NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Genesis G80.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (37)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Ken 10/3/2017 7:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.1 / 5
Like navigation/radio/comfort ability/all the "toys" which this car is equipped suburb value Would have preferred a shorter body style and a stiffer suspension
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.5 / 5

By Alex 9/2/2017 8:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Money worth Luxury Car. Best Features - Technology features.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By mc 8/27/2017 7:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
extremely nice vehicule. Best Features - driving options
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By John 8/27/2017 10:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My 2017 Genesis G80 was an additional car which I bought because my Jeep Grand Cherokee was getting old. I knew we were going to keep the Jeep for towing and local errands like grocery shopping trips, so I made a complete change from driving an SUV to a sedan. That said, I wished I would have chosen the 5.0L V8 model of the Genesis versus the 3.8L V6 because I was so used to the power of the Jeep's 5.7L V8 hemi. But that's just me. You may not notice anything if you're used to a V6 sedan. The G80 has a nice feature though where you can set the engine to Sport, Normal or Eco, so when I want more power I switch to Sport. It works well and I have gotten used to the G80's performance. Overall, I really like this vehicle. It's very comfortable and has just about every luxury a driver and passenger would want. If you're concerned about providing a lot of luxury features to your passengers in the back you will have to upgrade to the Genesis G90. This is not to say there's anything wrong with the G80's rear passenger area, but its luxury features are directed towards the driver and front passenger. I love the ventilated front seats. In Florida, it's nice to be able to switch on what amounts to air conditioned seats. This car does have its little annoyances though. For example, the cruise control. I am used to a vehicle that if I am on cruise at, say, 75 mph and I step on the accelerator increasing to 85 mph to go around someone, when I remove my foot from the accelerator, those extra 10 miles per hour will bleed-off and slowly return to the cruise speed of 75 and then re-engage. In the G80, this same scenario results in the vehicle automatically appling the brakes to get back to 75 after removing your foot from the accelerator. This really took me by surprise when it happened to me the first time. There are ways, obviously, to get around this annoyance, like disengaging the cruise control before accelerating then hitting the resume button when you return to desired cruise speed. But you'll be relearning how to handle certain driving scenarios if you buy this car. So, the pros of this car are its luxury features, comfortable ride, excellent reliability, and with the strong USD versus the SK Won, a really great value. When compared with other sedans in its class the pros include luxury features that you would have to pay more for in a Lexus, BMW, Acura, or Audi, and a nice, long bumper-to-bumper warranty period (5 years) which exceeds those of its competitors. The cons are that I think it's a little under powered, and if you want more power you'll have to pay for it by going to the 5.0L V8 engine, which also consumes more fuel. Also, you will experience some quirky driving things around the cruise control you will have to relearn how to handle. But overall, I love this car and highly recommend it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Donna 8/26/2017 11:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is a luxury vehicle (Genesis G80 Utimate Package) with all the technology and safety features for a reasonable price. The electronics, navigation, voice are easy to learn and easy access in several modes on the vehicle. Handling is great and it was available in all-wheel drive. I intended to test drive a Cadillac CT-6, but after test driving this vehicle I looked no further.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 5:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
The best for value if you can let go the snobbery of a name brand. Worst Features - No heated steering
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By R g 8/24/2017 5:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This vehicle is very comfortable ,smooth ,spacious,fast and has the latest technology features and i definitely dont regret getting one
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/24/2017 10:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Classy looking, high performance. Best Features - 100,000 mile warranty. Looks like a luxury vehicle.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Louise 8/23/2017 7:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my Genesis G80...the styling and the overall performance is superb. It is everything I wanted in my new car. My only complaint is with the Navigation system. I always use my phone for directions as I find it much easier an more reliable. Other than that I am a very, very satisfied customer who would highly recommend that you take a look at the Genesis!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Mary 8/23/2017 6:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
I have owned two Hyundai Genesis cars previously and was extremely pleased with the reliability, handling, safety features, purchase price & maintenance costs for these automobiles. When looking to replace my last one, I evaluated several "high-end" cars (those with the "special" logo for everyone to see) along with the new Genesis G80. The G80 gave me everything the other models featured for a better price, better warranty, better rebates, and lower cost for maintenance. It also uses regular fuel where as all the other models required premium fuel. The tech package is equivalent to the other cars I looked at and has not disappointed. I have used the included concierge service once when I picked up a nail in a tire & was pleased with this offering. The exterior styling & color is very eye-catching. The interior is extremely up-scale and actually nicer than other modes I looked at. Six months and two road trips later, I am still very happy with my purchase.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Pat 8/23/2017 1:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Checked out Jaguar XF and Cadillac XTS before buying my G80. Genesis best car for the money. All the bells and whistles and safety features I wanted and much less than the other luxury cars I checked out. Has a better ride than my wife's Mercedes E350. Not many around so shop around. I found mine 300 miles from my home, but with price and rebates, worth the trip. Genesis website has cars, prices and financing. Test drove the G80 in my city, purchased online, did the paperwork and financing online and then picked it up. To me the outside doesn't stand out, but the inside is cool and sophisticated. The longer I have it the more I love it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Antonio 8/22/2017 10:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I have had my G80 for a few months and have been very well pleased with it so far and I also get a lot of compliments on the car. I previously own a S430 MB and no it's not a Mercedes but for the features ,style ,warranty and ride it was better than buying a used MB since I couldn't afford a new one. A very good car.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By scott 8/22/2017 9:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I love the power and acceleration of the G-80 5.0. It is fun to drive, comfortable and quiet. Best Features - Engine performance and quietness. Worst Features - Stiff seats
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ron G 8/21/2017 7:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
... The G-80 all wheel drive with the two upgrade packages exceeded all my needs and expectations with the inclusion of a consierge service a 25% lower lease cost---and so far my driving experience has been delightful--shopping for other luxury branded vehicles was much more complicated with too many choices which frankly just upped the cost---Bravo Hundyi for creating this new Luxury Brand for Value oriented consumers who appreciate driving a high end vehicle. ...
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David 8/21/2017 4:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
A great car for the price If you test drive this car you will be impressed with it. Look out B.M.W. and Mercedes
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gerry 8/21/2017 3:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Exceptional vehicle. It is my third Genesis, which says it all. quality of workmanship, electronics, reliability are all exceptional
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jerry 8/21/2017 3:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Has the quality and attributes of a much more expensive vehicle, simultaneous luxury and sportiness. Best Features - Power and ride. Worst Features - steering
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By machel c 8/20/2017 8:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Loved my purchase of the G80. The safety features are above all, I would continue to buy Genesis line in the future.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dick 8/20/2017 5:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Outstanding value and is one of the safest cars. Best Features - Technology. Safety and ride.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Michael 8/20/2017 9:22:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
…. The G80 is the worst car seats in my driving experience, they're hard as a rock. No comfort
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Jason 8/20/2017 5:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
By being a new brand in the luxury market this car has a lot to prove and with the g80 they follow through. Genesis has proven you can build a luxury car without the luxury price of other high end brands. This car rides like a dream and to look up and see that big panoramic sun roof is amazing. This car will turn heads and have people surprised this came from Hyundai.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Mitchell 8/19/2017 7:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car came fully loaded leaving me needing nothing more. I has the best safety rating there is. The car drives like a dream. Car has lane assist, autonomous breaking, blue link and concierge maintenance where they come to my home and drop of a loaner while the car is serviced. Oh, did I mention a 100,000 mile warranty. This buy was a no brainer.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/19/2017 1:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Style, technical aspects, reliability, handling ability, safety. Best Features - lane change feature, heads up display, smart cruise control, auto braking, navigation system
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brian 8/19/2017 8:18:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Pretty nice ride in general, but lacks tech features my Toyota Tacoma has. Also, have had interior rattles still unresolved and a computer issue still unresolved.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/13/2017 6:03:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Great car for the price. Latest technology and options will allow you to keep this car for several years (ie. it will take other manufacturers several years to catch up with options for price). Going forward, at this price point, a little more power under the hood and some external body tweaks would set the G80 further apart from German/Japanese competitors
