2017 Hyundai Elantra Reviews and Ratings

ECO 1.4T DCT

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Hyundai Elantra.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (29)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.2 / 5

By Blanche 10/3/2017 7:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  0.8 / 5
not happy with our elantra the over all performance is bad sorry we made the deal it was a very bad one and we hate the car.
Reliability
  0.5 / 5
Interior
  1 / 5
Exterior
  1 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  0.5 / 5

By Ruby B. 10/2/2017 7:07:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
it is truly a beautiful car with all the options I was looking for. I purchase the car for my son who was starting college and I needed it to be reliable
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Robert F. 9/30/2017 4:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I just like the overall features and styling of the 17 elantra. From outside of the the comfort of the interior
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kathy 9/30/2017 12:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We love our New Hyundai. It is very comfortable sitting and roomy. The gas mileage is AWESOME and it drives very smooth and easy.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Eduardo 9/9/2017 11:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
My Hyundai Elantra 2017 is great a gas, it will literally last you forever. Though not recommended I've driven on the reserve tank for a while and lasted me a great amount. Sport mode is very fun to drive as well. Exterior design is great, looks like a fun size genesis sedan, interior is good too, best feature is the radio console, it has apple carplay and android auto. overall good car for reliability and fun.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Erica 9/7/2017 6:15:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I love this car, it handles wonderfully and it offers great safety features. The color and leather interior is the my favorite features, as well as the warranty, plus your first free oil changes are free! …
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Tom 9/4/2017 5:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
I really enjoy the latest safety features of smart cruise control, lane assist, and blind spot warning along with the ECO gas mileage.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Christopher S. 8/27/2017 10:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
Outstanding gas mileage, has been very reliable so far, comfortable. Grateful we could get a stick shift. Only drawback is that the car really slows down going up steep hills.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/26/2017 3:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Received a great price for the vehicle. It has many wonderful features such as hands free communication, side mirror warning system, sunroof. I leased this for my son.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Migue 8/26/2017 8:53:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
That's nice to deive on the road, and I like the safety features, the color and the exterior is really cool
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Dwight 8/23/2017 11:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am very pleased with my 2017 Hyundai Elantra. It is comfortable & fun to drive. The gas mileage is great! I highly recommend this vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 2:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
I like the good gas mileage. I like the way it drives. I choose it over others because of the price.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Mike 8/22/2017 12:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.2 / 5
The only disappointment in the car is the 4 cylinder engine. I am use to a V-6. Handling is excellent but acleration could be improved especially getting on an Interstate
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Peter 8/22/2017 10:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I purchased a Hyundai Elantra Limited with the ultimate package. This car has more safety and comfort features than any other car for the price. We replaced a 2016 Elantra that was totaled in an accident. This car provides us with every feature we could want and a sense of safety we have never before had.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Steve W 8/21/2017 6:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Very well built, engine and transmission made in the USA, plenty of power, nice tech in the radio unit, great gas mileage
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By brad 8/21/2017 3:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
Nice car with good styling. I got 58 mpg as my best average mileage on a trip (not a hybrid). 10 year/100k warranty is a big plus. Price is unbeatable for the warranty. Could have more range to the steering wheel tilt feature. 2017 restyle is very up to date with the styling. Not a speedster. Goes just fine
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Dave 8/21/2017 1:26:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is our second Elantra, we have had nothing but good things to say about the car. Outstanding MPG, never had a single mechanical issue. With our first car we had a few areas of concern, Hyundai sent us an survey and asked what they could do better....three years later with our new car ALL of these concerns have been addressed. The only thing that I might change is the seat, for long hauls it get a bit uncomfortable......that's it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Deana 8/21/2017 6:37:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is one of the safest and best driving cars I have ever owned. And it is very sporty looking! It is easy to maintain and repairs will be minimal.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Milton G 8/19/2017 1:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
cellent gas mileage. Steering and comfort exceptional. Would like to have the GPS system I had in my 2014.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tom 8/18/2017 12:51:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Hyundai Elantra. I had traded an earlier Elantra and was driving a Hyundai Sonata. Though the Sonata is a great vehicle, I love the size and handling of the Elantra better. The 2017 model is very nice inside and is surprisingly quiet to be its size and price. Its new design is great!!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/11/2017 9:58:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
It's a great car and has all the bells, whistles and technology I was looking at an affordable price. Pleasure to drive.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/3/2017 9:33:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
My wife and I are extremely impressed with our 2017 Hyundai Elantra! The ride is better than that of even larger cars. The seats are enormously comfortable the handling fantastic and the technology great. Our only issues are that it is low to the ground for getting out of it (if that's even a concern for you) and the pick-up/power is pretty weak. The fuel mileage is outstanding. We love this car!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anna 8/2/2017 5:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Front bumper should be up so does not scrap curb when pulling into parking spot. Pros: Easy to get in and out of. Easy on gas mileage
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By david 7/31/2017 7:24:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I have found my Elantra to be very much worth the price I paid. I am surprised it has so many options for an affordable means of transportation
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Heather 7/29/2017 7:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Not having any experience with Hyundai I am VERY impressed and pleased with my purchase! The Elantra looks just as beautiful inside as it does outside and drives very smooth. Has plenty 'get up and go' for the interstate and also does well around town with the stop and go traffic. Aside from how spacious the car is the added safety features were the main selling point for me! Blind spot detectors and the back camera are much desired features when you have 2 children under the age of 6!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gary 7/28/2017 6:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I love my Elantra Limited. It is loaded with technology and a very sharp looking car. I drive and rides very well. The feature I like best is that they made the turn signals loud enough that you can hear them!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tod 7/28/2017 5:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The newly designed Elantra is a winner in my opinion. I owned a 2016 and now a 2017 Limited model. The genesis like grill gives the vehicle a classy modern appearance and the improved driving dynamics are also much improved over last years model. The LED DRL's also add to the improved looks of the front fascia and added safety features on the limited including lane change assist rear cross traffick alert give the driver peace of mind as does the 100k mile warranty and 5 years free roadside assistance. This car handles great for a compact and has minimal road noise.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 7/28/2017 4:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
You won't regret buying the Hyundai Elantra 2017. Easy access to use features and easy to read. Sporty feature on transmission for fast take off (if necessary) and for great gas mileage for long road. The suspension is top notch that allows vehicle to hug the road with ease. I just love my car and you will too
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gina 7/27/2017 7:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I love this car. It drives and handles with ease. I like the look of the exterior and the interior. I know there are more luxurious cars out there but in the price that I wanted to pay I feel I got more than my monies worth in this vehicle.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Hyundai Elantra
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Hyundai Elantra is all-new, an attractive compact sedan with impressive quality creds and a strong value proposition. Elantra competes with the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla.

Like any major makeover, the 2017 Elantra sports new sheetmetal. It’s also a bit bigger than the previous generation. But perhaps its most impressive upgrade is structural. Thanks to a higher percentage of high strength steel and increased use of structural adhesive, 394 feet of industrial glue, according to Hyundai, the new unitbody is 30 percent stiffer.

There’s new under the hood as well, specifically, two new engines, and one new transmission.

As with the previous version, the sixth-generation Elantra comes standard with a 2.0-liter Atkinson cycle four-cylinder, available with either a 6-speed manual transmission or a 6-speed automatic. However, output of the 2.0-liter has been reduced, from 173 horsepower to 147, an adjustment presumably made in the interest of fuel economy.

Fuel economy is an EPA-estimated 26/36 mpg City/Highway for the Elantra SE with manual transmission, 29/38 mpg with the automatic, an improvement of several miles per gallon over pre-2017 Elantra models.

The optional engine, propelling the Elantra Eco, is a turbocharged 1.4-liter (128 hp, 156 pound-feet of torque). It sends power to the front wheels via a 7-speed dual clutch automatic. At this writing, Hyundai was awaiting official EPA fuel economy ratings for the Eco, but anticipates 32 mpg city, 40 mpg highway. Also, with the official Eco on-sale date slated for May, pricing was yet to be announced.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Elantra is offered in three trim levels: Elantra SE ($17,150); Limited ($22,350); Eco. (Prices are MSRP and do not include $835 destination charge.) Automatic transmission is optional for Elantra SE.

Optional Tech Package adds navigation, 8-inch color touch screen, 4.2-inch TFT info screen between speedo and tachometer, power sunroof, heated rear seats.

Automatic emergency braking, lane keeping assist, and adaptive cruise control are optional. Blind spot detection is optional.

Walkaround

As with the recent renewal of the Sonata, Hyundai went more conservative in restyling the Elantra. Instead of the sculpting that distinguished the sides of the fifth generation car, the 2017 version is distinguished by a strong character line running from the top of the front wheel arches to the taillights, and a another horizontal crease above the rocker panels connecting the wheel wells fore and aft.

Hyundai’s trademark hexagonal grille distinguishes the front, and options include 17-inch wheels, side mirror turn signal repeaters, and LED door handle lights. The profile is sleek, and Hyundai has improved the aerodynamic efficiency, contributing to reduced interior noise levels.

The net result is an Elantra that could easily be mistaken for its larger cousin, the Sonata. Hyundai characterizes the new design as confident.

We don’t think it stands out in the compact sedan scrum as much as the previous generation. But no one can call it a wallflower.

Interior

The 2017 Elantra is a slightly bigger Elantra than before. At 179.9 inches it’s not quite an inch longer than generation five, on the same 106.3-inch wheelbase. Height, 55.6 inches, carries over, but width expands by an inch, to 70.9. That doesn’t sound like much, but the Hyundai interior design team managed to create more interior space, an achievement the more remarkable in a package with the same wheelbase as the outgoing model.

Nevertheless, by EPA standards, which are based on interior volume, the new Elantra qualifies as a mid-size sedan, a distinction it shares with the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla. What this adds up to in practical terms is a rear seat that’s habitable by adults of moderate size. The center seat, like those in all compacts, is suitable for small kids in child seats or perhaps the occasional passenger who is either a good sport or someone you don’t like.

Just as important, the interior furnishings are distinctly upscale by compact sedan standards; luxurious, even. There are almost no hard surfaces inside, and almost no shiny plastic.

The first two points of owner contact within, seat and steering wheel, are both satisfying, the seats for their comfortable padding and support (relaxed fit), the wheel for its just-right rim section and grip. Leather is part of the Limited trim level, but the standard cloth upholstery looks good, feels like quality, and looks as though it will wear well.

Instruments and info screens are attractively legible, and controls are well placed and devoid of operational mystery. Also, we’re happy to see that Hyundai, unlike some carmakers, hasn’t yielded to the tyranny of total touch screen controls. Buttons and knobs still work just fine for many functions, as evidenced in the Elantra.

Infotainment and telematics have been upgraded and now include Apple Car Play and Android Auto. Navigation is optional.

Driving Impressions

If 0-to-60 mph is one of your top priorities, brisk 0-60, that is, this may not be the right compact sedan for you. The basic 2.0-liter ranks near the tepid end of the compact sedan standard engine spectrum, and reaching the mile-a-minute mark is likely to consume about 8 seconds, regardless of transmission choice. And we note once again that only the Elantra SE, the entry end of the lineup, offers this choice. Higher trim levels are automatic only.

While brisk acceleration is the antithesis of economical driving, it’s a plus in the cut and thrust of commute motoring, as well as passing exposure on two-lane highways. Getting around a slower car on a winding back road with the Elantra requires patience and planning.

Other sectors of the Elantra’s dynamic scorecard grade out better. The electric power steering system has been improved, though there are others in the compact sedan category, the Honda Civic, for example, that are distinctly more tactile.

Similarly, while its suspension tuning is conducive to smooth ride rather than eager responses, the Elantra’s stiffened structure has a reassuringly solid feel that inspires confidence at the wheel. It’s not the kind of setup that’s likely to challenge a Honda Civic or Mazda 3 in a slalom contest or double lane change test.

But the more robust structure, as well as wide-ranging attention to noise suppression, contribute to a commendably quiet cabin at all speeds. That’s a key factor in the comfort equation, and that’s the Elantra’s strong suit.

Summary

The all-new Hyundai Elantra is ho-hum in terms of getaway punch, but is otherwise a pleasant place to be as the miles slide by: smooth, quiet, and composed. Its looks are contemporary, it’s exceptionally solid, and it’s comfortable on gnarly surfaces. And the bottom line: like all Hyundais, its value proposition is hard to beat.

Driving impressions by Tony Swan.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Hyundai Elantra ECO 1.4T DCT local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.