2017 Dodge Durango Reviews and Ratings

R/T RWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Dodge Durango.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (15)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Adam Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 8:50am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.8 / 5
The 2017 Dodge Durango GT has more technology and comfort than I even needed. The captains row, the 20 inch wheels, and the technology is outstanding. I recommend this vehicle highly.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Dave S Saturday, September 2, 2017 - 5:36pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Interior space is huge. Interior technology/convenience is outstanding. Vehicle ride and performance is great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By ISABEL Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 8:04am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is smooth, reliable, safe, and sleek... I am so happy with the choice I made, and it's worth every penny!!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:28pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Its great. Best Features - Gas
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Patrick D Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 11:18am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great driving. Excellent in Winter. Best Features - Handling, comfort. Great sound system. There is nothing in the Durango that I don't like.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 7:43am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
It truly is a great vehicle for its size. Smooth ride and fuel efficient. The automatic shut off is a little bit of a pain.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, August 18, 2017 - 2:17pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
great value for the lease price. Best features - interior. Worst features - navigation is not standard package
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Texas Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 12:14pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The 2017 Dodge Durango Citadel Annodized Platinum has been great so far. We've been happy with the performance, ride, safety features, and styling of the vehicle. The adaptive cruise, lane deviation, and backing assist are great. The blind-spot detection is perfect. All of the safety technology features come as an extra packahe, but are well worth it...I would have still expected it as a standard with the top of the line version. The nav takes a bit of getting used to and the maps aren't that current. Also, while the leather vented seats are nice, they are quite firm...not as comfortable as I would have liked for a cross country trip. Also, the interior trim has had a couple of issues that we discovered only once we had guests riding in the back (head liner dropped a bit and no longer connected to the rear air conditioner ducts, and interior trim on back hatch popped off.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dawn Monday, August 21, 2017 - 1:09pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car has the most bang for the buck! Drive is beautifully smooth and quiet. Plenty of room for antiquing with luxurious seating besides. We bought the dealer demo so it had some miles on it when we purchased it. Husband loves driving it and teens think it is definitely an upgrade from a minivan! Love, love, love it!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Eric Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 6:36pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
So far I have enjoyed driving the Durango. I have used it on long road trips and the car handles very nicely and is very comfortable. The vehicle has a large cargo area especially when the third row seats are down and still adequate storage when the seats are up. I do enjoy all the features the car has with the exception of one. For better gas mileage the vehicle shuts itself off when the car has come to a complete stop. When you release your foot off of the brake it turns back on. I have not enjoyed this feature as sometimes the car turns back on without me releasing the brake and sometimes it is a little shaky when you come to a stop and immediately release your foot from the brake. You can shut this feature off but must do so every time you turn the car on. Other than this one feature the car is great. It gets decent gas mileage for a larger vehicle. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to others.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Amanda Friday, July 28, 2017 - 5:13pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The 2017 Dodge Durango is a very reliable and comfortable vehicle. Has some great features but also lacks some important ones
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Kirk Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 6:22pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I'm very impressed with my new 2017 Dodge Durango R/T AWD, so much power and traction, love the engine rumble - I traded in a minivan, I bought the R/T version because I plan to tow a mid-size travel trailer for family camping events and this vehicle can town up to 7400lbs when equipped with the 5.7 Hemi and the towing package. It does not get great gas mileage around town, we're averaging around 13/14 MPG in the City, still better than the large SUV's I considered. I just finished a road trip all in around 2500 miles of driving. During this road trip I average 24 MPG, which is better than the advertised 22 MPG, we cruised between 75/85 mph most of the time, I love the Adaptive Cruse control feature, and this is my favorite tech feature - if you’re going to make this car your road trip car - I highly recommend it. The biggest Con for this vehicle is lack of storage - I went from a minivan with 17 cup holders to a cool car with less cup holders, slight adjustment - Not really. I love my new Durango R/T!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lisa Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 8:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We were wanting to find a vehicle that we would love after driving a Chevy Suburban for the last 10 years without feeling like we were losing tons of space and comfort. We have never felt like we are missing space with our new Durango because it has many options to give you extra space if you need it. I feel like I am driving a car instead of an SUV. We love it!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, August 10, 2017 - 3:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Car performs well not maintenance problems drives and runs great. Pros: engine power technology look of interior and exterior. Cons: no complaints what so ever actually surprised how much I love this vehicle
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Hugh Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 10:10am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I have owned 5 different SUV's and mini vans. Dodge has earned my business for a second time. I purchased R/T model which provides excitement and power beyond other models. I recommend the R/T with the 5.7 HEMI and technology group. Exhilarating ride and experience. I pull a 25-foot RV at 5k lbs and it handles very well with load leveling and sway control. The adaptive cruise control and lane sensing are just short of autonomous driving. I can adjust distance the vehicle maintains to cars ahead of it. It will apply brakes if needed and get quite aggressive with braking to keep gap if someone darts in front of you. I have great confidence in how it works. I makes many of the decisions I would just a split-second sooner. Hit a deer at 60mph towing a 25 foot RV at night. The vehicle could have done a lot wrong. It did not. Avoid a catastrophe. We were able to drive home with minimal impact to systems. Repair costs were for the driver side fender bumper and door. $7k to fix. No regrets.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Dodge Durango
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Dodge Durango is a five- or seven-seat SUV with a unibody frame, which by some definitions makes it a crossover, but it’s not. For one thing, it can tow up to 7400 pounds. But that whole crossover thing blurs. The Durango is much like its cousin the Jeep Grand Cherokee, and shares character with the Mercedes M- and GL-Class, none of which are what we’d call crossovers.

