2017 Hyundai Sonata Reviews and Ratings

Sport 2.4L PZEV

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Sonata.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (20)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Nicholas 10/3/2017 9:00:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.9 / 5
So far have had no issues with this vehicle. Love the gas mileage (averaging 32+ MPG overall, though on long interstate trips have been getting 40+). Have run on "Eco" and "Normal" drive modes, not sure how much of a difference in MPGs either has made, seems to me that the only difference the modes make is how responsive the gas pedal is to help keep the engine at lower RPMs, but I could be wrong on that one. Other thing I really like about this sedan is the space. Cab is really roomy, and there's TONS of trunk space. The cab has good headroom and legroom, but that trunk is massive. I have two complaints with this vehicle. First, the volume knob on the radio doesn't respond most of the time when you first turn on the vehicle before you accept the entertainment system's "Terms of Use" thing on the touchscreen, so if the volume's way up when you get in, it can be startling to not be able to turn it down for a few seconds. You can still press the volume dial to turn the A/V system off though at that time, so not a big deal. Second, and this is more of a personal preference from someone who's used to driving a truck, this car sits quite low to the ground (not sure how low compared to other mid-size sedans though), so if you're someone who has difficulty getting out of low vehicles, take note of that. Overall, for the quality of vehicle you get, which I think is really good, I don't think you can beat the price. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a dependable vehicle to comfortably fit four, with lots of grocery hauling space and great gas mileage
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  3 / 5
Exterior
  4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Justin 10/2/2017 1:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.2 / 5
It's a very good car...for basic transportation. Good seats, view, mileage, space, etc. It's a good, simple car that combines a lot of features better than most competitors. I had to replace a totaled car, and I felt the Sonata stuck the right balance of everything at the $20k mark. But they either picked the worst tires available, or failed to remove very annoying frequencies an drones at anything above 30mph. Now I'm an audio engineer, so maybe I'm biased on all-things NVH, but to me this is something that you won't discover in a test-drive. I learned this after 3 hours on the highway on vacation. If you want a drivetrain and chassis that reads your mind (passing, stopping, etc.), this is not your car. Go for a Honda or a Subaru. If the '18 Accord would have been sold earlier (and I wasn't scrambling to replace a totaled car), I would have absolutely held-out for that car. I have a '16 Civic EX-T (my 8th Honda) and it is incredible in how well it does everything. I wish the Hyundai was the same car, just a foot longer... If we keep this car, tires are getting replaced the moment I can justify the excuse to get better ones. If that doesn't nix the low-frequency moaning I'm forced to endure, I'm selling it for an Accord.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1 / 5

