2017 Hyundai Tucson Reviews and Ratings

SE FWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Tucson.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (24)
Overall Rating
  4.2 / 5
Reliability
  4.1 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.1 / 5

By Fran 10/1/2017 9:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
This is the 3rd Hyundia Tucson I have owned. Love everything about them. Very comfortable and fun to drive. I now own a 2017 Turbo, very good on gas but one issue I do not like that hesitation wen accelerating from stop position which I am being told this is due to the 2 clutches in the Turbo models. To me I think this issue could potentially be dangerous,
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Brenda 9/29/2017 11:34:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
Comfort in seating and handling .looks great and the color choice was fantastic. It is not a high priced luxury car like my Lexus but looks,feels and handles as well.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By David 9/10/2017 1:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I have been extremely happy with my Hyundai Tucson. It has a very quiet ride and feels very solid. It handles well and the gas mileage is one of the highest in this group of small SUVs. I consistently get in the upper 20s. I can usually go about 350 miles on a tank of gas. It would be nice to have a slightly larger gas tank. I have a high end model that is fairly comparable to the Lexus RX we had before. The only thing it's missing is memorized seat positions. It's a great vehicle - I highly recommend it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By glenna 8/25/2017 8:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Very happy with my Tucs<br /> on Sport . The gas mileage is exceptional. The comfort and options are better than the average SUV. Love the versatility of loading stuff into the car with seats folded down or left up. Prefer it to high cost of Rav 4. Many options on the Toyota, came standard on the Tucson
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By john 8/25/2017 7:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.6 / 5
2017 Hyundai Tucson Sport has an issue that is built into the vehicle that saved Hyundai money but puts your life at risk. Make sure you really test drive one as the gear doesn't shift when you hit the gas in times you need to change lanes or quickly move out of the way. I thought it was a something that needed adjustment not even days after driving it off the lot , but found out it's just a poor engine design flaw. My lease end cant come fast enough!
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5

By Jill 8/23/2017 6:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
The car has great fuel economy per mile compared to competition. It winder wheel base makes handling this car on curvy roads easy. Overall, the car has a quiet ride and comfortably seats 4 to 5 people.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Wayne 8/23/2017 9:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
good value dealer was able to meet our price constraints, good service, to date and with one service appointment. Reliable no major problems with car
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Patrick 8/23/2017 8:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Very roomy, its the perfect family car. The exterior color is very unique (Sedona Sunset). The ride is phenomenal and the vehicle is extremely safe.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Lynda 8/22/2017 11:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my new Tuscon. My last 3 vehicles were Santa Fe's, but I just liked the interior of the Tuscon better and the gas mileage was better than the Santa Fe. It has a 5 star safety rating and I know the durability of Hyundai's. Where I live I have to have AWD. The engine is smaller but it is turbo so the power it has amazes<br /> me. This is my 6th Hyundai and I have not had a major problem with any of them.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cristian M. 8/21/2017 9:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Tucson is great and very comfortable car and I am really glad to have it. When you get in even you think that is a Hundai
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jon 8/21/2017 7:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Great safety features<br /> Sometimes low in power<br /> Nice interior<br /> Reliable<br /> Gas consumption could be better<br /> Blue link is a plus
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 1:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
I love my new car and the new upgrade it has with blind spot mirror, camera and navigation features.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Robert 8/21/2017 1:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017 Hyundai Tucson has everything a compact SUV should have great ride great looking and yes great milage
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Larry 8/21/2017 12:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Previously owned a Tucson and a Santa Fe and was very pleased with their reliability Not wanting to stray too far from what had previously worked for me I chose another Tucson. Just after purchasing my Tucson I took it on a 4,000 mile trip with no problems. The leather seats are comfortable and you can choose from a myriad of different seating positions. Gas mileage on my trip averaged 32 mpg highway with a/c on and going 70-80 mph most of the way. That being said you quickly learn to adjust to the underwhelming lack of power. Purchasing the turbo model would of gone a long ways towards fixing that problem. Workmanship on the interior and exterior of my vehicle is superb. No one has a warranty like Hyundai and no one offers as much for the money as Hyundai.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Bill 8/19/2017 7:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great features including safety features for the price. Best features - safety features, gps, entertainment features
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lindsy 8/18/2017 7:29:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Great gas mileage, roomy interior, heated and ventilated seats! Love the blind spot detection and automatic braking features.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Maria 8/17/2017 1:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I researched cars on-line for months before I went in and did a test drive. Each time I went to a dealership, I was disappointed by not being able to get all the features I wanted. I learned of the Hyundai Santa Fe and went to the ... Hyundai dealership after I read multiple reviews. When I got to the dealership, I was greeted by ... who took so much time to help me look at the differences between the Santa Fe and the Tuscon. It became clear that the Tuscon was the car for me. Then ... took me through every available feature and put together a list of what I wanted. They did not have the model I wanted on the lot so he contacted another location and found the car I wanted. He went to get it and had it ready to deliver to me in a couple days. The whole experience was so pleasant. And, I really felt like the salesman really cared about making me happy with my purchase.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Milt H 8/16/2017 12:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Vehicle is quick, quiet and very responsive. This is the fourth Huyndai I have owned---three purchased new and the 2011 Santa Fe was purchased used with low mileage.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Yvonne A 8/14/2017 7:12:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Hyundai Tuscon. While researching car, I knew I wanted to buy an SUV but I didn't want anything to big Now small either. Because I live in a very busy city and finding a parking spot can be a hassle sometimes. I love my new car. Haven't had any problems with it. It's very spacious with a lot of truck space.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/14/2017 6:56:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Everything you could ask for for a young student going off to college. He loves every bit of it as any new car first time owner would. We feel like we made the best deal possible for him.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeff 8/7/2017 1:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Just like the auto
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna 7/30/2017 8:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.1 / 5
DON'T BUY!!! The Hyundai Tucson is not reliable and has lots of safety issues won't accelerate from a stop sign has trouble passing on a freeway as no get up an go when you need it! When at a sop sigh this car has started to move and than just stops when pressing the gas more it does nothing and than all of a sudden will more! So SCARY! IT has a duel transmission and won't move when you need to! I don't trust driving it and feel very unsafe on the roads not sure if this Tucson will move at a stop sign or accelerate when needed! DON'T BUY! Dealer just says this is they way it is made and won't trade unless you pay a lot to trade this car back!
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5

By Kate 7/28/2017 4:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've been a Honda woman for years and always loved my Accords and Civics. I wanted to change to a small SUV but didn't love the redesigned CRV. I had rented a Hyundai Tucson and really liked it. Upon comparing it to the CRV I realized I liked the Tucson a lot better. I love everything about it - it really is just perfect for me! It cost less than the comparably-equipped CRV and has a better warranty.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Beverly 7/28/2017 5:19:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I feel this car was the best for my needs. I have twin grandsons who just turned 3 years old and with my new car they can fit and go with me amd my daughter all together
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Hyundai Tucson.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Tucson SE FWD local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.