The refined but aging Durango’s direct competitors include full-size SUVs from Chevrolet, GMC, Ford and Lincoln, among others.

To say the Durango isn’t a crossover isn’t to suggest that it doesn’t have exceptionally nice road manners and contemporary styling, to complement its ruggedness. Too bad it doesn’t have good fuel mileage and crash-test ratings as well.

Base engine is Chrysler’s 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 making 290 or 295 horsepower with 260 pound-feet of torque, with an available 5.7-liter Hemi V8 making 360 hp and 390 lb-ft. Both engines use an 8-speed automatic transmission. The V6 can tow 6200 pounds; the V8 is loud.

All-wheel drive is available. The V8 gets a rugged two-speed transfer case, while the V6 uses a simpler single range electronic version.

For 2017, there are a few model changes. There’s a new Durango GT model that takes the place of the former Limited; the rearview camera adds the eminently helpful trailer view; the base SXT gets the option for third-row seating; and all models except the SXT get an 8.4-inch screen for the UConnect system with Bluetooth streaming audio that integrates audio, climate, phone, and vehicle functions.

The V6 Durango gets an EPA-estimated 19/26 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 21 mpg Combined with rear-wheel drive, or 18/25/21 mpg with all-wheel drive. The V8 is rated 14/22/17 mpg with all-wheel drive or rear-wheel drive. All come with the stop/start system that shuts off the engine at a stoplight.

The crash-test ratings are as middling as the fuel mileage, with four stars overall from NHTSA: three in rollover four all-wheel-drive models (four for rear-wheel-drive), four in frontal crash, and five in side crash. The IIHS gives it good scores in most of the tests, except for Marginal in the fearsome small-overlap.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Dodge Durango comes in SXT ($29,995), GT ($37,495), R/T ($42,095), and Citadel ($41,395) models. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.) All-wheel drive is optional ($2600); rear wheel drive is standard.

Standard equipment in the SXT includes six airbags, full power, air conditioning, cruise control, 18-inch wheels, tilt/telescope steering wheel, an AM/FM stereo, USB port and aux jack. No rearview camera, although it’s standard on the other models. Also standard on other models is the UConnect infotainment system with 8.4-inch display screen.

New for 2017, the Citadel comes with Nappa leather.

Options include an Alpine audio system, blind-spot monitors, adaptive cruise control, forward-collision warning that can bring the vehicle to a complete stop at slow speeds, heated front seats, third-row seat, satellite radio, 115-volt outlet, and 20-inch wheels. Second-row captain’s chairs are also available, along with a power sunroof, power tailgate, Beats by Dr. Dre audio system with 10 speakers and subwoofer, and HDMI and Blu-ray rear entertainment system.

Walkaround

The Durango is classy, despite its huge in-your-face grille and boxy profile with conservative flat sheetmetal. From the rear, you wouldn’t say it looks like a truck, although you won’t mistake it for anything else. Monochrome trim and a twin exhaust give it some sport.

Interior

If there’s any doubt about the Durango’s personality from the outside, it’s dispelled by the inside. The tightly sealed cabin is rich but subtle, quiet and refined, feeling like a luxury SUV, like its foreign ancestor the Mercedes ML. The flowing dash is covered in soft-touch materials and displays metallic-ringed gauges and a bright 8.4-inch infotainment touchscreen on most models (SXT uses a 5.0-inch touchscreen). The R/T shows off leather upholstery with woven red inserts and red stitching.

Front passengers have it good, with well-bolstered cloth seats and a driving position that works for all sizes. The leather seats are flatter than the cloth, so if you like sporty driving it’s something to consider.

Three adults fit comfortably in the second row, with available captain’s chairs for two individuals, with a low console with one cupholder between them. There’s an optional larger console with two cupholders, 12-volt outlet and USB port we recommend getting.

The third-row seat is standard except on the SXT, where it’s optional. It actually fits two adults, eminently usable compared to its competitors, although it’s a bit difficult to climb back there. It’s split 50/50 and folds, although not into the floor like the Chrysler’s Pacifica minivan, which might be a better option if it’s a people-carrier you need more than a tow vehicle. But when the Durango’s second row is folded there’s 84.5 cubic feet of space, room enough for a six-foot couch and a coffee table, or a stack of 10-foot-long two-by-fours.

The rear visibility is hindered by wide roof pillars, so with the SXT, the rearview camera option is a must.

Driving Impressions

We’ve said the Durango isn’t a crossover, but it drives like one, when it’s not towing like an SUV. The independent suspension provides a supple and well-damped ride, even without an air suspension, although there’s some head toss on patchy pavement. The steering is heavy but precise, and the brakes are big and secure for towing.

If you do tow a lot, even though the V6 can do 6200 pounds, the muscular Hemi V8 might be a better choice, for its additional torque; it can tow with the best of them, including some Ram 1500 pickup trucks. The 8-speed transmission works for towing even with its wide ratios and some models even have paddle-shifters to complement the standard rotary dial.

Summary

There is a lot of competition in the large SUV class, and the Durango is getting a bit long in the tooth. Its powertrain, ride and handling hold their own, while the cabin and especially third-row seat are pluses, although fuel mileage and crashworthiness aren’t.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with staff reports from The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Dodge Durango R/T RWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.