2017 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews and Ratings

2dr Cpe SS w/2SS

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Chevrolet Camaro.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (22)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Osvaldo 10/12/2017 6:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
Well I chose my vehicle because of the engine it has which is a 6.2L. I love it because it has enough horse power to have the fun you want, specially if you love going to the track. That is the reason why I chose the vehicle I have, I’m an adrenaline junky who loves to ride fast!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  3.5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Cole 10/1/2017 7:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
The 6th generation camaro blew my expectations for a performance pony car and after carefully choosing between 392 charger, challengers, and Premium GT mustang and am happy to say that I made the better decision by going with the 2SS Camaro.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Will 9/30/2017 3:42:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
First off this is my DREAM car! My third camaro in life that is purely for pleasure. We have a Cadi SUV and an older Tundra for "trucky" things. I had such incredibly high hopes for the 2017 ZL1 A10 and yet it has exceeded them all! Obviously it is a performance vehicle. However the ride is smoother than you'd imagine and the handling in phenomenal. The exterior styling is all about functional aerodynamics still i have someone tell me "what a beautiful car" it is on at least ever other stop....no joke! I concede that it is odd that Chevy hasn't fixed the blindspot issue for 50 years and there are a couple of interior design hicups...pointless back seats. Still i can't get over the Christmas morning feeling i have everyday i wake up and look outside! The technology within the car is much more than i expected. A marvel of American engineering! You hit this one out of the park GM! It simply is Brilliant!
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/30/2017 3:20:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The 2017 Camaro has great exterior styling. It has an aggressive appearance. The interior is a major improvement over the previous model. It is easy and fun to drive.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Manuel 9/2/2017 8:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have always wanted a Chevrolet Camaro ever since the movie Transformers. Just this year I had the privilege of purchasing my very first Camaro and I'll admit I'm in love with it. It's fast, it looks mean, and the drive is smooth. When I look at my car, I see all that I ever wanted in a vehicle. I hope to keep my Camaro till its considered an antique, a classic.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Matt 8/28/2017 7:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
If you have ever driven the 5th Gen Camaro SS you would know the problems the car had. The Interior looked great but lacked in quality, the visablity was awfull and the car needed a lot of aftermarket upgrades to feel ""alive"". The 6th Gen Camaro SS has fixed all the problems. The cars quality feels the world of a diffrence from the 5th Gen. The car dosnt feel like a refresh it feels completley diffrent. With most car companies when a new car comes out they will often use the same swtiches and buttons as the previous model or another model within the company. With the 6th Gen Camaro everything is different. Its completely new. The leather and matererals used in the car is like none i have seen before, they are solft but durable; wich is hard to comebye. Overall the 6 Gen Camaro is completely worth the price bump and I can Insure you that its completely ""Worth the Money"".
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Steve 8/28/2017 5:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.8 / 5
The 2017 Camaro SS is a one star for reliability but a five star for driving dynamics . It has three problems that GM can not fix . The defroster can not be shut off so the winshield gets condensation on the outside when you have the a/c on . You have to use the windshield wipers to clear it off . The instrument cluster which is the driver information center is inoperative . Because of this I can not reset my oil life counter . When I do a remote start 90% of the time the HVAC screen pops up and it is a black screen .
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   0.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By RICK 8/28/2017 4:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I SIMPLY LOVE MY 2017 CAMARO. I'VE ALWAYS LOVED THE CAMARO & THE METALLIC BLUE SOLD ME ON THIS CAR. A COMMERICIAL AT THE MOVIE THEATRE SOLD ME ON THIS CAR. I HAVE NOT REGRETTED THAT DECISION. HIGHLY EFFICIENT AND FUN TO DRIVE.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Elizabeth W. 8/26/2017 8:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
LOVE THE HANDLE OF MY CAR AND THE SLEEK INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR STYLING. THE AUTOMATED SYSTEM THAT ASSEMBLES THESE CARS NEEDS WORK TO CORRECT LOOSE BOLTS OR UNEVEN DOOR JAMS. BIG PICTURE, I LOVE MY CAR EVEN WITH THE MINOR ISSUES I HAVE FOUND!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Latema 8/25/2017 2:45:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It's faster then yours lol just kidding,It's fits me. It may look small but it is powerful. Best car I've had so far
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By LOIS 8/23/2017 4:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
THE ONLY THING THAT MAY REFRAIN ME FROM BUYING ANOTHER CHEVROLET PRODUCT IS ON-STAR. I HATE BEING CONTROLLED BY ON-STAR. ANOTHER THING IS AWFUL HAND FREE MODE THRU ON STAR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike L 8/23/2017 4:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Camaro ZL1 with a 10 speed automatic can do it all. Could not be happier with this purchase.<br /> GM knocked it out of the park with this one!!!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 7:42:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
best Camaro ever built...bar none, the 1ss 1le Camaro is high in horsepower and high in fun, make autocross a breeze, this is a true American muscle car
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By PRAKASH 8/21/2017 7:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
BEAUTIFUL EXTERIOR STYLE<br /> FANTASTIC COLOR combination<br /> GOOD performance<br /> automation gives great deals and express oil changes
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cindy 8/18/2017 5:51:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I LOVE driving the anniversary Camaro. We purchased the RS model because it's my main vehicle. I'm very happy with the highway mileage, which has been better than expected. The car handles well, I love the driving mode feature, the appearance is showy, and the technology is great. I get a lot of compliments on it everywhere I go. I expect us to keep this car and make it our weekend/fun car at some point in the future to save on mileage. I've used it with two carseats, towed tubs of books, and driven it in cruddy weather and it's handled everything well. It has far exceeded my expectations.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Christina 8/18/2017 5:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I love my nice new little car. It gets me around from point A to point B and I'm in style while getting there.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/31/2017 8:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
great ride and looks resale value easy to drivecomfort seating low cost to operatedealer service department
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Clint 7/30/2017 6:37:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Very happy overall with my new Camaro SS! A few issues (manufacturer design/quality control) - headliner did not fit (edge not covered by weatherstripping above passenger door left headliner to fray and look cheap) and defrost vent leaks no matter what mode climate control is in (causes quite a bit condensation on outside of front windshield when using A/C in humid outside conditions). Also had an issue with front suspension ""clunking"" after only 2k miles. All but the defrost issue has been resolved - fix for it did not improve the condition so living with it for now. I tend to focus on the issues but everything else about the car is excellent! No regrets even having these issues I would have bought it if I had known about them up front.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/28/2017 11:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Fast and rides great
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kim 7/28/2017 9:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I bought the 2017 4 cylinder camaro for my teenage daughter. She wanted one badly and I was very hesitant because it was a sports car. After driving it checking out the blind spots and seeing the teen driver controls I was satisfied she would be safe in this car. I was surprised how nice it handles.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By marc 7/28/2017 7:26:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Fantastic car! Love just about every aspect of it from the performance exterior and interior. Only thing i wish they would have done better is improvig the quality of the paint.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Richard 7/27/2017 5:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great power. Pros: Engine brakes ride interior
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Chevrolet Camaro
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 Chevrolet Camaro celebrates its 50th anniversary. Camaro was redesigned for 2016, so the 2017 Camaro lineup brings on the birthday bangles. Symbolic is the big bangle of a massively powerful Camaro ZL1 with a new 10-speed automatic. New for the 2017 Camaro LE is a handling package developed on the Nurburgring. And, naturally, there’s a Camaro 50th Anniversary Edition, a trim package for both the coupe and convertible.

The Camaro has evolved beyond being a muscle car, especially in this sixth generation that was downsized a couple inches while sharing structure with the Cadillac CTS, and especially with the optional magnetic damper suspension. It has the power of a muscle car with the moves of a sports car. It skims over pavement and is as responsive as the best versions of the previous generation.

Three engines are available, starting with a turbocharged four-cylinder making 275 horsepower, 295 pound-feet of torque, and zooming to sixty miles per hour in 5.4 seconds. That is quick, no less expected, if the Camaro is going to get a four-cylinder, it better be quick. It also better sound good, which the four-cylinder Camaro does not.

The 3.6-liter V6 makes an earthy 335 horsepower with 284 pound-feet of torque. When you consider the 1967 Camaro SS with its huge 396 cubic-inch V8 made 325 horsepower, a V6 Camaro doesn’t sound so wimpy. Especially this one that can blast from zero to sixty in 5.0 seconds.

The LT1 with its 6.2-liter V8 making 455 horsepower and 455 pound-feet of torque is in another league. It is one sensational piece of hardware, with a 0-60 time of four seconds flat.

But Camaro isn’t done celebrating. New for 2017 is the return of the ZL1, using a supercharged version of that V8 to make, hold your breath, 650 horsepower. Held in check by a new 10-speed automatic transmission. We haven’t driven it yet, we’re holding our breath till then. The previous-generation ZL1 was an amazing performer while being very livable for everyday driving.

Also new is the 2017 Camaro 1LE handling package. And a badge on the steering wheel of every 2017 Camaro that says “FIFTY.” Best thing for some might be the new Teen Driver feature that enables parents to spy on their kids, follow where they’re going and how fast, just like the government might soon be doing with you, in the name of public safety.

That turbo four-cylinder, with its 8-speed automatic, gets good fuel mileage, at an EPA-rated 22/31 mpg City/Highway, or 25 miles per gallon on the EPA’s Combined city and highway cycle. The V6 gets 19/28/22 mpg, the V8 drops to 20 mpg Combined. We have a number for the ZL1, but, really. Just make a number up for your neighbors.

To underscore that you’re not a lunatic with 650 horsepower in your driveway, be sure to also tell your neighbors that the government gives the Camaro five stars for crash safety. As long you don’t roll it over: The IIHS only gave it an Acceptable score for roof strength.

Model Lineup

Camaro coupe ($26,305) and convertible ($33,305) models include the 1LT ($26,305), 2LT ($30,305), 1SS ($36,905), 2SS, and ZL1. There’s excellent standard equipment in the 1LT and 1SS, including Bluetooth, rearview camera, and a good infotainment system. (Prices are MSRP for coupe and do not include destination charge.)

Available safety equipment includes forward-collision warning and blind-spot monitors.

Walkaround

Depending on your approach angle to the sheetmetal of the Camaro, it can look bawdy or bulky. From the side the details are striking and well-honed, with a fantastic big sweep of the rear roof pillars; but from a front 3/4 view the long car can seem stubby and foreshortened. The powerful haunches balance the tall nose and slim but menacing grille as best they can. The gun-slit windows make more menace.

Interior

The Camaro is an ode to high-strength steel, and what it can do for safer car design. Thanks to slimmer yet stronger windshield pillars, the forward visibility is improved even with the driver sunk lower for safety. Speaking of which it’s a good thing a rearview camera is standard, because it’s necessary to see through the high tail. In fact a surround-view camera would be nice.

The cockpit takes some gambles because it ventures from Camaro heritage, with big touchscreens and digital gauges, a binnacle framed by “Star Wars” Tie Fighters, and huge gimbaled air vents that use their rings to adjust heating and cooling. We think it looks fresh and will stay that way.

We can’t say the Camaro’s interior materials look expensive, especially the standard fabric seats, but we don’t have to say they look plasticky, like before.

The front seats are shapely, supportive, and form-fitting. But they’re still thrifty fabric. The expensive optional Recaro seats with heating and ventilation are worth it.

Camaro appears to have given up on the back seat. It’s mostly a bench for gym bags, and also groceries when the tiny trunk gets full after maybe three grocery bags. The convertible has even less space in the rear, with the top mechanism taking hip and shoulder room. No relaxing in the back seat, cruising with your head back and the sun in your face.

Driving Impressions

The 2.0 turbo is quick, has a powerful 295 pound-feet of torque, and works well with either the manual or automatic transmission. You’ve got a real sports car with the 6-speed gearbox, with tidy throws and a smooth clutch that feels more natural than it does in the V8. But the 8-speed automatic is nothing to shy away from, as it’s responsive and shifts smoothly. One thing the four-cylinder turbo lacks is character in the exhaust note. There’s a low howl when it’s pushed, but otherwise it sounds docile.

The 3.6-liter V6 uses the latest technology of direct injection and cylinder deactivation. Its 335 horsepower is impressive especially for its efficiency, and its 284 pound-feet is compatible, but note that the four-cylinder turbo has more torque, with 295 lb-ft.

The V6 actually sounds like a vintage Ferrari when you get on the gas, a wonderful mid-range howl. When you get it near redline, that howl turns into a classic V6 drone. Engine noise is piped in from under the hood. Some love it, some hate the very idea.

If you can call one horsepower a reason, there are 120 of them to choose the 6.2-liter V8 over the V6. And it raises the torque by even more, a boost of 171 pound-feet, to a hole-shot thumping 455 pound-feet, and four seconds later you’re hitting 60 mph. The 6-speed manual does rev matching, and the 8-speed automatic has paddle-shifters. This powertrain transforms the Camaro into a brutally powerful masterwork.

With its standard 18-inch wheels and Goodyear Eagle Sport tires, the Camaro has a great sense of stability, good tracking, and a composed ride. Patchy pavement doesn’t bounce the rear wheels around. Cadillac gets some credit for that, having sent over their suspension design, a double-pivot, control-arm and strut. They put their chassis engine rails and electric power steering in the box too. Those three things took more than a couple hundred pounds off the Camaro’s weight, and the new footprint almost electrifies the handling. You can feel 100 percent of the car in the corners. And we haven’t even driven the 1LE suspension package yet, which is tightened and upgraded.

Four-piston Brembo brakes are standard. Twenty-inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle F1 run-flat tires are an option on the Camaro LT, while the SS gets them standard, with grippier tires that aren’t run-flat.

The Camaro doesn’t dance too much on the standard 18-inchers, but with big 20-inchers it can jackhammer over rough roads and skitter over imperfect surfaces. An SS with the conventional suspension is composed, but when you’re flying above posted limits on remote country roads, the magnetic dampers bring calm, allowing the Camaro to blunt impacts and race over savage pavement. Just another reason why it’s not a muscle car any more.

The Drive Mode Selector adjusts the steering weight, stability control sensitivity, shift timing and throttle response. The modes are Sport, Tour, Snow/Ice, and Track mode in the SS. The menu enables almost any combination.

In Tour mode, the steering is hefty but quick. In Sport or Track mode, the Camaro is one happy pony car, needling through tight trajectories with precision.

Summary

Four engines, four characters, four uses. Turbo four, V6, V8, supercharged V8. Manual or automatic, both great. That’s seven superb powertrains, one of them (the turbo four) groundbreaking and game-changing in a Camaro, plenty quick, fuel-efficient, and highly affordable. Coupe or convertible. Awesome handling. Striking looks. Best high-performance value we know of, in the SS.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Chevrolet Camaro 2dr Cpe SS w/2SS local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.