2017 Hyundai Tucson Reviews and Ratings

SE Plus AWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Tucson.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.2 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By Lindsy Friday, August 18, 2017 - 7:29pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.5 / 5
Great gas mileage, roomy interior, heated and ventilated seats! Love the blind spot detection and automatic braking features.
Reliability
  3.5 / 5
Interior
  3.5 / 5
Exterior
  3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.5 / 5

By Patrick Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 8:55am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Very roomy, its the perfect family car. The exterior color is very unique (Sedona Sunset). The ride is phenomenal and the vehicle is extremely safe.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Maria Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 1:34pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I researched cars on-line for months before I went in and did a test drive. Each time I went to a dealership, I was disappointed by not being able to get all the features I wanted. I learned of the Hyundai Santa Fe and went to the ... Hyundai dealership after I read multiple reviews. When I got to the dealership, I was greeted by ... who took so much time to help me look at the differences between the Santa Fe and the Tuscon. It became clear that the Tuscon was the car for me. Then ... took me through every available feature and put together a list of what I wanted. They did not have the model I wanted on the lot so he contacted another location and found the car I wanted. He went to get it and had it ready to deliver to me in a couple days. The whole experience was so pleasant. And, I really felt like the salesman really cared about making me happy with my purchase.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jill Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 6:23pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
The car has great fuel economy per mile compared to competition. It winder wheel base makes handling this car on curvy roads easy. Overall, the car has a quiet ride and comfortably seats 4 to 5 people.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 14, 2017 - 6:56am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Everything you could ask for for a young student going off to college. He loves every bit of it as any new car first time owner would. We feel like we made the best deal possible for him.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Beverly Friday, July 28, 2017 - 5:19am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I feel this car was the best for my needs. I have twin grandsons who just turned 3 years old and with my new car they can fit and go with me amd my daughter all together
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Donna Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 8:51am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.1 / 5
DON'T BUY!!! The Hyundai Tucson is not reliable and has lots of safety issues won't accelerate from a stop sign has trouble passing on a freeway as no get up an go when you need it! When at a sop sigh this car has started to move and than just stops when pressing the gas more it does nothing and than all of a sudden will more! So SCARY! IT has a duel transmission and won't move when you need to! I don't trust driving it and feel very unsafe on the roads not sure if this Tucson will move at a stop sign or accelerate when needed! DON'T BUY! Dealer just says this is they way it is made and won't trade unless you pay a lot to trade this car back!
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5

By Bill Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great features including safety features for the price. Best features - safety features, gps, entertainment features
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kate Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:44pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've been a Honda woman for years and always loved my Accords and Civics. I wanted to change to a small SUV but didn't love the redesigned CRV. I had rented a Hyundai Tucson and really liked it. Upon comparing it to the CRV I realized I liked the Tucson a lot better. I love everything about it - it really is just perfect for me! It cost less than the comparably-equipped CRV and has a better warranty.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Milt H Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 12:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Vehicle is quick, quiet and very responsive. This is the fourth Huyndai I have owned---three purchased new and the 2011 Santa Fe was purchased used with low mileage.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeff Monday, August 7, 2017 - 1:52pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Just like the auto
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Yvonne A Monday, August 14, 2017 - 7:12pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Hyundai Tuscon. While researching car, I knew I wanted to buy an SUV but I didn't want anything to big Now small either. Because I live in a very busy city and finding a parking spot can be a hassle sometimes. I love my new car. Haven't had any problems with it. It's very spacious with a lot of truck space.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Hyundai Tucson.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Tucson SE Plus AWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.