2017 Dodge Challenger Reviews and Ratings

T/A 392 Coupe

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Dodge Challenger.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (20)
Overall Rating
  4.9 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.9 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Anonymous 9/19/2017 1:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Awesome car will not disappointed
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Calvin H. 9/19/2017 9:24:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my Dodge Challenger, it is sporty and most of all living in Michigan it has AWD a first for this type of vehicle. I purchased the GT Model which is equipped with the V6 engine, it is still very fast and stylist, however cost effective to insure. The interior is awesome and the features are user friendly.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brett 9/12/2017 4:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
This is a very fast car. Not an everyday car. If you want a super fast car. This is the one! Comes in great colors!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sharpie 9/9/2017 7:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Awesome car, this is my second Challenger and I upgraded from the 5.7L HEMI to the 6.4L HEMI scat pack and it's so worth it! Glad Dodge still offers a manual gearbox, as both cars were manual. I wish Dodge would offer the HEMI Header Orange more often, it was so hard to give it up from my 2014 Challenger. The newer design of the 2017 has made great interior upgrades and way better sounding exhaust! It's so fun to drive, and already got me pulled over since it's so powerful! The only thing I wish I had was a little more headroom since I'm 6'5"" and I couldn't get one with all the options I wanted without a sunroof and that take about 3 to 4 inches of headroom.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Larry 9/2/2017 5:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have had this vehicle now for about 4 months, and i just love it. To start I like the Dodge Challenger to begin with, I feel that it still holds the ""Muscle Car"" look, with providing great safety features and great gas mileage. I also like the technology features in it too; you can connect your phone via bluetooth and are able to make call or even listen to your favorite music while driving. My other favorite feature is the navigation, i did not need to buy my own navigation system or use my phone, i can just enter in the address to where i need to go and then proceed my way there. I can even use the voice commands to find a place and then command it to input and all with out touching the screen.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Glenn 9/1/2017 4:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Did a lot of comparing of muscle cars and wanted one that could feel like a muscle yet be able to take a back passenger on occasion without having to amputate their legs. The 2017 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Shaker 392 fir the bill. It has plenty of power for the street, gets decent mileage for a big Hemi (better than the smaller Hemi in my Durango). It leaves me with a smile on my face when I drive it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Michele 8/27/2017 10:58:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Gets great gas mileage, a fun car that is practical with awd. The technology package and options are well worth it. It is a comfortable ride.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Brian P. 8/25/2017 7:29:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my car, you would love it too, the performance is great. it goes from 0 to hair blowing back in 5 seconds
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Barrett 8/23/2017 5:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Since purchasing my car, I've had nothing but satisfaction when driving it. The performance is there, the power is enough to satisfy my every day driving as well as a little extra fun, and it catches the eye of many people. If you're looking for a vehicle that begs to be driven, this is well worth the buy!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ronnie F. 8/23/2017 3:17:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
One of the best vehicles, and certainly the best looking vehicles i've owned. You will not regret this purchase.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Les 8/22/2017 4:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Outstanding power and performance at a reasonable price. Best Features - Amazingly responsive engine and transmission. Worst Features - poor visibility
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mark 8/21/2017 7:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great sports car and head turner - if you like muscle cars. The car is roomy for a coupe and has great power. The technology is great in the car . Fun car to drive....
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Allan 8/21/2017 3:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The Dodge Challenger HellCat is the baddest rod on the road. Insane power, excellent features and styling. Anyone that craves excitement is in for a thrill with this ride. 707 insane tire burning horsepower. No one needs this but EVERYONE wants one!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By NUR V 8/21/2017 1:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY CAR FINALLY I HAVE MY DREAM CAR I LOVE THE COLOR AND LOOK ALWAYS WANT THIS CAR THANK YOU
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ronnie M 8/19/2017 11:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
2017 Dodge Hellcat Challenger. What can I say besides AMAZING! Ride quality is better than my new Cadillac. Solid feel, roomy interior, true to its original style. Fastest car Ive ever owned. If you are on the fence, get one! You wont regret it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jenifer 8/9/2017 12:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I bought my husband a Dodge Challenger Hellcat as an early graduation gift; it is not everyday that someone goes back to school to switch careers from IT to the health care industry & requires a lot of hard work on his part so I thought he deserved an exceptional gift for this accomplishment. And oh my does that car epitomize the word ""exceptional""! He had a base model Challenger V6 years ago and though there are some similarities in styling with the Hellcat that's where it ends. The Hellcat has a luxuriously styled and comfortable interior and the exterior is very attractive and handsome in a masculine way. From a performance standpoint the car is so fast & powerful it is to be feared and respected; I get nervous driving it with the black key (500 hp) and I don't think I will ever try the red key lol. But at the same time it is a very smooth ride and handles wonderfully on the road. The engineering and design of this car is amazing and redefines the standard of the American muscle car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jack 8/7/2017 3:35:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my Hellcat! It is a blast to drive and couples performance with the latest technology.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Margo 8/2/2017 3:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We love our Dodge Challenger! The new all wheel drive was a huge selling point for travel. Body style is great and reminds us of the past. Great power and comfort!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Alex 7/28/2017 7:26:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best muscle car ever Big Bang for you buck. Love the car an so do my family and friends and the color is exquisite.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By melissa 7/28/2017 4:24:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
absolutely LOVE My Challenger - love how it handles love how it looks love everything about it
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Dodge Challenger
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The rear-wheel-drive two-door Dodge Challenger is a beast that competes with the Ford Mustang and Chevy Camaro.

There’s something undeniably great about the Challenger. There is nothing subtle about it, from its wide tires to an available purple paint job. It’s meant to go fast and attract attention. It can be a monster in a straight line, and goes around corners well enough to be acceptable. After all, the chassis has been around for nearly two decades.

Judged objectively, the Challenger can’t run with these smaller, nimbler and more graceful cars. But in the world of muscle cars, it’s about brand loyalty. A MoPar guy just isn’t going to buy a Ford or Chevy, at least not without feeling like a turncoat. The comparisons will and should continue, but we doubt if they’ll have much effect on buyers.

Base engine is the SXT’s 3.6-liter V6 making 305 horsepower and 268 pound-feet of torque, followed by the Challenger R/T’s 5.7-liter Hemi V8 with 375 horsepower and 410 pound-feet of torque. The R/T Scat Pack and SRT 392 use a 6.4-liter Hemi V8 making 485 horsepower and 475 pound-feet. Finally there’s the Challenger Hellcat’s supercharged 6.2-liter V8 making a mind-blowing 707 horsepower and 650 pound-feet of torque. It’s the most powerful American car in history. It can blast down the quarter-mile in 11.2 seconds and hit a top speed of 200 mph. Take that, Mustang and Camaro.

The standard transmission in the Challenger is an 8-speed automatic, but the V8s can come with a 6-speed manual. The R/T and SRT are opposite.

For 2017, the Hellcat gets new wheels, and all models except the base SXT get infotainment upgrades with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. In the center of the steering wheel on SRT models, there’s now a white LED logo for Hellcats and red one for 392s. Other than that there are no real changes for 2017.

A Challenger V6 achieves an EPA-rated 30 miles per gallon Highway, and the V8s can get 25 mpg.

In crash testing, the NHTSA gives Challenger five stars overall, with four stars for frontal collision and rollover. The IIHS gives top Good scores for moderate overlap front and side impacts, but only Marginal in the difficult small-overlap front collision test, with Acceptable grades for roof strength head restraint security. Automatic emergency braking isn’t available on the Challenger.

Model Lineup

2017 Dodge Challenger models include the SXT ($26,995), R/T ($31,995), R/T Scat Pack ($37,995), SRT 392 ($49,195), and SRT Hellcat ($62,495). (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Standard equipment on Challenger SXT includes dual-zone automatic climate control, 7.0-inch TFT display screen, a 5.0-inch infotainment system, Bluetooth, power driver’s seat, leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, automatic headlights, 18-inch alloy wheels. SXT Plus ($3,000) adds Nappa leather, 20-inch alloy wheels, rearview camera, heated steering wheel, air conditioned seats, Alpine audio system, and 8.4-inch infotainment system.

R/T models get bigger brakes, rear spoiler, and an optional power bulge shaker hood with a cutout that reveals the Hemi engine ($4000).

SXT and R/T models are available with a Blacktop appearance package with 20-inch black alloy wheels, glossy black grille, satin black finishes on the spoiler and fuel door, a dual stripe, fog lamps, racy steering wheel with paddle shifters, black cloth upholstery, or available Nappa leather in Plus models.

Overall, there are 10 trim choices and many stand-alone options, including synthetic suede upholstery, adaptive cruise control, a forward-collision warning system, blind-spot monitors, and cross-traffic alerts.

Walkaround

The Challenger is a retro design all the way, with shapes that date to the original car from 45 years ago. The 2017 car looks very similar to the 2008 model that marked the rebirth of the Challenger. The Shaker hood with the power bulge is totally throwback to the Sixties.

Interior

Even the hounds tooth cloth trim, optional on the SXT and R/T, is throwback. Like the 1971 Challenger, the center console rises on the passenger side. Otherwise the Challenger feels like a luxury coupe inside. There’s a high-tech 7.0-inch customizable instrument cluster TFT screen, and an optional 8.4-inch touchscreen with sharpened resolution and quicker software for infotainment.

Acoustic glass and heavy sound insulation keep the cabin noise down even with high-performance tires. The Hemi’s engine noise enters the cabin, but being able to hear the engine is a good thing.

The front seats would be at home in a Mercedes, especially when they’re Nappa leather. Not so the rear seat, where there’s room for three (for short periods of time), but there’s less headroom than the Challenger’s size would suggest. And climbing in through the front doors takes some contortion.

The trunk is nearly huge, at 16.2 cubic feet, more space than some midsize sedans. It’s wide, long and shallow, able to fit several large suitcases, making this muscle car a good traveling car.

The thick roof pillars and high beltline detract from visibility, and a rearview camera isn’t standard on the base SXT.

Driving Impressions

Challenger’s 3.6-liter V6 makes 305 horsepower and 268 pound-feet of torque with the 8-speed automatic, with enough oomph to feel like a muscle car, never short on acceleration for passing.

The different models have different suspension setups, so they ride and handle differently, but any Challenger is stable and predictable even on twisty roads. The SXT and R/T offer a ride that’s almost luxurious, on their taller sidewalls.

Muscle cars are hardly known for cornering, but the Challenger SXT is firm enough to do that fairly well. A Challenger isn’t as quick-handling as a Mustang or Camaro, but the electric power steering is accurate and nicely weighted. It can be driven quickly.

The Hellcat is very easy to drive for a car with such a humongous amount of horsepower. Its power steering is hydraulic, which gives it more road feel, while its 4500 pounds gives it a feeling that’s anything but delicate. The Hellcat dampers are high-tech Bilsteins, but there’s an available adaptive suspension whose Normal mode isn’t much firmer than the standard SXT. Optional Pirelli P Zero performance tires give the Hellcat heaps of grip on dry pavement, but they’re scary on snow or ice. Big Brembo brakes inspire about as much confidence as you can have in a 4500-pound car that can go 200 miles per hour.

Our seat time in the Hellcat included one 30-minute blast at daybreak on a remote Oregon road that twisted upward into the mountains. We didn’t pass a single car in either direction. We drove it like we stole it, which to say almost as fast as we could without risking tossing it over a cliff. We reached the small town for coffee in about half the time it took 24 other autojournos driving different high-performance cars, and our smile was twice as broad. Mind-blowing acceleration out of corners and a quick-shifting 8-speed automatic transmission will do that to you. The Hellcat was indeed a beast, but we were almost amazed by how composed it remained.

Summary

If you need to justify the Challenger, start with the supercharged 707-horsepower Hellcat. After that, it’s only because it’s a MoPar. The Hemi engines are good, but so are Ford and Chevy V8s. The V6 is good too, but a V6 Challenger has to be all about looks. The handling is eminently better than back in the original muscle car days. Neither the 8-speed automatic nor 6-speed manual transmission will disappoint.

Sam Moses wrote this review, with staff reports by The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Dodge Challenger T/A 392 Coupe local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.