By Virginia 9/30/2017 8:42:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
Good gas mileage, easy to drive, hard to change oil. Back seat small. Very large trunk area. Good sound system
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Michelle 9/16/2017 6:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
My Sonata is a reliable vehicle and comfortable to drive long or short distances. It gets great gas mileage. It really has no new features and no upgrades in it, which I would think would have come standard for what I paid.<br /> My biggest regret would be in value and resale. For that reason, I will only buy a Toyota in the future as I had my previous 4 vehicles.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By john 9/6/2017 6:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
this is my fourth Hyundai product. I have always been satisfied and have never seriously looked for another vehicle. Gas mileage is good, safety is good although I have never had the need to find out, handling is good, comfort is good and this Sonata makes a good traveling car
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/31/2017 7:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is a great roomy econmical car, that doesn't lack style. It has a sporty feel, but drives like a luxury car. Absolutely love my Sonata.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jim 8/29/2017 11:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I like the "blind-side" and "backing" warning systems. These features have saved some scratches and dents. My only complaint would be the option with air-conditioning through the seats: the seating surface seems to be harder than previous Sonatas I've owned.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Yvonne 8/26/2017 9:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I would rate my car overall with 5 stars. It is excellent in gas mileage, driving performance. We have taken two trips and the drives were wonderful. We have serviced the car only once and unfortunately had to wait 3 hours and had an appointment. The customer service needs to be improved in the service department. Otherwise everything else is great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ken 8/22/2017 2:49:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Before I purchased my 2017 Hyundai Sonata SE, I looked at and drove six or seven other brands of sedans. What sold me on the Sonata was the price, smooth ride, and great handling. At freeway speeds I rarely have to move the steering wheel. It has an 8 inch backup camera display that my wife and I use all the time, which is very clear and is about 180 degrees. Our 2013 Kia Optima, which we gave to our grand daughter, had only a 5 inch display which needed improvement, but she likes it, because her 2009 Hyundai Sonata, that we gave her, didn't have a backup camera. I have changed the oil filter and oil in my cars for the past 54 years, since I purchased my first car when I was 18 years old. The only thing that I don't like about my 2017 Hyundai Sonata is that when I change the oil and oil filter I have to remove 7 bolts to remove a large plastic plate under the engine to access the oil drain plug and oil filter. Just takes a little longer for an old man to change the oil. We still love the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Carmen 8/21/2017 2:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Excellent value. Highly recommend. Comfortable, sporty, reliable.<br /> Great comfort and options.<br /> Great materials
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By ROSEMARY 8/21/2017 8:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
YOU NEED TO PAY CASH FOR A CAR IF YOU CAN, SO YOU CAN BUY RADIO STATIONS. I LIKE MY CAR IT IS A GOOD SIZE FOR ME, I AM A SIZE 1 AND IT IS NOT TOO BIG, IT IS PRETTY GOOD ON GAS AND I LIKE THE PRETTY WHITE COLOR BECAUSE IT IS SO MUCH COOLER
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Ian 8/20/2017 7:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I've been owning the sport model 2017 Sonata for three months and so far I'm very happy with my choice. If you are looking for a midsize family sedan, the Sonata is definitely a choice you should not neglect.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jack 8/19/2017 2:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I purchased my Sonata Limited 2.0T because I had become dissatisfied with my KIA Optimas TPMS sensor. It had no way to monitor individual tire pressure, only a sensor light and after four years I was tired of it. That is the only reason I traded. My new Sonata is an exceptional vehicle and does have a TPMS dashboard monitor as well as a sensor light. On my most recent trip of 350 miles, I got 29 MPG. I have to have a power heated front seat for my wife and the Sonatas is great. The only complaint, if you can call it that is that the cruise control nanny cannot be permanently disengaged. It has to be bypassed each time the car is started; a very minor complaint. This is my 5th Hyundai and I'm very happy with it and recommend the brand.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dan 8/19/2017 10:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My trade in car was a 2012 Hyundai Azera, which was the sweetest car I ever owned. This Sonata is its equal in every way except power and speed, which at my age is no longer a factor worth the price difference! It rides and drives excellently and gets exceptional fuel mileage, its quality is excellent and is priced below most of its competition.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jane 8/18/2017 2:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The reliability of the Sonata cant be beat. Smart looking car good gas mileage and great power for a 4 cylinder. I have the Sport Turbo.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sally 8/12/2017 10:24:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Good reliable car. I prefer convertibles, but very few car companies make them anymore. Needed trunk storage because I'm a golfer. Trunk space is very good!! Comfortable smooth ride. Prefer my Garmin to this navigation system. Garmin anticipates, this does not. Do not like the cruise control option that slows you down. Look at option packages carefully, you probably don't need all of the features.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Alysha 8/5/2017 9:13:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my vehicle it has all the features I could want or need and the fuel mileage is amazing. I absolutely recommended this vehicle to anyone who likes to drive in comfort and does want to spend a ton in fuel.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill 7/29/2017 3:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I enjoy driving this vehicle. It has excellent handling characteristics in both steering and acceleration for a four cylinder engine.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary 7/27/2017 7:39:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I love my sonata it's a great car if you're looking to buy one or lease one make sure you go over all of the features in the car and make sure they're all up to what you're looking for mine was I didn't have to learn any hard lessons I can't say enough good about this car handles great wonderful gas mileage and very comfortable
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By John 7/27/2017 3:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very good initial quality outstanding performance. Pros: Warranty best in the industry. Cons: Reputation as a ""cheap"" car. Not justified.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Hyundai Sonata
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Hyundai Sonata is a midsize family sedan with front-wheel drive and a choice of four-cylinder engines. Sonata delivers plenty of interior space, well-controlled ride/handling qualities, and fuel efficiency.

Sonata carries over unchanged for 2017 except for a new safety feature: Dynamic Light Bending is available for the Limited trim level. Sonata was last redesigned for the 2015 model year and is currently in its seventh generation.

Sonata comes with a choice of three four-cylinder engines plus hybrid versions. A 2.4-liter engine that makes 185 horsepower and 178 pound-feet of torque comes standard on Sonata SE, Sport, and Limited trim levels. A twin-scroll turbocharged 2.0-liter engine is available with Sonata Sport and Limited trims that produces 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. Fuel-efficiency leader is the Sonata Eco, with a small 178-horsepower, 1.6-liter engine.

Each engine mates with a 6-speed automatic transmission, which yields smooth, prompt shifts. Paddle shifters are included with Sport models. A three-mode driving selector (Sport, Eco, and Normal), standard on all Sonatas, affects shift tuning, throttle, and power-steering assist. Turbocharged and Sonata Limited models have an electric parking brake; others retain a foot-activated brake.

Relatively light in weight compared to other midsize sedans, all Sonatas have front-drive. (All-wheel drive is not offered.) Although Sonatas are marketed as midsize sedans, the Environmental Protection Agency classifies them as large cars.

Sonatas score highly in safety, earning five-star crash-test ratings overall, and for frontal and side-impact, from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety gave the Sonata a Superior score and Top Safety Pick+ award, when it was equipped with an optional forward-collision warning system.

