Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
26 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Icwdave
February 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought this vehicle used...it is everything we hoped it would be...Comfort, decent fuel economy (got 28 on a trip from Florida) and utility. It replaced an older Explorer (2010)...Though my previous vehicle was a bit more "beefy," this vehicle beats it it in performance and ride and comfort.
Anonymous
January 02, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Joe
November 18, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bob
June 10, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2017 Ford Explorer Limited V6..... Exhaust smell in the cabin..this is a replacement car for the 1st 2017 Explorer with the same problem... Can''t use this vehicle as a family car..... Very disappointed in Ford not to fix this issue....
benjammin
March 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
best car ever owned. very fast, easy to get tickets in, handles very well cornering is excellent. Seriously consider this vehicle. fuel economy could be better if i didnt have lead foot
JW
March 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love It!
Anonymous
January 22, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lynette
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 12, 2017
15,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the 2nd Ford Explorer we have purchased. We had our first one for 6 years before trading it in for the one we bought this year. We love the spaciousness of Ford Explorers and it has a very smooth ride. The towing package is the best in its class, which was our first consideration. Everyone who rides in my Explorer loves it. I am a lifetime Ford Explorer owner!
MIKE
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 02, 2017
27,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
FOR THE PRICE, MY EXPLORER IS A QUALITY VEHICLE. IT HAS MANY OF THE LATEST FEATURES AND ACCESSORIES, ITS EASY TO MASTER THE USE OF THESE ACCESSORIES. IT GETS REASONABLY GOOD GAS MILEAGE (24 MPG) CITY AND COUNTRTY, AND IT HAS NOT GIVEN MY ANY TROUBLE AT ALL.
Ronald
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 02, 2017
10,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We like all items we chose for our vehicle. It has performed without any problems. It handles good on the highway. Seating is very comfortable in both the front and back . I think arm rest for the captain chairs in the back would be an extra add on. Install handles in the second row of seats above the doors.
Teresa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I had 2 edges before explorer and I think the edge was a smoother ride. The explorer if very rough riding
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 09, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good car. good for the family has lots of room. good for traveling. Ok on mileage and gas. Power is ok.
Jennifer
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 09, 2017
5,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love my 2017 Ford Explorer XLT!!!! It rides GREAT, tows our camper GREAT, gas mileage is GREAT and it looks GREAT!!! I really don't know what else to say other then I highly recommend a Ford Explorer to anyone looking for a new car!!!
Linda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 02, 2017
4,180 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Easy to handle, great vision at night and many safety features like answering phone from steering wheel
Swarag
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 01, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"1. Excellent, mindblowing, fantabulous. 2. smooth drive and safe drive 3. excellent seating arrangements"
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
11,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great acceleration, interior roominess and technology. Enjoy having iPlay. Excellent in winter weather.
Rose
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
16,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Doesn't have quite the power we were expecting when pulling a fishing boat. Also not overly pleased with the airbag seat belts in the 2nd row, as they are very difficult for a child to buckle on their own (even I have difficulty getting them buckled without a booster seat.
Paula
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first vehicle with CAMERA and BLISS. I love both of these safety features, well worth the extra cost. I also enjoy the third row of seating, with the push button folding feature. I didn't think I wanted a moon roof, but I am glad I have it! Love, love, love the heated and cooled front seats too! My vehicle is the SPORT Explorer and has the responsiveness I need to feel safe when pulling out. I have no complaints!
Becky
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the fourth Ford Explorer I have owned. The car I replaced was a 2009 Ford Explorer. I preferred the body style of the 2009 EXPLORER far more than the 2017. But, I was overdue for a new car and there is very little choice of vehicles styled like the 2009 EXPLORER so I decided to go with another Explorer as I knew basically I would be pleased with a new one. My main complaint about the 2017 is that it's the same olds navigation system. I thought surely that in the last 8 years that Ford would have improved this. It is so antiquated. And to make things worse, Travel Link had not be hooked up on delivery and it took me several months to figure out why I was not getting accurate navigation maps and real time guidance. And most of the speed limits are incorrect. I don't think that the mapping company had anyone surveying the speed limits in Texas. Fords simple solution would be to allow the consumer to download The app Waze thru CarPlay to use. Google maps is available but it's not detailed enough; for instance no speed limits. Ford needs to get out of the dark ages by overhauling their navigation system big time. There is no excuse not to have a state of the art navigation system in this day and age!!
steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
9,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The safety feature of my new Explorer are exceptional. The gas mileage is topping 20 mpg which is the primary reason we got rid of the 12 mpg Navigator. The front and rear bucket seats are very comfortable. We chose the Explorer over the Kia Sorento due to styling. The Kia did offer safety features the Ford does not have and Kia's warranty is the best in the industry but the Sorento looked too much like a mini van. We also looked at the GMC Acadia but the Ford was a much better value when comparing similarly equipped vehicles.
Bruce
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I think the Ford Explorer is an excellent vehicle, well made, great value for the money and stylish.
Sue
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,400 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the quietness inside, no road noise! I like the way it handles on the highway and wet roads. The accessories are just what we wanted for the price.
Martha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great ride, all wheel drive is good, lots of room it will seat 7. seats have more then enough positions to make a long trip comfortable
Fred
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the Eco Boost Twin Turbo engine. The power is excellent and also has great gas mileage. This is our second Explorer Sport and they keep getting better.
Saad
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great vehicle. Best Features - Smooth ride
Krista
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Explorer handles exceptionally well with ease and comfort. Great leg room for the tall men in my family. Love the power fold third row which leaves tons of storage room!
2017 Ford 1065 Explorer 29373 384611
Write a Review for the 2017 Ford Explorer
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Ford listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Ford listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Fords for Sale
Find 2017 Ford Explorer listings near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Ford Explorer
763
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel