2017 Chevrolet Spark Reviews and Ratings

5dr HB Man LT w/1LT

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Spark.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (14)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By TJ Friday, August 25, 2017 - 11:17am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.5 / 5
It's a good little car. Best Features - cost. Worst Features - pick up speed
Reliability
  3.5 / 5
Interior
  3.5 / 5
Exterior
  3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.5 / 5

By Pam Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 2:59pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
It is a great little car with a big punch
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 4:41am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Love our car
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Vickie Friday, August 18, 2017 - 10:23pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Nice reliable vehicle. Good on gas mileage. My only issue is the storage space is too small. Best Features - Attractive looking, good mileage. Worst Features - storage space is nearly non existant
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Sherry Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 11:46am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It's perfect for first car! Best Features - Fuel economy, radio, interior and exterior
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cassandra H Friday, July 28, 2017 - 10:24am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Love the size and gas mileage on it! And its really cute and perfect for a first car!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Alexis Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 1:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This car has great gas milage is small enough to park anywhere but not too small. Best first car ever!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kathy Friday, August 4, 2017 - 6:34pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
The Chevrolet Spark is the perfect vehicle for a person like me who spends most of their driving time alone in a car and mostly drives within the city. The gas mileage is exceptional. I am retired and do pet sitting for extra income which means I drive a lot of inner city miles. The cargo space is perfect for my needs. I LOVE the backup camera in this car and the bluetooth capability. The car's color attracted me too Hot Red. It is a fun little car to drive.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Mary Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 9:34am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my 2017 Chevy Spark. I primarily use it to drive to locations that are no more than 20 minutes from my home. The color is a nice purple and I'm always receiving compliments on how cute it presents.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Dale Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 2:36pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Head rest is at a bad angle. Pros: Gas
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Debbie Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 12:08pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
My Purple Spark I named Barney. It is a great little car to get around town. I am averaging 34 MPG. Have not taken it on a long trip as yet. It is a small car but feels like an average sized car when sitting in it. It doesn't have a quick pick up and go but is steady and reliable. I have an 88 year old mother that needs transportation to MD apts. She has an unsteady gait and uses a walker. She can get in and out of Barney very easy. She loves the car as much as I do. It is a great small car to get around town!
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Carri Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 2:05pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It's small appearance is just that. It's about the same as a be beetle. The car sits at the same height as a Malibu. Yet this fun car to drive fits just about anywhere. It corners well and is a trip to drive. This has been a great addition for us. We've used it for many soccer practice runs. It's 9 gallon gas tank has gone 400 miles on a tank of gas. Best value for your dollar and it's comfortable with all the new tech without the added price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ash Friday, August 4, 2017 - 4:03pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I received exactly what I wanted. A reliable vehicle great gas mileage cute exterior/interior affordable price and awesome features. Though it is not the roomiest vehicle it has just enough space to meet my needs. The bluetooth and audio system are fantastic. The seats are a little on the hard side but are adjustable enough to meet my comfort standards however I would recommend a car seat cushion for those who may find an issue with the hardness of the seats. I love the security features and app that came with the vehicle purchase. I don't think I can ever leave my keys in the ignition again! I am more than satisfied with my little Spark.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By moorman c Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 7:47am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bought this car for my mom...she likes smaller and simple to use vehicles.....I like that this has a back up camera for her and is easy navigate..it is perfect for her...great on gas
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Spark
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Chevrolet Spark is the smallest Chevy ever made, a relatively tall box on a tiny footprint and a champion at parking and zipping around the city. All Spark models come with a 1.4-liter four-cylinder gas engine. There are no electric or hybrid versions in the 2017 Chevrolet Spark lineup.

Spark was designed for global sales. It started out with good timing, selling well in North America during its first three years from 2013-2015. But now, in the second year of its second generation, its road in the U.S. gets steeper against affordable gasoline and reasonably priced midsize sedans.

However, Spark offers features not found among competitors, such as the Mitsubishi Mirage. Every Spark has a WiFi hotspot, 10 airbags, a rearview camera and rear parking sensors, as well as safety options that are rarely found on cars like this, such as lane-departure warning, blind-spot alert, and forward-collision alert.

But mostly, it actually seats four adults.

With a name like Spark, it’s natural to assume Spark is an electric car, but GM stopped making the Spark EV late summer 2016 and so far we have heard nothing about a new electric-powered Spark coming out. Buyers who want a small electric car should check out the new Chevrolet Bolt EV.

The 2017 Spark is powered by a 1.4-liter four-cylinder engine making 98 horsepower. Buyers can choose between a 5-speed manual gearbox or continuously variable transmission. The CVT gets a tiny bit better fuel mileage, but it’s not a particularly great feeling CVT. We prefer the 5-speed manual because it brings more life to the small engine and more fun to the driver.

Fuel economy for a 2017 Chevrolet Spark with the manual 5-speed transmission is an EPA-rated 29/38 mpg City/Highway, or 33 mpg Combined city/highway, while the CVT rates 30/38 City/Highway, or 33 mpg Combined.

Spark ACTIV is the same car with a new appearance package, upgraded interior and expanded feature set. Here the word ACTIV describes the intended buyer, not the drivetrain, which is identical to that of the standard Spark, a small four-cylinder gasoline engine. No hybrid powertrain here. Spark ACTIV rates 29/37/32 mpg with manual, 30/37/33 with CVT.

Thanks to a strong body shell, the Spark gets good crash ratings from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. This second-generation Spark gets the top Good score from the IIHS for moderate-overlap front crash and side impact crash.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Chevrolet Spark LS comes with a choice of 5-speed manual gearbox ($13,000) or CVT ($14,100), and it comes standard with cloth upholstery, air conditioning, power windows and mirrors, WiFi hotspot, OnStar with 4G LTE connectivity, Chevy’s MyLink info system, 10 airbags. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Spark 1LT ($14,825) adds power locks, cruise control, steering-wheel audio controls, satellite radio, remote keyless entry, and a theft-deterrent system. Spark 2LT ($16,325) features leatherette upholstery, leather-wrapped steering wheel, enhanced driver-information display, rear park assist, chrome body trim. All are available with CVT. A power sunroof is optional.

Spark ACTIV ($16,070) includes Chevy MyLink with 7-inch color touchscreen, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, rearview camera, SiriusXM, OnStar, remote keyless entry, and special exterior trim. It’s also available with CVT ($17,170).

Walkaround

You wouldn’t think that a snub nose would add presence to a super-small car, but it does on the Spark. And the character lines on the sides aren’t gratuitous, as they are on some cars, they’re appreciated on the Spark. Chevy says the sheetmetal is shrink-wrapped over the chassis, with the wheels pushed out to the corners to give the tiny car a cheeky stance.

Elliptical headlamps sweep dramatically around the corners of the hood, almost to the windshield, bending back from a vertical grille with a horizontal bar. The taillamps stick out from the body as well. Everywhere you look, when you look, the Spark gives you attitude.

Interior

The driver of this second-generation Spark is greeted by a grown-up dash with a small cluster of conventional instruments and dot-matrix LCD. There’s a traditional centerstack and seven-inch touchscreen for MyLink radio in the center of the dashboard, that uses a swipe-based interface like a tablet.

The dash and doors use body-color panels on some models, silver trim on others. The interior materials, for example the fabric seat upholstery, feel better than economy.

The front seats are low, but well bolstered. Spark’s height provides remarkable headroom.

Cargo space is decent for a tiny car, with the rear seatbacks folded down; behind the rear seat it’s marginal at best. Spark holds more inside than a Mini Cooper.

Even set on high maximum, we found the air conditioning can’t keep up on a seriously hot day.

Driving Impressions

The underpowered Spark works hard to keep up with traffic, but it’s the kind of car that’s rewarding and even fun to put through the paces.

The powertrain can take it, especially with the light and engaging 5-speed manual gearbox. The CVT does what it can, which isn’t enough; it makes the engine scream at high revs under full acceleration, which is often needed.

The ride is comfortable and the handling and roadholding decent. The Spark is no VW GTI, but like any good small car, the springs are soft enough to be forgiving on choppy pavement, and the suspension responsive enough to be engaging.

Summary

If it’s a tiny car with a manual transmission that you want, there’s no reason not to consider the Chevy Spark. It’s fun, practical, and inexpensive.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports from The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Spark 5dr HB Man LT w/1LT local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.