2017 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews and Ratings

4WD Ext Cab 128.3 ZR2

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Colorado.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (15)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.3 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.2 / 5

By Kathy Monday, August 21, 2017 - 3:57pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.8 / 5
The transmission has a very harsh down shift (so terrible that it feels like someone has rear ended you and at time actually makes a loud banging noise) and GM states that is normal and won't send a representative to go over it with us. It did not do this the day we test drove and purchased or we would not have purchased.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  1 / 5

By Gary Monday, August 21, 2017 - 9:05am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Worst Features - Takes a lot of space in my garage....the only problem I have.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Lou Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 8:43am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
All the good things you have ever heard about a Chevy Colorado is all true and then some!!! Absolutely love the look, feel and ride of the #1 truck on the road.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By DAve Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 8:58am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
2017 Chevrolet great truck, great size! Best Features - Handling, ride and comfort.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Andy Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 7:08am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great Truck! I downgraded from a Silverado, just getting use to the smaller size and the much greater fuel economy. Plenty of technology on it for me to learn.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Carol Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 11:12am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my chevy Colorado, I looked at Toyota Tacomas but they did not feel as solid . I picked the duramax Diesel for gas mileage and towing . It has not let me down ....very roomie and comfortable. Would buy another one.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Sunday, September 3, 2017 - 6:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.6 / 5
Very dissatisfied with the completely loaded 2017 Chevrolet Colorado. Navigation problems from day one. Service department told me that they have no idea when GM will correct thw issue of it getting lost on roads that have been in.place for years. Service department doesn't respond to promises made Truck.is now leaking water in the driver door. I'm very unhappy and will trade soon to anpther brand. Truck.is 4 minths old with 8500 miles. Who knows what issue will arise next. I doubt my dealer will effectively deal with any other issues that may occur
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Jeremy Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 9:11am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
This is my first truck. I wanted a midsized and prize and gas mileage, in that order, were my biggest concerns. So far the Colorado is averaging a lot better mileage in the city than I anticipated and slightly worse on the highway. Overall it's getting me about 26mpg. Very pleased. Also, I preferred the exterior stance of the Tacoma, but the price of the Chevy and the fact that it was assembled in the USA mattered to me.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Joe Monday, August 21, 2017 - 8:57am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Excellent truck so far, gas mileage is actually more than advertised which I'm very happy about. Feels and drives like a quality truck, no issues at all so far.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 1:15pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Even though I have owned my Colorado for a short time I really like it. the truck is very responsive and I enjoy how it handles on the road in all conditions. I have been surprised by how good of gas mileage I am getting already with it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By James L Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 8:01am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Chevy Colorado is an exceptional truck. Great styling and comfort. The V6 combined with the 8 speed transmission make great power when need and drives extremely smooth.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 4:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
So far I really love my 2017 Colorado. Its a nice truck and has no problem pulling my 19ft boat. Pros: I love the looks of this vehicle inside and out. Cons: I wish the Chevrolet accessories the dealership offered for this vehicle were not so expensive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Peter J.D. Thursday, August 3, 2017 - 6:01am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
Yes! I've had nothing but positive things to say about the Chevy Colorado and I'd buy one again! Love the way it rides and handles
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Michael Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 1:48pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love the new Colorado. I bought my S10 in 2002 so when I started looking to get a new vehicle I test drove several different options. I wanted to make sure I was getting exactly what I needed and I did with this one. It's a little bigger than my old S10 but is just as easy to handle. The drive is smooth and I love all the features that were offered on it. I've always been a Chevy guy and this new line of trucks has affirmed my love for the brand. The next time I buy it will definitely be another similar Chevy model.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Stephen Sunday, August 13, 2017 - 3:40pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.2 / 5
My Chevy Colorado Z71 Midnight Edition is one great looking truck that can take on any terrain I have thrown at it from dirt roads, washed out trails, gravel, etc. It goes anywhere I want to go and it looks great doing it. Then only reason I can not give this truck a 5 is for the following reasons: - The head unit (radio): The implementation of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto is terrible. I am constantly having to unplug my phone several times to get it to work properly (I have both an iPhone and Samsung S7, so I use both interfaces and they are equally poor). Its honestly more of a distraction sometimes than it is helpful - The driver seat: It is impossible to get into a position that is 100% comfortable since it tilts when the height is adjusted. - No passive entry/start option. I can get this option on a car that costs half the price , but its not available on the Colorado. Overall, its a great truck that's fun to drive and most importantly it fits my life (and my narrow driveway!)
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Chevrolet Colorado.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Colorado 4WD Ext Cab 128.3" ZR2 local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.