Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
20 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Dodgin’ Calls
August 17, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2017 Durango GT V6 AWD. Rides nice, stiff suspension when needed. Tows my 18 boat without any issues. Love the way it looks in silver with the blacked out rims. Tinted windows and some vent visors and it looks great. I average around 21MPG if I drive easy. If you push it harder you will get closer to 18MPG. Not bad for a bigger vehicle. Factory Ecopia tires are not good in snow or mud at all, but great on dry pavement.
Irvin Mc
July 08, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have a Citadel AWD 6cyl. I purchased this vehicle because of the safety features and its ability to tow 6,200 pounds. I traded a Chrysler 300 C which I loved, but it was time for a change. Thus far we truly like our Durango. I took a long look at the Pathfinder, but I am satisfied with my choice!
Andrea
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
27,221 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
After owning my Durango since october it has been nothing shy of exceptional. After a few issues that were taken care of swiftly and promptly the vehicle has been amazing. With the ability to seat 7 in my r/t model it fits all of my needs. If i need the room to transport large items the folding third row seat provides plenty of room. If we put people in the back row they fit comfortably. My husband is 6'2" and can comfortably sit in back. The warranty that Dodge offers is exceptional and competative to others. I love the hands free system, the backup camera is a big help, the hill start assist is a great feature to have if you live in a very hilly area, the complete hands free operation is one of the best features that the Durango has to offer. I chose this over similar vehicles due to the size and features. Its not to big and its not small.
Rich
January 09, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Weve owned our Durango GT for a yr now and we love it. Im not impressed with the fuel aconomy but overall were happy with our family vehicle.
Anonymous
January 03, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The car is very nice and seems to run smoothly. Love is as a family car, can be packed for hiking.
Cy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
16,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Dodge Durango is a great, reliable car. This is my second Durango. I feel safe in the car and it is very roomy.
tom
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 10, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
best vehicle I have ever owned,the performance and quality of the interior and exterior are excellent
Adam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 Dodge Durango GT has more technology and comfort than I even needed. The captains row, the 20 inch wheels, and the technology is outstanding. I recommend this vehicle highly.
Dave S
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 03, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Interior space is huge. Interior technology/convenience is outstanding. Vehicle ride and performance is great.
Patrick D
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
4,100 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great driving. Excellent in Winter. Best Features - Handling, comfort. Great sound system. There is nothing in the Durango that I don't like.
LARRY
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
2,235 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the exterior of my vehicle. I also really love the interior and the comfort I get while driving. It handles very well on the road. I really like the acceleration the vehicle has. The gas mileage is very good. The make up of the interior to include the entertainment is great.
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
8,600 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is powerful with great performance. Ride is very comfortable and solid. Interior is very nice and comfortable. Technology features are great (i.e. touch screen control, backup camera, auto start etc.) Styling is great, looks like a performance vehicle.
Jacklyn F.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
5,700 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My vehicle has lots of room inside and the leather is comfortable. I get great gas milage and my car drives real smooth.
Mitch
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 Durango is a very sporty option when considering a 3 row crossover. The back seat can handle a full grown adult (though I wouldn't want to sit back there for an extended trip). It feels a lot like the Jeep Grand Cherokee inside due to the shared materials and production line, though having had a 2016 Grand Cherokee, I can say the Jeep has a little more polish to the interior trim. The durango drives aggressively and feels great on the road. Cargo room is ample and the safety features are great. Great car!
Dawn
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
8,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car has the most bang for the buck! Drive is beautifully smooth and quiet. Plenty of room for antiquing with luxurious seating besides. We bought the dealer demo so it had some miles on it when we purchased it. Husband loves driving it and teens think it is definitely an upgrade from a minivan! Love, love, love it!
Texas
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 Dodge Durango Citadel Annodized Platinum has been great so far. We've been happy with the performance, ride, safety features, and styling of the vehicle. The adaptive cruise, lane deviation, and backing assist are great. The blind-spot detection is perfect. All of the safety technology features come as an extra packahe, but are well worth it...I would have still expected it as a standard with the top of the line version. The nav takes a bit of getting used to and the maps aren't that current. Also, while the leather vented seats are nice, they are quite firm...not as comfortable as I would have liked for a cross country trip. Also, the interior trim has had a couple of issues that we discovered only once we had guests riding in the back (head liner dropped a bit and no longer connected to the rear air conditioner ducts, and interior trim on back hatch popped off.
ISABEL
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is smooth, reliable, safe, and sleek... I am so happy with the choice I made, and it's worth every penny!!!!
Tony
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its great. Best Features - Gas
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great value for the lease price. Best features - interior. Worst features - navigation is not standard package
Kirk
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 17, 2017
6,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm very impressed with my new 2017 Dodge Durango R/T AWD, so much power and traction, love the engine rumble - I traded in a minivan, I bought the R/T version because I plan to tow a mid-size travel trailer for family camping events and this vehicle can town up to 7400lbs when equipped with the 5.7 Hemi and the towing package. It does not get great gas mileage around town, we're averaging around 13/14 MPG in the City, still better than the large SUV's I considered. I just finished a road trip all in around 2500 miles of driving. During this road trip I average 24 MPG, which is better than the advertised 22 MPG, we cruised between 75/85 mph most of the time, I love the Adaptive Cruse control feature, and this is my favorite tech feature - if you’re going to make this car your road trip car - I highly recommend it. The biggest Con for this vehicle is lack of storage - I went from a minivan with 17 cup holders to a cool car with less cup holders, slight adjustment - Not really. I love my new Durango R/T!
2017 Dodge 1052 Durango 29590 386111
Write a Review for the 2017 Dodge Durango
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2017 Dodge Durango is a five- or seven-seat SUV with a unibody frame, which by some definitions makes it a crossover, but it’s not. For one thing, it can tow up to 7400 pounds. But that whole crossover thing blurs. The Durango is much like its cousin the Jeep Grand Cherokee, and shares character with the Mercedes M- and GL-Class, none of which are what we’d call crossovers.