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Sam 8/7/2017 10:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Looked into the Genesis as an upgrade from my Lincoln. Saw lots of positive reviews. Previously owned nice cars in this class but was looking for something different. So far I love this car. The technology is taking awhile to get used to. In a good way. The quality of both interior and exterior is excellent. Rides quiet very comfortable. I would highly recommend it. BMW's and Mercedes in this class I've used have nothing on it. Only reason it is not five stars is I'm not yet sold on their remote start feature. It's by using your cell phone app and I can't make it work without going through about 3-4 keystrokes. But that is software in the app and I'm hoping Genesis will make it better.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Wade 8/1/2017 5:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love my new Genesis. Great comfy ride good performance quality interior. Love the technology features as well. Good value for the price paid
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By MLT 7/30/2017 8:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Out of all the vehicles I have purchased this is the best purchase I could have ever made. Pros: the whole car. Cons: the trunk dont close by itself
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ken 7/29/2017 12:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I couldn't be happier with my new Genesis G80. It's smooth comfortable and reliable is full of great safety and convenience features and provides the best bang for the buck out there. Plus it's got a super warranty and even comes with free maintenance and concierge service for 3 years. If you're not hung up on having a ""prestige"" nameplate save yourself a pile of money and get one. You won't be sorry.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Luther 7/29/2017 10:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Yes I would recommend this car to friends. I think they would agree that it has a great dollar value and would serve them for years to come.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/28/2017 10:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.1 / 5
Do not buy this car if you are 5'2"" or shorter. You will not be able to see past the driver side mirror.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   1.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Walt 7/28/2017 10:54:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My wife and i were looking for a reasonably priced luxury vehicle with a good reputation and great looks both inside and out. We clearly found it with the new Genesis 80. This vehicle is everything we were looking for and more!. Great quality ""fit & finish"" excellent ride every possible feature you can think of and a very affordable three year lease program. The lease includes 100% full service and great friendly personnel at the dealership. We are true believers in the Genesis brand and the dealership was nothing short of amazing.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Daniel 7/28/2017 8:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Outstanding value and performance. However the interior height is too low requiring a six foot driver to scrape his head every time he enters the car. In areas where it snows the all wheel drive compares favorably to previous years when only two wheel drive was available..Overall I would recommend this vehicle.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Abe 7/28/2017 6:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The Genesis G 80 is a truly remarkable car with options that make it a must see before purchasing other cars. The technology available in the ultimate level is amazing. At that level it is possible to have many driverless features that make driving much safer and less of an effort during longer drives. It has saved me from a couple of probable highway accidents where it stopped an accident due to the other driver's foolish behavior. Will definitely support this amazing brand.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Claude 7/27/2017 5:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best car made
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Larry 7/27/2017 3:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have owned several Cadillacs Lincolns Chryslers a Lexus and a few others but this new Genesis is one of the finest cars I've ever driven. They really got it right in all categories.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Robert H 7/27/2017 9:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've test driven Audi BMW and mercedes and I can honestly say for the price this car blows the competition away. The elegance and design is definitely a head Turner. All I get is what kind of car is that and wow I didn't know Hyundai stepped their game up. Just so others know the BMW M series is their performance line and let me tell you it's a very serious line up. But what you didn't know is the chief engineer now is with Hyundai which gave me the confidence when I was purchasing my new Genesis G80. With that being said I got the reliability luxury and my favorite performance all wrapped into one with this car. Not only that this car is awesome in the snow it's all wheel drive(I had a 2016 prior). Being I'm in law enforcement when a state of emergency hits due to snow I have to still go to work and with no problems. So all I can say is for the price you can't get a better all around sedan. You can try but until you get in this car you'll never understand.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Genesis G80
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Genesis G80 is essentially the previous Hyundai Genesis four-door luxury sedan. Rebadged as the Genesis G80, it now serves as the smaller of two models that form Hyundai’s new luxury brand, the larger one being the all-new G90.

Little changed as the Hyundai Genesis metamorphosed into the Genesis G80, apart from an upgraded audio system and larger multiple-function instrument display. One revision is the inclusion of more active safety features as standard equipment. The styling is the same as before: Only the badges have changed.

As before, two engines are available: a sturdy V6 and a sizable V8. Base models get the 3.8-liter V6, which develops 311 horsepower and 293 pound-feet of torque, driving an 8-speed automatic transmission.

Rear-wheel drive and all-wheel drive are available with the V6.

Making a big jump in price, the aptly named G80 Ultimate sedan steps up to a 5.0-liter V8 that produces 420 horsepower and 383 pound-feet of torque. Only rear-drive is offered with the V8.

Base G80 models can hardly be dismissed as basic. The expanded list of standard active-safety features include blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert, lane keeping assist, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise control with stop/start, and forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking. Active head restraints also are standard. Nine airbags are installed, including a knee airbag for the driver.

While still in its Hyundai Genesis guise, the sedan earned a perfect rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, scoring five stars overall, as well as in every crash-test situation. Genesis also scored at the top in crash-testing by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, named a Top Safety Pick+.

Model Lineup

The Genesis G80 3.8L ($41,400) comes with the V6, leather upholstery, heated power front seats, an 8-inch touchscreen for the infotainment system, Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility, Bluetooth connectivity and streaming, Hyundai telematics, and hands-free trunk opening. Rear-wheel drive is standard. The G80 AWD 3.8L V6 ($43,900) includes all-wheel drive, heated rear seats, and a heated steering wheel. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Options include a rearview camera, part of the Premium package that includes a panoramic sunroof, front/rear parking sensors, and ventilated front seats ($4,750). The Ultimate package ($8,950) upgrades further with softer leather seats, genuine wood trim, a head-up display, a 9.2-inch touchscreen with navigation, 17-speaker Lexicon audio, and a power trunk lid.

The Genesis G80 5.0L V8 Ultimate ($54,550) comes with the V8 engine and all the Ultimate features plus LED foglamps, 19-inch wheels, quad exhaust tips, and illuminated door sill plates.

Walkaround

Design influences from German luxury sedans, including Audi and BMW, can still be discerned in the G80. Though derived from Hyundai’s familiar hexagonal grille, the Genesis version has a smoother, more ornate appearance than those on the other Hyundai models.

Interior

Cabin space seems to be a little smaller than in some luxury competitors, and the interior isn’t quite as polished. Because of efficient layout, however, four adults can expect a comfortable experience. They can also get in and out of the G80 with comparative ease, and their heads shouldn’t be bothered by the headliner above. A somewhat upright profile and formal roofline translate to a cabin that seems airy rather than constricted.

Dashboard decor consists largely of sharp edges and horizontal straight lines, rather than curves or vertical elements. The center-positioned squarely shaped clock seems out of character. Audio and climate controls are located alongside and below the timepiece. Analog electro-luminescent instruments are used, instead of the screen-based gauges that have become so popular.

Passengers shouldn’t be troubled by noise or vibration, enjoying a quiet ride. Overall, the G80’s interior is on par with sedans that cost many thousands of dollars more.

Measuring 15.3 cubic feet, trunk space isn’t as voluminous as some buyers might prefer, and split-folding back seats are absent.

Evidence of budget constraints can be found only in minor details. For instance, while some luxury sedans use a damping mechanism for the console cover, Genesis designers turned to a simple hinge setup with rubber stops. Certain buttons and switches lack a prestige appearance, and the steering wheel could use a more comfortable grip.

Driving Impressions

Because the 311-horsepower base V6 engine responds heartily, paying so much extra for a V8 provides little benefit in terms of performance. Although the V8 sounds good, added engine weight makes the car feel more nose-heavy.

Lotus engineering originally helped set up the rear-wheel-drive V6 model, resulting in excellent highway composure. Even though the base sedan handles reasonably well, though, even that version feels a bit heavy at the front end.

Brakes aren’t especially firm, either, but steering is way better than might be expected. The variable-ratio electric power steering feels almost like that of an authentic sports sedan: neither unnaturally light nor excessively heavy.

The available air suspension with Continuous Damping Control can be switched from Normal to Sport mode. Though that version can smooth out some rough pavement, ride comfort and handling still fall short of the V6 model.

For driving on urban byways, boulevards and freeways, a G80 with the V6 engine is clearly appropriate.

Fuel economy is reasonable with the V6 and rear-wheel drive, EPA-rated at 18/28 mpg City/Highway, or 22 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive drops the estimate to 16/25 mpg City/Highway. Even less thrifty is the V8, EPA-rated at 15/23 mpg City/Highway, or 18 mpg Combined.

Summary

Abundant equipment in base form makes the V6-engine G80 an appealing choice for midsize luxury. In terms of comfort and quality, this Genesis sedan gets the elements right, though details could be better. Even if you add an option package, the final price is far lower than the point at which rival models begin.

Driving impressions by Aaron Cole, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Genesis G80 3.8L RWD local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.