Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
21 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Mike
January 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Stevefitzsmith
July 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car offers more for the money than any other car on the market with comparable size, power and features. It offers more than Maserati Ghibli''s and Quattroportes at half the price and with better quality and significantly lower maintenance costs.
N0 other car offers 485 Hp, 475 lb ft of Torque, 0-60 in 3-4 sec range, True Race Track Performance Adjustability on shift points and suspension settings, the latest Audio Features with Apple &Android Car Play , Satellite Radio/Navigation, Blind Spot, Lane Change, Auto Braking, etc.. IT''S AN AWESOME CAR and HOLDS GREAT RESALE VALUE!!
Benny
April 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I only have 2k miles on mine since I bought it. All I can say is WOW! The sound, the experience, the features...It''s everything you''d want in a car. Especially one that is very drivable, hauls 5 people in comfort, a huge trunk and, surprisingly, I get about 23-26mpg highway...which I think is ridiculous for a 700+HP car
GoFaster
March 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is an awesome machine. The Daytona 392 is the most powerful vehicle I''ve owned. It does top out at 150 MPH. The ride quality is so awesome. It doesn''t "float" at high speed. It just feels great. And stopping... it''ll stop on a dime and give you change back.
I had an 06 SRT Charger that was great, but this one blows that away.
military1us
February 26, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2017 scat pack, however the mileage is horrible. But hey you got to pay to play!!!
Anonymous
February 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mopar John
October 20, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best performance sedan on the market. It''s thirsty but the FUN FACTOR is more than worth the price. Best handling and braking charger I''ve had. I''ve had 4 now.
Beth
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 11, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Daytona is fast! Now, with a 6 speed transmission, it is also smooth. I've owned two SRT8 Chargers and this Daytona is the first one I have not altered the exhaust or the stereo system. The factory exhaust is loud and the Beats stereo system sounds awesome. Chargers are reliable. I like that they are muscle cars with 4 doors. Having 4 doors when you have children is a must for me. I've always loved the interior design of chargers. The Daytona has custom black suede seating with gold stitching. I was surprised with the amount of safety features. I'm still discovering new features! I am a Charger driver for life!
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The first thing I look for in a vehicle is performance...can the car get me out of trouble when needed. My new Dodge Charger meets this need very well...great acceleration, braking and steering. In addition, the car has very good features inside and out, is pleasing to the eyes, and is comfortable to drive. Gas mileage is good, considering the performance mentioned and I haven't had any problems to this point. I'm quite pleased with my selection and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a performance car that will comfortably fit 5 passengers.
Chris L.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
3,800 miles
|
Owned 7 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
When i purchased my 2017 Dodge Charger Daytona 392, i did so because it offered the best features with the cheapest price. As i owned the vehicle i quickly realized that the vehicle was poorly built and Dodge Customer Service was horrible both at the dealership and corporate level. The vehicle had soft aluminum rims that had damage when shipped because of the tie down straps used on them. Dodge took zero responsibility for it and the dealership said i should of noticed it prior to purchasing it. Never again will I own a Fiat/Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep product and have since sold the Charger and purchased a new GMC SLE Elevation package pickup.
GP
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought a more basic model Charger with V6, extremely pleased with the power, suspension, fuel mileage and interior comfort. Best purchase I've made in a long time.
Amanda M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 08, 2017
3,568 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The gas mileage is exceptional. I have driven a lot of sedans in the past and this has been the best on gas mileage so far. It is sleek and sporty with the comfortness of a luxury sedan. It is a family car for us and there is plenty of seating room in the back seat for teenagers with lots of leg room in the front.
kevin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great power, plenty of interior space and great entertainment system. Best Features - Cooled seats, large touch screen, heated rear seats w/ usb chargers.
Anna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
9,100 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2017 Dodge Charger is a smooth, roomy and economical car. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
Ricardo H.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice looking car sounds great! Muscle car sedan, interior is nice the Daytona is back! Only problem V8 burns gas like crazy!
Josh
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 Dodge Charger 392 is the perfect balance for performance, technology, and interior space. Highly recommend as a daily driver.
Bob S
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
2,100 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I own a 2017 340 Daytona. This car is flat out a blast to drive with tons of style and technology at a great price. It's got plenty of horsepower and with the sportpac, tempts you to push it a bit. Dodge got it right with this car !!! Sorry bow tie and pony lovers !! I love my Mopar !
Dean
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
fun to drive, comfortable, quick response like the sleek exterior of the car and the new color. Octane Red
Kurt
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car. I love it. Driving from Tennessee to Yellowstone and back I averaged 35 mpg with the 3.6L V6 engine.
Pete
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2017 Dodge Charger Sact Pack / Destroyer Gray This car is a beast. It performs well and I love to drive it. I would recommend this car to anybody that is looking for a 4 door sedan for a family car.
Neftali O
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,700 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would give 5 stars to my vehicle but the warranty of 5 year/ 60,000 mile warranty is unacceptable. It seems that Dodge cannot guarantee the vehicle for 100,000 and can only do it for 60,000. The appearance and style is excellent!! The response and performance is great!! My only drawback is the mileage warranty.
2017 Dodge 1052 Charger 29667 386902
Write a Review for the 2017 Dodge Charger
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Dodge Charger rear-wheel-drive sedan is about the closest thing America has to an old-school muscle car, while now being comfortable and user friendly, with modern technology.

For 2015, it was refreshed at every body panel except the roof and rear doors, but its design remains retro as intended. The 2017 Charger upgrades the infotainment system with an improved touchscreen with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. New wheels and retro hound’s-tooth upholstery are also available on 2017 Dodge Chargers.

Base engine is a responsive 3.6-liter V6 making 292 horsepower, followed by a 5.7-liter V8 making 370 horsepower, a 6.4-liter V8 making 485 hp, and last but clearly not least is the horsepower king, the SRT Hellcat, a supercharged 6.2-liter V8 making 707 humongous horsepower. It will go 204 miles per hour. It’s surprisingly composed for a beast.

Charger V6 models use an 8-speed automatic, and have available all-wheel drive. Acceleration is quick enough to stay ahead of traffic.

Charger V8 versions, also with an 8-speed automatic, bring enough acceleration to enable relaxed passing at just half throttle.

The base models are beautifully finished for the money, but if it’s luxury you need, maybe you should look at the Chrysler 300, which shares the Charger platform and powertrains.

Fuel economy for the Charger V6 with rear-wheel drive is an EPA-estimated 19/30 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined. V8 models with cylinder deactivation get 19 mpg EPA Combined, while the Hellcat gets 16 mpg Combined.

The Charger gets five stars in safety from NHTSA, while the IIHS gives it the highest score in every category, including rollover and side impact, but a Marginal in the small front-overlap crash test. Standard safety features include airbags for the driver’s knee and full-length curtain airbags, as well as active head restrains in front. But a rearview camera isn’t standard on the base model, only upper trim levels. Features including rear cross-traffic alert, blind-spot monitors, lane departure warning with lane-keep assist, forward collision warning, adaptive cruise control and automatic emergency braking are optional, or come with packages and higher trims.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Dodge Charger SE and SXT come with 292-hp V6 engines. Charger SE comes with touchscreen audio, power driver’s seat and keyless ignition. The SXT adds heated seats, an 8.4-inch infotainment system and WiFi hotspot (with subscription), and 18-inch alloy wheels. The Rallye Group option adds cold air intake and dual exhaust that increase horsepower to 300 on Charger SE and Charger SXT.

Charger R/T comes with a 370-hp 5.7-liter V8. A Scat Pack for the R/T takes the bigger, 6.4-liter V8 of the SRT392, making 485 horsepower. Charger SRT392 adds luxury, as well as a three-mode adaptive suspension. Charger SRT Hellcat features the supercharged 6.2-liter V8 with 707 horsepower.

Walkaround

The Charger shape might harken back to the sixties, but its short overhangs and big wheels are contemporary. The 2015 refreshing didn’t alter the length, but made it appear more compact and aggressive, with blunt front and rear ends. The rear flanks appear smoother and less bulbous, and the wrap to big LED taillamps is slightly tapered.

The profile hasn’t changed much in 10 years. The view from the side is of swollen rear fenders, a high beltline, and pillars with hard edges.

In front the nose is low, while a black grille and headlamp surround gives it a storm-trooper look. The racetrack taillamps date to the sixties (although not LED back then); red light piping shapes an outline around the rear end. The smooth rear bumper integrates the tailpipes nicely.

Each model has its own tweaks. We like the R/T’s balance of aggression and restraint.

Interior

The big Charger is comfortable for four, although the rear seat is tighter than might be expected from a full-size sedan, although the space to stretch is decent. The high window line limits visibility, but the upright packaging results in good headroom. The wide front seats with aggressive bolstering are race-inspired. The available retro hounds-tooth cloth upholstery isn’t. But Nappa leather is also available.

The interior is simple, but rates a 7 for comfort, quality and technology. The surfacing is subtle, with soft-touch materials and trim accents in matte metallic. A 7.0-inch display screen is standard on the SE, while other models use the Chrysler 8.4-inch touchscreen. The Charger is let down in upper models that don’t upgrade the dashboard, center console, and door materials that are okay at $35,000 in the SXT, but not at $55,000 in the SRT.

The interior is quiet, while allowing the satisfying soft rumble of the Hemi V8 into the cabin.

Driving Impressions

We give the Charger top marks in the driving department, for the brilliant balance it strikes between performance and livability, even though the superb 8-speed automatic transmission is let down by a balky gear lever.

You don’t have to spend a lot of money for good speed, because the V6 is quick enough. The 3.6-liter in the SE and SXT brings 292 horsepower with 260 pound-feet of torque. The 6.4-liter V8 is much stronger than the 5.7, bringing zero-to-sixty time in about 4.5 seconds. As for the Hellcat, it’s the same engine in the Challenger Hellcat, but it’s even quicker, with zero to sixty in 3.7 seconds, all the way up to 204 mph.

Handling in the Charger is capable and composed, with remarkable control given the girth of 4000 pounds in the SE to 4500 pounds in the Hellcat. That’s thanks partly to accurate and nicely weighted steering. Suspension upgrades tighten things, although the Hellcat is already stiff.

The SRT models use huge Brembo brakes with six-piston calipers in front, and a multi-mode adaptive damping suspension that enables better control without that hurting the ride in town. All but the base R/T use modes enabling the driver to set the steering and throttle response.

Summary

If it’s a retro muscle car you want, and you’re a MoPar fan, the Charger won’t disappoint you. It maintains its classic looks, has a clean interior, and brings excellent powertrains, including a superb 8-speed automatic. The 3.6-liter can make 300 horsepower, and the Hellcat with its supercharged 707-horsepower Hemi is the ultimate.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports by The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Dodge Charger
556
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel