Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Kevin maloney
December 02, 2019
60,000 miles
|
Owned 1 years 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Had some issues with trim falling off going down the hiway other then that no problems
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
12,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have had no issues with van. Is very practical with reasonable power & acceleration. Car has many squeaks and rattles, I find it annoying to drive with out radio being turned up
Teresa S
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
3,652 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with my vehicle. It has lots of seating that I was looking for plus storage if I need to to put the seats down for big items. The DVD player is great for the kids/granchildren they can even play their playstation.
VonBach
November 22, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We''ve rented a Stow-n-Go every year for the past 5 years. We knew exactly what we were getting and it''s exactly what we wanted and expected. We love this machine. It has plenty of power, it handles extremely well and is very comfortable. The only disappointment is the fuel mileage around town. We''re getting the rated 16mpg to 18mpg with 25mpg on the highway. 4 years ago we tracked closer to 20mpg around town. But then, the engine wasn''t a 3.6. All in all, we love it!!
Lilac81
October 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kenny
September 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this van. Replaced a 2001 Grand Caravan.
Anonymous
September 19, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
SteveJ
May 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rides very smoothly
Don
May 03, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Joe
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
12,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nothing special, great value for the money. Economy van that gets the job done. Plenty of room and power. Would buy again.
Allen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
1,700 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle suits my personal preferences. It is the third generation of Dodge Caravans I have owned. I first had two 1988s, then two 2000s, one of which I still have. They all made over 100,000 miles with minor maintenance expense. I am not concerned much with appearance. I like the space. It is big and roomy, powerful enough to tow a substantial trailer. I don't need bells and whistles. It is comfortable to drive and ride in. The seats can disappear into the floor and entire sheets of drywall or plywood can fit in the back. I got it specifically as a road car and it can fill in as a truck since I often carry all sorts of lumber, cement, etc. The only downside I have observed is it is slightly noisier than other vans. The shifting is especially noticeable, but then it is a truck. It is new and time will tell about maintenance and reliability, but if it matches its predecessors I will be content. I do all my own maintenance (oil changes, tire rotations, repairs, etc. ) I am an ASE certified Master Truck/Auto tech. This vehicle is more complicated than the older ones, the Dealer may see it more often than the previous ones.
Jay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the easy to clean/wipe down interior, the navigation for backing up is helpful, and My wife is able to adjust the seats just right so she's comfortable (she's under 5 foot tall). The van drives quietly and smoothly. On the highway I was getting about 26 mpg, but in town it's about 18-19 mpg with the Econo setting on. The van fits our family just right, able to fit all our children's gear for their different sports.
John F. S
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I find the Dodge Caravan to be a very reliable, comfortable, and fun to drive. It also has great cargo room. Great vehicle
Paul
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
6,100 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"My Dodge Grand Caravan is an excellent value when you need room for seven people. I wish they still had a luggage rack standard and the material of the seats is durable but hard to vacuum. It drives great and with the ""Econ"" button, the mileage on the highway is outstanding! We got as much as 27.5 miles per gallon on outstrip to Kentucky!"
Charles
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I think this is a very good Van, it has lots of room for both people and cargo...very smooth riding and roomy also can use flex fuel which is a real money saving feature.....it has many safety features, the back camera is a real safety item and a street parking item that You just can't do without
Al
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Same as Pacifica but way cheaper. Best Features - Cargo fold in seating. Worst Features - No blind spot warning signals
Liz
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Easy accessibility for persons who are disabled, especially mobility challenged. Loads of storage room. I do really wish a few more of the features from the Chrysler Town & Country were on this vehicle. Ex; automatic folding rear seats with only a button, and push button start. Brighter white HD headlights are a real necessity. I love the vehicle overall as a substitute for those who loved the Town & Country. As a previous 2 time Town & Country owner this van is extremely similar without some of the fancy features and definitely less trips to the service dept. I'm a HAPPY Dodge Carvan owner now.
Ibrahima
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 15, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm a delivery driver and this vehicle does all I need. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious van
2017 Dodge 1052 Grand Caravan 29596 386180
Write a Review for the 2017 Dodge Grand Caravan
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Thirty-four years and counting, that’s how long the Dodge Caravan has been a staple of American family life. How many thousands of hours of happy times have happened around and thanks to this vehicle? And it’s still most flexible minivan on the market, with its Stow ‘n Go seating system that’s superior to rivals. Family road trips are simply the best, in the Dodge Grand Caravan.

Now for the sad news. Chrysler is planning to retire the Grand Caravan. Production of the Chrysler Town & Country has already ended. So get your 2017 Dodge Grand Caravan while you still can. Or maybe instead, get your all-new re-launched 2017 Chrysler Pacifica. Then you won’t have an obsolete minivan.

The Grand Caravan competes with the well-mannered Honda Odyssey and all-weather Toyota Sienna, both formidable opponents. Also the Nissan Quest and Kia Sedona. We think the Grand Caravan wins on value, if not specific qualities.

The 3.6-liter V6 makes 283 horsepower and is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission, with front-wheel drive. All-wheel-drive has not been available on the Grand Caravan for a decade, sacrificed for the Stow n’ Go system, which takes up the space that another driveshaft would need.

Grand Caravan gets an EPA-rated 17 miles per gallon City, 25 Highway, and 20 mpg combined. That’s not as good as Odyssey, but about the same as Sienna and Quest.

The Grand Caravan would be the big loser in a demolition derby with those rivals. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gives it four stars overall for crashworthiness, and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety calls it Poor in the challenging small-overlap crash test.

Model Lineup

It’s funny that Dodge calls its models Wagons. The most iconic minivan of all time doesn’t want to be seen as a minivan. There is the Grand Caravan Wagon SE and Wagon SE Plus ($24,995), the Wagon SXT ($30,395), and Wagon GT ($33,395).

Standard equipment on the SE includes side curtain airbags, and fold-down third-row seat, with the Stow ‘n Go fold-away system an option. The SE Plus adds Stow ‘n Go, and Bluetooth with audio streaming. The SXT gets a power eight-way driver seat, power sliding side doors, and power tailgate. The GT adds a rearview camera, leather interior, and remote start.

Blind-spot monitors are available.

There’s a cavalcade of available electronic equipment, including a media hard drive, navigation, satellite radio, Bluetooth, Blu-ray DVD entertainment system with USB ports for charging, and on-board data service via Chrysler’s UConnect Web. Never mind that the new Pacifica can do even more than that.

Walkaround

Compared to the lightning-bolted Odyssey and low-nosed Sienna, the Grand Caravan is plain and slab-sided. But it emphasizes glass over sheetmetal, so the outward visibility is very good. And the outline is functional and space-efficient, so the cabin is light and airy.

Interior

Chrysler’s fold-away second- and third-row seats are brilliant. The Stow ‘N Go seats fold flat into spaces in the floor, which are storage bins when the seats are up. The seat cushions are a bit thin and flat, but kids don’t complain about such things, and the tradeoff for Stow ‘n Go is worth it.

The Nissan Quest only has a fold-away third row, and its second row is fixed. The Odyssey and Sienna have fold-down second-row seats, and fold-away third row seats. So the Grand Caravan is the only one that can turn into a cargo van.

The interior textures give an impression of quality. The slim dash is low and uncluttered. The grainy plastic is saved for the back of the front seats, where it needs to be resistant to children bringing scuffmarks and sticky things.

The side door and tailgate can be power. The door will rebound if it hits something, for example a child’s arm, and it closes softly, as if they cared.

Driving Impressions

We’re not sure why, but the 3.6-liter V6 engine, with its 283 horsepower, is smoother in the Grand Caravan than it is in most other Chryslers. There’s just a touch of the V6 groans. Meanwhile there is an abundance of low- and mid-range power.

The steering and ride are not quite as good as the Honda Odyssey and leaner Nissan Quest, but the Grand Caravan feels composed enough at speed. However it bounds over small bumps in a series. The damping could and should be better.

Summary

Grab it while you can. Raise your family in it. Maintain it well and keep it until it dies of rust. That’s what a lot of people did 20 years ago, and it puts a smile on their faces to think about it.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Dodge Grand Caravan
581
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel