2017 Chevrolet Corvette Reviews and Ratings

2dr Grand Sport Cpe w/3LT

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Corvette.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (19)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.9 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Steve 8/30/2017 2:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
Have a 2017 Z06 with Z07 package. My second Z06, the other was a C-6. The C-7 offers significant body style changes, I like the look. The interior has been upgraded, a bit smaller inside compared to the C-6. Handling, braking, acceleration is second to none at this price point. Go to HPDE's at Sebring, have not tracked this one yet, but purchased the M7 with cooling upgrades, we will see. Takes a bit of getting used to a blower motor, but constant acceleration at all RPM levels is very nice. The car is a driver, you must be on your A game at all times. If you want a performance cruiser this is not the car for you, will ruin your day quick. Overall, great machine but the price point has left the average American behind, I do not think the Z06 is the American sports car of the past due to the price point, sad.
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Dirk 8/27/2017 9:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very impressed with the performance and quality of the workmanship. Car is extremely comfortable to ride in and drive. Best Corvette ever!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Richard 8/25/2017 2:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Stunning car with phenomenal handling. Can get very good gas mileage when driven conservatively. Love the tremendous amount of features the car has. I do not like the inability to rewind, record, or follow multiple Sirrus radio stations like my wifes' Sonata. Windshields are very prone to cracking from rocks.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 6:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Coolest, best looking, fun to drive, easy to get in and out of, fast and overall a great automobile, very glad that I bought It.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony 8/23/2017 1:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Dream Car - "Love everything my Z06 has to offer". Still learning about some of the features. Can't wait to try racing on a track. Love the Color combination in Artic White exterior and interior Kalahari.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bo 8/22/2017 8:19:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The C-7 Corvette Grand sport is the best overall car I have ever owned. It is responsive and fun to drive. Mileage is outstanding for a performance automobile. It will get 27-30 mpg on the highway and 24 around town. The suspension is adjustable depending on what type of road and speed you want to travel. I would buy another one today, if I had the money.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 8/22/2017 3:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Acceleration is superb with no tire slip. Handling is best I have ever had in 40 years of driving sports cars. Magnetic suspension makes ride much smoother than Mercedes Benz SLK that I was driving. Adjustable dash displays easy to use. Love everything about my Stingray!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Thomas F. 8/22/2017 8:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Beast The Best car I have ever own. 2017 corvette. Thinking about buying 2018. Maybe I will wait to buy the new C 8.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Morris 8/21/2017 5:20:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The 2017 Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport has the larger wheels, brakes and tires of the Z06, but without the blown LT4 engine. Traction, stability control, steering effort and ride quality can be selected from 5 different driving modes. Under the ""track"" setting there are 5 more settings affecting how far the rear of the car can step out before the stability control intervenes. The technology in this car is amazing, from the magnetically controlled dampers to the WiFi hotspot. The tires are not only highly sticky, they give up traction progressively in a controlled fashion. On top of all this, GM underwrites about 70% of the cost of a specialized driving school available just to new Corvette owners. The 6.2 liter LT1 V8 produces great amounts of power and torque, while returning an average 27 mpg on a recent road trip. There is no sports car on the market under $100000 that comes close to what the Corvette delivers, and it delivers with style and comfort.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By george 8/21/2017 2:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
My 2017 Corvette Stingray is an amazing vehicle. Even though it's a "base" model, it has fantastic ride, handling and performance characteristics. When driven gently it achieves almost 30 mpg, which is a credit to the engineers at GM given that it has 460 brake horsepower. It rides more like a luxury vehicle than a sports car but when you encounter any curves or have to accelerate on an on-ramp you absolutely know you are in a first rate sports vehicle. The interior is stunning ( mine is red) and the electronics package is superb as is the sound quality from the Bose audio system. Overall this car is an amazing improvement over the C6 model that I had and that was a very good car as well.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Larry 8/21/2017 5:31:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
This is my 6th Corvette and is the best one yet!! It is the most comfortable and best riding Corvette yet.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sal 8/19/2017 5:44:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have the 2017 Corvette Stingray 2LT with magnetic ride. This is the best Corvette I've ever owned. The ride adjustability is perfect. The performance is good enough to jeopardize losing your license. The styling is head-turning and equivalent or superior to many other super cars. Interior comfort and accessibility to features is outstanding. The head-up display is bright but not obtrusive and is greatly improved from my 2007. My wife especially likes the comfort controls on her side including the air and heated seat! Fuel economy is excellent: actual is 28 highway and 19 around town. Braking is positive and reassuring. Visibility is surprisingly good and better than it has been in the past. The front camera has saved my front end many a time and is the best addition ever. The back camera is great too. Auto tilt mirrors have saved my wheels from curb scuff. All in all, I'd say this vehicle is the best deal on wheels and a lot of bang for the buck.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gregg 8/13/2017 4:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
The Z06 performs better than advertised. My 7th Corvette and this one is exceptional. Best feature - The performance and electronics are better than expected. Worst features - Hard to get all water out of seams when washing. Then it water spots on aero package
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Greg 8/6/2017 8:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Incredible car. Wow!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dean 8/1/2017 11:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I love my new 2017 Corvette Stingray Z51 automatic 1LT. The exterior design is what impresses me the most and I think the Admiral Blue color is perfect. It's a completely impractical vehicle but it's so cool fun to drive and well built. I considered getting the Grand Sport but decided against it because I really don't plan to take the car to the track so that would have been overkill for me. My only regret is not getting the 2LT package because you really need the front camera because the front end is long. I would also suggest researching the summer only tires and wheels that are standard and just be aware that they're expensive to replace. Road hazards and potholes will be an issue so the tire and wheel protection plan makes sense. This is a weekend car for now and I'm looking forward to putting many more miles on it while I'm still young enough to get in and out as the seats are very low. I would argue that the current design can compete with other sports cars that are double the price of the Corvette.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/1/2017 7:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The best value in it's class. Pros: performance and cost. Cons: Lack of interior leg room
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Samuel R 7/31/2017 1:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am very happy. Pros: How my car performs and looks
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Vernon 7/29/2017 7:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is a thrill every time you get behind the wheel! I love to drive and this car is absolutely the most fun car too drive that I have ever owned.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Nick 7/28/2017 1:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I am very happy with every aspect of this car the interior is nice the buying experience is great and it's a great product.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Corvette
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Corvette has been around for seven generations. In human terms, that means the 2017 Corvette C7 has a great-great-great-great grandfather. Although it must be said that car generations are more like dog years. Some teenagers today have just-plain grandfathers who owned a new 1953 Corvette. So it’s truly come a long way in a relatively short time.

Truly a long way, styling-wise. The C7 is a wild, extroverted scoop addict, far removed from the sleek C6 that it recently replaced. Teenagers love it. We can attest to that, with all the thumbs-up we got while driving our test model.

Needless to say, the Corvette offers astonishing acceleration, amazing grip, quick reflexes, and absolute communication through the seat and steering wheel.

The base engine, if you can call it base, is a 6.2-liter LT1 V8 making 455 horsepower and 460 pound-feet of torque. The Z06 uses a supercharged LT4 V8 with that same 6.2 liters, making 650 hp and 650 lb-ft. A 7-speed manual gearbox is standard, with automatic rev-matching downshifts. The optional transmission is a GM-built paddle-shifting 8-speed automatic.

If the acceleration of the Stingray bulges your eyeballs, the power of the Z06 will pop them out. The Stingray will blast from zero to 60 in 3.7 seconds with the automatic, and do the quarter-mile in 11.9 seconds. The Z06 gets to 60 mph in an almost unbelievable 2.95 seconds.

For 2017, there’s a new Grand Sport model that uses the naturally aspirated Stingray powertrain with the supercharged Z06 suspension and handling geometry. It could do track days like that, but to make it and the Z06 even sharper, there’s a Z07 handling package that also includes carbon-ceramic brakes. The Grand Sport makes 5 more horsepower than the Stingray, and is a couple tenths quicker in the quarter mile.

Except for the Grand Sport, the 2017 Corvette is relatively unchanged.

Despite a tall final-drive ratio and cylinder de-activation technology, which cuts the spark when the car is cruising and all eight cylinders aren’t needed, the Corvette doesn’t get great mileage, but really, who cares? The EPA rates it 15/26/19 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined. If you notice that’s a drop from a couple years ago, it’s only because the EPA has newer standards.

The supercharged Z06 gets 13/23/16 mpg with the automatic, or 15/22/18 mpg with the 7-speed manual.

Neither the NHTSA nor the IIHS have crash-tested the C7 Corvette, but its rigid structure, many airbags, and stability control inspire confidence. The best way to stay safe in a Corvette is don’t lose your judgment.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Chevrolet Corvette is available as a Stingray Coupe ($55,450), Stingray Convertible ($59,450), Grand Sport ($65,450), and Z06 ($79,450).

Standard equipment includes dual-zone automatic climate control; an infotainment system with an 8.0-inch color touchscreen; satellite radio; Bluetooth with audio streaming; USB and power ports; a rearview camera; keyless ignition; cruise control; and a leather-wrapped three-spoke steering wheel, and OnStar.

Optional are Nappa leather or micro-suede, aluminum or carbon fiber trim, curb-view camera, head-up display, HD radio, 10-speaker Bose audio, competition sport seats, and navigation. But no blind-spot monitors.

The Z06 package also includes Brembo carbon-ceramic brakes, adjustable front and rear aero components, and Michelin Pilot Super Sport Cup 2 tires.

The Z51 package includes lighter wheels, bigger brakes, more extreme aerodynamic bits, an electronic limited-slip differential, dry-sump oil system, an oil cooler for the differential and transmission, and stiffer shocks, springs and anti-roll bars.

