, without excessive dive or body motion.

One surprising weakness for a luxury car is the amount of engine noise, especially for a luxury model. Even cruising, you can hear it.

Summary

The QX50 delivers what it promises, but shop it carefully, including a thoughtful test drive over curves and bumps, to understand the promise. Important strong points include styling, powertrain, ride and handling. It’s not even that expensive for an Infiniti luxury crossover. You might even like the unrefined distinctive growl of the V6 in the cabin.

Sam Moses contributed to this review.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 INFINITI listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 INFINITI listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 INFINITI QX50
670
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel