2017 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews and Ratings

4WD Ext Cab 128.3 Z71

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Colorado.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (20)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By Anonymous 9/3/2017 6:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  1.6 / 5
Very dissatisfied with the completely loaded 2017 Chevrolet Colorado. Navigation problems from day one. Service department told me that they have no idea when GM will correct thw issue of it getting lost on roads that have been in.place for years. Service department doesn't respond to promises made Truck.is now leaking water in the driver door. I'm very unhappy and will trade soon to anpther brand. Truck.is 4 minths old with 8500 miles. Who knows what issue will arise next. I doubt my dealer will effectively deal with any other issues that may occur
Reliability
  1 / 5
Interior
  1.5 / 5
Exterior
  2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  2 / 5

By Brian 8/31/2017 3:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I am highly impressed by the 8 speed automatic and the new v6 engine. they are mated perfectly. Being light on the throttle will return excellent mpg. the truck is quiet, and a pleasure to drive. Love its size and overall driving experience. All I could have hoped for.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/29/2017 7:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
2017 CHEVY COLORADO VERY NICE TO DRIVE WAS THINKING ABOUT GETTING A TOYOTA TRUCK BUT THIS TRUCK WAS MUCH BETTER, INSIDE VERY QUIET
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bobby 8/28/2017 4:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Colorado is a fantastic truck. Great miles per gallon turns on a dime sleek look very roomy all around awesome truck.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dave 8/25/2017 6:16:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This Truck is the best designed and built truck I have owed. GM blew the competition out of the water!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Andrew 8/22/2017 5:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great gas mileage and fun to drive. This is the best vehicle that I had lots of research done and was best fit.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By DAve 8/22/2017 8:58:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
2017 Chevrolet great truck, great size! Best Features - Handling, ride and comfort.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Kathy 8/21/2017 3:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
The transmission has a very harsh down shift (so terrible that it feels like someone has rear ended you and at time actually makes a loud banging noise) and GM states that is normal and won't send a representative to go over it with us. It did not do this the day we test drove and purchased or we would not have purchased.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1 / 5

By Gary 8/21/2017 9:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Worst Features - Takes a lot of space in my garage....the only problem I have.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Joe 8/21/2017 8:57:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Excellent truck so far, gas mileage is actually more than advertised which I'm very happy about. Feels and drives like a quality truck, no issues at all so far.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeremy 8/20/2017 9:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
This is my first truck. I wanted a midsized and prize and gas mileage, in that order, were my biggest concerns. So far the Colorado is averaging a lot better mileage in the city than I anticipated and slightly worse on the highway. Overall it's getting me about 26mpg. Very pleased. Also, I preferred the exterior stance of the Tacoma, but the price of the Chevy and the fact that it was assembled in the USA mattered to me.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Andy 8/20/2017 7:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great Truck! I downgraded from a Silverado, just getting use to the smaller size and the much greater fuel economy. Plenty of technology on it for me to learn.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Carol 8/19/2017 11:12:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my chevy Colorado, I looked at Toyota Tacomas but they did not feel as solid . I picked the duramax Diesel for gas mileage and towing . It has not let me down ....very roomie and comfortable. Would buy another one.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lou 8/19/2017 8:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
All the good things you have ever heard about a Chevy Colorado is all true and then some!!! Absolutely love the look, feel and ride of the #1 truck on the road.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By James L 8/19/2017 8:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Chevy Colorado is an exceptional truck. Great styling and comfort. The V6 combined with the 8 speed transmission make great power when need and drives extremely smooth.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Stephen 8/13/2017 3:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.2 / 5
My Chevy Colorado Z71 Midnight Edition is one great looking truck that can take on any terrain I have thrown at it from dirt roads, washed out trails, gravel, etc. It goes anywhere I want to go and it looks great doing it. Then only reason I can not give this truck a 5 is for the following reasons: - The head unit (radio): The implementation of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto is terrible. I am constantly having to unplug my phone several times to get it to work properly (I have both an iPhone and Samsung S7, so I use both interfaces and they are equally poor). Its honestly more of a distraction sometimes than it is helpful - The driver seat: It is impossible to get into a position that is 100% comfortable since it tilts when the height is adjusted. - No passive entry/start option. I can get this option on a car that costs half the price , but its not available on the Colorado. Overall, its a great truck that's fun to drive and most importantly it fits my life (and my narrow driveway!)
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Peter J.D. 8/3/2017 6:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
Yes! I've had nothing but positive things to say about the Chevy Colorado and I'd buy one again! Love the way it rides and handles
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/1/2017 1:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Even though I have owned my Colorado for a short time I really like it. the truck is very responsive and I enjoy how it handles on the road in all conditions. I have been surprised by how good of gas mileage I am getting already with it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David 7/29/2017 4:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
So far I really love my 2017 Colorado. Its a nice truck and has no problem pulling my 19ft boat. Pros: I love the looks of this vehicle inside and out. Cons: I wish the Chevrolet accessories the dealership offered for this vehicle were not so expensive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Michael 7/29/2017 1:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love the new Colorado. I bought my S10 in 2002 so when I started looking to get a new vehicle I test drove several different options. I wanted to make sure I was getting exactly what I needed and I did with this one. It's a little bigger than my old S10 but is just as easy to handle. The drive is smooth and I love all the features that were offered on it. I've always been a Chevy guy and this new line of trucks has affirmed my love for the brand. The next time I buy it will definitely be another similar Chevy model.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Colorado
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

When the Chevrolet Colorado was redesigned for 2015, it became a contender for the midsize pickup crown, an impressive new challenger to the Toyota Tacoma. We’ve found the Colorado outclasses the Tacoma in ride, handling, packaging, fit and finish, interior space and materials, connectivity, driving position, and bed features.

The 2017 Chevy Colorado introduces a new V6 engine that’s the same 3.6 liters as before, but it has direct fuel injection and makes a bit more horsepower, 308 hp, and can run on four cylinders when there’s no need for power. The new 3.6-liter V6 is mated to a new 8-speed automatic transmission.

The base engine is an eminently usable 2.5-liter four cylinder making 200 horsepower with a 6-speed automatic or 6-speed manual transmission.

Also available is a 2.8-liter turbodiesel four-cylinder that makes 369 pound-feet of torque (and 181 horsepower). It’s the best choice for towing, rated to pull up to 7700 pounds. The diesel is rated by the EPA at 30 miles per gallon highway with two-wheel drive. But it’s not cheap, so if it’s lower fuel expense you’re after, do a lot of number-crunching. You’ll be looking at years and years before it pays off, unless the price of diesel drops relative to regular gas.

The Colorado makes the most of a standard boxed frame with coil front suspension and leaf springs at the rear. The electric power steering is weighted well. Its ride and handling is far better than the Nissan Frontier, as well as the Tacoma. Four-wheel disc brakes with long-life rotors are standard. (Much of what can be said of the Chevrolet Colorado holds for the similar GMC Canyon.)

Buyers can choose from different cab and bed configurations, including the standard extended cab with a two small rear doors, a very small bench seat, and six-foot bed; or the four-door crew cab with either a five- or six-foot bed (or no bed at all, for commercial sales). There’s no regular cab Colorado, any more.

A crew cab Colorado works well as a second family car.

Four-wheel drive is available. On Colorado LT and Z71 models four-wheel drive can be activated manually. Autotrac activates the front wheels electronically, like all-wheel drive, for better grip and control on the road. Four-wheel-drive drops fuel economy by about two miles per gallon compared with rear-wheel drive. On the base WT model, the part-time four-wheel-drive system is simpler, intended more for mud, sand or snow.

Fuel economy for the 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine and automatic transmission is an EPA-rated 20/26 mpg City/Highway, or 22 mpg Combined. The turbodiesel is rated 22/30 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. Colorado 4WD 3.6-liter V6 is rated 17/24 mpg City/Highway, 19 mpg Combined on Regular gasoline.

Colorado gets four stars overall from the NHTSA in crash testing, with five stars for side impact. Colorado earned the top Good rating for the demanding small overlap front test from the IIHS, a score that few vehicles achieve, let alone pickup trucks.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Chevrolet Colorado comes in WT, LT, and Z71 models in many configurations.

They range in cost from $23,080 for the two-wheel drive WT with four-cylinder engine and manual transmission, to $35,630 for the 4WD Z71. However there’s a very stripped down base model for $20,055, intended as a hard-core work truck. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Standard equipment on all models except the base includes six airbags, stability control, trailer sway control, hill start assist, rearview camera, easy-lowering tailgate, touchscreen audio, and USB port.

The Z71 is the offroad version, so it gets hill descent control.

Options include forward-collision alert, lane-departure warning, Bluetooth, navigation, OnStar, 4G LTE data connectivity, and a larger touchscreen with Apple CarPlay.

Walkaround

The Chevy Colorado doesn’t have the relentlessly rectilinear lines of the full-size Chevy Silverado. Its rising shoulder line softens the usual pickup silhouette. And it has a smaller and slimmer grille. Its fenders are boxy. The Chevy Colorado looks much more like a truck than does the 2017 Honda Ridgeline.

Interior

In the cabin, the Colorado is more like the Silverado. It’s both rugged and upscale, with a fit and finish that’s better than the Toyota Tacoma or Nissan Frontier.

The beefy steering wheel has lots of controls, with the shift lever mounted on a wide and tall console that can store an iPad, while holding two big cupholders and up to four USB ports, along with many small storage slots, bins, and trays. It feels plenty truck-like inside, but there’s an element of sedan in the well-finished dashboard, the seat bolstering, and aluminum-look door and dash trim.

There’s excellent headroom and legroom in the somewhat skinny front seats, which offer a big view out the windshield. The have a more natural driving position than other trucks in the class, with a higher hip point and a more ergonomic relationship to the steering wheel, unlike the splayed-legs stance you have to take in the Tacoma. The Colorado is far more relaxing to drive for trips longer than an hour.

The rear of the extended cab is a pair of jump seats best suited for packages or child seats, or maybe kids. The crew cab only offers cramped accommodations for adults, with bolt-upright seatbacks and a marked lack of kneeroom. Keep that in mind when you’re thinking of making it a second family car.

The bed is a big selling point. The payload is 1410 to 1590 pounds, while there’s an available bed extender that stretches the six-foot bed to eight feet, as big as a full-size truck, by using the tailgate. The step on the bumper makes it easy to climb into, and the slow-dropping tailgate will be appreciated every day. There are some 17 points for tie-downs, either a spray-in bedliner or a drop-in one, and available cargo dividers, a system of racks and carriers, cargo nets and tonneau covers, and a drop-in toolbox.

Driving Impressions

By pickup truck standards, the Chevrolet Colorado offers a smooth ride that handles bumps well, making it a compelling alternative to a car. We could be perfectly happy commuting daily over rough roads in heavy traffic in a Chevy Colorado. We cannot say that about the Toyota Tacoma or Nissan Frontier. There are motions that make their way into the Colorado cabin, but big tire sidewalls help tame them.

More competitive is the Honda Ridgeline. While the Honda Ridgeline employs unibody construction, the Chevy Colorado is a body-on-frame design. Body on frame is considered superior for towing and hauling and for durability.

The new 3.6-liter V6 makes 308 horsepower and 275 pound-feet of torque. The 8-speed automatic transmission is also new.

The 2.8-liter turbodiesel was new for 2016. It makes 181 horsepower and 369 pound-feet of torque at just 2000 rpm, so it pulls like a V8 across the rev range, even at high elevations and up steep grades, with few downshifts. The optional exhaust brake helps control downhill speeds with a full load.

If you don’t carry or tow big loads, the base 2.5-liter engine, with its 200 horsepower and 191 pound-feet of torque, will probably work for you. It’s acceptable for medium-speed urban duty. You can get it with a manual transmission, but in this case the 6-speed automatic works well with the four-cylinder engine.

The Toyota and Nissan four-cylinder trucks get better fuel mileage and Tacoma dominates in durability and rugged-terrain capability, but the Colorado a far better choice for the kind of driving and infrequent hauling that a lot of truck buyers do.

Summary

The Chevrolet Colorado is a good choice for an everyday vehicle that needs to act like a car most of the time but have the ability to haul when needed. Its smooth ride and convenient cab make it a compelling choice. The affordable four-cylinder works as a second family car in the crew cab configuration, and with four-wheel drive it could be the winter vehicle; the rear seats are squeezed but can handle two kids. The turbodiesel tows great but is expensive. The V6 and 8-speed automatic are both new.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Colorado 4WD Ext Cab 128.3" Z71 local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.