NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet SS.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (19)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Anonymous 9/9/2017 11:57:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.2 / 5
It is an unusual car in that only 12000 were made in the four years of production(now stopped). it is a comfortable car with excellent driving manners, outstanding performance. I call it a four door Corvette without the glitze and attention gathering of a Corvette. The salesman referred to it as a ""sleeper"".
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By David 8/28/2017 10:54:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my second Chevy SS. I think it is close to perfect for me. Understated exterior styling is very nice. Interior styling and comfort is also very good. Overall fit and finish is excellent. Handling and performance is outstanding. I also like the fact that there aren't many on the road. It's a lot like driving a 4 door Corvette!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/23/2017 5:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
If you want the best 4 door performance sedan under 40k here it is. Best Features - Performance handling room. Worst Features - Gas mileage is average for this type of performance
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Richard 8/22/2017 11:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
This is a driver's car. You do not buy this car to be flashy, outward styling is not what this car is about. This car is about carrying 5 full sized adults, with a trunk that can fit three large suitcases and still have a great driving experience. There are few cars on the road today that can match the driving dynamics, the pedigree, the uniqueness, the power and performance of the Chevrolet SS. The interior is quite good for the price point, but the capabilities and driver feedback are beyond reproach. All of that- and then the sound! From the moment the car starts, to the profoundly aggressive internal generated growling music, you know that this car is special. There is no other vehicle on the planet that gets you Corvette sounds, BMW power and dynamics, with 4 doors and a vehicle body you can live with every day. I may not drive like I am on a race circuit every day, but I sure do like those moments when the conditions are right to really get out there and exercise the vehicle's capabilities.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JV 8/21/2017 5:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I's a shame Chevrolet doesn't make the SS any more. Comparable to a CTS-V in all performance areas at tens of thousands $$ less Plenty of room for people and cargo and one of the fastest and best handling cars available at any price. Gas mileage is decent for all that horsepower and the car rides beautifully on the highway. Adjustable magnetic suspension, big American V8, great sound, and a manual tranny to boot! All in a 4 door ""sleeper"" package!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ross 8/21/2017 1:55:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Though I know I should keep the mileage low on this car, I just can't stop getting behind the wheel. It's amazing to drive. Quiet, well behaved, and comfortable when you want it to be, and an absolute monster when you put it in performance (or even track) mode and stretch your legs. The engine puts out enough torque to change the rotation of the Earth, the brakes will stop this boat on a dime, the electric assisted steering is amazingly crisp and just aggressive enough, the magnetic ride control is simply magical, and I can't get enough of the exhaust note. These things are disappearing from dealerships fast. Scoop one up while you still can--you will not regret it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeff 8/21/2017 9:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the idea of a somewhat non-descript, rear wheel drive sedan being able to out perform the majority of autos out there.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lee 8/20/2017 5:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The basics: Great performance, excellent handling for a car its size, roomy interior, comfortable seats, and amazing exhaust note. There aren't many options left these days for full size sedans with RWD and V8 power. In my opinion, what truly sets the SS apart is the available 6-speed manual transmission and standard mag ride suspension. The sleeper looks are also a big plus. You also get an abundance of standard features including navigation, heated and cooled front seats, Bose stereo, lane departure warning, automatic emergency collision braking, park assist, keyless entry, rear view camera, automatic climate control, rain sensing wipers, and on, and on, and on...It is truly an exceptional car for the price and really a shame that SS production is over. Get one while you still can, especially if you want a RWD, V8 sedan with a stick shift.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bruce 8/20/2017 7:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I purchased a Chevy SS for a number of reasons, but this isn't about me, it's about the car. Was it a practical buy, no it wasn't. Good gas mileage, nope, not at all. Expensive to buy, you bet. But, on the other hand, it's a fun car to drive. It's comfortable on the inside, it's roomy, it ride it as smooth as you could ask for. It has passing power, it has great cornering, it has a great exhaust note...... Could it be a little better, sure, maybe some more storage areas, a place to put your sunglasses would be nice, HomeLink would be nice, but that's my opinion. You want to know what I love the most? I don't pass myself 40 times a day when I'm out and about in this car. There are a ton of other sports cars on the road, Mustangs, Camaro's, Corvette's, Chargers and Challengers, but how many Chevy SS's have you seen on the road. Exactly, and that's what I love about this car. Not to mention the 6.2 LS3 engine, that has been as reliable as they come, and can be built upon to your personnel taste.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tina 8/19/2017 6:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017 SS operates smoothly on the road and attracts a lot of attention, especially when people hear the motor. It has a luxury style to the exterior with disquised sports car ability!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Scott 8/7/2017 5:26:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
If you want an unassuming car that is one of the best driving sedans on the planet this is the one for you. The fact that no one has ever heard of it some dealerships included to me is a good thing. I love this car and it makes me smile every single time I'm behind the wheel. Nothing else can compare to that.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jack 8/4/2017 9:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
This car is so well priced for the performance that it offers. Where else can you get over 400HP magnetic ride control and an available 6 speed manual transmission for under $50K? I absolutely love the dual mode exhaust and the vehicle ride settings. I live in an area that has a lot of cobblestone streets and the touring mode is great for smoothing out the bumps. Performance mode changes the whole feel of the vehicle and makes it taught raucous and fun. I traded in a BMW M3 for this car and I am so much more satisfied with the SS. Some of the interior finishes aren't great but I bought this car for the driving experience over anything else.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Krant 7/30/2017 1:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
The Chevy SS provides great performance for the price. While there could have been additional luxuries (power folding mirror tilt telescopic steering wheel etc..) the money was well invested in performance parts.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike 7/29/2017 9:36:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
Chevrolet SS model year 2017 is the apex of the muscle car evolution. 4 doors manual transmission big V-8 safety and comfort features galore nice styling. Only drawback is premium gas and gas mileage. But that is small price to pay for safety comfort manual transmission and four doors.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/29/2017 6:54:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
fun to drive. Pros: Performance. Cons: wished it used the latest V8 engine technology with direct injection as available in other GM vehicles
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike G 7/28/2017 10:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The is a 4 door sports car. It has all of the performance you could want while providing luxury and comfort for 5. Handles like a dream smooth quiet ride for regular driving and a sport and performance mode for tighter steering and suspension. Plenty of safety features and a huge set of brakes that will stop you on a dime. Traction control is unbelievable.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Iohn 7/28/2017 8:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Rides 5 carry's 3 child's seats in back fuel economy around 19 if you drive it normal. It's a v8 rear drive car only 12970 built from 2014 to end of production 2017.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By William 7/27/2017 12:55:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Chevy SS is the last of a breed big naturally aspirated V-8 powered sport sedan. Exceptional acceleration handling and braking; it's like having a four-door Corvette. The factory in Australia is closed now so there won't be any more of these models.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Roberto 7/27/2017 9:42:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Am in love with Chevrolet SS big then the Cruze back seat has a lot of space
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Chevrolet SS.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet SS 4dr Sdn local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.