2017 Chevrolet Trax Reviews and Ratings

AWD 4dr LT

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Trax.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.6 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Laura R Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 10:37am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
The 2017 Chevy Trax, for me, is like the SUV version of a Chevy Cavalier. I purchased 3 different Cavalier's in my lifetime, and when I heard these cars were discontinued, I knew that I was going to have to look for a replacement. Now that I'm in my late 30's, the time came for a new vehicle and my lifestyle demands more cargo space. The Trax fits me EXACTLY, and I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Sue Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 12:11pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Im very happy with the comfort. I love the trunk space. Gas milage is awesome . I have gone from 17 miles to the gallon with my old vehile to almost 30 miles to the gallon now. I love the back up camera as you have excellent visabikity when you back up. Awesome vehicle
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Billie Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 5:47pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is a perfect vehicle for a person like me. I am a 72 year old widow. I have some minor physical limitations. I live alone. I can get into and out of the car with ease. I get great gas milage. I have enough room for 3 passengers and cargo. I can manipulate the car with ease and i feel safe. I would not recommend this car for a big active family but it is perfect for small family or a couple. I have had an exceptional experience with (the dealership) and have praise for everyone there.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lynne Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 7:27am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.2 / 5
Run away!!! Do not buy or lease this car or make! The 2015 Trax was better in terms of performance and interior vehicle layout than the 2017, but not by much. This vehicle is a POS. It has very poor acceleration that has almost caused several accidents. Less than 1 month after we got it, it stalled out suddenly in the middle of a busy road - twice. Dealership service center looked at the car's computer and confirmed this, but had no cause. AC on all Chevy models (even 2015 Trax) is very weak and poor - dealership says temperature is ""within acceptable parameters"" and thus won't fix, but if we aren't consistently cooling off (sometimes blows cool sometimes not) then it doesn't FEEL like ""acceptable parameters"" to us! SO very unhappy with this car!!!
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1 / 5

By Sandy Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 11:16am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Chevy Trax! It drives nice and has all of the latest technology. I would definitely recommend this vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Errik Friday, August 25, 2017 - 9:55am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Great improvements overall, love this Trax. Anyone interested in a AWD small SUV, go test drive one and you will see why everyone is switching.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Beth Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 1:59pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I really am pleased with my new Chevy Trax. The handling and performance is exceptional. And I'm getting 31 MPG!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 2:58pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
First of all we reviewed Honda and Nissan so our research was limited except for the fact that we went in to the buying process knowing that we wanted the Chevy Trax. The car is 3 months old and we are getting SUPERIOR mileage. (Averaging 30 - 33 combined city and highway.) The car is comfortable for both driver and front passenger. A bit cramped for back seat riders but we knew that going in. I'd buy another Trax tomorrow if I had to. Satisfied customer. Oh yeah ... this vehicle probably has the least amount of ""driver's side and rear blind spot"" of ANY vehicle I have ever driven. I'd consider that quite a safety feature.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Terry Thursday, August 3, 2017 - 7:51pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The air-conditioning is under-powered. The back seats don't fold completely flat they are at a small angle....I am always hauling things and this has been just difficult and awkward enough for me to grumble. I like the height of the seats....it's really easy to get in and out especially for us older folk. I love the backup screen with the grid that shows you where you will end up with the wheels turned in that position very very cool. I don't care for the way they chose to drop into ""manual shifting"" I have accidentally dropped into that mode several times....I wish they made it a more forceful choice like pushing the stick down and then back. I like using the option of low gear when I am navigating the squirrelly logging roads with stiff grades and gravel in northern Wisconsin this vehicle is impressive in low gear with the AWD. And I can maneuver or turn around much easier than with a full size suv or truck very nice on rural single track roads.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By VJ Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 7:56am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
It's fun to drive gets great gas mileage it's cute and inexpensive to maintain. I call it the baby Equinox. It's the perfect car for me. I like everything about it. It has great acceleration for passing for a small SUV and has all the right electronic gizmos I need. Will probably lease my third one after this one. I love it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Frances Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 11:52am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Vehicle very good on gas and easy to maneuver. Pros: air conditioning and rear view mirror. Cons: size of storage without putting down back seats
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Carol Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 4:41pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
It is easy to drive it hugs the curves very well. Good overall control and a perfect size for me and my husband.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Warren Friday, July 28, 2017 - 6:04pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
The Premier edition is the way to go; you don't have to worry about options. It's great around town or on the highway. There is sufficient power to pass on the open road. Comfortable for four adults.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Trax
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The tiny Chevrolet Trax crossover, earns an updating for the 2017 model year. Trax debuted as a 2015 model and is a close cousin to the Buick Encore, both built upon the foundation of the subcompact Sonic.

The front end of the 2017 Chevrolet Trax has adopted the appearance of other Chevrolet vehicles, and the interior has been updated, substituting a flowing dashboard with analog instruments for the previous motorcycle-inspired digital display. New safety features are available, too. Nothing has changed in the Trax’s engineering, however.

The Buick Encore costs more than the Chevrolet Trax, and offers more amenities as well as a more upscale appearance. Trax is the lowest-priced all-wheel-drive model offered by General Motors and is Chevrolet’s smallest crossover.

Nothing other than front doors are shared with the Buick Encore, and the design of the Trax is not as expressive as that of the Encore. Chevrolet stylists chose a safe course, emphasizing squarer body lines, in contrast to Buick’s sweeping curves.

Four adults actually fit into the Trax’s versatile, spacious interior. A fifth can squeeze in, if all are on the small side.

Performance is not a strong point. The turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder engine produces 138 horsepower, along with 148 pound-feet of torque starting at a low 1850 rpm. The 6-speed automatic transmission has a wide gear-ratio range. Takeoffs are comparatively swift, and the deep-overdrive top gear delivers relaxed cruising, as well as satisfying fuel economy. In between, the Trax engine strains toward highway speeds, and passing or merging requires quite a bit of free space.

Electric power steering responds well and ensures easy maneuverability. Ride/handling is typical for the Trax’s class, meaning controlled and comfortable, if lacking in sportiness.

Hard plastic components trim the cabin for an effect that looks practical and utilitarian. Contrast stitching is available for the dashboard, for a look that’s more traditional tone. For 2017, Trax adds Apple Car Play and Android Auto compatibility to its MyLink infotainment system.

Safety scores excel. Crash-testing by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration resulted in a five-star overall rating. Trax rated Good in all tests performed by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, including the difficult small overlap frontal impact.

Both the driver and front passenger get knee airbags. For 2017, Chevrolet offers blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, forward collision alert, and lane-departure warning.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Chevrolet Trax comes in LS, LT, and Premier trim levels (the latter replacing the previous LTZ).

Trax LS includes air conditioning; cloth upholstery; keyless entry; power windows, locks, and mirrors; OnStar 4G LTE connectivity with wi-fi hotspot; MyLink infotainment; 7-inch touchscreen; Bluetooth; and 16-inch steel wheels with plastic covers.

Trax LT gets upgraded cloth upholstery, cruise control, remote start, heated power mirrors, roof rails, and 16-inch alloy wheels. Trax Premier features leatherette upholstery, heated front seats, a Bose seven-speaker sound system, power driver’s seat, leather-wrapped steering wheel, rear park assist, auto-dimming mirror, foglamps, and 18-inch alloy wheels.

Ten airbags and a rearview camera are standard. All-wheel drive adds $1,500, and includes rear disc brakes.

Walkaround

Though it blends some styling cues from Chevrolet trucks into its tall, two-door hatchback body, the Trax looks bland. Buick’s Encore has a far more expressive look, as do such rivals as the Jeep Renegade and Nissan Juke. Still, the Trax conveys a candid, practical personality.

Adopting a front-end similar to other Chevrolets, for the 2017 updating, makes the Trax a bit more appealing. Trax LT and Premier models add halogen projector headlights with LED lighting, and LEDs are used for the taillights of the Premier model. Steel wheels on the Trax LS, in contrast, hark back to the past, though its lack of roof rails improves its appearance. Even on the Trax LS, small trim items are body-colored.

Interior

Upgrading gives the 2017 Trax cabin a fresh theme, to complement the admirably quiet interior. A new dashboard eliminates the prior twin-cockpit, digital-readout design, in favor of analog gauges and a flowing shape. Even the base model’s black cloth upholstery features contrasting stitching, though some materials fall short in quality.

From the driver’s seat, the Chevrolet Trax feels larger than its external appearance suggests. In both front and rear, occupants get ample headroom. Comfortable front seats have lower cushions that are sufficiently long to suit taller drivers. Seat height is manually adjustable, via a very short lever, even if power seats are installed.

Still, the Trax is a narrow car, and front passengers’ shoulders are only inches apart. Only the driver gets a fold-down armrest. More than a dozen storage spots can be found.

Cargo space totals 18.7 cubic feet with the 60/40-split rear seat up; and 48.4 cubic feet with the seat flat-folded. That’s more than competitors like the Nissan Juke or Mini Countryman provide. Folding the front passenger seat makes space for long objects, such as surfboards.

Driving Impressions

The Chevrolet Trax feels solid on the road, with a suspension that absorbs bumps reasonably well. The electric power steering tracks well on the highway, with sufficient feedback and heft to feel confident. Handling is average for the class, uninspiring but well-controlled. The Trax is not as joyful to drive as the relatively sporty Mazda CX-3 or even the Jeep Renegade.

With its modestly powered turbocharged engine, the Trax performs nicely around town, accelerating capably up to 50 mph. Just as you approach highway speed, the Trax begins to slacken. Passing on the highway requires some planning, before pushing on the gas pedal.

Acceleration to 60 mph takes 9.4 seconds with front-drive, a sluggish performance that matches the pace of most other subcompact and compact vehicles. Though quiet at lower speeds, engine noise grows considerably at highway velocities. While idling, the engine can barely be heard. The transmission shifts imperceptibly into neutral, to reduce vibrations.

All-wheel drive, which adds considerable weight, is an option for all three trim levels. The all-wheel drive starts by powering all four wheels, shifting gradually to the rear wheels as speed rises. Past 37 mph, all power goes to the front wheels unless they’re short of traction.

Expect thrifty fuel economy, though some competitors are more efficient. The front-wheel-drive 2016 Trax was EPA-rated at 26/34 mpg City/Highway, or 29 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive drops the estimate to 24/31 mpg City/Highway, or 27 mpg Combined.

Summary

Chevrolet Trax is a sensible urban vehicle with a practical hatchback shape. It lacks power and stylishness, but frugal fuel economy and a low starting price add to its appeal, and its cabin is larger than expected for a subcompact crossover.

Driving impressions by Kirk Bell, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Trax AWD 4dr LT local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.