2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Reviews and Ratings

Blue Hatchback

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (23)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Sean 10/12/2017 5:32:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.4 / 5
My Hyundai Ioniq is a great gas saver. I consistently see 54 miles to the gallon on my very traffic heavy commute. The heated seats and XM radio keep the commute comfortable and relaxing. The sound system and integrated hands free phone make calls on my long commute easy and safe and I get no complaints about being heard while on the cars hands free and road noise is very minimal. The car runs almost silent on the electric engine even after the miles I've driven so far. The regenerative brakes work well and stopping power is very good. Acceleration is a little sluggish in standard driving mode, but if you need acceleration, switching over to sport driving and manually toggling the shifts really adds acceleration. Overall, a comfortable, spacious vehicle with good braking and gas mileage.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Alonso H. 9/7/2017 11:54:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
the hyundai ioniq hybrid is a unique vehicle indeed. The mpg is outstanding i drive the SEL trim with the tech package and it is rated at 55/54 well i'm getting close to 60mpg here in utah. I go 3 weeks without a fill up and i do average driving. The overall quality of this vehicle is 8/10 reasons for this is although it beats the toyota prius in mpg, this vehicle just came out so reliability is not known yet. The legroom is just average, the headroom is kinda tight, the trunk space is enormous for its class, and the interior quality is average or slightly less i don't like the rear window design it can be annoying when trying to see behind you so visibility isn't the best. This vehicle starts lower than the toyota prius and what's great is the base trim is the most fuel efficient so you don't need to fork out extra dollars for the most fuel efficient trim of the prius. This ioniq also drives like a normal vehicle with 6 gears instead of a CVT like most hybrids so it gives you that normal car feel. Overall i am very satisfied with my new vehicle purchase it is everything i needed, a hatchback vehicle with great mpg, lots of interior room, and trunk space. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to people who want great mpg and interior space!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/6/2017 7:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The fuel mileage, looks, and performance.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kristen 9/4/2017 11:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I was in the market for a hybrid. I also needed to stay under $33K. I looked at lots of hybrid cars and I read about the IONIC while reading about the Niro. The sporty sedan look with Hatch back and folding seats allowed for the cargo space I knew I didn't want to lose. The down side is the dealerships did not have this car on any lots. It was either too soon and they weren't being manufactured and output due to malfunctions was slow, or they were selling off the lot fast. I had planned to get the Hybrid SEL. Finally a dealership had a black one and went to test drive it. I saw the Limited Blue on the lot and got that one instead. SOOOO glad I got the next level up. If the Limited plus was avail, I would have gotten that. My average gas mileage is 52-56MPG. Crazy Good!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Richard 8/30/2017 3:16:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
61.3 MPG this summer, it's most important feature. Excellent handling, turning radius, responsiveness. Some of the digital displays are puzzling and you need to do research or ask dealer how they work.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Jessica 8/28/2017 12:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
My Hyundai Ioniq has really blown me away. We've always wanted a hybrid but they had always been so expensive in the past-usually just outside of our price range. When the Ioniq hit the market we were excited to test drive it, and once we did-and were informed about the AMAZING range and mpg's it was an easy decision. We've taken it on several road trips and continue to be impressed with the comfort and space of the interior and how little we have to stop to put gas into it-we generally get hungry or need a pee break LONG before we need to fuel up! It came with a back up camera that is a HUGE help-it can see out past the ends of cars where you can't and let's you know how close you are when backing up. The fantastic big display screen was another huge plus- I am not a big technology buff, but it is VERY easy to navigate, get your phone bluetooth synced up, and figure out all the neat little features it has to offer! An all-around FANTASTIC vehicle!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By tony 8/26/2017 4:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.2 / 5
very miniture storage to small not easy to get in or out price is too much gas milage on highway not that good
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Steve 8/26/2017 3:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Ioniq has truly exceeded my expectations. I bought it because:<br /> 1) I liked the way it drove vs the Prius<br /> 2) its mpg ratings are in the 50's<br /> 3) it has heated seats, android auto and driver-side only climate control capability<br /> 4) it is roomy<br /> 5) it looks good.<br /> My Ioniq has exceeded my expectations with 70 mpg over the first 3000 miles!!<br /> And the sports mode has been a pleasant surprise as I did not know about that during the test drive. The sports mode is surprisingly peppy.<br /> Excellent car, I can't say enough about it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Paul 8/24/2017 9:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I like the styling and color of the vehicle. Most of all I like the gas mileage. It is just as they stated on the sticker. The inside is roomy for a small car and the dash is easy on the eyes. The Ioniq is fun to drive.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Tim 8/23/2017 7:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
My Hyundai Ioniq gets excellent gas mileage, between 50 and 55 mpg. Smooth quiet start, good acceleration and decent handling. There is some road noise that comes from the rear wheels but overall interior sound is acceptable. Dashboard controls are easy to operate and he Bluetooth connection makes for safe driving while talking . Had difficulty getting parts as I hit a raccoon the day I took delivery and it took over 2 months for parts to arrive. My children like the sporty look and there is plenty of room for 3 kids and there school stuff. Great warranty.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/23/2017 1:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Awesome compact car, hot design, great LED lighting. All the bells and whistles. Gas milage 55+ hwy. Score!!!!!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sandy 8/23/2017 10:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
I was a Prius owner for 5 years and the Ionic has many more latest technology gadgets and<br /> does a little better on gas mileage and seems to have more pep even though they were both 4 cylinders.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Billy 8/22/2017 11:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
There are no features I do not like, rides and handles<br /> well, is quiet, has dual shift mode, eco/sport. My worst gas mileage has been 59 and last fill up 65(mpg), and range on this tank will be 680 miles. Great sound system with all the extras.<br /> The car will easily go past 95 mile per hour with no handling problems...and best of all does not have the annoying brake grab like the Prius has, x owner, me.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ron 8/22/2017 8:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Excellent value, technology, quality and warranty. Can get 60 mpg and love the 6-spd transmission over the Prius this car replaced.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chad 8/21/2017 5:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
The Ioniq delivered the kind of experience I was expecting. I have never gotten the mileage up to 55 mpg but have not driven enough miles to know what the average will be. I am currently getting around 52 mpg driving 50/50 city/hwy. The rear view window took some getting used to with the bar across, but not sure how else that would work if the spoiler is there. I would have liked to get one of the packages added but couldn't come up with the $1500 extra. I was wanting the automatic breaking and side avoidance ability, but will get along without it.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Daniel 8/21/2017 4:35:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I love this car! EPA says I should get MPG 52 city/59 hwy. I get 56 city/62 hwy. It rides great, comfy seats and great Sirius XM radio. It looks good and I am proud to drive it around town. It has a really, really great suspension and I love the rack and pinion steering system. Though it cost about $2000 more than a Prius with a similar trim package, the warranty is better, the look is better and the MPG performance is better. I love the split transmission. Fully automatic or sports shift which is sort of like the Prius shifting system. I am the kind of driver who can sense changes in how a vehicle handles when weight is added to the vehicle. I gave 4 friends a ride and expected more drifting or changes to braking characteristics. No change at all! I used to drive an Elantra and always liked it. Now, with my Ioniq, I am a true fan of Hyundai and their design and engineering.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Amada 8/21/2017 3:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
It is really fun to drive and I am already saving money on gas. I go a full 2 weeks without filling it up and I drive a lot. I especially like all the extra features, such as keyless entry a warning beep if you left your key in the car and warning beep if someone is in your blindspot.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Chacko 8/20/2017 4:32:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Exceptionally good customer sales service.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Greg 8/19/2017 7:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Paint on vehivle isn't the best quality .... all four of my door handles have already been painted again
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Bill 8/18/2017 11:28:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Ioniq is an outstanding vehicle that will easily beat EPA fuel economy rating. …
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Al 8/18/2017 10:39:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I never considered buying a Hyundai before because of a severely out of date opinion of the brand. Then the Ioniq was released and I read about those show stopping mpgs. I looked more into the Ioniq and I couldn't believe it, it looked like...a car! It's just like one I used to own, not that ""Prius"" look we've all sadly expect a hybrid to look like. Long story short it's probably one of the most comfortable and it's definitely the most efficient cars I've ever owned. Achieving 50+mpgs is amazingly easy without having to drive lightly. And when you put this car into Sport mode you'd be surprised you can get those 50+mpg in the very same car. Well done Hyundai, you made a believer out of me.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Lisa 8/17/2017 5:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I was looking for a car that gets over 40 mpg, can get out of its own way, is comfortable for both front and rear seat passengers, and has cargo space for travel. I was thrilled to learn about the Hyundai Ionic and have been very pleased with it since purchasing it in May, 2017. I do mostly back road driving with few stop lights and have been averaging 53 mpg! It is comfortable, feels safe, and is a good looking car. It has 3,700 miles on it already because I have been taking trips. My monthly gas costs have dropped by almost half, and I am polluting less! I am impressed with the Ionic, and am touting the benefits of hybrids!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Jerry 8/14/2017 7:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The Ioniq drives incredibly well for a hybrid. It feels very nice in the interior and is quite comfortable. To date, I've exceeded EPA-rated gas mileage with mostly highway driving. It does great on the highway. I definitely recommend this, especially since the Prius has gotten uglier with the new models.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Blue Hatchback local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.