2017 Buick Regal Reviews and Ratings

4dr Sdn FWD

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Buick Regal.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (9)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Samantha 9/3/2017 8:23:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
I am currently leasing the 2017 Buick Regal in the Premium trim. The quality of the interior is exceptional and the car itself drives very nicely. I feel this is a very reliable and comfortable vehicle. There are a few technology features which I think could be improved. For example, the sunroof has two separate buttons for opening and just cracking the sunroof. I feel this could have been achieved with one button. Also, the voice commands are not always well understood when I'm trying to find an address or location while driving. I find this feature to be generally unreliable unless I have the specific address number. Overall, I would recommend this vehicle.
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Dorothy 8/26/2017 2:32:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Can use GOOGLE Play and GOOGLE Maps<br /> Can use Pandora<br /> Backup Camera<br /> Has Bluetooth<br /> Large trunk<br /> Separate Temperature controls
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill 8/24/2017 4:39:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my third Buick Regal with a premium 2 option package. I find the Regal to have excellent workmanship. The three Regal's I have leased have been very dependable and reliable. I have had no major issues with any of the vehicles.<br /> I find the Regal fun to drive and very quiet on the highway. The only issue is the back seat space behind the drivers seat. Sometimes I have to move my seat forward to give the back seat passenger enough room. Buick has a very good warranty, four years or fifty thousand miles. Looking forward to my fourth Buick Regal in 2 years. Need to comment on the great performance of the 2.0 turbo. My mileage is averaging 22.0 in the city.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Paula 8/21/2017 3:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Excellent car with excellent performance for the price. Best Features - Electronics, Turbo charging, Technology and Appearance. Worst Features - Truck space
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Paul 8/20/2017 8:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is a good car, peppy for a four banger, the turbo charger helps out with that. Quite on the road and the handling is good.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ilena 8/19/2017 10:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
My Buick Regal is comfortable, easy to handle, and the sexiest looking car I ever owned. From a previous Regal I owned for over 16 years with no issues, I expect to enjoy my new car for years.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/30/2017 5:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
My only issue is this vehicle and many other brands have issues with dust in the instrument panel. I love the technology styling and performance of this vehicle.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sharon 7/28/2017 12:55:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Performance in the Premiere Turbo version makes the car fun to drive and it handles ad turns very well. I do notice a bit of Turbo lag occasionally but it is consistent with other similar vehicles. The navigation and audio system are high quality and easy to use. Love the Apple CarPlay!!! The interior is stylish and the front seats are very comfy. There is a headroom issue for passengers in the back seat. Luckily that's not me so it does not bother me to much :) The dash and console set up are very nice and the ambient lighting is great.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Donald 7/27/2017 1:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The overall ride and hidden power of this vehicle is there all the time. Comfort and styling of this vehicle is commented on all the time. Paint quality is outstanding with the interior and instrumentation top notch. A real pleasure and exciting to drive --each and evry time -no matter the weather. A choice I am proud to say ""I wanted it and am happy""
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Buick Regal
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Buick Regal, a charming and convincing midsize sports sedan, was introduced five years ago. Regal is available with all-wheel drive or front-wheel drive, and an inexpensive 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine or a more powerful but efficient 2.0-liter turbocharged engine.

Regal delivers refined performance, taut handling and ride, and athletic looks. With leather seats standard, it can hold its own against some luxury cars, at least with the turbocharged version of its four-cylinder engine. The Regal has the feel of a German sedan, maybe because it basically is a German sedan, based on GM Europe’s Opel Insignia.

The base engine, which keeps the price down, is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making an adequate but uninspiring 182 horsepower, mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission. The base Regal compares well with cars like the Hyundai Sonata and Nissan Altima.

More interesting is the twin-scroll turbo with direct injection. It’s a smaller and more compact engine, a 2.0-liter making 259 horsepower and a strong 295 pound-feet of torque. It’s got a sweet growl, as it squirts from zero to sixty in less than seven seconds. The six-speed automatic lacks paddle shifters, however.

All-wheel drive comes with a different rear suspension and an electronic limited-slip differential that divides traction between the left and right rear wheels.

The Regal is considered a five-seater, but because it’s small for a midsize sedan (bigger than a Ford Focus but smaller than a Fusion), three full-sized adults in the back seat is a squeeze. Five is a crowd, it’s more comfortable with four.

Fuel economy is an EPA-rated 19/30 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined. Sonata and Altima get much better. Regal’s upgrade 2.0 turbocharged engine, with 77 more horsepower, actually gets better fuel mileage, no matter that it’s not terribly significant: 21/29 mpg City/Highway, or 24 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive drops fuel mileage by two miles per gallon.

The NHTSA gives the Regal five stars overall for crashworthiness, while the IIHS gives it Good ratings, with Superior for frontal crash prevention when the Regal is equipped with its available forward-collision and automatic braking system. More safety options include adaptive cruise control, blind-spot monitors, and lane-departure warning.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Buick Regal ($27,065) comes standard with leather seats, power windows and doors, rearview camera, cruise control, power driver’s seat, heated front seats, dual-zone climate control, sound system with XM radio, and infotainment with Bluetooth. Regal comes standard with front-wheel drive and the 2.4-liter engine. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Regal Sport Touring ($28,615) upgrades to the 2.0-liter turbocharged engine. All-wheel drive is available ($31,465).

Walkaround

One of the reasons the Regal has been a success is its sleek and composed shape, with clean and distinct sheetmetal, namely the stamped swoosh along its sides. The styling remains fresh after five years. It’s Buick’s most athletic looking car (although the Verano might be its most athletic handling car). Still, it hasn’t abandoned its roots, even if it has abandoned its portholes. And it’s avoided the messy styling of some of its GM siblings, such as the Chevy Volt and Cruze.

The traditional waterfall grille remains, tweaked for 2017, along with LED wings in the headlamps. The big and blingy 19- and even 20-inch wheels are also new for the times. They add nothing to the classiness of the car.

The Regal GS gets some exclusive touches, including vertical air intakes in the nose, and changes to the back end consisting of a small spoiler and exhaust tips.

Interior

The cabin of the Regal might not be regal, but it is stylish and European-like. The leather upholstery and two-tone trim, on the Premium and GS models, is handsome and subdued. The door panels are touched by sweeping lines and satin metallic trim that suggest upscale. Other choices in trims include piano-black plastic or a dark wood called Kibo.

The standard leather seats have good bolstering, although the seat bottom cushions are a bit flat. The GS gets more supportive sport seats. Headroom and legroom in front are good, but legroom in the rear is tight, just 37 inches; that’s about the same as the Honda Accord, but the rear cushions in the Regal somehow seem to suck up space. Headroom in the rear can be pressing on tall passengers, but it’s no less than the larger Volkswagen Passat.

On every model, the controls are fairly intuitive, with smooth integration of the buttons, screens and new technology. The low instrument panel holds crisp gauges with LED lighting, while the centerstack is framed with more high-quality trim. An available 8.0-inch LCD touchscreen dominates the dash, while a 4.2-inch screen between the gauges displays information from the available navigation, phone, audio systems. On the Regal GS, the LCD screen can be changed for different driving modes.

Buick recently upgraded its IntelliLink infotainment system to a simpler and brighter interface from Cadillac’s CUE, without its haptic feedback. It can select 60 favorite apps and store 1000 contacts, as well as integrate smartphone streaming audio and command the nav system by voice. The package features a Bose sound system.

Also available with the Regal is 4G LTE connectivity via OnStar, and WiFi capability.

Trunk space in the regal isn’t great, at 14.3 cubic feet. That’s one full suitcase less than the 20-cubic-foot trunk in the Ford Taurus.

Driving Impressions

The base Regal with the 2.4-liter engine is the one you’ll find in rental car fleets. Its power is adequate, but it gets overwhelmed when asked to go much farther than the grocery store.

The easy-revving 2.0 turbo is another story. Composed and quick, it’s almost a twin to the engine in the Cadillac ATS, with its 259 horsepower and 295 pound-feet of torque, 90 percent of which comes at a super-low 1700 rpm. Its growl is sweet, if muted.

The ride in the Regal Turbo has the muted damping of a good German sedan, with handling that’s responsive enough, while tempered with a fair amount of lean. Its electric power steering isn’t too heavy, while the ratio isn’t too quick. The 6-speed automatic shifts as well as the suspension rides.

The all-wheel drive uses a different rear suspension along with the limited-slip differential at the rear wheels. The AWD system can send 90 percent of the torque to the rear wheels, for stability on bouncy pavement, as well as all-weather traction.

But it’s the Regal GS that excites us. If only every GM car had ride this absorbent, and handling this precise, not to mention the big brakes. The suspension is lower, with heavier front struts and 19-inch wheels with all-season tires; 20-inch summer tires are available, for maximum grip. The cornering might not match a BMW or Cadillac sports sedan, but neither does the GS deliver the heavy steering and extreme-quick throttle response of some sports sedans.

The three-mode Interactive Drive Control changes the responsiveness of its adaptive dampers, throttle, transmission and steering. Touring mode is soft enough for around-town driving, while still offering sharper handling than the Turbo. Sport mode makes the GS firmer, but it’s not unreasonable.

Summary

The Regal GS holds its own in the sports sedan world, bravo Buick. With a sweet-revving 2.0-liter twin-scroll turbocharged direction-injection engine borrowed from Cadillac, a chassis and suspension borrowed from Opel in Germany, and great styling borrowed from its past, it’s hard to go wrong.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with staff reports by The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Buick Regal 4dr Sdn FWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.