Adjustable ride control settings are available with the Magnetic Selective Ride Control option, enabling various levels of ride comfort and performance. The magnetic ride suspension is available without the Z51 package and comes bundled with the Z51’s rear spoiler and wheels.

Finally, there’s an available performance data recorder with video. It can be used as a security device to make sure your Corvette isn’t taken for any joy rides by valet car-parkers.

Walkaround

The Corvette C7 is wide, low, and looks fast. The long hood, swept windshield, and bluff rear end define the proportions. It’s also never met a slit, scoop, or duct it doesn’t like. The busy curves and creases intersect and warp. The sharp lines, angles, and vents give it the air of a supercar, but they tire your eyes.

At least the extreme number of lines and surfaces announce what the Corvette is all about. Especially the Z06, with even wider fenders and an array of aero additions.

Interior

The Corvette’s cabin needs pricey optional trim, like aluminum or carbon-fiber, to move beyond the look of basic. The Corvette could learn some things from the Porsche 718, for its tight, low-key interior.

That’s not to say the ‘Vette isn’t sharp and modern. Everywhere the materials are good, with a lot of soft-touch surfaces. Touches like the passenger climate controls integrated into the outboard vent make this sports car feel like a grand touring car. The Porsche 911 and Mercedes AMG GT have a higher grade of trim, but they cost twice as much.

The instrument panel is simple and driver-focused. The optional carbon fiber makes the Corvette feel like a six-figure supercar; so do the optional suede and rich leather, in deep designer colors.

The standard front seats are great, supportive and grippy, with a highly adjustable driver’s seat and a adjustable steering wheel; but the optional seats are greater. You can reach the shift lever without contortions. The Competition Sport seats have a race-inspired form and function for hard cornering.

The cabin is snug but not tight. There’s good head, hip and legroom in front, even for six-footers. The flat-bottomed steering wheel is a bit small but comfortable.

Storage is good for a sports car. There are a few cubbies and boxes, with a hidden compartment behind the nav screen for your phone, with a jack. The real magic is the large, flat cargo area under the hatch of the coupe. It holds a surprising amount of luggage or stuff, making the Corvette almost practical. Convertibles have a trunk with less space, but it’s still adequate.

The convertible’s tight top seats itself at the top of the windshield, allowing you to raise or lower the top at speeds of up to 30 mph. Wind buffeting is stronger than some touring convertibles, but it’s not bad. Get the optional dealer-installed wind-blocker for an improvement.

Rear visibility is miserable. The standard rearview camera is necessary when backing up, but it doesn’t help when you’re trying to see what’s happening behind you on the freeway.

Driving Impressions

We’re not the first to say that the Z06 would still be a benchmark at twice the price. But any Corvette is an incredible performance bargain, whether it’s the Z06, a Stingray with the Z51 package, or the Grand Sport with Z07 handling and braking upgrades.

The Corvette is an amazing bundle of power and grip. The Z06 and Z51 cars use an electronic differential to gain grip. The C7 can be harder to control with the aids off, though it still shows special poise and balance. It can run with cars that cost twice the price.

The LT1 in the Stingray makes all the right noises, along with its 455 horsepower, as it runs to the end of the dragstrip in 12 seconds flat. Its 7-speed manual gearbox shifts nearly as slick as its 8-speed automatic.

The Grand Sport’s wider rear fenders have room for its wider tires, and the aero mods attract more attention. It’ll do the quarter in 11.8 seconds at 118 mph, and comes to a stop afterward on its big Brembo brakes. Spend another eight grand for the Z07 package, including Michelin Pilot Super Sport Cup 2 tires, carbon-ceramic brakes, Magnetic Selective Ride Control dampers, and a more aggressive aero package.

The Z06 stomps on Grand Sport with its supercharged 6.2-liter LT4 making 650 hp and 650 lb-ft. With the manual gearbox it can do zero to sixty in 3.2-seconds while the automatic clocks an amazing 2.95 seconds.

The paddle-shifting 8-speed automatic is remarkable. GM says it shifts 80 milliseconds faster than the Porsche twin-clutch PDK. Even in automatic mode, it’s remarkable.

The chassis and suspension use a lot of aluminum, which aids handling along with the adjustable dampers and Performance Traction Management system, especially in its Track mode. Flat cornering, over 1g of lateral grip, and accurate electric power steering deliver a control that can be addictive, especially on the track. The handling is astonishingly better than the C6. Driving the C7 is a special and rewarding experience.

The Convertible doesn’t lose any structural integrity, because the Corvette was designed from the ground up as a roadster; the Convertible isn’t a coupe with the top chopped off afterward.

Summary

The Chevrolet Corvette presents a strong performance equation for the dollar. Other cars that offer the Corvette’s levels of performance and handling tend to be expensive exotics.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.