The refined but aging Durango’s direct competitors include full-size SUVs from Chevrolet, GMC, Ford and Lincoln, among others.

To say the Durango isn’t a crossover isn’t to suggest that it doesn’t have exceptionally nice road manners and contemporary styling, to complement its ruggedness. Too bad it doesn’t have good fuel mileage and crash-test ratings as well.

Base engine is Chrysler’s 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 making 290 or 295 horsepower with 260 pound-feet of torque, with an available 5.7-liter Hemi V8 making 360 hp and 390 lb-ft. Both engines use an 8-speed automatic transmission. The V6 can tow 6200 pounds; the V8 is loud.

All-wheel drive is available. The V8 gets a rugged two-speed transfer case, while the V6 uses a simpler single range electronic version.

For 2017, there are a few model changes. There’s a new Durango GT model that takes the place of the former Limited; the rearview camera adds the eminently helpful trailer view; the base SXT gets the option for third-row seating; and all models except the SXT get an 8.4-inch screen for the UConnect system with Bluetooth streaming audio that integrates audio, climate, phone, and vehicle functions.

The V6 Durango gets an EPA-estimated 19/26 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 21 mpg Combined with rear-wheel drive, or 18/25/21 mpg with all-wheel drive. The V8 is rated 14/22/17 mpg with all-wheel drive or rear-wheel drive. All come with the stop/start system that shuts off the engine at a stoplight.

The crash-test ratings are as middling as the fuel mileage, with four stars overall from NHTSA: three in rollover four all-wheel-drive models (four for rear-wheel-drive), four in frontal crash, and five in side crash. The IIHS gives it good scores in most of the tests, except for Marginal in the fearsome small-overlap.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Dodge Durango comes in SXT ($29,995), GT ($37,495), R/T ($42,095), and Citadel ($41,395) models. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.) All-wheel drive is optional ($2600); rear wheel drive is standard.

Standard equipment in the SXT includes six airbags, full power, air conditioning, cruise control, 18-inch wheels, tilt/telescope steering wheel, an AM/FM stereo, USB port and aux jack. No rearview camera, although it’s standard on the other models. Also standard on other models is the UConnect infotainment system with 8.4-inch display screen.

New for 2017, the Citadel comes with Nappa leather.

Options include an Alpine audio system, blind-spot monitors, adaptive cruise control, forward-collision warning that can bring the vehicle to a complete stop at slow speeds, heated front seats, third-row seat, satellite radio, 115-volt outlet, and 20-inch wheels. Second-row captain’s chairs are also available, along with a power sunroof, power tailgate, Beats by Dr. Dre audio system with 10 speakers and subwoofer, and HDMI and Blu-ray rear entertainment system.

Walkaround

The Durango is classy, despite its huge in-your-face grille and boxy profile with conservative flat sheetmetal. From the rear, you wouldn’t say it looks like a truck, although you won’t mistake it for anything else. Monochrome trim and a twin exhaust give it some sport.

Interior

If there’s any doubt about the Durango’s personality from the outside, it’s dispelled by the inside. The tightly sealed cabin is rich but subtle, quiet and refined, feeling like a luxury SUV, like its foreign ancestor the Mercedes ML. The flowing dash is covered in soft-touch materials and displays metallic-ringed gauges and a bright 8.4-inch infotainment touchscreen on most models (SXT uses a 5.0-inch touchscreen). The R/T shows off leather upholstery with woven red inserts and red stitching.

Front passengers have it good, with well-bolstered cloth seats and a driving position that works for all sizes. The leather seats are flatter than the cloth, so if you like sporty driving it’s something to consider.

Three adults fit comfortably in the second row, with available captain’s chairs for two individuals, with a low console with one cupholder between them. There’s an optional larger console with two cupholders, 12-volt outlet and USB port we recommend getting.

The third-row seat is standard except on the SXT, where it’s optional. It actually fits two adults, eminently usable compared to its competitors, although it’s a bit difficult to climb back there. It’s split 50/50 and folds, although not into the floor like the Chrysler’s Pacifica minivan, which might be a better option if it’s a people-carrier you need more than a tow vehicle. But when the Durango’s second row is folded there’s 84.5 cubic feet of space, room enough for a six-foot couch and a coffee table, or a stack of 10-foot-long two-by-fours.

The rear visibility is hindered by wide roof pillars, so with the SXT, the rearview camera option is a must.

Driving Impressions

We’ve said the Durango isn’t a crossover, but it drives like one, when it’s not towing like an SUV. The independent suspension provides a supple and well-damped ride, even without an air suspension, although there’s some head toss on patchy pavement. The steering is heavy but precise, and the brakes are big and secure for towing.

If you do tow a lot, even though the V6 can do 6200 pounds, the muscular Hemi V8 might be a better choice, for its additional torque; it can tow with the best of them, including some Ram 1500 pickup trucks. The 8-speed transmission works for towing even with its wide ratios and some models even have paddle-shifters to complement the standard rotary dial.

Summary

There is a lot of competition in the large SUV class, and the Durango is getting a bit long in the tooth. Its powertrain, ride and handling hold their own, while the cabin and especially third-row seat are pluses, although fuel mileage and crashworthiness aren’t.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with staff reports from The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Dodge Durango
603
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel