2017 Genesis G90 Reviews and Ratings

3.3T Premium RWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Genesis G90.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (32)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.9 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By James 10/5/2017 8:51:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
This is the machine I thought to be and I am very satisfied. It is equipped with features and conveniences that make it joy drive.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By George 10/3/2017 9:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The G90 is a beautiful vehicle. It's interior and exterior are exceptional. The ride is quiet and comfortable. The car handles well, and accelerates well (especially in the sports drive mode). Also I really like the fact that the rear seat area is very spacious and comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David B. 10/3/2017 9:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my fourth Genesis, with an Equus in between. Each new one much better than the one I had before. This G90, 5.0 is such a pleasure to drive. I like all about this car and it has all the features without adding them at extra cost like the other cars I considered.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By james 10/1/2017 10:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
you get much more car - v8,self drive on highway, fully optioned - than comparable bmw, Mercedes, cadalac cars.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Larry 9/30/2017 12:45:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Better features than comprable Lexus for far less money, better warranty, and beautiful design, quiet operating noise, and great handling. My dealership truely cares about their owners service experience. I believe that Hyundai has the best warranty in the business.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John S. 9/30/2017 10:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This Car has everything a Mercedes or BMW has<br /> comford ,,Looks you Name it exept it is about 20000 to 30000 $ cheaper. How can you beat that !!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Roberto 9/22/2017 12:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have driven mercedes for over 22 years and my Genesis G90 drives so smooth and handles beautifully. My 2017 Genesis G90 comes with all options standard and cost thousands less than Mercedes S class...i will never go back to mercedes!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Big A 9/14/2017 4:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I have owned many excellent vehicles from sports cars to trucks. Genesis still has some electronic bugs to figure out but this car could easily be the next LS 400 from the early 90s. Game changer without the needed PR being done correctly. Poorly done hyuandi!!!! That is all the compliment needed if you know enough about cars.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Tom 9/11/2017 10:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The G90 is an exceptional car that we are proud to own and drive. Lot of features that we enjoy especially the riding comfort, safety features and electronic features. Sometimes the "buttons" can be over whelming as it has so many features. This is our third Hyundai to own and they continue to please us even as they are fairly expensive.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By j 8/31/2017 9:29:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great smooth car. Imagine a several steps upgraded Avalon. Very comparable with Mercedes brand, we have had S class, G class, have a dozen E class and a dozen C class. Interior finishings are exceptional. Generally, gadgets are the same (smart cruise control should improve; some settings should stay after choosing them several times the same or having a way of setting them like that). If I have to purchase a car again I would definitively take this one again -being the only other option -today- an E class Mercedes-.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Allan 8/30/2017 5:19:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I waited for several months to finally get my hands on this vehicle. The Manufacturer did a poor job in getting these out to the consumer in a timely manner in view of their advertising. With that said, it was worth the wait. I love this car and after being a previous Equus owner, I can tell you this is light years ahead of the Equus. This is not a remake of the same old thing, but a brand new car. Everything is well thought out and they really did their homework on bringing this car to market. My only request is that they update their software platform to include an Android interface. Right now it only has an iOS interface yet there are more Androids out there by a long shot than iPhones. The potential seating configuration is fantastic, especially since I have long legs. Massive trunk and a great sounding music system. They hit it out of the ballpark with this one!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By STAN 8/28/2017 2:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
THE G-90 IS THE FOLLOW-ON TO THE EQUUS IT COMES EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE OPTIONS THAT OTHER COMPANIES CHARGE FOR. MOST COMFORTABLE AUTO ON THE MARKET.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Derek 8/25/2017 11:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
All the safety features of Mercedes Benz at half the price and better gas milage. Nice ride, plenty of power and excellent navigation system.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By ART 8/24/2017 3:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
THE FEATURES OF THE G90 IN MY OPINION ARE THE BEST THEY CAN BE. THE CAR RIDES LIKE A LUXURY VEHICLE, LOOKS LIKE ONE AND CERTAINLY DRIVES LIKE ONE. ALL OF THE TECH EQUIPMENT KEEPS IT ABREAST OF ALL OTHERS. I'M NOT CRAZY WITH GPS LOADING OF ADDRESSES, SO I SIMPLY CALL AND THEY DOWNLOAD IT FOR ME. THE VARIABLE CRUISE CONTROL IS SOMETHING I'VE LEARNED NOT TO LIVE WITHOUT. OVERALL THIS IS AN EXCELLENT VEHICLE FOR THE PRICE.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jon 8/23/2017 5:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
A superb vehicle for it's pricepoint- rivals Mercedes S class, Bmw 7 series and Lexus LS at nearly 1/2 the cost. Extremely reliable comfortable and quiet to drive
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By John 8/22/2017 6:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the exterior look, interior amenities, ride and performance of my Genesis G90. I shopped several different luxury vehicle models and chose the G90 because of the overall value it offered. I would recommend anyone looking for a quality luxury vehicle to test drive the Genesis G90.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 6:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I love my G90. Very classy car indeed. Would recommend to all my friends and neighbors.<br /> Love the sound system
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bruce 8/22/2017 4:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Love my Genesis G90. I looked at many other luxury brands but the others were 10's of thousands more for the same quality. I have made trips driving for 10 hours without getting tired which is unusual for me. First three years maintance is free
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By stanley 8/22/2017 3:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I was amazed first by the responsiveness of the Genesis. The layout of the interior was very impressive and the mileage per gallon was awesome. I chose the Genesis primarily because of the price versus the features.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Janet 8/22/2017 12:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
For the price this is the best luxury vehicle on the road, it has extremly comfortable seats and lots of leg room. It performs incredible on the city roads and fantastic on the highways
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kenneth 8/22/2017 10:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I am thoroughly impressed with my new Genesis G-90...the V-8 engine, 8 speed transmission, and H-trac (all -wheel drive system) make the car a joy to drive. the level of technology and safety features that are incorporated in this car are truly remarkable! The seats are the most comfortable I have ever had sat in; especially for highway travel. Definitely worth researching or visiting the dealership to discover all the amenities associated with this fine automobile.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ken 8/21/2017 7:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have owned most of luxury cars in the $50,000 to $75,000 range & find this car to be by far the best car that I have ever owned considering the features, reliability & price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Richard C. 8/21/2017 6:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My G90 is the best car that I have ever owned.and I have owned many top of the line, Cadillac, Lincoln, etc
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Vaughn 8/21/2017 3:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have been pleasantly pleased with my Genesis G90 5.0 AWD. I do a lot of driving and as big man the space and comfort is incredible. With the 5.0 liter engine and 420 hp gas mileage is not a virtue, but power and cruising make this car a dream to drive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By EARL 8/20/2017 7:32:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
TOP SHELF IN SAFETY,VALUE, AND OVERALL PERFORMANCE. Worst Features - NEED INCREASED TRAINING ON USE OF ALL GADGETS.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By AL 8/20/2017 6:12:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my new G90, the drive and handling are excellent and the seats are extremely comfortable. The car has the latest technology and provides tons of safety and handling features that help me to drive safe, secure and easily. It's is very quiet inside and therefore fun to drive but best of all it runs on ""regular fuel"" which helps me out by being a low cost vehicle to operate. When we go out with friends the roomy back seat provides them with all the creature comforts just like sitting at home. I highly recommend this vehicle not only because of the reasons previously stated but also because of it's warranty along with the Concierge service that provides door to door pick up and return of your car whenever you need any type of maintenance performed to the car! On top of all that Genesis also provided Sirius traffic, weather and maps updates for ""3 years"".................all I can say is I'm very happy about my purchase!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Don 8/20/2017 6:03:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
A new sleek model allowing Hyundai to do for its brand what Toyota did with Lexus.Very competitive on price and features.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Mr. G 8/19/2017 5:42:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Outstanding performance, styling, safety features, warranties and value!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Scott 8/15/2017 1:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
In the market for a competent, quiet, and unique luxury car? My Genesis G90 goes toe-to-toe with the Audi A8 and Mercedes S class, meets or exceeds these vaunted Europeans on most specifications, and has a far better warranty - for thousands less. I find the conservative styling handsome and appealing, and appreciate the sleek understated interior. Every conceivable technology is packed into the car, yet most are intuitive and not intrusive. Some will argue it won't match a BMW or Mercedes on the back roads, but that is not the purpose of the car (and, really, how often in daily life do winding back roads appear?). This is a car designed to be a handsome, low-profile highway stormer - and when the twin turbos kick in on my V-6 powered car, there is a satisfying kick while the speedometer sweeps upward. This is a car that delivers on both a tangible and intangible level. For those seeking that high-end European, Japanese or American car, take a few moments to consider the Genesis G90 and go drive one.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By JOE 8/11/2017 9:23:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
THEY HAVE PUT TOGETHER THE PERFECT COMBINATION OF INGENUITY, ENGINEERING ,AND MASTERCRAFTMANSHIP TO CREATE A TRULEY SUPERLATIVE AUTOMOBILE. A SAFE,RESPONSIVE,QUIET,LUXURIOUS,AND COMFORTABLE CAR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By George 8/3/2017 11:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Ride of the Genesis G90 is unsurpassed. Safety features constantly assist the driver. Power train with 3.3 Twin Turbo provides remarkable pickup and smooth performance. Gas mileage has been 28.7 mpg on the highway and about 24 overall. Cabin is ultra quiet. Adjustable seats provide exceptional comfort. Price compares favorably to similar vehicles.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sammy 8/1/2017 11:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great vehicle. Pros: Interior Room quite lots of technology and easy to drive. Cons: Drivers door opening a little short as i bumb my head sometimes
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Genesis G90
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Genesis G90 is a totally new luxury sedan from Hyundai, larger than any previous Genesis, and available with all-wheel drive and a V6 or V8 engine.

Brand startups are expensive, risky and consequently rare in today’s automotive world, but here’s Hyundai jumping into a market segment, luxury prestige, that’s populated by brands that have been building on their pre-eminence for decades: Acura, Audi, BMW, Cadillac, Infiniti, Jaguar, Lexus, and Mercedes-Benz.

However, unlike other startups, most recently Tesla, Genesis isn’t exactly starting from scratch. The brand name has been with us since 2008, with a Hyundai prefix, and the sedan we’ve known as the Hyundai Genesis now becomes the Genesis 80.

But if the brand isn’t totally all-new, the G90 is. It’s the brand’s flagship, the first of a variety of new offerings that will be unique to the Genesis brand, and it’s typical of Hyundai’s approach to the business: solid engineering, first rate assembly, attractive styling, lots of standard features, and an exceptional price-value index.

This is a big sedan, similar in size, and roominess, to the long-wheelbase Audi A8L and BMW 7 series. It’s not quite the biggest among its contemporaries, but the G90 is sizable and handsome enough to create the right kind of presence at the country club, the kind of car that winds up in the front row of valet parking at Spago’s, in L.A.

There are two engine options: a twin-turbo 3.3-liter V6 (365 horsepower, 375 pound-feet of torque) and a 5.0-liter V8 (420 hp, 383 lb-ft), both paired with an 8-speed automatic transmission.

All-wheel drive is an option with both engines.

EPA fuel economy ratings are 17/24 mpg City/Highway for the V6, and diminish slightly with the addition of V8 power (16/24 mpg) and all-wheel drive (15/23 mpg).

Model Lineup

The 2017 Genesis G90 V6 Premium ($68,100), which comes loaded with standard features, and the Genesis G90 V8 Ultimate ($69,700) are available with all-wheel drive ($2500). Prices are MSRP and do not include destination and delivery charges ($950).

Walkaround

Its styling may not be adventurous, but the G90 has an upscale curbside presence, its long, low rear-drive proportions suggesting power and luxury, which of course is the whole idea. If it isn’t exactly a head-turner, it’s no wallflower, either.

The styling appears derivative, with elements that appear borrowed from elsewhere. The going-away view, for example, has strong hints of Mercedes-Benz, while the big, bold grille treatment looks as though it could have been come from a design studio in Ingolstadt, Germany, home of Audi.

Colors, a dark blue, a brown, and a quartet of silver grays, are on the somber side, and the standard 19-inch wheels come in just a single design.

Interior

Attractively designed and elegantly appointed, the inner G90 is a essentially a textbook example of how a luxury car should be equipped. Leather seats (heated and ventilated up front, of course): check. Multi-way power adjustability (22 ways for the driver): check. Leather on the dash, door panels, and steering wheel: check. Premium (17-speaker Leixcon) audio: check. Power soft close doors: check.

Power moonroof: strangely absent. There is no rear-seat entertainment system, the windows cannot be lowered by pressing a button on the key fob, nor can the car be started remotely.

Back to the positive side of the ledger: Interior trim includes real wood, stainless steel, and aluminum, handsomely done. A 7-inch information screen resides between the major gauges (tach and speedo), no squinting required to read this one, and that goes double for the lucid icons on the big (12.3-inch) screen in the center of the dashboard.

Another nice detail: a color head-up detail (no squinting for this display, either). As you’d expect, the G90 is equipped with the latest driver-assist safety features. And, a little pampering, three years of free service, including valet service and free loaners.

As noted, there’s plenty of move-around room in this posh interior. And interior noise levels at freeway speeds are extraordinarily low.

A couple of quirks: The electric parking brake is on the dash to the left and below the steering wheel, not the first place we looked for it. Also, sliding the shifter leaves the transmission in Reverse, not Park, which is engaged by pressing a button.

Driving Impressions

Our initial G90 driving experience was at the official press preview, held in British Columbia, and consisted almost entirely of a freeway run from Vancouver to Kelowna, about 300 miles total.

This is not the kind of driving that provides a comprehensive picture of a car’s dynamic capabilities, but even so a few solid impressions emerged.

Tops on the list is quiet operation. As a general rule a chapel-silent interior is a solid asset in a luxury car, and the G90 is going to rank near the top of its class in this metric. Set your decibel meters to whisper.

Ride quality will likely score well with most prospective owners. Although the multi-mode driving choices (Eco, Smart, Individual, Sport) allows the driver some tuning latitude with the Sachs/ZF dampers, the G90 is a smoothie. Even in Sport mode there’s nothing in its freeway behavior to suggest autobahn development, the trait that distinguishes the high roller Germans.

Steering firms up as speed increases, but it lacks much in the way of tactile information for the driver, not much sense of just how much the front wheels are turning, and very little on-center feel, regardless of speed.

Power: it’s hard to imagine anyone being dissatisfied with the straight ahead performance of the 3.3-liter twin turbo six, and it’s hard to imagine that the 5.0-liter V8 would add a great deal to the G90’s off-the-line thrust. The extra horsepower would show up as the speedo climbed past 60.

We didn’t log any seat time with the V8 version, so impressions on that one will have to wait for a later date.

Summary

Genesis may be an all-new brand but the business case is typically Hyundai: a quietly handsome car, with solid assembly, respectable power, plenty of room, a high comfort index, and lots of features for the money. The formula worked for the Hyundai Genesis, and it will work for the G90 and the Genesis brand vehicles due to hit the market in the next few years. The G90 may not pack the prestige or quite the character of the established luxury sedans, but for those who aren’t prioritize value, it has everything else.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Genesis G90 3.3T Premium RWD local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.