Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Mack
August 24, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Coss
August 01, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought mine new and love it. It has all kinds of room but on the outside it''s little. That shortness is fooling at times, but it gets the job done. I''ve never had any problems with it. It does everything I need it to.
jeffp
October 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent vehicle - Far exceeds my expectations !!
Anonymous
June 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
B
May 27, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the most gutless vehicle I have ever owned. It is not practical for a family with more than 4 people.
Jr
March 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
January 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
El Jefe
January 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I was hesitating before I bought this SUV because I''m a Honda person. But, man!!
The V6 3.6L engine, smooth ride, comfortable seating, interior space etc. compare to any of the big names. Then the deal I got was second to none. Best of all, my wife loves that vehicle.
tim
December 05, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
JULIA
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 27, 2017
1,100 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
THE 3RD ROW SEATING WAS A MUST FOR ME. THE DODGE JOURNEY IS QUITE ROOMY AND VERY COMFORTABLE! IT IS A GREAT VEHICLE IF YOU HAVE A BIG FAMILY AND/OR TRAVEL ALOT!
KIMBERLY
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
1,700 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I WAS SOLD WHEN I DROVE IT. YOU MUST TRY IT TO BELIEVE HOW NICE IT IS. I DID NOT CONSIDER THIS TILL I TOOK IT FOR A SPIN.
Melinda M.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
LOVE THE JOURNEY I LOVE CHRYSLER DODGE AND I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. THEY ARE DURABLE AND RELIABLE . jUST COULDNT ASK FOR BETTER VECHICLES. WE ALSO HAVE A cHRYSLER 200- 2016
Kemmie M.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 04, 2017
9,900 miles
|
Owned 9 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Slow getting a speeding level and if i had the chance i would give it back..Only good things are the radio is touch screen, you can't lock you keys in thd car, door unlock when you close to the door automatic
gp
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Very Comfortable seats make driving long distances relaxing, not taxing Good acceleration and smooth ride. Rear doors don't sound solid when closed; sound hollow. Quiet when driving; not much road noise."
Timothy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Dodge Durango. Best Features - Auto shut off Climate control Bluetooth
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It drives like a dream and has enough room to fit my family of 5. After several months of searching for a vehicle that would be big enough but also safe enough, we finally found one! I brag about my SUV everywhere, at work, on Facebook, hanging out with friends.
Christopher s
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Make better cars like dodge ! I am in love with my car and i wouls buy every dodge model if i could! Thank you for keeping my family safe!
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
this vehicle is very nice rides good easy to get to everything u need its has coolers on the floor in the backseat
Mrs. L.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
13,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great vehicle, exceptional safety. Could use slightly larger back seating. Seats 7 average sized people comfortably.
Chuck
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5,600 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"This vehicle is a down size for me, so it's a matter of getting used to a smaller vehicle. I don't like the center console. It's too low to rest my arm on and it is tilted slightly forward. It's awkward. I don't like the width of the drivers seat. It seems narrow and not enough room to get comfortable (manhood issues). The vehicle needs side rails to enter easily. It's got a smaller engine and is sluggish at times. It doesn't like to cruise at 35-39 miles per hour with the A/C on. It kind of bogs down at that speed and jerks a little. I do like the legroom, the body style, the technology features and the size. It's just right for cargo room. The one suggestion I would make to the manufacturer is the ""JOURNEY' logo on the front floor mats should not be white. It was dirty looking after driving it about 5 times and it doesn't come clean. It was a better choice for me than a JEEP, which was what I was looking for. Much more bang for the buck."
Jake
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Journey R/T. The ONLY feature I dislike in this vehicle is the driver's active headrest. I believe the designers accidentally designed the headrest and seat separately, and as a result, the headrest is fixed 3"" too far forward (forcing the head to be pushed forward and down - with a significant gap between the upper torso and seat."
Kevin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
1,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2017 Dodge Journey handles like a car and has room for 7 persons. The bluetooth system makes using my cell phone safe and easy. I can easily knock down either row of seats and haul tons of cargo. 3 months down the road this has been a great experience. I would surely purchase this vehicle again.
Tony
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 17, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The interior is outstanding. Tons of space and a lot of adaptability for different needs. The ride is great.
2017 Dodge 1052 Journey 29603 386256
Write a Review for the 2017 Dodge Journey
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

If you need a minivan but don’t want a minivan, the Dodge Journey is for you. Except for the doors, that’s basically what it is. It’s the most affordable seven-seat crossover on the market. It’s also the longest running without a redesign. It hasn’t gotten the attention of Chrysler in the way that the Dodge Durango or the Jeeps have.

Base engine is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making just 173 horsepower, mated to an obsolete 4-speed automatic transmission. That powertrain is inexpensive but outdated.

Chrysler’s fine 3.6-liter V6 is the upgrade engine and is necessary to move the 5000-pound Journey. It makes a that’s-more-like-it 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed automatic. Front-wheel drive is standard, and all-wheel drive available.

Without modern technology, the four-cylinder engine gets 19/25 mpg City/Highway, or 21 miles per gallon Combined, while the much more powerful V6 gets an EPA-estimated 16/24/19 mpg.

Because of its ancient design, the Journey doesn’t score all that well in crash tests. It gets an acceptable four stars overall from the NHTSA, but scores a Poor on the IIHS’s difficult small-overlap frontal crash test.

Still, the thing is, the base Journey SE is special. There’s nothing like its affordability and utility. The Hyundai Santa Fe with three rows is a better car than the Journey SE, but it’s more costly. The upper-scale Journey models with the V6 are better, but no better than their competition.

For 2017, the R/T models have been rebadged as GT.

Model Lineup

2017 Dodge Journey SE ($20,995) comes with the 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine cloth upholstery, power windows, dual-zone climate control, steering-wheel audio controls, storage bins in the floor, and a six-speaker sound system with 4.3-inch touchscreen. Front-wheel drive is standard, all-wheel drive is optional ($26,595). The third-row seat is an option. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Journey SXT ($24,895) adds foglamps, LED taillamps, and power mirrors. There’s also an appearance package with black trim and 19-inch wheels. Journey Crossroad ($26,295) gets 19-inch wheels, and a 8.4-inch touchscreen. The V6 engine is optional.

Journey GT ($31,795) comes with the V6 engine, leather upholstery, upgraded audio and other features.

Walkaround

The Journey’s slab sides are dated, as nowadays crossovers have rounded edges. The Durango is all warm and organic, but Dodge designers haven’t been assigned to give the same treatment to Journey. It’s angular and creased. But, looking on the positive side, the flat surfaces are easy to wash.

Interior

Unlike the outside, the Journey is smooth and swoopy inside, and easier to love. The cabin is not as modern as that of the Durango, but it’s attractive enough. The instrumentation is simple, with big dials and knobs and high-quality plastics on the sculpted dash and contoured centerstack. The materials are dark, but there’s enough brightwork to balance that. The fabric upholstery is rugged, and the optional leather has mesh inserts.

Where the Journey is strong, is in storage, with plenty of cubby holes and bins, including under the front passenger seat. There’s a ton of cargo space, with 37 cubic feet behind the second row, 10.7 cubic feet behind the available third row, or 67 cubic feet if the seats are dropped to the flat floor.

Outward rearview vision is poor. The optional rearview camera is needed.

Driving Impressions

The base 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine is rough. Its 173 and 166 pound-feet of torque can’t move the Journey very well, certainly not with the 4-speed automatic transmission that would be at home in a Caravan from the 1970s.

The smooth 3.6-liter V6 comes from the modern world, with 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, and its 6-speed automatic is an appropriate match.

We saved the best for last. The Journey feels like a lower and leaner vehicle than it looks, with handling that’s fairly well sorted for a vehicle this size. The steering ratio is a bit quick, but at least the old-school hydraulic steering has the right amount of resistance.

And the Journey’s ride is one of its strengths, with proper damping and good roll control. The suspension loads and unloads with confidence, with no wallowing over pavement ripples that might come in the middle of a corner.

Summary

Dodge Journey delivers big passenger space and is inexpensive. It’s a dated product, however, especially with the standard four-cylinder, 4-speed. The 3.6-liter V6 brings it more up to date, but there’s also a lot of competition at that price point.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports from The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Dodge Journey
626
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel