Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
8 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
June 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve had my QX30S for 1.5 yrs now and I love it. It''s very fun to drive. About 6 mos ago, I was rearended on the interstate. I was so impressed & amazed with how the car protected me & how little damage it had vs. the Chevy that hit me. I love the way it handles the curves & the car feels balanced & under control, even at higher speeds. The DSG is responsive & the all around cameras are fantastic. The interior/controls make sense & is of good quality. My only complaints are the size of the fuel tank, very tiny glove compartment & the Infotainment system can be a bit aggravating.
Gemman
March 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not a wow car like my Jaguar XJ who gets a compliment just about everyday I
Have owned it for the last 6 years but the features on the QX30 makes me want to drive the Infiniti as my first choice every day. Fit and finish is extremely well done. Only one complaint, no power trunk lift which seems common place these days. For $45000 mrsp you would think that would be included
Ryan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 01, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love my QX30! I haven't had a new car in 14 years, and the new technology and feel for cars is outstanding. The customer service totally sold this car for me, but the sleekness and handle of the car is all a huge added bonus.
KASH
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
1,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first time purchasing an Infiniti. I purchased the QX30, and although it wasn't my first choice, I am pleased with my selection. The car handles well, great on gas, and makes me look good! HA!! Overall, customer service with this brand his been top-notch. I cannot complain thus far....
William G
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,300 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The QX30 is a brilliant, sleek and elegant performing vehicle. The interior is simple but not cheap looking. The hatchback is very roomy which is surprising. The best part is the performance, that acceleration blows past people.
Ken
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,990 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car, performs well, acceleration at take off is a little slow but good at full speeds. The only annoying things is the windows are small so it's tough to use a drive through ATM
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Not Rated
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not Rated
My experience with the new model year of the QX30 Sport had shifting issues between gears and warnings that Reverse was not available (it really wasn't avail, I tried). The dealership had trouble diagnosing due to the new model year. After 3 hazardous occurrences I filed a claim with the consumer affairs division with the manufacturer and the vehicle was eventually returned. ... This was my third Infiniti and with this experience I will never buy another one.
Lew S
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 15, 2017
3,200 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I was going to replace my Q50 with a 2017 until I started researching the QX30S. I fell in love with the car online and was wowed during the test drive. Peppy engine and all the amenities that anyone could ask for. A pleasure to drive in any conditions, I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a crossover.
2017 INFINITI 1197 QX30 29760 387466
Write a Review for the 2017 INFINITI QX30
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Infiniti QX30 is a new luxury compact crossover designed to convey a sense of what might be termed elegant aggression. The QX30 shares its platform and powertrain with the recently launched Mercedes-Benz GLA250. Joining a highly competitive market segment, the 2017 Infiniti QX30 goes against such well-executed rivals as the BMW X1, as well as the GLA250 itself.

Some observers have noted a significant resemblance to the compact Mazda3 hatchback, but the QX30 has a look all its own. The internationally focused design theme signals a new product direction for the Infiniti brand. Nissan’s premium division clearly wishes to become a major luxury-market player in Europe and other global regions.

Aiming at worldwide sales, crossovers for international markets will be offered with a variety of engines and transmissions. American versions of the QX30 get a single powertrain: a turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine that develops 208 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque, coupled to an automated 7-speed dual-clutch transmission. On the AWD model, an intelligent all-wheel-drive system can transmit up to half of engine power to the rear wheels, whenever sensors detect traction loss.

Three trim levels will be offered: base QX30, sportier QX30S, and QX30 AWD. The all-wheel-drive edition features raised ride height, as well as unique body panels that impart a modest sense of ruggedness.

Infiniti claims that QX30 styling defies the customary vehicle categorization, occupying a segment between premium compact and larger crossover models. In terms of seat design, Infiniti touts the use of spinal support research. Seats are said to be engineered to match the curvature of the human spine, thus minimizing pressure on the back muscles by more equal distribution of the load. Dramatic exterior design, on the other hand, places a limit on space within the asymmetrically shaped cabin.

Voice recognition controls audio and navigation commands. InTouch infotainment features intuitive finger-touch and swipe controls, via a seven-inch touchscreen.

Crash-test results have not yet been issued, but safety takes precedence and the QX30 may be equipped with a number of active-safety and driver-assist features. They include blind-spot monitoring, forward collision warning with emergency braking assist, automatic high beams, and adaptive cruise control. Available Park Assist can guide the QX30 into an open parking space. The available surround-view camera system includes moving-object detection.

Model Lineup

The 2017 QX30 comes standard with front-wheel drive and includes InTouch infotainment, as well as 18-inch wheels. Black cloth upholstery is standard, with Nappa leather optional.

QX30 AWD adds all-wheel drive, with slightly taller ride height. Front/rear valance panels are said to be inspired by off-roading.

QX30S raises the sport-performance ante with 19-inch wheels and a lower ride height. Styling touches include unique front and rear fascias; a glossy black grille; leather-wrapped, flat-bottomed steering wheel; and aluminum pedals and footrests. Sport seats with eight-way power adjustment and lumbar support will be available.

Optional designer packages can customize the QX30 interior. City Black couples black upholstery with purple stitching. Cafe Teak features black stitching with brown/black upholstery. Gallery White trims white upholstery with red details.

Walkaround

Infiniti’s latest design language, highlighted on the QX30, consists of sharp angles and sweeping curves. Elements of French and Japanese influence are evident. Starting with a long, angular nose, the body flows rearward, encompassing swollen fenders that surround huge wheel wells. The comparatively short, low greenhouse features Infiniti’s familiar reverse-crescent C-pillar, leading to an abbreviated rear end that contains a steeply-sloped window. The result is a profile unlike any competitive model.

Sharp accent lines within each door taper inward, suggesting a three-dimensional shape that emphasizes the QX30’s horizontal proportions. An elevated stance distracts from the QX30’s upright hatchback silhouette. Except for QX30S models, which ride a half-inch lower, the suspension is a bit more elevated than in ordinary hatchbacks. Ride height is a bit taller in the AWD model. Nicely executed, the overall shape is undeniably Infiniti.

Interior

Immediately, the observer’s eye is drawn to an asymmetrical sweep across the QX30’s dashboard. That interior element provides a notable contrast to more austere, down-to-business cabins in rival German models.

Not only is the interior smartly designed, it’s packed with high-quality materials.

Some passengers can expect a snug fit in their seats. Front seats are sufficiently wide with good legroom, though head space is limited. As a road curves leftward, taller drivers might note that the windshield pillar restricts their view. The coupe-like roof dips sharply downward, so average-height, front-seat passengers might feel obliged to duck their heads to see outward.

Space is less restrictive in the back seat, where the long roof provides a greater sense of spaciousness. Head and leg space is barely sufficient to satisfy adult riders. With its 60/40 split-folding rear seat, the QX30 crossover provides greater utility than competitive sedans.

Driving Impressions

Performance from the QX30’s powertrain has German-brand characteristics, hardly a surprise because it hails from Mercedes-Benz. Because of that connection, some buyers who wouldn’t ordinarily favor an Infiniti might be attracted by the German-developed foundation.

Front-wheel drive is standard on the QX30 and QX30S, but the QX30 AWD adds all-wheel drive, with increased ride height and a touch of off-pavement potential.

In an early drive, the powertrain demonstrated responsive behavior, whether starting off from a standstill or accelerating to pass another vehicle. Other turbocharged four-cylinder engines paired with dual-clutch transmissions sometimes present hesitant responses, particularly at low speeds, but the QX30 performed appropriately. Infiniti claims 0-60 mph acceleration in just over seven seconds. Intended to conserve fuel, the automatic stop/start system is noticeable, but not nearly as jolting as some competitive setups.

Infiniti engineers sought to develop steering that maintains a consistent feel, regardless of speed, and they appear to have succeeded. Not only is steering precise, it’s neither excessively heavy at higher speeds nor overboosted in parking-lot driving. Overall, a QX30 handles dexterously, even if it’s not meant for fiery road tactics. Stiffer springs on the QX30S model don’t roughen the ride significantly.

Summary

More daring in design than most compact premium crossovers, the QX30 looks about as striking as any hatchback could possibly manage. The Mercedes-Benz powertrain is responsive.

Driving impressions by Christian Gulliksen, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 INFINITI listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 INFINITI listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 INFINITI QX30
692

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel