2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Reviews and Ratings

Limited Hatchback

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (14)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.3 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By Greg Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:01am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4 / 5
Paint on vehivle isn't the best quality .... all four of my door handles have already been painted again
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Tim Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 7:22pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
My Hyundai Ioniq gets excellent gas mileage, between 50 and 55 mpg. Smooth quiet start, good acceleration and decent handling. There is some road noise that comes from the rear wheels but overall interior sound is acceptable. Dashboard controls are easy to operate and he Bluetooth connection makes for safe driving while talking . Had difficulty getting parts as I hit a raccoon the day I took delivery and it took over 2 months for parts to arrive. My children like the sporty look and there is plenty of room for 3 kids and there school stuff. Great warranty.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Bill Friday, August 18, 2017 - 11:28am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Ioniq is an outstanding vehicle that will easily beat EPA fuel economy rating. …
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ron Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 8:27am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Excellent value, technology, quality and warranty. Can get 60 mpg and love the 6-spd transmission over the Prius this car replaced.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chacko Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 4:32pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Exceptionally good customer sales service.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By tony Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 4:00pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.2 / 5
very miniture storage to small not easy to get in or out price is too much gas milage on highway not that good
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Chad Monday, August 21, 2017 - 5:22pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
The Ioniq delivered the kind of experience I was expecting. I have never gotten the mileage up to 55 mpg but have not driven enough miles to know what the average will be. I am currently getting around 52 mpg driving 50/50 city/hwy. The rear view window took some getting used to with the bar across, but not sure how else that would work if the spoiler is there. I would have liked to get one of the packages added but couldn't come up with the $1500 extra. I was wanting the automatic breaking and side avoidance ability, but will get along without it.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Lisa Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 5:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I was looking for a car that gets over 40 mpg, can get out of its own way, is comfortable for both front and rear seat passengers, and has cargo space for travel. I was thrilled to learn about the Hyundai Ionic and have been very pleased with it since purchasing it in May, 2017. I do mostly back road driving with few stop lights and have been averaging 53 mpg! It is comfortable, feels safe, and is a good looking car. It has 3,700 miles on it already because I have been taking trips. My monthly gas costs have dropped by almost half, and I am polluting less! I am impressed with the Ionic, and am touting the benefits of hybrids!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 7:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The fuel mileage, looks, and performance.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Al Friday, August 18, 2017 - 10:39am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I never considered buying a Hyundai before because of a severely out of date opinion of the brand. Then the Ioniq was released and I read about those show stopping mpgs. I looked more into the Ioniq and I couldn't believe it, it looked like...a car! It's just like one I used to own, not that ""Prius"" look we've all sadly expect a hybrid to look like. Long story short it's probably one of the most comfortable and it's definitely the most efficient cars I've ever owned. Achieving 50+mpgs is amazingly easy without having to drive lightly. And when you put this car into Sport mode you'd be surprised you can get those 50+mpg in the very same car. Well done Hyundai, you made a believer out of me.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 1:44pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Awesome compact car, hot design, great LED lighting. All the bells and whistles. Gas milage 55+ hwy. Score!!!!!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Daniel Monday, August 21, 2017 - 4:35pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I love this car! EPA says I should get MPG 52 city/59 hwy. I get 56 city/62 hwy. It rides great, comfy seats and great Sirius XM radio. It looks good and I am proud to drive it around town. It has a really, really great suspension and I love the rack and pinion steering system. Though it cost about $2000 more than a Prius with a similar trim package, the warranty is better, the look is better and the MPG performance is better. I love the split transmission. Fully automatic or sports shift which is sort of like the Prius shifting system. I am the kind of driver who can sense changes in how a vehicle handles when weight is added to the vehicle. I gave 4 friends a ride and expected more drifting or changes to braking characteristics. No change at all! I used to drive an Elantra and always liked it. Now, with my Ioniq, I am a true fan of Hyundai and their design and engineering.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kristen Monday, September 4, 2017 - 11:43am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I was in the market for a hybrid. I also needed to stay under $33K. I looked at lots of hybrid cars and I read about the IONIC while reading about the Niro. The sporty sedan look with Hatch back and folding seats allowed for the cargo space I knew I didn't want to lose. The down side is the dealerships did not have this car on any lots. It was either too soon and they weren't being manufactured and output due to malfunctions was slow, or they were selling off the lot fast. I had planned to get the Hybrid SEL. Finally a dealership had a black one and went to test drive it. I saw the Limited Blue on the lot and got that one instead. SOOOO glad I got the next level up. If the Limited plus was avail, I would have gotten that. My average gas mileage is 52-56MPG. Crazy Good!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jerry Monday, August 14, 2017 - 7:09pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The Ioniq drives incredibly well for a hybrid. It feels very nice in the interior and is quite comfortable. To date, I've exceeded EPA-rated gas mileage with mostly highway driving. It does great on the highway. I definitely recommend this, especially since the Prius has gotten uglier with the new models.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Limited Hatchback local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.