2017 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews and Ratings

AWD 4dr LT w/2FL

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Equinox.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (18)
Overall Rating
  4.2 / 5
Reliability
  4.3 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.2 / 5

By Jeron H. 10/5/2017 1:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Our Equinox has treated us well and comfortable vechile. I like the moon visor and rides great. I don't<br /> like where the cup holders are.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Hans 9/29/2017 5:35:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I traded in 2010 Equinox, it had 65000 miles, and I had no problems. Very reliable car. That's why<br /> I bought another.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Joanna 9/14/2017 6:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love everything about my vehicle. I wouldn't change it for any other make. I know that I made the right choice!!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jennifer 8/31/2017 8:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
That Chevrolet Equinox is a wayy better car than any SUV category. It's easy to drive and all the functions are easy to use.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Gregory 8/30/2017 4:49:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
I am Truly Pleased So Far with my Equinox it handles Great in All Weather. It Is Economical on gas in Normal and ECON Modes. I am Impressed with The 4 cylinder Engine that has a Nice Pick-Up and Gets Quicker as It Breaks In. The seats are VERY COMFORTABLE I have a Spinal Condition and This Makes a Big Difference. I tried Numerous Vehicles by Renting them and Bought this Chevy Equinox. I has turned out to be a Wise Decision.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Luis 8/27/2017 3:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
My 2017 Chevy Equinox is fun to drive. It gets good mileage, and the entertainment system is first-class.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By TIM 8/24/2017 8:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
FUN TO DRIVE, GREAT GAS MILEAGE, WE HAVE THE CLOTH SEATS AND WOULD RECOMMEND THE LEATHER INTERIOR. EASY TO PARK, GOOD VISIBILITY
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dana S. 8/23/2017 6:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Nice driving good looking would recommend this suv to anybody if I more money I would buy another one
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jason 8/22/2017 7:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
It is not a fun or sporty SUV, but you get what you pay for. In the Detroit area they are practically giving these SUV's away. It gets pretty decent gas mileage. (I average close to 30 in 50/50 city/highway driving) It will comfortably seat 4 adults with lots of leg room in the back.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By John 8/22/2017 6:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
Good car but Price Continues go up each year but quality does not match. As new models are introduced each Fall last year's models are discounted by as much as $10,000.<br /> It would make sense to sell new cars at a lower price year around.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Tim 8/22/2017 5:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Equinox is perfectly versatile! The cargo area is spacious and the sliding rear seat allows for limo style rear leg room or huge cargo even with 5 passengers. The exterior style has staying power and the interior layout is comfortable and ergonomically pleasing. Radio, A/C and storage is all very good! Fuel economy has actually exceeded sticker, outstanding 33 mpg avg!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Petrece 8/22/2017 1:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
riding in it. driving the Chevy Equinox and I feel safe. Best Features - Comfort,looks and affordability
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Elaine 8/21/2017 4:45:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Equinox gets great mileage and is roomy. I really enjoy driving it and it handles well in winter weather.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 10:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I really enjoy by Chevy Equinox. It is very reliable and great on gas. I would recommend it to any household with kids or singleton. I don't like that there are no tinted windows or sunroof but other then that, it's great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Nick 8/19/2017 3:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
I am generally satisfied with my 2017 Equinox. I do think that the cargo ares is smaller than the 2014.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Jim 8/19/2017 1:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Serves my purpose. Best Features - Ride. Worst Features - Engine take off
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Robert M. 8/2/2017 11:36:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The car looks and rides really good. I would compare this car to more expensive cars in its class.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jim 7/28/2017 11:15:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is our second Equinox and we are very satisfied with the cargo room comfort of seating and overall ride. We have chosen the AWD feature which we have appreciated both during the winter months but also during times of reduced stability such as heavy rain.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Equinox
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Chevrolet Equinox is a solidly built compact crossover SUV closely related to the GMC Terrain. Last redesigned for 2010, it carries over with little change for the 2017 model year, following the addition of safety features and a light refresh for 2016. The top trim level, formerly LTZ, is now the 2017 Chevrolet Equinox Premier.

While the GMC Terrain proclaims a more masculine aura with its squared-off styling, the Equinox is more rounded. Carlike in operation, the Equinox fits right in among Chevrolet’s sedans, courtesy of sharp detailing and attractive proportions. Chevrolet’s compact crossover has sold well, helped by a choice of four-cylinder or V6 powertrain, offered with either front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive.

Boasting direct injection, the 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine makes 182 horsepower and ranks among the most fuel-efficient in its class. The available 3.6-liter V6 develops 301 horsepower and 272 pound-feet of torque. Both engines mate with a 6-speed automatic transmission.

All-wheel drive, which adds 100 pounds to vehicle weight, is available for every trim level except the base-level Equinox L. An Equinox is considerably more maneuverable than Chevrolet’s much larger, three-row Traverse.

Comparatively large for a compact crossover, the Equinox is roomy inside. Interior space is easily configurable for cargo or people. The rear bench can slide fore/aft, offering up to 31.4 cubic feet of cargo space with the seat up, and nearly 64 cubic feet with seatbacks flipped down. Moving to the farthest rearward position provides extra room for passenger knees. Two adults can spread out in the second row, with decent legroom and good head clearance.

Crash-test scores have been good, but not top-notch. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has given a four-star rating overall, with the same score for frontal impact and rollover protection. Equinox was rated Good in all categories, including the difficult small-overlap test, by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Chevrolet’s optional collision-mitigation system got only a Basic rating.

A rearview camera is standard, which is good news because rearward visibility is poor otherwise. Lane-departure and forward-collision warning systems are available, but only in the top trim level.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Chevrolet Equinox comes with a choice of front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive ($1,750) and four-cylinder engine or V6 ($1,500).

Equinox L ($23,100) comes with cloth upholstery, rearview camera, OnStar 4G LTE, remote keyless entry, tilt/telescopic steering column, six-speaker audio, USB port, 17-inch aluminum wheels, and a 7-inch touchscreen. Equinox LS ($25,510) adds SiriusXM satellite radio (3-month trial) and a digital compass.

Equinox LT ($26,750) adds heated power mirrors, LED daytime running lights, and roof rails. Chevrolet’s MyLink system enables Bluetooth streaming and integrates Pandora and Stitcher internet-radio, plus navigation connectivity. Options include the V6 engine with sport-tuned suspension, plus blind-spot monitoring and rear cross-traffic alert. Midnight and Sport Edition packages are available ($1,695).

Equinox Premier ($30,040) gets perforated-leather upholstery, an eight-way power driver’s seat, heated front seats, foglamps, automatic climate control, and 18-inch wheels. Active-safety features are available, including forward collision and lane-departure warnings. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

Mechanically, Chevrolet Equinox is practically a twin to the GMC Terrain. While GMC’s version is more aggressively styled, the Equinox doesn’t come across as anonymous, like some crossover models. Somewhat large for a compact crossover, and a bit chunky, the Equinox might also be perceived as a scaled-down version of the three-row Traverse.

Mild facelifting for 2016 gave the Equinox a more contemporary front end, with a sculpted lower fascia. With its dual-port grille, the Equinox more closely resembles other Chevrolet models. Upper trim levels get LED running lights.

Interior

The Chevrolet Equinox compact crossover is a versatile cargo/people hauler for families that don’t need more than two rows of seats. The sliding second-row seat, which travels 8 inches forward/back, permits maximizing interior space to favor either back-seat passengers or cargo.

In every trim level, front passengers get the best seats, which are upright and supportive. The driver’s seat is especially appealing, in good position and carlike. Perforated leather upholstery in the Premier edition has an upscale look and feel.

Materials are good quality. The mild refresh for 2016 dealt with many cheaper-feeling materials.

In total, the cabin is surprisingly well-composed. An effective noise-cancellation system subdues sounds and light vibrations in four-cylinder models. Wind noise is nicely quelled, but the engine can be coarse while idling.

Stowage space is plentiful, for both smaller and bigger items. The deep center console can consume electronic devices and purses. Our only complaint is a cargo floor that should be a bit lower, but there’s a retractable cover and stretchable cargo net.

Driving Impressions

Mechanically, at least, not much has changed since 2010. With either engine, the Equinox falls near the middle of its category in terms of power and dynamic functions.

Impressively advanced, including direct injection, the base engine provides respectable performance. A four-cylinder Equinox can reach 60 mph in around nine seconds, which is slow, roughly the same as the Honda CR-V. Passing demands some pre-planning. Engine clatter is rather prominent, but ride quality is good.

The V6 is the way to go for towing or confident performance, though it is substantially more thirsty. A V6 Equinox can haul up to 3,500 pounds. Not many V6 options remain in this segment, with competitors leaning toward turbo-four engines.

With either engine, transmission shifts can be rough. On hills, or in heavy traffic, the transmission might hesitate. Manual shifts are made using plus/minus toggle buttons on the gearshift knob.

Visibility remains a challenge, especially impaired by thick rear pillars.

Four-cylinder gas mileage is reasonably thrifty. With front-wheel drive, the base four-cylinder model is EPA-rated at 21/31 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive drops the four-cylinder EPA estimate to 20/28 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined. In four-cylinder models, an Eco button can boost efficiency by reducing accessory power draw, optimizing shift points, and locking the transmission’s torque converter earlier.

Though it delivers towing power and is better able to pass on steep grades, the V6 is EPA-rated at only 17/24 mpg City/Highway, or 20 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive sinks the estimate to 16/23 mpg City/Highway, or 18 mpg Combined.

Summary

The Chevrolet Equinox makes a fine family vehicle for vacations and road trips, as well as daily use. Considering its basic technology, this compact crossover provides good value, with an impressive option list for personal preferences. We recommend the four-cylinder engine for most buyers, but a light foot is needed to achieve the EPA’s fuel-economy estimates.

Driving impressions by Aaron Cole, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Equinox AWD 4dr LT w/2FL local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.