2017 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews and Ratings

4dr Sdn LS w/1FL

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Malibu.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Edward Monday, August 21, 2017 - 8:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Extremely comfortable and quiet ride. Exceptional performance and handling. Fun to drive. Easy to maintain.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 11:21am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Greatest value in a vehicle. Best Features - Power performance. Worst Features - Road noise
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By george Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 2:28pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
our malibu is one of the best cars we have ever owned. we were looking for a large luxury car to replace our chrysler 300 but for our needs we decided to look at midsized vehicles. value for money convinced us to go with the malibu and while we gave up some room and luxury we are very happy with our car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 1:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I love my 2017 Malibu! I would buy it again in an instant! It drives well and gets great gas mileage with the comfort of a full size sedan. The only things i do not like is that when i use Android Auto with my phones gps for long trips it will bug out and i have to disconnect my phone to properly use GPS. Also the wireless charge port will not accomodat large phones or phones in cases (could easily be a useless feature for many people)
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ken Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 5:51pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my new 2017 Malibu, it it very stylish, handles excellent and gets great gas mileage. We have had no issues with the vehicle and we recieve a lot of compliments on the stylish look it has.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 12:17pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
Make sure you understand what AUTO STOP is and how it functions. When the vehicle goes into this mode, it makes a hard stop, and then a hard, rough restart. The car lurches and shakes like an old car, not a brand new one. This happens almost every time you stop for a few seconds.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1 / 5

By Spencer Sunday, September 3, 2017 - 10:04pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The only bad item of note for me was that Chevy decided to skimp on the stock headlights, as they opted for halogen. Every other aspect of the vehicle is well-built with quality materials. The styling is perfect for me, both on the interior and exterior. The gas mileage is excellent for a vehicle without any hybrid functionality. I hardly notice the 1.5L motor for how well it performs around town and on the highway, with the turbo picking up for the lack of HP.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Debbie Friday, July 28, 2017 - 10:18pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have been very happy with this purchase. It is a very comfortable ride. I am happy to say that i am getting 40 mpg commuting back and forth to work.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lester Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:47am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
For the first time Chevrolet had 3 vehicles on my top consideration list: Malibu Camaro & Bolt. The Camaro was too small inside. Bolts were not available yet in Ohio. I drove 3 Malibu models and enjoyed each one. While I was searching Chevrolet.com (local inventory) I was shocked to find a LS model with $4k in incentives and having all of the features I wanted. I just had to buy it. This Malibu was $3k cheaper than a Honda Civic. In the 3 months I have driven my Malibu I have never been so initially happy with a car purchase. My Malibu gets 38 mpg at 75 mph while providing a quiet and smooth ride. Both of my other cars have stereo upgrades but the standard stereo in my Malibu is better than average so I'm in no hurry to upgrade. I love the color. The ability to use Android car (my first experience with such technology) has been surprisingly beneficial. The Malibu's trunk is large and I find I have plenty of space to haul emergency supplies. I am very happy with my Malibu.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sharon Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 8:45am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Malibu is a great ride great on gas and looks fantastic! I get many compliments on this car!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Richard H. Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 11:06am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great styling interior and exterior. Performance is exceptional and gas mileage is outstanding.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 10:42am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My Malibu handles very nice. I do wish I would have got leather interior. Best Features - gas mileage
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Chevrolet Malibu.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sdn LS w/1FL local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.