Seven airbags are installed, including a driver-side knee airbag. Sonatas may be equipped with several active-safety features, which are standard on upper trim levels and optional for others. They include forward-collision warning with automatic emergency braking, blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alerts, adaptive cruise control, and rear parking sensors.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Hyundai Sonata 2.4L ($21,600) gets the 2.4-liter engine, cloth upholstery, air conditioning, remote keyless entry, split-folding rear seat, AM/FM/CD/MP3 radio, satellite radio, USB port, Bluetooth, a lip spoiler, and 16-inch alloy wheels. Sonata SE ($21,950) adds a rearview camera, automatic headlights, a 7-inch Display Audio screen, HD radio, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay connectivity, and Blue Link telematics. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Sonata Sport ($23,400) features 17-inch wheels and distinctive exterior trim, as well as a power driver’s seat, dual exhaust, and LED daytime running lights. Sonata Limited ($27,150) adds leather upholstery, heated front seats, sunroof, hands-free trunk opener, LED taillights, pushbutton start, and blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert. A Technology package for the Limited adds navigation, dynamic bending light, Infinity premium audio, xenon headlights, ventilated front seats, heated rear seats, and memory. The Ultimate package adds adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking, lane-departure warning, and rear parking sensors.

Sonata 2.0T Sport Turbo ($26,600) contains the turbocharged 2.0-liter engine, paddle shifters, a sports suspension, bigger front brakes, dynamic bending light, 18-inch wheels, aluminum pedals, and sport seats. Sonata 2.0T Limited Turbo ($34,350) comes with the hands-free trunk, automatic climate control, dynamic bending light, panoramic sunroof, ventilated front seats, Infinity audio, and navigation. Safety features include lane-departure warning, rear parking sensors, automatic emergency braking, and adaptive cruise control.

Sonata 1.6L Eco Turbo ($23,125) holds a 1.6-liter engine and 7-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Hyundai also offers Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid versions of the Sonata.

Walkaround

Redesigning for 2015 gave the Sonata a more traditional, far less flamboyant appearance. Formal but attractive, relying upon horizontal lines, the neatly tapered profile is clearly conservative.

With its distinctive front end, the Sport model stands apart from other Sonatas, enhanced with side rocker extensions as well as chrome bodyside moldings. Sport 2.0T sedans ride on vivid 18-inch alloy wheels and include quad exhaust outlets.

Interior

Like the Sonata’s subdued exterior, its cabin is on the plain side, with a formal, down-to-business air. A large horizontal space contains a touchscreen, and the center stack holds a sizable selection of buttons and knobs. The dashboard’s textured look simulates carbon fiber. Materials look durable. Printed woodgraining, unfortunately, does not convey an authentic appearance.

Passengers can expect plenty of space up front. Comfortable seats have ample cushioning and bolstering, especially in 2.0T Sport models. Rear-seat occupants get ample knee room, even behind a six-footer, though the center-seat passenger is likely to feel squeezed. Rear headroom matches most rival sedans. The cabin has a relaxed air, quiet enough for passengers to converse without strain.

Storage bins are bountiful, and trunk space totals a generous 16.3 cubic feet. Seat-folding levers are located in the trunk. The glovebox and console are deep enough to hold tablet computers.

Driving Impressions

Revving freely, both the 2.0- and 2.4-liter engines deliver power quietly enough, with almost no vibration. Some competitors accelerate more swiftly, but Sonatas earn points for providing a quiet, nicely isolated ride.

Sport models have bigger tires and slightly stiffer suspension tuning, but each Sonata is admirably compliant, absorbing plenty of road imperfections. Cross a railroad track at 60 mph and either the regular or Sport suspension reacts compliantly.

Handling is helped by the Sonata’s relatively light, but stiff, body. Still, the sedan is made for mainstream families, so you can’t expect the steering qualities and firm road feel of a sport sedan. All Sonatas have electric power steering, but the 2.0T’s setup promises better feel and responsiveness, a bit crisper overall.

Downshifts can be hesitant in Eco mode, and the difference between Normal and Sport mode isn’t great.

With its 1.6-liter turbo and dual-clutch transmission, the Sonata Eco beats its mates in gas mileage, but this powertrain emits more exhaust noise. Except at very low speeds, transmission shifts are almost indiscernible, unlike some dual-clutch units. Lower overall weight gives the Eco’s steering a lighter feel, and slight shift-shock can be felt at low speeds.

Gas mileage of the Eco is EPA-rated at 28/36 mpg City/Highway, or 31 mpg Combined. The 2.4-liter is EPA-rated at 25/36 mpg City/Highway, or 29 mpg Combined. Sport Turbo sedans are EPA-rated at 22/31 mpg, or 26 mpg Combined; but the Limited is rated 21/30 mpg City/Highway.

Summary

Hyundai Sonata promises value in the family-sedan market. Innocuous and inconspicuous, Sonata boasts strong crash-test scores and admirable fuel economy, as well as ample standard equipment and a satisfying ride.

Driving impressions by Marty Padgett, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Sonata Sport 2.4L PZEV local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.